DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and response dated 12/18/2025 has been provided in response to the 918/2025 Office Action which rejected claims 1-20, wherein claims 1, 4, 9, 11, 12, 17 and 18 have been amended. Thus, claims 1-20 remain pending in this application and have been fully considered by the examiner.
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. However, in response to Applicant’s remarks regarding claim 1 that “In sharp contrast, Yang describes using statistical properties of metrics of an internet of things (IOT) device 140 to identify an anomaly at a firmware release 109 and Thanos appears to be completely silent on these elements. See Yang, col. 8, 11. 22-34; Thanos, Abstract. None of the metrics of the IOT device 140 of Yang appear to include internal logic results, as recited by claim 11”, see page 9 of Applicant’s remarks, the Applicant should please note that Yang discloses that values being reported by an electronic device refers to values of operational parameters (e.g., values measured by sensors, intrinsic parameters, extrinsic parameters, etc.) of the electronic device that are measured and/or captured by the electronic device, see e.g. col.11 lines 1-5). Therefore, the values of Yang teaches “internal logic results,” given its broadest reasonable interpretation, as “internal logic results” has a plurality of reasonable meanings and interpretations, and one specific definition as argued above and as intended by the Applicant would not have been obvious or understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art. Also, in response to Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 1 that “Thanos does not appear to ameliorate the deficiencies of Yang. Indeed, Thanos appears to describe devices that are being commissioned that is, devices that were not operating normally to begin with and which could not be said to be paused. See, e.g., Thanos, Title; Abstract; 1, 4, 5, 22”, (see page 9 of Applicant’s arguments), the Applicant should please note that Thanos discloses improving the initial configuration, also referred to as the commissioning, of intelligent electronic devices (IEDs) disposed in a system (See e.g. [0021]), that the IED may undergo commissioning, in which the default (e.g., factory installed) IED configuration settings may be updated with IED configuration settings to define the identity and the desired behavior of the IED within the system (see e.g. [0029]) and also that the IED may update (block 244) the IED configuration settings of the IED 42 using the values received from the IED configuring device 62 or 100 via the wireless connection 73. In certain embodiments, the IED 42 may then reboot, restart, or cycle power (see e.g. [0049]). As such, the pre-configured IED can be considered to operate normally and thus be paused.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4:
At line 3, “to the pause normal” should be --to pause the normal--.
Claim 9:
Line 5 and 6, before “normal”, --the-- should be inserted, respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US Patent 11,775,379 B1) in view of Thanos et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0229516 A1).
As to claim 11, Yang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising computer-executable instructions that, when executed, are configured to cause data processing circuitry to perform operations (See e.g. col.18 lines 26-52) comprising:
receiving first measurements corresponding to first internal logic results from an intelligent electronic device (IED) (see Fig.5 and associated text, e.g. col.10 lines 60-64: At 501, a first set of values (e.g., first set of values 105) reported by an electronic device (e.g., IOT compute device 140) over a first period of time that is prior to a firmware release (e.g., firmware release 109) to the electronic device is received and col.11 lines 1-7: values being reported by an electronic device refers to values of operational parameters (e.g., values measured by sensors, intrinsic parameters, extrinsic parameters, etc.) of the electronic device that are measured and/or captured by the electronic device and then provided, for example, to a compute device (e.g., anomaly detection compute device 100),
issuing one or more commands to an intelligent electronic device (IED) to apply a settings change or firmware update (see e.g. col.4 line 67-col.5 line 2: a firmware release results in the IOT compute device 140 storing and/or using the newly-delivered firmware, and replacing the prior firmware with the newly-delivered firmware and col.6 lines 49-51: The IOT compute device 140 can update accordingly in response to receiving a representation of the firmware release 109),
receiving second measurements corresponding to second logic results from the intelligent electronic device (IED) (see Fig.5 and associated text, e.g. col.11 lines 13-17: At 503, a second set of values (e.g., second set of values 111) reported by the electronic device over a second period of time that is after the firmware release is received) and
determining validation (e.g. detecting an anomaly) of the settings change or firmware update based on the first measurements and second measurements (see Fig.5 and associated text, e.g. col.11 lines 24-34: At 505, for each metric from the plurality of metrics, to detect an anomaly associated with at least one of the firmware release or the electronic device; the set of statistical properties associated with the subset of values included in the first set of values associated with that metric and (2) the set of statistical properties associated with the subset of values included in the second set of values associated with that metric are compared) and lines 36-42: At 506, in response to detecting the anomaly, a signal to cause a remedial action (e.g., causing a mode of operation of the electronic device to change, causing a mode of operation of firmware of the firmware release to change) is sent automatically (e.g., without requiring human intervention) in response to detecting the anomaly).
