Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-13, 15-16, 18-23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claims 1, 9, and 15 examiners is unable to find support for the bit rates being selected based on respective transmission performances of the wavelengths. Please provide support to overcome rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0331776) in view of Sambo (CN 103053126 A).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches A method comprising: providing a first optical signal of a first wavelength with a first bitrate to a multiplexer (FIG. 7; "second transmitter 850 nm"; "20 Gbps NRZ"); providing a second optical signal of a second wavelength with a second bitrate to the multiplexer (FIG. 7; "first transmitter 1310 nm"; "30 Gbps NRZ"); multiplexing the first optical signal and the second optical signal to form a multiplexed signal (FIG. 7; "short wavelength division multiplex"); and transmitting the multiplexed signal via an optical fiber (FIG. 7; "Multimode optical fiber"). Wang does not teach wherein the first bitrate is greater than the second bitrate and the first wavelength is shorter than the second wavelength. Samba teaches wherein the first bitrate is greater than the second bitrate (claim 9: "wherein lightpaths in the multiplex operate at different wavelengths at two different bitrates ... determine an existing lightpath operating at the higher of the two bitrates and having a shortest wavelength among the lightpaths operating at the higher bitrate in the wavelength multiplex") and the first wavelength is shorter than the second wavelength (Id). Wang also fails to teach selecting the first bitrate and the second bitrate on respective transmission performances of the first wavelength and second wavelength over a transmission distance of the optical fiber. Samba teaches a QOT (quality of transmission (example is BER) evaluation of the wavelength, QOT is the quality of transmission of the wavelength. The QOT is compared to threshold to determine if acceptable. Hence QOT is equated with wavelength performance. (par. 4, 5, 8)
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the multiplex transmitter taught in Wang such that the shorter wavelength was combined with a higher bitrate based on the technique taught by Samba. Such a combination would merely be applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield a predictable result. Wherein the predictable result is a transmitter capable of transmitting the higher bitrate using the shorter wavelength.
Wang and Samba both relate to optical communication systems and are therefore analogous art.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Wang and Samba further teaches wherein the first wavelength is less than 940 nm and the second wavelength is greater than 910 nm. (Wang, FIG. 7; "second transmitter 850 nm"; "first transmitter 1310 nm")
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the multiplex transmitter taught in Wang such that the shorter wavelength was combined with a higher bitrate based on the technique taught by Samba. Such a combination would merely be applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield a predictable result. Wherein the predictable result is a transmitter capable of transmitting the higher bitrate using the shorter wavelength.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wang and Samba further teaches wherein the optical fiber comprises a multimode optical fiber. (Wang, FIG. 7; "Multimode optical fiber") Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the multiplex transmitter taught in Wang such that the shorter wavelength was combined with a higher bitrate based on the technique taught by Samba. Such a combination would merely be applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield a predictable result. Wherein the predictable result is a transmitter capable of transmitting the higher bitrate using the shorter wavelength.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Wang and Samba further teaches wherein multiplexing the first optical signal and the second optical signal comprises performing wavelength division multiplexing. (Wang, FIG. 7; "Short Wavelength Division Multiplexer")
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the multiplex transmitter taught in Wang such that the shorter wavelength was combined with a higher bitrate based on the technique taught by Samba. Such a combination would merely be applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield a predictable result. Wherein the predictable result is a transmitter capable of transmitting the higher bitrate using the shorter wavelength.
