DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on March 22, 2024 and July 15, 2024 have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copies of form PTO-1449).
Drawings
Fifty-Eight sheets of drawings were filed on December 22, 2023.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become
aware in the specification.
Inventorship
Claim Objections
Claim 12 objected to because of the following informalities:
Replace "wherein the actuator is configured to move the output couplers in the first direction over a distance equal to or greater than a pitch of the output couplers in the first direction" with " wherein the actuator is configured to move the output couplers in the first direction over a distance equal to or greater than a pitch of the output couplers in the second direction" as disclosed in specification (Para. [0018] lines 13-16).
For the purposes of this examination, the claim is to be interpreted as if the replacement suggested by the examiner has been incorporated.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Purvis et al. (WO2022232069A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Purvis et al. discloses, a head-mounted display (Figures 9 and 10) comprising: a photonic integrated circuit chip (Figure 5); lasers (506) coupled to the photonic integrated circuit chip (Figure 5) and configured to emit beams of light; optical waveguides (512) formed in the photonic integrated circuit chip (Figure 5) in optical communication with the lasers (506) and configured to guide the beams of light; output couplers (514 and 516) formed in the photonic integrated circuit chip in optical communication with the optical waveguides (512) and configured to emit the beams of light into free space; and an actuator (Para. [0130] lines 4-7) configured to move the output couplers in a first direction so as to scan the beams of light across respective slices of a field of view of the head-mounted display. Purvis et al. teaches that the actuators may translate or rotate optical component to alter aspects of converging light. Since an edge coupler, as taught in the present invention, is an optical component of the photonic integrated circuit chip, Purvis et al meets the claimed limitation. Further, while the features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purvis et al. (WO2022232069A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schowengerdt et al. (US20210278587A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Purvis et al. discloses the head mounted display of claim 1. Purvis et al further discloses multiple actuators (Para. [0130] lines 4-7) but fails to disclose a second actuator configured to move the output couplers in a second direction different than the first so as to scan the beams of light across the field of view.
Schowengerdt et al. teaches a second actuator configured to move the output couplers in a second direction different than the first so as to scan the beams of light across the field of view (Para [0237] lines 1-6).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to implement a second actuator in the device of Purvis et al. to move the output coupler in a distinct second direction. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to achieve the predictable results of increasing the device's field of view.
Regarding Claim 3, Purvis et al. discloses the head mounted display of claim 1. Purvis et al. further discloses a laser (Figure 5) but fails to disclose the lasers emit the beam of light at red, green and blue wavelengths.
Schowengerdt et al. teaches lasers diodes that emit the beam of light at red, green and blue wavelengths (para. [0235] Page 54 lines 8-14).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to employ red, green and blue wavelengths in the system of Purvis et al. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize red, green and blue wavelength because they represent the industry standard primary colors required to achieve a full-color display.
Regarding claim 17, Purvis et al. discloses the head mounted display of claim 1. Purvis et al. further discloses relay optics configured to collimate light (Para [0122] lines 6-9); and an optical combiner optically coupled to the relay optics and configured to guide the light emitted by the output couplers to an eye of a person wearing the head-mounted display (Figure 6. Para [0075 lines 24-26), but fails to teach relay optics in optical communication with the output couplers and configured to collimate the light emitted by the output couplers;
Schowengerdt et al. teaches relay optics (collimating lens) in optical communication with the output couplers (outcoupling DOE) and configured to collimate the light (collimating lens) emitted by the output couplers (Para. [0053] lines 7-22).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the head mounted display of Purvis et al. with the relay optics taught by Schowengerdt et al. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to integrated the known optical components and arrangements to achieve the predictable results of a functional near eye display system.
Regarding claim 19, Purvis et al. discloses the head mounted display of claim. Purvis et al further claims scanning (Para. [0129] lines 22-27) and mirror (Para. [0130] lines 1-4) components, but fails to disclose a scanning mirror in optical communication with the relay optics and the optical combiner and configured to scan the light emitted by the output couplers.
Schowengerdt et al teaches a scanning mirror in optical communication with the relay optics and the optical combiner and configured to scan the light emitted by the output couplers (Para. [0053] lines 7-22). Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to incorporate the scanning architecture of Schowengerdt with the head mounted display of Purvis et al. to achieve the predictable result of expanding the field of view and improving the resolution of the virtual display.