Yang does not specifically teach issuing one or more commands to the intelligent electronic device (IED) to pause normal intelligent electronic device (IED) operation and apply the settings change or firmware update.
In an analogous art, however of updating configuration settings, however, Thanos teaches issuing one or more commands to an intelligent electronic device (IED) (see e.g. Fig.2, 42 and associated text, e.g. [0025]) to pause normal intelligent electronic device (IED) operation and apply the settings change or firmware update (see Figs: 10,11 and associated text e.g. [0048]- the IED configuring device 62 or 100 may send (block 228) instructions to the IED 42, via the wireless network 73, for the IED 42 to restart operations using the provided values for the IED configuration settings and [0049]- the IED may update (block 244) the IED configuration settings of the IED 42 using the values received from the IED configuring device 62 or 100 via the wireless connection 73. In certain embodiments, the IED 42 may then reboot, restart, or cycle power. Finally, the illustrated process 240 ends with the IED 42 operating (block 246) using the updated values for the IED configuration settings and discontinuing wireless commissioning mode operation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method/system of Yang to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Thanos in order to provide a more efficient method/system of configuring IEDs at a distance in a secure manner.
As to claim 13, Yang also teaches providing the firmware update to the intelligent electronic device (IED) (see e.g. col.4 line 67-col.5 line 2: a firmware release results in the IOT compute device 140 storing and/or using the newly-delivered firmware, and replacing the prior firmware with the newly-delivered firmware and col.6 lines 49-51: The IOT compute device 140 can update accordingly in response to receiving a representation of the firmware release 109),
As to claim 14, Thanos further teaches issuing one or more commands to the intelligent electronic device (IED) to download the settings change or firmware update (See e.g. [0048]- the IED configuring device 62 or 100 may send (block 228) instructions to the IED 42, via the wireless network 73, for the IED 42 to restart operations using the provided values for the IED configuration settings).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method/system of Yang to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Thanos in order to provide a more efficient method/system of configuring IEDs at a distance in a secure manner.
As to claim 15, Yang also teaches connecting, via a wide area network, to a local computing system and prompting the local computing system to perform the operations recited in claim 11 (See e.g. col.3 lines 53-63: The network 120 can be any suitable communications network for transferring data, for example operating over public and/or private communications networks. For example, the network 120 can include a private network, a Virtual Private Network (VPN), a Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS) circuit, the Internet, an intranet, a local area network (LAN), a wide area network (WAN), a metropolitan area network (MAN), a worldwide interoperability for microwave access network (WiMAX®), an optical fiber (or fiber optic)-based network, a Bluetooth® network, a virtual network, and/or any combination thereof, col. 4 lines 53-55: In some instances, the memory 143 can be remotely operatively coupled with a compute device (not shown in FIG. 1), and col.6 lines 52-55: In some instances, the firmware release 109 is not sent to IOT compute device 140 from anomaly detection compute device 100, but rather to IOT compute device 140 from a compute device not shown in FIG. 1).
As to claim 16, Yang also teaches connecting, via a wide area network, to a local computing system and performing the operations recited in claim 11 using the local computing system as an edge device (See e.g. col.3 lines 53-63: The network 120 can be any suitable communications network for transferring data, for example operating over public and/or private communications networks. For example, the network 120 can include a private network, a Virtual Private Network (VPN), a Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS) circuit, the Internet, an intranet, a local area network (LAN), a wide area network (WAN), a metropolitan area network (MAN), a worldwide interoperability for microwave access network (WiMAX®), an optical fiber (or fiber optic)-based network, a Bluetooth® network, a virtual network, and/or any combination thereof, col. 4 lines 53-55: In some instances, the memory 143 can be remotely operatively coupled with a compute device (not shown in FIG. 1), and col.6 lines 52-55: In some instances, the firmware release 109 is not sent to IOT compute device 140 from anomaly detection compute device 100, but rather to IOT compute device 140 from a compute device not shown in FIG. 1).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US Patent 11,775,379 B1) in view of Thanos et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0229516 A1) and Surdu (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0322792 A1).
