DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) or indicate National Stage entry from a PCT application is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 12/22/2023 and 09/25/2024 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 12, 14-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kockmann -US 20020086639 A1- (hereinafter Kockmann).
Regarding claim 1, Kockmann discloses a method for wireless communication, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, a power supply signal, the power supply signal containing indication information indicating synchronization information (FIG. 2-4, par. 0025, “In a step 406, the control logic 102 opens a data channel to one or more handsets, transmitting the power supply frequency information. The data channel is used to transmit a synchronization word as well as the frequency information”); and
performing, by the terminal device, synchronization based on the synchronization information, or determining, by the terminal device, uplink timing or downlink timing based on the synchronization information (FIG. 2-4, par. 0025, “In a step 408, the receiver 114 of the handsets receives the power supply frequency information, which may be supplied as one or more indication bits. In a step 410, the control logic 104 of the handset(s) adjusts their frame and slot structure to correspond to the power supply frequency.”).
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Kockmann further discloses wherein the indication information is periodic indication information (par. 0025, “the base station determines if the interference is during the positive or negative half-wave of the public power supply frequency, and adjusts to transmit and receive all slots during the inactive period”).
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 2 above, Kockmann further discloses wherein indication information in different time units is different (par. 0025, “the base station determines if the interference is during the positive or negative half-wave of the public power supply frequency, and adjusts to transmit and receive all slots during the inactive period”).
Regarding claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, Kockmann further discloses wherein the indication information directly indicates the synchronization information (par. 0022, “the controller 110 sets the frame and slot structure accordingly. This information is provided to unlocked handsets via their receivers 112, during synchronization, in certain implementations over the data channel. The controllers 114 of the unlocked handsets then adjust their frame structure to match”).
Regarding claim 12, as applied to claim 1 above, Kockmann further discloses wherein the power supply signal is generated by a network device or another device (FIG. 2, par. 0015 0016 for one or more base stations 12 for transmitting a synchronization word).
Regarding claim 14, Kockmann discloses a method for wireless communication, comprising:
transmitting, by a communication device, a power supply signal, the power supply signal containing indication information indicating synchronization information (FIG. 2-4, par. 0025, “In a step 406, the control logic 102 opens a data channel to one or more handsets, transmitting the power supply frequency information. The data channel is used to transmit a synchronization word as well as the frequency information”).
Regarding claim(s) 15 and 16, as applied to claim 14 above, the claim is rejected for the same reason(s) as set forth claims 2 and 3 above.
Regarding claim 18, Kockmann discloses a terminal device, comprising:
a transceiver; a processor coupled to the transceiver; and a memory storing a computer program; wherein the computer program is configured to be executed by the processor to cause the terminal device to (FIG. 2 for handsets 14 or 16 with inherent transceiver, processor and memory):
receive a power supply signal, the power supply signal containing indication information indicating synchronization information (FIG. 2-4, par. 0025, “In a step 406, the control logic 102 opens a data channel to one or more handsets, transmitting the power supply frequency information. The data channel is used to transmit a synchronization word as well as the frequency information”); and
perform synchronization based on the synchronization information, or determine uplink timing or downlink timing based on the synchronization information (FIG. 2-4, par. 0025, “In a step 408, the receiver 114 of the handsets receives the power supply frequency information, which may be supplied as one or more indication bits. In a step 410, the control logic 104 of the handset(s) adjusts their frame and slot structure to correspond to the power supply frequency.”).
Regarding claim 19, as applied to claim 18 above, the claim is rejected for the same reason(s) as set forth claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 20, Kockmann discloses a communication device, comprising:
a transceiver; a processor coupled to the transceiver; and a memory storing a computer program; wherein the computer program is configured to be executed by the processor to cause the communication device to (FIG. 2, par. 0020 for base station 12 with inherent transceiver, processor and memory):
transmit a power supply signal, the power supply signal containing indication information indicating synchronization information (FIG. 2-4, par. 0025, “In a step 406, the control logic 102 opens a data channel to one or more handsets, transmitting the power supply frequency information. The data channel is used to transmit a synchronization word as well as the frequency information”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kockmann as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of ELLENBECK et al. -US 20210243713 A1- (hereinafter Ellenbeck).
Regarding claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Kockmann discloses the claimed invention except wherein the indication information is triggering indication information.
In the same field of endeavor, Ellenbeck discloses wherein the indication information is triggering indication information (FIG. 10, par. 0100 for detecting a specific triggering condition when the main synchronization signal is received at wireless device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate detecting a triggering condition for the supporting synchronization signal as taught by Ellenbeck to the transmitted or received a synchronization word as well as the frequency information as disclosed by Ellenbeck for purpose of detecting a specific triggering condition when the main synchronization signal is received at wireless device.
Regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 4 above, Ellenbeck discloses wherein the indication information has a correlation with transmission of a first channel, and the indication information is triggered by the transmission of the first channel (par. 00140 for determining the channel occupancy for triggering condition).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate detecting a triggering condition for the supporting synchronization signal as taught by Ellenbeck to the transmitted or received a synchronization word as well as the frequency information as disclosed by Ellenbeck for purpose of detecting a specific triggering condition when the main synchronization signal is received at wireless device.