Claims 4, 12, 14, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purvis et al. (WO2022232069A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Purvis et al. discloses the head mounted display of claim 1. Purvis et al. further discloses an optical modulator (Figure 5-510) coupled to the laser (506), but fails to disclose the modulation is in response to electrical modulation. Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, that laser light sources are inherently modulated via electrical signals to control output. To suggest that a modulator in a digital display system would function without a corresponding electrical drive signal, would be contrary to basis engineering logic.
Regarding claim 12, Purvis et al. discloses the head mounted display of claim 1. Purvis et al further discloses multiple actuators (Para. [0130] lines 4-7) but fails to disclose actuators configured to move the output couplers in the first direction over a distance equal to or greater than a pitch of the output couplers in the first(second) direction. Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to configure a second actuators to move the couplers over a distance equal to greater than their pitch. A person of ordinary skill I the art would have been motivated to implement this specific displacement range to facilitate continuous optical steering and the achieve a larger field of view.
Regarding claim 14, Purvis et al. discloses the head mounted display of claim 1. Purvis et al. further discloses the photonic integrated circuit may include optical switch (page 15 lines 8-18), but fails to disclose switches optically couple to the optical waveguides and configured to route the beams of light among the optical waveguides. Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to configure the optical switches of Purvis et al. to couple with and route light between waveguides. It is the primary and well-known function of an optical switch to route optical signals between different waveguide paths.
Regarding claim 18, Purvis et al. discloses the head mounted display of claim 1. Purvis et al. further discloses an actuator that changes distance between optical elements (Para. [0148 lines 14 and 15) but fails to disclose another actuator configured to vary a distance between the output couplers and the relay optics. Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to use an actuator to adjust the spacing between the output couplers and the relay optics. It is well established that the mechanical displacement between output couplers and relay optics is a primary method for controlling the focal plane and collimation of an optical system. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate an actuator to vary the distance between the output couplers and the relay optics to achieve the predictable result of a more dynamic and adjustable viewing experience.
Regarding claim 20, Purvis et al. discloses the head mounted display of claim 1. Purvis et al. further discloses multiple photonic integrated circuits (Figure 7) but fails to disclose the photonic integrated circuit chip stacked on the first photonic integrated circuit chip. Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate multiple Photonic integrated circuits in a stacked arranging to optimize space and performance.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purvis et al. (WO2022232069A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Amirsolaimani et al. (US20220050286A1).
Regarding claim 5, Purvis et al. discloses the head mounted display of claim 1. Purvis et al. further discloses couplers (Figure 5) but fails to disclose output couplers arranged in subsets configured to emit respective groups of red, green and blue beams of light.
Amirsolaimani et al. teaches output couplers arranges in subsets configured to emit respective groups of red, green and blue beams of light (Figure 7A. Para. [0068 lines 4-9). Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine these teaching the achieve the predictable result of a full color display.
Regarding claim 13, Purvis et al. discloses the head mounted display of claim 1. Purvis et al. further discloses the photonic integrated circuit chip but fails to discloses multiplexers optically coupled to the optical waveguides and configured to multiplex the beams of light on the output couplers.
Amirsolaimani et al teaches, multiplexers optically coupled to the optical waveguides and configured to multiplex the beams of light on the output couplers (Figure 7A. para [0068 lines 10-16). Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the photonic integrated circuit chip of Purvis et al with the multiplexers taught by Amirsolaimani et al. to achieve a more compact configuration and increase the number of light beams that can be processed and emitted by the display.
Claims 6-10 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purvis et al. (WO2022232069A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Doerr et al. (US10895690B1).
Regarding claim 6, Purvis et al. discloses the head mounted display of claim 1. Purvis et al. further discloses couplers (Figure 5) but fails to disclose the output coupler comprise edge couplers extending from the facet of the photonic integrated circuit chip.
Doerr et al. teaches output coupler comprise edge couplers extending from the facet of the photonic integrated circuit chip (Figure 1B Column 6 lines 40-48). Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to incorporate the edge-coupling taught by Doerr into the head mounted display of Purvis et al. to improve coupling efficiency and achieve a compact form factor.
Regarding claim 7, Purvis et al. discloses the head mounted display of claim 1. Purvis et al. further discloses curved surfaces of optical component but fails to disclose a curved facet.
Doerr et al. teaches a facet of the photonic integrated circuit. Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine these teachings to improve the optical coupling and image quality of the head mounted display. Providing a curved profile to the facet is a well-known technique used to introduce optical power at an interface, allowing the facet to simultaneously redirect and focus light.