Claim(s) 6-13, 15-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0331776) in view of Samba (CN 103053126 A) and in further view of Torres-Ferrera (P. Torres-Ferrera et al., "Statistical Analysis of 100 Gbps per Wavelength SWDM VCSEL-MMF Data Center Links on a Large Set of OM3 and OM4 Fibers," in Journal of Lightwave Technology, vol. 40, no. 4, pp. 1018-1026, Feb. 15, 2022).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wang and Samba teaches the method of claim 1 and wherein a central wavelength of the first wavelength is selected from the group consisting of 850 nm (Wang, FIG. 7; "Second Transmitter 850 nm"; [132]). the combination of Wang and Samba does not teach central wavelengths of 910 nm, and 940 nm. Torres-Ferrera however, teaches using wavelengths of 910 nm, and 940 nm (p. 1019, ,i1). Because Wang already discloses multiplexing two optical signals with different wavelengths and bitrates together, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to multiplex additional optical signals with different wavelengths in view of what Torres-Ferrera teaches. The suggestion/motivation would have been to multiplex more optical signals in order to carry more data within one multiplexed signal.
Wang and Torres-Ferrera are from the same art with respect to multiplexing optical communications and are therefore analogous art.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wang and Samba teaches the method
of claim 1, The combination of Wang and Samba does not teach wherein a central wavelength of the second wavelength is selected from the group consisting of 880 nm, 910 nm, and 940 nm.Torres-Ferrera however, teaches wherein a central wavelength of the second wavelength is selected from the group consisting of 880 nm, 910 nm, and 940 nm. (p. 1019, ,i 1). Because Wang already discloses multiplexing two optical signals with different wavelengths and bitrates together, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to multiplex additional optical signals with different wavelengths in view of what Torres-Ferrera teaches. The suggestion/motivation would have been to multiplex more optical signals in order to carry more data within one multiplexed signal.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wang and Samba teaches the method of claim 1, the combination of Wang and Samba does not teach wherein providing the first optical signal comprises providing the first optical signal via a first vertical cavity surface emitting laser; and providing the second optical signal comprises providing the second optical signal via a second vertical cavity surface emitting laser. Torres-Ferrera however, teaches providing the first optical signal comprises providing the first optical signal via a first vertical cavity surface emitting laser. (p. 1018, ,i 1) and providing the second optical signal comprises providing the second optical signal via a second vertical cavity surface emitting laser. (Id) Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the arts to replace the emitter taught in Wang with the vertical cavity surface emitting laser taught in Torres-Ferrera. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide the system in Wang with the advantages provided by a vertical cavity surface emitting over a conventional emitter.
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches A method comprising: providing a first optical signal of a first wavelength at a first bitrate (FIG. 7; "second transmitter 850 nm"; "20 Gbps NRZ"); providing a second optical signal of a second wavelength at a second bitrate, (FIG. 7; "first transmitter 1310 nm" "30 Gbps NRZ") multiplexing the first optical signal, the second optical signal, the third optical signal, and the fourth optical signal to form a multiplexed signal (FIG. 7; "short wavelength division multiplex"); and transmitting the multiplexed signal via an optical fiber. (FIG. 7; "Multimode optical fiber"). Wang does not teach wherein the second wavelength is longer than the first wavelength and the second bitrate is less than the first bitrate; providing a third optical signal of a third wavelength at a third bitrate, wherein the third wavelength is longer than the second wavelength and the third bitrate is less than the second bitrate; providing a fourth optical signal of a fourth wavelength at a fourth bitrate, wherein the fourth wavelength is longer than the third wavelength and the fourth bitrate is less than the third bitrate; Samba teaches wherein the second wavelength is longer than the first wavelength and the second bitrate is less than the first bitrate (claim 9: "wherein lightpaths in the multiplex operate at different wavelengths at two different bitrates ... determine an existing lightpath operating at the higher of the two bitrates and having a shortest wavelength among the lightpaths operating at the higher bitrate in the wavelength multiplex"); wherein the third wavelength is longer than the second wavelength and the third bitrate is less than the second bitrate; (Id) wherein the fourth wavelength is longer than the third wavelength and the fourth bitrate is less than the third bitrate (Id) Wang also fails to teach selecting the first bitrate and the second bitrate on respective transmission performances of the first wavelength and second wavelength over a transmission distance of the optical fiber. Samba teaches a QOT (example is BER) evaluation of the wavelength, QOT is the quality of transmission of the wavelength. The QOT is compared to threshold to determine if acceptable. Hence QOT is equated with wavelength performance. (par. 4, 5, 8)
Samba does not teach providing a third optical signal of a third wavelength at a third bitrate and providing a fourth optical signal of a fourth wavelength at a fourth bitrate Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the multiplex transmitter taught in Wang such that the shorter wavelength was combined with a higher bitrate based on the technique taught by Samba. Such a combination would merely be applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield a predictable result. Wherein the predictable result is a transmitter capable of transmitting the higher bitrate using the shorter wavelength.
