DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 11, 16, 19 are amended.
Claims 11-20 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application filed in DE 2023200037.7 on 01/03/2023 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binder (WO 2017149526) in view of El Ozeir (US 20240219561).
Regarding Claim 11, Binder teaches the following limitations:
A power supply device for a radar sensor, comprising: (Binder – [pg. 116 para. 3] The type of propagated waves used for measuring the distance by the distance meters A 40a and B 40b may be identical, similar, or different from each other. For example, the same technology may be used, such that both distance meters A 40a and B 40b use light waves, acoustic waves, or radar waves for distance measuring. [pg. 118 para. 4] The angle meter 55c comprises the base unit 65 functionalities, and provides shared structures and functionalities for the two distance meters A 40a and 40b, such as a shared mechanical enclosure, a shared power source or a shared power supply, or a shared control. The module or circuit 'A' meter functionality 71a comprises the structure and functionalities that are not shared and are part of the distance measuring along line 51a, namely the emitter 11a driven by the signal conditioner 6a, the sensor 13a which output is manipulated by the signal conditioner 6'a, and the correlator 19a for correlating between the signal fed to the emitter 11a and the signal received from the sensor 13a…The shared components may comprise the control block 61, connected to activate and control the 'A' module 71a and the 'B' module 71b and to receive the measured distance therefrom, the display 63, the user interface block 62, a power source, and an enclosure.)
a voltage supply connection, (Binder – [pg. 118 para. 4], [pg. 22 para. 4] An advantage of horn antennas is that since they have no resonant elements, they can operate over a wide range of frequencies, a wide bandwidth. The usable bandwidth of horn antennas is typically of the order of 10: 1, and can be up to 20: 1 (for example allowing it to operate from 1 GHz to 20 GHz). The input impedance is slowly varying over this wide frequency range, allowing low voltage standing wave ratio (VSWR) over the bandwidth. The gain of horn antennas typically ranges up to 25 dBi, with 10 - 20 dBi being.)
wherein the power supply device is configured to provide a supply voltage for the radar sensor at the voltage supply connection; (Binder – [Fig. 7], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4])
an input interface configured to receive a trigger signal from the radar sensor; and (Binder – [Fig. 7], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4] Binder does not explicitly teach “trigger signal”.)
a control apparatus configured to temporarily adjust a control for the supply voltage at the voltage supply connection when the trigger signal from the radar sensor has been received at the input interface, (Binder – [Fig. 7], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4])
Binder does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however El Ozeir, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
trigger signal (El Ozeir – [0040] A “first pass” of the calibration may then be performed using the initial target Vcal. At 406, the controller may obtain the output voltage (Vout_c) of the coupled PPD. For example, in the device 200 of FIG. 2, the controller 240 receives an amplified coupled PPD output signal from the VGA 230. At 408, the controller compares the measured voltage Vout_c to the calibration target Vcal; if the compared values do not match, at 410 the controller may cause the supply voltage to the gain section of the power amplifier to be adjusted. For example, the controller may generate control signals for a voltage regulator that cause the voltage regulator to increase or decrease the supply voltage to the associated power amplifier components. In turn, this causes the output power level of the power amplifier to move toward the desired power level. The controller then returns to 406 to again measure the couple PPD output voltage Vout_c and, at 408, compare the newly measured value to the calibration target. This process iterates until an initial calibration of the output power level is achieved, at which point Vout_c=Vcal and the controller proceeds from 408 to 420 after the “first pass” calibration.)
wherein the radar sensor is configured to provide the trigger signal when transitioning from a low-power state to a high-power operating state, and wherein the radar sensor is configured to provide the trigger signal prior to transmitting a sequence of radar signals. (El Ozeir – [0048] The system may further include a low drop-out voltage regulator electrically connected to the controller and to the power amplifier, the voltage regulator configured to receive the control signals from the controller and, responsively, generate the supply voltage corresponding to the control signals and provide the supply voltage to the power amplifier. The power amplifier may include a gain stage having a first driver and a first output stage, and the supply voltage may be provided to the first driver and the first output stage to cause the power amplifier to increase or decrease the output power level of the first output signal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the control block of Binder with the voltage control, amplification, and signaling of El Ozeir in order to calibrate a transmission signal (El Ozeir – [0033]).