As to claim 12, Yang in view of Thanos teaches wherein the second measurements are received and the validation is determined (see Yang: Fig.5 and associated text, e.g. col.11 lines 13-17: At 503, a second set of values (e.g., second set of values 111) reported by the electronic device over a second period of time that is after the firmware release is received), but does not specifically teach while the normal IED operation is paused.
In an analogous art, however of updating firmware, however, Surdu teaches the validation is determined, while the IED normal operation is paused (see e.g. [0055]- to assure stability, a new FUP receives initial “New Package” (401) status after delivery to the device and following the verification procedure, the FUP will switch into either “Verified Package” (402) if the validation is successful, or “Invalid Package” (403) otherwise. If the FUP is determined to be an “Invalid Package”, the firmware update process stops, and [0056]- Next, the FUS applies the FUP to the SEE, the firmware receives “Stage Firmware” (404) status, and validation starts. After successful validation, the firmware receives “Validated Firmware” (405) status. At this point, the firmware update process is considered completed and the device starts operating normally).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method/system of Yang in view of Thanos to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Surdu in order to provide a more efficient method/system of updating firmware while minimizing downtime.
Claims 1-10, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US Patent 11,775,379 B1) in view of Surdu (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0322792 A1) and Thanos et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0229516 A1).
As to claim 1, Yang teaches a system (see Fig.1 and associated text), comprising:
a computing device (e.g. compute device 100) communicatively coupled to an intelligent electronic device (IED) (e.g. IOT compute device 140) (see e.g. col.3 lines 50-52: FIG. 1 includes an anomaly detection compute device 100 communicably coupled to an internet-of-things (IOT) compute device 140 via a network 120), wherein the computing device is configured to:
receive a first signal indicative of first measurements from the intelligent electronic device (IED) (see Fig.5 and associated text, e.g. col.10 lines 60-64: At 501, a first set of values (e.g., first set of values 105) reported by an electronic device (e.g., IOT compute device 140) over a first period of time that is prior to a firmware release (e.g., firmware release 109) to the electronic device is received and col.11 lines 1-7: values being reported by an electronic device refers to values of operational parameters (e.g., values measured by sensors, intrinsic parameters, extrinsic parameters, etc.) of the electronic device that are measured and/or captured by the electronic device and then provided, for example, to a compute device (e.g., anomaly detection compute device 100),
transmit a second signal indicative of instructions to apply a settings change or firmware update (see e.g. col.4 line 67-col.5 line 2: a firmware release results in the IOT compute device 140 storing and/or using the newly-delivered firmware, and replacing the prior firmware with the newly-delivered firmware and col.6 lines 49-51: The IOT compute device 140 can update accordingly in response to receiving a representation of the firmware release 109),
receive a third signal indicative of second measurements from the intelligent electronic device (IED) (see Fig.5 and associated text, e.g. col.11 lines 13-17: At 503, a second set of values (e.g., second set of values 111) reported by the electronic device over a second period of time that is after the firmware release is received),
determine validation (e.g. detecting an anomaly) of the settings or firmware update based on the first measurements and the second measurements (see Fig.5 and associated text, e.g. col.11 lines 24-34: At 505, for each metric from the plurality of metrics, to detect an anomaly associated with at least one of the firmware release or the electronic device; the set of statistical properties associated with the subset of values included in the first set of values associated with that metric and (2) the set of statistical properties associated with the subset of values included in the second set of values associated with that metric are compared) and lines 36-42: At 506, in response to detecting the anomaly, a signal to cause a remedial action (e.g., causing a mode of operation of the electronic device to change, causing a mode of operation of firmware of the firmware release to change) is sent automatically (e.g., without requiring human intervention) in response to detecting the anomaly).
Yang teaches apply a settings change or firmware update (see e.g. col.4 line 67-col.5 line 2), receive a third signal indicative of second measurements from the intelligent electronic device (IED) (see e.g. col.11 lines 13-17), and determine validation of the settings or firmware update based on the first measurements and the second measurements (see e.g. col.11 lines 24-34), does not specifically teach pause normal intelligent electronic device (IED) operation and apply the settings change or firmware update, or while the normal IED operation is paused.
