Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 16, 17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ford (AU2013203850 alternately US 2010/0170452). Ford discloses a heater (10) for a pool or a spa, the heater includes a housing (62), an outlet (23) disposed in the housing, the outlet in fluid communication with the pool or the spa, a first dosing mechanism (94) (SEE Figure 14) designed to meter an amount of a waste condensate provided to the pool or the spa, wherein the water condensate alters a pH value of water of the pool or the spa (SEE page 5, line 6 – page 6, line 14), and a controller (implicitly taught on page 13, lines 6-9) in electrical communication with the heater, wherein the controller is designed to control the first dosing mechanism to provide at least a portion of the water condensate to the pool or the spa via the outlet (page 5, line 6 – page 6, line 14). In re claim 2, Ford implicitly discloses evidence of a measurement device to monitor a pH value of the condensate generated by the heater (page 5, line 6 – page 6, line 14). In re claim 5, Ford discloses that the heater is a condensing heater (condensation is a byproduct of water flowing through a heat exchanger being heated by burner gas). In re claim 6, Ford discloses a waste condensate collection mechanism (page 6, lines 1-2) capable of storing at least a portion of the condensate prior to delivery of the condensate to the pool or spa. In re claim 8, Ford further discloses a drain (90) capable of directing condensate away from the heater. In re claim 16, Ford discloses a heater system for a pool or a spa including a heater (10) provided with a housing (62), an outlet (23) coupled to the housing, the outlet in fluid communication with the pool or the spa, a collection mechanism (SEE page 6, lines 1-2) in fluid communication with the outlet, the collection mechanism designed to collect waste condensate generated by the heater during operation and a controller (as evidenced by page 13, lines 6-27) in electrical communication with the heater (inherent), and is capable of directing a portion of the waste condensate from the collection mechanism to the pool or spa via the outlet (SEE page 6, line 22-24), such that the waste condensate alters the pH value of the water in the pool or spa (SEE page 5, line 6 – page 6, line 14). In re claim 17, Ford further discloses a first dosing mechanism (94) (SEE Figure 14) capable of metering an amount of water condensate provided to the pool or the spa. In re claim 19, Ford discloses a collection mechanism capable of retaining up to about 10 gallons of the condensate (interpreted as any amount from approx. 0 to 10 gallons, Ford discloses structure capable of meeting this range). In re claim 20, Ford implicitly discloses that the collection mechanism is exterior to the housing of the heater (SEE page 6, lines 19-21).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-15 are allowed.
Claims 3-4, 7 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that claim 1 recites “a controller in electrical communication with the heater, wherein the controller is designed to control the first dosing mechanism” and summarizes that a controller is both 1) in electrical communication with the heater and 2) designed to control the first dosing mechanism. The applicant argues that Ford only discloses a controller that is in communication with the heater alone, however as previously addressed in the office action, the examiner has taken the position that the controller having an association with the dosing mechanism is “implicitly” taught on page 13, lines 6-9 (as per AU2013203850). The examiner further directs the applicants attention to page 6, lines 10-14, specifically, “In an alternative embodiment, the condensate is stored and said condensate duct forms part of dosing apparatus for selectively directing metered amounts of condensate into the pool water at any suitable location” and further in claim 18, “A water heater according to claim 11 including a dosing apparatus for storing and selectively directing metered amounts of condensate into the water at any suitable location”. The fact that the dosing apparatus is capable of storing and selectively directing metered amounts (ie: a controlled amounts) of condensate would suggest that there is some level of automation/controlling occurring within the apparatus or at least that its operation is not arbitrary. Furthermore, the fact that Ford only teaches a single controller (70) would have suggested to a person having ordinary skill in the art that there would be an electrical connection between said controller and said dosing apparatus with a reasonable expectation of success, in this case selectively directing a controlled amount of condensate, since it would be commonly known that a controller would be capable of multiple sets of directions and thus not being strictly limited by communicating with just the heater’s burner and fan assembly; therefore the applicants argument that Ford’s condensate dosing unit could conceivably be controlled by a device separate from controller 70 is not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGORY A WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 August 11, 2026