DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/18/2026 and the restriction is now made final. As such, claims 1-9 are currently pending in this application and are subject to examination herein.
Information Disclosure Statements
The two (2) information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 12/22/2023 and 08/06/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Regarding Claim 1, it appears that a typographical error occurred wherein “terahertz cameras” was inadvertently recited as “terahertz” (Claim 1 at line 15). The Examiner suggests that Applicant may wish to amend Claim 1 to recite “terahertz cameras” in line 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2015/0293068 to Acheson et al. (hereinafter Acheson) (cited by Applicant in IDS filed on 12/22/2023) in view of “Terahertz spectroscopy and imaging: A review on agricultural applications” by Afsah-Hejri et al., Computers and Electronics in Agriculture (2020) (hereinafter Terahertz Spectroscopy).
Regarding claim 1, Acheson discloses a yield system for a corn header (harvester head 102) (Figs. 1-2, 7-8; Paras. [0045]-[0049], [0061], [0064]-[0069], [0075], [0079]-[0080], [0082]-[0083], [0085]-[0087], [0090]-[0092], [0096], [0108], [0116], [0118]), comprising:
a detection subsystem, wherein the detection subsystem comprises:
a plurality of cameras (reaping yield instruments 204, 700 which can be, but are not limited to, optical, infrared, camera, video camera) (Figs. 2, 7-8; Para. [0046]-[0053], [0057]-[0060], [0077]-[0081], [0085]-[0089], [0093], [0096]-[0097], [0099], [0116], [0118], [0123]) configured to be disposed on a respective plurality of row units (Fig. 2A; Paras. [0034], [0096]) of the corn header (harvester head 102) (Figs. 1-2, 7-8; Paras. [0045]-[0049], [0061], [0064]-[0069], [0075], [0079]-[0080], [0082]-[0083], [0085]-[0087], [0090]-[0092], [0096], [0108], [0116], [0118]), wherein each camera (reaping yield instruments 204, 404, 700 which can be, but are not limited to, optical, infrared, camera, video camera) (Figs. 2; Para. [0046]-[0053], [0057]-[0060], [0077]-[0081], [0085]-[0089], [0093], [0096]-[0097], [0099], [0116], [0118], [0123]) of the plurality of cameras (reaping yield instruments 204, 404, 700 which can be, but are not limited to, optical, infrared, camera, video camera) (Figs. 2; Para. [0046]-[0053], [0057]-[0060], [0077]-[0081], [0085]-[0089], [0093], [0096]-[0097], [0099], [0116], [0118], [0123]) is configured to output a signal indicative of an image of agricultural product at a respective row unit (Fig. 2A; Paras. [0034], [0096]) of the plurality of row units (Fig. 2A; Paras. [0034], [0096]); and
a control system (reaping instrument controller 202 and/or yield monitor 206) (Figs. 2A-2B, 7-8; Paras. [0049], [0052]-[0066], [0068], [0074]-[0075], [0077]-[0080], [0086], [0094], [0098]-[0100], [0104], [0107], [0109]-[0110], [0114], [0117], [0120]), comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions (Para. [0200]); and
one or more processors (Para. [0040]);
wherein the control system (reaping instrument controller 202 and/or yield monitor 206) (Figs. 2A-2B, 7-8; Paras. [0049], [0052]-[0066], [0068], [0074]-[0075], [0077]-[0080], [0086], [0094], [0098]-[0100], [0104], [0107], [0109]-[0110], [0114], [0117], [0120]) is configured to:
receive the signal from each camera (reaping yield instruments 204, 700 which can be, but are not limited to, optical, infrared, camera, video camera) (Figs. 2, 7-8; Para. [0046]-[0053], [0057]-[0060], [0077]-[0081], [0085]-[0089], [0093], [0096]-[0097], [0099], [0116], [0118], [0123]) of the plurality of cameras (reaping yield instruments 204, 700 which can be, but are not limited to, optical, infrared, camera, video camera) (Figs. 2, 7-8; Para. [0046]-[0053], [0057]-[0060], [0077]-[0081], [0085]-[0089], [0093], [0096]-[0097], [0099], [0116], [0118], [0123]); and
determine a size and a density of the agricultural product at each row unit of the plurality of row units based on the respective image (Figs. 6, 9A-9B, 10; Paras. [0085]); and
determine a relative yield of the agricultural product at each row unit of the plurality of row units (Figs. 6, 9A-9B, 10; Paras. [0086]-[00873]).
However, Acheson does not disclose the terahertz sources or that the cameras are terahertz cameras. based at least in part on the size and the density of the agricultural product at the row unit Nevertheless, Terahertz Spectroscopy teaches the use of a terahertz source and a terahertz camera (see, e.g., Fig. 2), to image crops and determine yield (P. 3, first paragraph under “2. Agricultural application of THz technology”; p. 19, section titled “2. Crop yield estimation”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the yield system for the corn header taught in Acheson with the use of terahertz sources and cameras as taught in Terahertz Spectroscopy in addition to (or, alternatively, in place of) the cameras disclosed in Acheson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to differentiate grain from material other than grain (MOG) (e.g., stems and leaves) as taught in Terahertz Spectroscopy (P. 19, section titled “2. Crop yield estimation”) and to measure water content of the crop as taught in Terahertz Spectroscopy (P. 3 under Section 1 of “2. Agricultural applications of THz technology”). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the yield system for the corn header taught in Acheson with the use of terahertz sources and cameras as taught in Terahertz Spectroscopy in addition to (or, alternatively, in place of) the cameras disclosed in Acheson with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 2, Acheson in view of Terahertz Spectroscopy teaches the yield system of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Acheson discloses a yield system wherein the control system (reaping instrument controller 202 and/or yield monitor 206) (Figs. 2A-2B, 7-8; Paras. [0049], [0052]-[0066], [0068], [0074]-[0075], [0077]-[0080], [0086], [0094], [0098]-[0100], [0104], [0107], [0109]-[0110], [0114], [0117], [0120]) is configured to determine the yield at each row unit (Fig. 2A; Paras. [0034], [0096]) of the plurality of row units (Fig. 2A; Paras. [0034], [0096]) based on the relative yield at the row unit (Fig. 2A; Paras. [0034], [0096]) and at least one additional parameter (e.g., one or more crop characteristics) (Para. [0079]).