Regarding Claim 12, Binder further teaches:
further comprising: a switching converter configured to convert an input voltage provided at the power supply device into an output voltage and to provide the output voltage as a supply voltage at the voltage supply connection. (Binder – [Fig. 38], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4], [pg. 155 para. 3] An example of an AC-powered arrangement 500c is shown in FIG. 38. The connection to the AC power typically uses an AC plug 508 connected via an AC cord 507. In one example, a power supply 506a, that may be an AC/DC power supply, is used in order to adapt the AC power to the voltage level and type that can be used by the actuator 501.)
Regarding Claim 13, Binder further teaches:
wherein the control apparatus is configured to increase the supply voltage at the voltage supply connection when the trigger signal from the radar sensor has been received at the input interface. (Binder – [Fig. 38], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4] Binder does not explicitly teach “trigger signal”.)
Binder does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however El Ozeir, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
trigger signal (El Ozeir – [0040])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the control block of Binder with the voltage control and signaling of El Ozeir in order to calibrate a transmission signal (El Ozeir – [0033]).
Regarding Claim 14, Binder further teaches:
wherein the control apparatus is configured to increase a control bandwidth of the control for the supply voltage at the voltage supply connection when a trigger signal from the radar sensor has been received at the input interface. (Binder – [Fig. 38], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4] Binder does not explicitly teach “trigger signal”.)
Binder does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however El Ozeir, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
trigger signal (El Ozeir – [0040])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the control block of Binder with the voltage control and signaling of El Ozeir in order to calibrate a transmission signal (El Ozeir – [0033]).
Regarding Claim 15, Binder further teaches:
wherein the control apparatus is configured to reset the control bandwidth of the control for the supply voltage at the voltage supply connection after a predetermined period of time after the control bandwidth has been increased. (Binder – [Fig. 7], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4], [pg. 175 para. 6] The signal conditioner may involve time, frequency, or magnitude related manipulations. The signal conditioner may be linear or non-linear, and may include an amplifier, a voltage or current limiter, an attenuator, a delay line or circuit,)
Regarding Claim 16, Binder teaches the following limitations:
A radar system, comprising: (Binder – [Fig. 38], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4], [pg. 22 para. 5] Radar distance measuring system is described in a paper published in Journal of Computers, Vol. 6, No. 4, April 2011 by Zhao Zeng-rong and Bai Ran entitled: "A FMCW Radar Distance Measure System based on LabVIEW which is incorporated in its entirety for all purposes as if fully set forth herein. Automotive radar systems using integrated 24 GHz radar sensor techniques are described in a paper by Michael Klotz and Hermann Rohling published 4/2001 in the Journal of telecommunications and Information Technology entitled: "24 GHz radar sensor for automotive applications", which is incorporated in its entirety for all purposes as if fully set forth herein.)
a radar sensor configured to transmit radar signals, receive radar echoes of the transmitted radar signals, and process the received radar echoes; and (Binder – [pg. 116 para. 3], [pg. 23 para. 3] Electromagnetic radiation is transmitted in the form of transmission pulses at objects, and reflected (or backscattered) echo pulses are detected. Measurements are made by determining the pulse time of flight of the distances of objects which respectively form a distance picture element and at which the transmission pulses are reflected.)
a power supply device for the radar sensor wherein the power supply device being configured to provide a supply voltage for the radar sensor, the power supply device including: (Binder – [Fig. 7], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4])
a voltage supply connection, (Binder – [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4])
wherein the power supply device is configured to provide the supply voltage for the radar sensor at the voltage supply connection, (Binder – [Fig. 7], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4])
an input interface configured to receive a trigger signal from the radar sensor; and (Binder – [Fig. 7], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4] Binder does not explicitly teach “trigger signal”.)
a control apparatus configured to temporarily adjust a control for the supply voltage at the voltage supply connection when the trigger signal from the radar sensor has been received at the input interface; (Binder – [Fig. 7], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4])
wherein the radar sensor is configured to provide the trigger signal at the input interface of the power supply device when a specified operating state is set in the radar sensor, (Binder – [Fig. 7], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4]Binder does not explicitly teach “trigger signal”.)
wherein the radar sensor is configured to provide the trigger signal when transitioning from a low-power state to a high-power operating state, and wherein the radar sensor is configured to provide the trigger signal prior to transmitting a sequence of radar signals. (El Ozeir – [0048])
Binder does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however El Ozeir, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
trigger signal (El Ozeir – [0040])
wherein the radar sensor is configured to provide the trigger signal when transitioning from a low-power state to a high-power operating state, and wherein the radar sensor is configured to provide the trigger signal prior to transmitting a sequence of radar signals. (El Ozeir – [0048])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the control block of Binder with the voltage control, amplification, and signaling of El Ozeir in order to calibrate a transmission signal (El Ozeir – [0033]).