In an analogous art, however of updating firmware, however, Surdu teaches pause normal intelligent electronic device (IED) operation and apply the settings change or firmware update (e.g. Firmware Update Package, see e.g. Fig.3 and associated text, e.g. [0043]- The system is optimized for devices with limited hardware resources and applies the FUP after stoppage of the MEE (main execution environment) and rebooting of the device. As is apparent to one having ordinary skill in the art, in certain scenarios it may be desirable to apply the FUP to the SEE (staging (new) execution environment) and perform-post update validation before rebooting the device, in order to minimize downtime), receiving measurements (e.g. configuration parameters being monitored to detect errors) while the normal IED operation is paused (see e.g. [0051]- the system starts SEE (307) and initiate SEE validation (308) and [0052]- If the validation is successful, the CMS activates, BEE is removed, the MEE becomes the BEE, and the SEE becomes the new MEE and starts operating normally) and determine validation of the settings or firmware update while the normal IED operation is paused [0055]- to assure stability, a new FUP receives initial “New Package” (401) status after delivery to the device and following the verification procedure, the FUP will switch into either “Verified Package” (402) if the validation is successful, or “Invalid Package” (403) otherwise. If the FUP is determined to be an “Invalid Package”, the firmware update process stops, and [0056]- Next, the FUS applies the FUP to the SEE, the firmware receives “Stage Firmware” (404) status, and validation starts. After successful validation, the firmware receives “Validated Firmware” (405) status. At this point, the firmware update process is considered completed and the device starts operating normally).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method/system of Yang to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Surdu in order to provide a more efficient method/system of updating firmware while minimizing downtime.
Yang in view of Surdu does not specifically teach an intelligent electronic device (IED) of an electric power delivery system.
In an analogous art, however of updating configuration settings, however, Thanos teaches an intelligent electronic device (IED) of an electric power delivery system (see Fig.2, 42 and associated text, e.g. [0025]- the power distribution substation 26 may be part of the power grid system 10. Accordingly, the power transmission grid 24 and power distribution substation 26 may include various digital and automated technologies, such as intelligent electronic devices (IEDs), to communicate with (e.g., send control commands to and receive measurements from) power equipment such as transformers, motors, generators, switches, breakers, reclosers, or any component of the system 10) and apply a settings change or firmware update (see Figs: 10,11 and associated text e.g. [0048]- the IED configuring device 62 or 100 may send (block 228) instructions to the IED 42, via the wireless network 73, for the IED 42 to restart operations using the provided values for the IED configuration settings and [0049]- the IED may update (block 244) the IED configuration settings of the IED 42 using the values received from the IED configuring device 62 or 100 via the wireless connection 73. In certain embodiments, the IED 42 may then reboot, restart, or cycle power. Finally, the illustrated process 240 ends with the IED 42 operating (block 246) using the updated values for the IED configuration settings and discontinuing wireless commissioning mode operation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method/system of Yang in view of Surdu to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Thanos in order to provide a more efficient method/system of configuring IEDs at a distance in a secure manner.
As to claim 2, Yang also teaches wherein the first measurements comprise first internal logic results and the second measurements comprise second internal logic results (See e.g. col.11 lines 1-5: values being reported by an electronic device refers to values of operational parameters (e.g., values measured by sensors, intrinsic parameters, extrinsic parameters, etc.) of the electronic device that are measured and/or captured by the electronic device), and wherein the computing device is configured to determine validation of the settings change or firmware update based on a comparison of the first measurements and second measurements (See e.g. col.11 lines 29-34: the set of statistical properties associated with the subset of values included in the first set of values associated with that metric and (2) the set of statistical properties associated with the subset of values included in the second set of values associated with that metric are compared).