Regarding claim 3, Acheson in view of Terahertz Spectroscopy teaches the yield system of claim 2 (see above). Furthermore, Acheson discloses a yield system wherein the control system (reaping instrument controller 202 and/or yield monitor 206) (Figs. 2A-2B, 7-8; Paras. [0049], [0052]-[0066], [0068], [0074]-[0075], [0077]-[0080], [0086], [0094], [0098]-[0100], [0104], [0107], [0109]-[0110], [0114], [0117], [0120]) is configured to generate a yield map (Figs. 5A-5B, 9A-9B; Paras. [0007]-[0009], [0011], [0030], [0035], [0037], [0039], [0044], [0048], [0054], [0059]-[0061], [0065]-[0068], [0075], [0081]-[0083], [0091], [0095], [0102], [0110]-[0114]) based on the yield at each row unit (Fig. 2A; Paras. [0034], [0096]) of the plurality of row units (Fig. 2A; Paras. [0034], [0096]).
Regarding claim 4, Acheson in view of Terahertz Spectroscopy teaches the yield system of claim 2 (see above). Furthermore, Acheson discloses a yield system wherein the control system (reaping instrument controller 202 and/or yield monitor 206) (Figs. 2A-2B, 7-8; Paras. [0049], [0052]-[0066], [0068], [0074]-[0075], [0077]-[0080], [0086], [0094], [0098]-[0100], [0104], [0107], [0109]-[0110], [0114], [0117], [0120]) is configured to control a user interface (Paras. [0039], [0052]-[0054]) to present data indicative of the yield at each row unit (Fig. 2A; Paras. [0034], [0096]) of the plurality of row units (Fig. 2A; Paras. [0034], [0096]).
Regarding claim 5, Acheson in view of Terahertz Spectroscopy teaches the yield system of claim 2 (see above). Furthermore, Acheson discloses a yield system wherein the at least one additional parameter comprises a moisture level of the agricultural product (Paras. [0079], [0089]), a harvested area of a field, an average density of the agricultural product (Paras. [0079], [0089]), a total yield of the agricultural product from the corn header, or a combination thereof (Paras. [0079], [0089]).
Regarding claim 6, Acheson in view of Terahertz Spectroscopy teaches the yield system of claim 5 (see above). Furthermore, Acheson discloses a yield system wherein the control system (reaping instrument controller 202 and/or yield monitor 206) (Figs. 2A-2B, 7-8; Paras. [0049], [0052]-[0066], [0068], [0074]-[0075], [0077]-[0080], [0086], [0094], [0098]-[0100], [0104], [0107], [0109]-[0110], [0114], [0117], [0120]) is configured to receive a signal indicative of the total yield from a yield monitor (Para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 7, Acheson in view of Terahertz Spectroscopy teaches the yield system of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Acheson discloses a yield system wherein a detection area is located above a pair of deck plates (Para. [0032]) and between a hood (first snout 106 in Fig. 7; Para. [0093]) and an adjacent hood (second snout 106 in Fig. 7; Para. [0093]).
Regarding claim 8, Acheson in view of Terahertz Spectroscopy teaches the yield system of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, the combination of Acheson and Terahertz Spectroscopy teaches a yield system wherein the image of agricultural product is based on attenuation (inherent in emission and capture of terahertz energy with crop being passed therebetween) of a respective terahertz source of the plurality of terahertz sources (see Terahertz Spectroscopy at Fig. 2; P. 3, section titled “2. Agricultural application of THz technology”; p. 19, section titled “2. Crop yield estimation”).
Regarding claim 9, Acheson in view of Terahertz Spectroscopy teaches the yield system of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, the combination of Acheson and Terahertz Spectroscopy discloses a yield system wherein at least one terahertz source of the plurality of terahertz sources (analogous to beam emitter 702) (Fig. 7; Para. [0093]) is configured to be disposed on a first hood (first snout 106 in Fig. 7; Para. [0093]), at least one terahertz camera (analogous to beam receiver 704) (Fig. 7; Para. [0093]) of the plurality of terahertz cameras is configured to be disposed on a second hood (second snout 106 in Fig. 7; Para. [0093]) adjacent to the first hood (first snout 106 in Fig. 7; Para. [0093]), and each of the first (first snout 106 in Fig. 7; Para. [0093]) and second hoods (second snout 106 in Fig. 7; Para. [0093]) is positioned between adjacent row units of the plurality of row units (see Fig. 7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Pat. Pub. Nos. 2014/0230391 to Hendrickson et al.; 2014/0230580 to Dybro et al.; 2014/0236381 to Anderson et al.; and 2016/0029558 to Dybro et al. relate to harvesters with crop sensing. European Pat. Pub. No. EP 2 944 179 A1 to Bruns et al. relates to multi-sensor crop yield determination. U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2013/0265415 to Oda et al.; and Chinese Pat. Pub. No. CN 104038706 A to Lv et al. relate to terahertz imaging devices.
/CLAUDE J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671