Torres-Ferrera teaches providing a third optical signal of a third wavelength at a third bitrate (p. 1019, ,i 1) and providing a fourth optical signal of a fourth wavelength at a fourth bitrate, (Id)) because Wang already discloses multiplexing two optical signals with different wavelengths and bitrates together, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to multiplex additional optical signals with different wavelengths and bitrates in view of what Torres-Ferrera teaches. The suggestion/motivation would have been to multiplex more optical signals in order to carry more data within one multiplexed signal. The suggestion/motivation would have been to multiplex more optical signals in order to carry more data within one multiplexed signal.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wang, Samba and Torres-Ferrera discloses the method of claim 9, wherein a sum of the first bitrate, the second bitrate, the third bitrate and the fourth bitrate is greater than or equal to 400 Gbps. (Torres-Ferrera, p. 1018, ,i 1). Because Wang already discloses multiplexing two optical signals with different wavelengths and bitrates together, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to multiplex additional optical signals with different wavelengths and bitrates in view of what Torres-Ferrera teaches. The suggestion/motivation would have been to multiplex more optical signals in order to carry more data within one multiplexed signal.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Wang, Samba, and Torres-Ferrera discloses the method of claim 9, wherein multiplexing to form the multiplexed signal comprises performing short wavelength division multiplexing. (Torres-Ferrera, p. 1019, ,i l; Wang FIG. 7; "Short Wavelength Division Multiplexer"). Both Wang and Torres-Ferrera teach short wavelength division multiplexing. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve the systems with the advantages provided by a vertical cavity surface emitting over a conventional emitter
.Regarding claim 12, the combination of Wang, Samba, and Torres-Ferrera discloses the method of claim 9, wherein; providing the first optical signal comprises providing the first optical signal with a first central wavelength of 850 nm. (Torres-Ferrera, p. 1019, ,i l; Wang FIG. 7; [132]); providing the second optical signal comprises providing the second optical signal with a second central wavelength of 880 nm(Torres-Ferrera, p. 1019, ,i l); providing the third optical signal comprises providing the third optical signal with a third central wavelength of 910 nm; (Id) and providing the fourth optical signal comprises providing the fourth optical signal with a fourth central wavelength of 940 nm. (Id) Because Wang already discloses multiplexing two optical signals with different wavelengths and bitrates together, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to multiplex additional optical signals with different wavelengths in view of what Torres-Ferrera teaches. The suggestion/motivation would have been to multiplex more optical signals in order to carry more data within one multiplexed signal.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Wang, Samba, and Torres-Ferrera discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the optical fiber comprises a multimode optical fiber. (Wang, FIG. 7, "Multimode optical fiber"). Wang and Torres-Ferrera both teach using multimode optical fiber. The suggestion/motivation would have been to allow for more data be carried within one multiplexed signal.