As to claim 3, Yang also teaches wherein the computing device is configured to determine that the settings change or firmware update is validated (e.g. no anomaly present) when the second measurements fall within a threshold of the first measurements (See col.8 lines 35-41: the first set of statistical properties 107 and the second set of statistical properties 113 can be compared to determine a confidence score that indicates a confidence that an anomaly is (or is not) present. The confidence score can be determined based on the first set of statistical properties 107 and the second set of statistical properties 113 and col.12 lines 62- col.13 lines 1-16: computing, for each metric from the second plurality of metrics, an anomaly confidence score (1) associated with at least one of the firmware release or the second electronic device, and (2) determined based on (i) the set of statistical properties associated with the subset of values included in the third set of values associated with that metric, (ii) the set of statistical properties associated with the subset of values included in the fourth set of values associated with that metric, and (iii) an anomaly ratio associated with that metric for a set of electronic devices being of the electronic device type (e.g., where the anomaly ratio can be the ratio of the number electronic devices from the set of electronic devices being of the electronic device type determined to have an anomaly to the number of electronic devices from the set of electronic devices being of the electronic device type determined to not have an anomaly). Some implementations of method 500 further include sending, automatically in response to the anomaly confidence score for each metric from the second plurality of metrics being outside a predetermined range, a second signal to cause a second remedial action.
As to claim 4, Thanos further teaches wherein the computing device is configured to send the settings change or firmware update to the intelligent electronic device (IED) before transmitting the signal indicative of instructions to pause normal intelligent electronic device (IED) operation and apply the settings change or firmware update (See Fig. 11 and associated text e.g. [0049]- The process 240 illustrated in FIG. 11 begins with the IED 42 receiving (block 242) the values for the IED figuration settings from the IED configuring device via the wireless connection 73. Subsequently, the IED may update (block 244) the IED configuration settings of the IED 42 using the values received from the IED configuring device 62 or 100 via the wireless connection 73. In certain embodiments, the IED 42 may then reboot, restart, or cycle power. Finally, the illustrated process 240 ends with the IED 42 operating (block 246) using the updated values for the IED configuration settings and discontinuing wireless commissioning mode operation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method/system of Yang in view of Surdu to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Thanos in order to provide a more efficient method/system of configuring IEDs at a distance in a secure manner.
As to claim 5, Yang in view of Surdu teaches wherein the intelligent electronic device generates the first measurements and second measurements (see Yang: e.g. col.11 lines 1-5), but does not specifically teach based on electric power delivery system values.
In an analogous art, however of updating configuration settings, however, Thanos teaches wherein the intelligent electronic device generates measurements based on electric power delivery system values (see e.g. [0021]- the IED may be coupled to power equipment (e.g., breakers, transformers, switches, motors, or generators) and may be configured to receive measurements (e.g., frequency measurements, voltage measurements, and current measurements) from the power equipment).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method/system of Yang in view of Surdu to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Thanos in order to provide a more efficient method/system of configuring IEDs at a distance in a secure manner.
As to claim 6, Yang also teaches wherein the first measurements and second measurements are generated by the intelligent electronic device IED (See e.g. col.11 lines 1-5: values being reported by an electronic device refers to values of operational parameters (e.g., values measured by sensors, intrinsic parameters, extrinsic parameters, etc.) of the electronic device that are measured and/or captured by the electronic device), the second measurements being generated after the first measurements are generated (see e.g. col.11 lines 13-17: At 503, a second set of values (e.g., second set of values 111) reported by the electronic device over a second period of time that is after the firmware release is received).
As to claim 7, Yang also teaches wherein the intelligent electronic device (IED) applies the settings change or firmware update after generating the first measurements (see e.g. col.4 line 67-col.5 line 2: a firmware release results in the IOT compute device 140 storing and/or using the newly-delivered firmware, and replacing the prior firmware with the newly-delivered firmware, col.6 lines 49-51: The IOT compute device 140 can update accordingly in response to receiving a representation of the firmware release 109 and col.10 lines 60-64: At 501, a first set of values (e.g., first set of values 105) reported by an electronic device (e.g., IOT compute device 140) over a first period of time that is prior to a firmware release (e.g., firmware release 109) to the electronic device is received), and before generating the second measurements (see e.g. col.11 lines 13-17: At 503, a second set of values (e.g., second set of values 111) reported by the electronic device over a second period of time that is after the firmware release is received).
As to claim 8, Yang also teaches wherein the intelligent electronic device (IED) is configured to download the settings change or firmware update from a source other than the computing device (see e.g. col.6 lines 52-55: In some instances, the firmware release 109 is not sent to IOT compute device 140 from anomaly detection compute device 100, but rather to IOT compute device 140 from a compute device not shown in FIG. 1).