Regarding Claim 17, Binder further teaches:
wherein the radar sensor is configured to transmit sequences of radar signals, (Binder – [Fig. 7], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4], [pg. 175 para. 6])
wherein pauses in which no radar signals are transmitted are provided between the sequences of radar signals, and (Binder – [Fig. 7], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4], [pg. 175 para. 6]
wherein the radar sensor is configured to provide the trigger signal at the input interface of the power supply device in each case prior to the transmission of a sequence of radar signals. (Binder – [Fig. 7], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4], [pg. 175 para. 6])
Binder does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however El Ozeir, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
trigger signal (El Ozeir – [0040])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the control block of Binder with the voltage control and signaling of El Ozeir in order to calibrate a transmission signal (El Ozeir – [0033]).
Regarding Claim 18, Binder further teaches:
wherein the radar sensor includes a frequency-modulated continuous wave radar. (Binder – [pg. 22 para. 5])
Regarding Claim 19, Binder teaches the following limitations:
A motor vehicle, comprising: (Binder – [pg. 22 para. 5])
a radar system, including: (Binder – [pg. 22 para. 5])
a radar sensor configured to transmit radar signals, receive radar echoes of the transmitted radar signals, and process the received radar echoes; and (Binder – [pg. 23 para. 3], [pg. 116 para. 3])
a power supply device for the radar sensor wherein the power supply device being configured to provide a supply voltage for the radar sensor, the power suppply device including: (Binder – [Fig. 7], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4])
a voltage supply connection, (Binder – [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4])
wherein the power supply device is configured to provide the supply voltage for the radar sensor at the voltage supply connection, (Binder – [Fig. 7], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4])
an input interface configured to receive a trigger signal from the radar sensor; and (Binder – [Fig. 7], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4] Binder does not explicitly teach “trigger signal”.)
a control apparatus configured to temporarily adjust a control for the supply voltage at the voltage supply connection when the trigger signal from the radar sensor has been received at the input interface; (Binder – [Fig. 7], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4])
wherein the radar sensor is configured to provide the trigger signal at the input interface of the power supply device when a specified operating state is set in the radar sensor, (Binder – [Fig. 7], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4] Binder does not explicitly teach “trigger signal”.)
wherein the radar sensor is configured to provide the trigger signal when transitioning from a low-power state to a high-power operating state, and wherein the radar sensor is configured to provide the trigger signal prior to transmitting a sequence of radar signals.
Binder does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however El Ozeir, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
trigger signal (El Ozeir – [0040])
wherein the radar sensor is configured to provide the trigger signal when transitioning from a low-power state to a high-power operating state, and wherein the radar sensor is configured to provide the trigger signal prior to transmitting a sequence of radar signals. (El Ozeir – [0048])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the control block of Binder with the voltage control, amplification, and signaling of El Ozeir in order to calibrate a transmission signal (El Ozeir – [0033]).
Regarding Claim 20, Binder further teaches:
A method for supplying power to a radar sensor, comprising the following steps: (Binder – [Fig. 7], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4])
providing a supply voltage at the radar sensor; (Binder – [Fig. 7], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4])
receiving a trigger signal from the radar sensor; and temporarily adjusting a control for the supply voltage at the radar sensor when a trigger signal from the radar sensor has been received. (Binder – [Fig. 7], [pg. 22 para. 4], [pg. 118 para. 4] Binder does not explicitly teach “trigger signal”.)
Binder does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however El Ozeir, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
trigger signal (El Ozeir – [0040])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the control block of Binder with the voltage control and signaling of El Ozeir in order to calibrate a transmission signal (El Ozeir – [0033]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 6, filed 02/20/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the cited references do not teach “the radar sensor is configured to provide the trigger signal when transitioning from a low-power state to a high-power operating state, and wherein the radar sensor is configured to provide the trigger signal prior to transmitting a sequence of radar signals”. The examiner disagrees, El Ozeir clearly teaches a “control signal” which is cited to teach a “trigger signal” that controls the voltage regulator to increase/decrease the supply voltage (El Ozeir [0040]) and the output power level of the output signal (El Ozeir [0048]).
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims is understandable and distinguishable from other inventions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON JAMES HENSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/RESHA DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648