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches An apparatus comprising: a multiplexer; (FIG. 7; "short wavelength division multiplex") an optical fiber; (FIG. 7; "Multimode optical fiber") and one or more processors ([134]), wherein the one or more processors are configured to: control a plurality of vertical cavity surface emitting lasers to provide a first optical signal of a first wavelength with a first bitrate to the multiplexer; (FIG. 7; "second transmitter 850 nm"; "20 Gbps NRZ; [134]) control the plurality of vertical cavity surface emitting lasers to provide a second optical signal of a second wavelength with a second bitrate to the multiplexer, (FIG. 7; "first transmitter 1310 nm"; "30 Gbps NRZ"; [134]) and control the multiplexer to multiplex the first optical signal and the second optical signal to form a multiplexed signal ([134]) and transmit the multiplexed signal over the optical fiber. (FIG. 7; "Multimode optical fiber") Wang does not teach a plurality of vertical cavity surface emitting lasers and wherein the first bitrate is greater than the second bitrate and the first wavelength is shorter than the second wavelength; Samba teaches wherein the first bitrate is greater than the second bitrate bitrate (claim 9 ("wherein lightpaths in the multiplex operate at different wavelengths at two different bitrates ... determine an existing lightpath operating at the higher of the two bitrates and having a shortest wavelength among the lightpaths operating at the higher bitrate in the wavelength multiplex")) and the first wavelength is shorter than the second wavelength (Id);
Wang also fails to teach selecting the first bitrate and the second bitrate on respective transmission performances of the first wavelength and second wavelength over a transmission distance of the optical fiber. Sambo teaches a QOT (example is BER) evaluation of the wavelength, QOT is the quality of transmission of the wavelength. The QOT is compared to threshold to determine if acceptable. Hence QOT is equated with wavelength performance. (par. 4, 5, 8) Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the multiplex transmitter taught in Wang such that the shorter wavelength was combined with a higher bitrate based on the technique taught by Samba. Such a combination would merely be applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield a predictable result. Wherein the predictable result is a transmitter capable of transmitting the higher bitrate using the shorter wavelength. Samba does not teach a plurality of vertical cavity surface emitting lasers Torres-Ferrera, however, teaches a plurality of vertical cavity surface emitting lasers. (Torres-Ferrera, p. 1018, ,i 1). Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the arts to replace the emitter taught in Wang with the vertical cavity surface emitting laser taught in Torres-Ferrera. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide the system in Wang with the advantages provided by a vertical cavity surface emitting over a conventional emitter.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Wang, Samba, and Torres-Ferrera discloses the apparatus of claim 15 wherein the optical fiber comprises a multimode optical fiber. (Wang, FIG. 7; "Multimode optical fiber") Wang and Torres-Ferrera both teach using multimode optical fiber. The suggestion/motivation would have been to allow for more data be carried within one multiplexed signal.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Wang, Samba, and Torres-Ferrera discloses apparatus of claim 15, wherein the multiplexer is configured to multiplex the first optical signal and the second optical signal using short wavelength division multiplexing. (Wang, FIG. 7, "short wavelength division multiplex"). Both Wang and Torres-Ferrera teach short wavelength division multiplexing. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve the systems with the advantages provided by a vertical cavity surface emitting over a conventional emitter.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Wang, Samba, and Torres-Ferrera discloses apparatus of claim 15 wherein a central wavelength of the first optical signal is selected from the group consisting of 850 nm, 880 nm, and 910 nm. (Torres-Ferrera, p. 1019, ,i 1). Because Wang already discloses multiplexing two optical signals with different wavelengths and bitrates together, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to multiplex additional optical signals with different wavelengths in view of what Torres-Ferrera teaches. The suggestion/motivation would have been to multiplex more optical signals in order to carry more data within one multiplexed signal.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Wang, Samba, and Torres-Ferrera discloses apparatus of claim 15, wherein a central wavelength of the second optical signal is selected from the group consisting of 880 nm, 910 nm, and 940 nm. (Torres-Ferrera, p. 1019, ,i 1).
Because Wang already discloses multiplexing two optical signals with different wavelengths and bitrates together, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to multiplex the claimed invention to multiplex additional optical signals with different wavelengths in view of what Torres-Ferrera teaches. The suggestion/motivation would have been to multiplex more optical signals in order to carry more data within one multiplexed signal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim (if the applicant overcomes the 112 rejection) and any intervening claims
Conclusion
/KENNETH N VANDERPUYE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2634