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 5 above, Ellenbeck discloses wherein a transmission time unit of the indication information has a correlation with a transmission time unit of the first channel, and the synchronization information comprises a time offset between the transmission time unit of the indication information and the transmission time unit of the first channel (par. 0128, for “sync controller 912 may be configured to use different time offsets for different broadcast repetitions. For example, sync controller 912 may use different time offsets relative to the frame timing of the allocated resources to broadcast the supporting synchronization signal. This may help to compensate for misalignments between the local reference time (e.g., internal device clock or satellite-based time) of wireless device 706 and other wireless devices monitoring for the supporting synchronization signal”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate detecting a triggering condition for the supporting synchronization signal as taught by Ellenbeck to the transmitted or received a synchronization word as well as the frequency information as disclosed by Ellenbeck for purpose of detecting a specific triggering condition when the main synchronization signal is received at wireless device.
Regarding claim 17, as applied to claim 14 above, the claim is rejected for the same reason(s) as set forth claim 4 above.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kockmann as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Yuan et al. -US 20200015182 A1- (hereinafter Yuan).
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 1 above, Kockmann discloses the claimed invention except wherein the indication information indicates a location of the synchronization information, wherein the location is used to determine the synchronization information.
In the same field of endeavor, Yuan discloses wherein the indication information indicates a location of the synchronization information, wherein the location is used to determine the synchronization information (FIG. 4A and FIG. 5, par. 0007, for the configuration information of the synchronization signal including location indication information… to indicate a location of the synchronization signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate configuration information for the synchronization signal which includes location indication information as taught by Yuan to the transmitted or received a synchronization word as well as the frequency information as disclosed by Ellenbeck for purpose of providing a configuration information of the synchronization signal including the location indication information or a time cycle of a synchronization signal burst set.
Regarding claim 9, as applied to claim 8 above, Yuan discloses wherein a time interval between the indication information and the synchronization information is predefined or configured (FIG. 4A and FIG. 5, par. 0012 for “the configuration information of the synchronization signal… includes time cycle indication information, and the time cycle indication information is used to indicate a time cycle of the synchronization signal burst set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate configuration information for the synchronization signal which includes location indication information as taught by Yuan to the transmitted or received a synchronization word as well as the frequency information as disclosed by Ellenbeck for purpose of providing a configuration information of the synchronization signal including the location indication information or a time cycle of a synchronization signal burst set.
Regarding claim 10, as applied to claim 8 above, Yuan discloses wherein the location comprises at least one of a time domain location or a frequency domain location, and a frequency domain location of the power supply signal is the same as or different from the frequency domain location of the synchronization information (FIG. 4B , par. 0066 for slots based on time domain).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate configuration information for the synchronization signal which includes location indication information as taught by Yuan to the transmitted or received a synchronization word as well as the frequency information as disclosed by Ellenbeck for purpose of providing a configuration information of the synchronization signal including the location indication information or a time cycle of a synchronization signal burst set.
Regarding claim 11, as applied to claim 1 above, Kockmann discloses the claimed invention except wherein the synchronization information comprises at least one of: a radio frame number corresponding to the synchronization information, a subframe number corresponding to the synchronization information, a slot number corresponding to the synchronization information, or a symbol number corresponding to the synchronization information.
In the same field of endeavor, Yuan discloses wherein the synchronization information comprises at least one of: a radio frame number corresponding to the synchronization information, a subframe number corresponding to the synchronization information, a slot number corresponding to the synchronization information, or a symbol number corresponding to the synchronization information (FIG. 4B, par. 0049 and 0066 for slot numbers i to i+r with SS bursts form a synchronization signal burst set… “n SS blocks (an SS Block #0, an SS Block #1, . . . , an SS Block #(n−1)) distributed in r slots (a Slot i, a Slot i+1, . . . , and a Slot i+r) form an SS block set”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate configuration information for the synchronization signal which includes number of slots with a synchronization signal burst as taught by Yuan to the transmitted or received a synchronization word as well as the frequency information as disclosed by Ellenbeck for purpose of a plurality of SS bursts form a synchronization signal burst set in each slot
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kockmann as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Ye et al. -US 20210337494 A1- (hereinafter Ye).
Regarding claim 13, as applied to claim 1 above, Kockmann discloses the claimed invention except wherein the indication information further indicates beam index information.
In the same field of endeavor, Ye discloses wherein the indication information further indicates beam index information (FIG. 10, par. 0106, “At operation 1001, the BS determines the beam index for the first synchronization signal. At operation 1002, the BS determines the beam index for the second synchronization signal and/or system information (e.g., PBCH)… K1 bits can be used for indication of the first synchronization signal beam index… with K1 being the number of beams used for the first synchronization signal transmissions”; and FIG. 12, par. 0110 for including the beam index indication for synchronization signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate using beam index for synchronization signal as taught by Ye to the transmitted or received a synchronization word as well as the frequency information as disclosed by Ellenbeck for purpose of including the beam index indication for synchronization signal or word.
Conclusion
/ALLAHYAR KASRAIA N/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642