Regarding claim 8, Purvis et al. disclosed the head mounted display of claim 1. Purvis et al. further discloses couplers, but fails to disclose, each of the edge couplers comprises: a dielectric cantilever extending from the facet of the photonic integrated circuit chip; a waveguide core formed in the dielectric cantilever; and a metal layer disposed on at least one side of the dielectric cantilever.
Doerr teaches, each of the edge couplers comprises: a dielectric cantilever (column 10 lines 9-16) extending from the facet of the photonic integrated circuit chip (Figure 1B Column 6 lines 40-48); a waveguide core formed in the dielectric cantilever (Figure 6A. column 10 lines 9-16); and a metal layer (Figure 6A metal electrodes 851 and 852) disposed on at least one side of the dielectric cantilever (Figure 6A).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the head mounted display systems of Purvis et al. with the edge coupler taught by Doerr et al. to improve efficiency, compactness, and manufacturability of couplers within a head mounted display. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the edge couple taught by Doerr et al. provides a known and highly efficient means for coupling light.
Regarding claim 9, Purvis et al. discloses the head mounted display of claim 1. Purvis et al. further discloses actuators (Para. [0130] lines 4-7), but fails to disclose the actuator comprises an electrode configured to apply an electrostatic force to the metal layer.
Doerr et al. teaches the actuator comprises an electrode (Figure 6A. 851 and 852) configured to apply an electrostatic force to the metal layer (column 11 lines 60-66).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to incorporate the electrostatic actuator of Doerr into the head mounted display of Purvis et al. A person of ordinary skill in the ark would have been motivated to use electrostatic actuation as it a well-established method for manipulating small-scale components.
Regarding claim 10, Purvis et al. discloses actuators, but fails to disclose (Para. [0130] lines 4-7), the actuator comprises a heater configured to heat the metal layer.
Doerr et al teaches, the actuator comprises a heater configured to heat the metal layer (Column 5 lines 3-13). Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to incorporate the heater-based actuator of Doerr into the head mounted display of Purves et al. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to used thermal actuation because it provides reliable, high force method for achieving mechanical displacement in micro-optical systems.
Regarding claim 15, Purvis et al discloses the head mounted display of claim 1. Purvis et al. further discloses coupler (Figure 5) but fails to disclose output couplers disposed on a movable and/or tiltable plate suspended from a substrate of the photonic integrated circuit ship and the actuator is configured to move the movable and/or tiltable plate.
Doerr et al. teaches output couplers (Figure 8A Column 6 lines 40-48) disposed on a movable and/or tiltable plate (Figure 6A) suspended from a substrate of the photonic integrated circuit chip (Figure 3A. Column 8 lines 5-11) and the actuator (Figure 3A. 318) is configured to move the movable and/or tiltable plate.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, incorporate the output coupler, movable/tiltable plate, and actuator assembly from Doerr et al. into the head mounted display of Purvis et al. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to the combine these known elements to achieve improved alignment or functionality.
Regarding claim 16, Purvis et al discloses the head mounted display of claim 1. Purvis et al. fails to disclose the movable and/or tiltable plate is suspended from the substrate of the photonic integrated circuit chip via an inner frame movable with respect to the substrate of the photonic integrated circuit chip.
Doerr et al. teaches the movable and/or tiltable plate (Figure 6A) is suspended from the substrate of the photonic integrated circuit chip (Figure 3A. Column 8 lines 5-11) via an inner frame (Figure 8B) movable with respect to the substrate of the photonic integrated circuit chip (Column 11 lines 57-59). Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to incorporate the frame suspension system of Doerr et al. into the display system Purvis et al. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivate to utilize an inner frame to provide multiple degrees of freedom or decoupled axes of movement for the output couplers.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purvis et al. (WO2022232069A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Boeuf et al. (US11269141B2).Regarding claim 11, Purvis et al. discloses the head mounted display of claim 1. Purvis et al further discloses couplers (Figure 5) but fails to the disclose the output couplers comprise vertical grating couplers configured to emit the beams of light into free space.
Boeuf et al. teaches output couplers comprise vertical grating couplers configured to emit the beams of light into free space (Figures 1. Column 5 lines 14-28).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to arrange the couplers of Purvis et al. using the grating coupler taught by Boeuf et al. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings because they are an established, efficient means for extracting light.
Conclusion
/TAJANAE NICOLE GREEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874