As to claim 9, Thanos further teaches wherein the intelligent electronic device (IED) is configured to pause the normal intelligent electronic device (IED) operation in response to the instructions to pause the normal intelligent electronic device (IED) operation (See e.g. [0048]- the IED configuring device 62 or 100 may send (block 228) instructions to the IED 42, via the wireless network 73, for the IED 42 to restart operations using the provided values for the IED configuration settings and to discontinue wireless commissioning mode operation), wherein the intelligent electronic device (IED) is configured to control one or more components of the electric power delivery system during normal intelligent electronic device (IED) operation and not to control the one or more components of the electric power delivery system when normal intelligent electronic device (IED) operation is paused (see e.g. [0021]- the IED may be configured to send control commands to the power equipment to control the functioning of the power equipment, [0043]- the process 170 begins with the IED booting and beginning operation (block 172) in wireless commissioning mode based on the pre-configuration instructions and settings and [0049]- the IED may update (block 244) the IED configuration settings of the IED 42 using the values received from the IED configuring device 62 or 100 via the wireless connection 73; the IED 42 may then reboot, restart, or cycle power).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method/system of Yang in view of Surdu to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Thanos in order to provide a more efficient method/system of configuring IEDs at a distance in a secure manner.
As to claim 10, Yang also teaches wherein: the computing device comprises a remote computing device (See e.g. col.3 lines 50-52: an anomaly detection compute device 100 communicably coupled to an internet-of-things (IOT) compute device 140 via a network 120), the system comprises a local computing device in communication with the intelligent electronic device (IED) (see e.g. col. 4 lines 53-55: In some instances, the memory 143 can be remotely operatively coupled with a compute device (not shown in FIG. 1), and the remote computing device is configured to communicatively couple, via a wide area network, to the local computing device in communication with the intelligent electronic device (IED) to enable the remote computing device to communicatively couple to the intelligent electronic device (IED) (See e.g. col.3 lines 53-63: The network 120 can be any suitable communications network for transferring data, for example operating over public and/or private communications networks. For example, the network 120 can include a private network, a Virtual Private Network (VPN), a Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS) circuit, the Internet, an intranet, a local area network (LAN), a wide area network (WAN), a metropolitan area network (MAN), a worldwide interoperability for microwave access network (WiMAX®), an optical fiber (or fiber optic)-based network, a Bluetooth® network, a virtual network, and/or any combination thereof and (see e.g. col.6 lines 52-55: In some instances, the firmware release 109 is not sent to IOT compute device 140 from anomaly detection compute device 100, but rather to IOT compute device 140 from a compute device not shown in FIG. 1).
As to claim 17, Yang teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, via a computing device (e.g. compute device 100), first measurements from an intelligent electronic device (IED) (e.g. IOT compute device 140, see Fig.5 and associated text, e.g. col.10 lines 60-64: At 501, a first set of values (e.g., first set of values 105) reported by an electronic device (e.g., IOT compute device 140) over a first period of time that is prior to a firmware release (e.g., firmware release 109) to the electronic device is received and col.11 lines 1-7: values being reported by an electronic device refers to values of operational parameters (e.g., values measured by sensors, intrinsic parameters, extrinsic parameters, etc.) of the electronic device that are measured and/or captured by the electronic device and then provided, for example, to a compute device (e.g., anomaly detection compute device 100),
instructing, via a computing device, the intelligent electronic device (IED) to apply a settings change or firmware update (see e.g. col.4 line 67-col.5 line 2: a firmware release results in the IOT compute device 140 storing and/or using the newly-delivered firmware, and replacing the prior firmware with the newly-delivered firmware and col.6 lines 49-51: The IOT compute device 140 can update accordingly in response to receiving a representation of the firmware release 109),
receiving, via the computing device, second measurements from the intelligent electronic device (IED) (see Fig.5 and associated text, e.g. col.11 lines 13-17: At 503, a second set of values (e.g., second set of values 111) reported by the electronic device over a second period of time that is after the firmware release is received), and
determining, via the computing device, whether the settings change or firmware update is validated (e.g. detecting an anomaly) based on the first measurements and second measurements (see Fig.5 and associated text, e.g. col.11 lines 24-34: At 505, for each metric from the plurality of metrics, to detect an anomaly associated with at least one of the firmware release or the electronic device; the set of statistical properties associated with the subset of values included in the first set of values associated with that metric and (2) the set of statistical properties associated with the subset of values included in the second set of values associated with that metric are compared) and lines 36-42: At 506, in response to detecting the anomaly, a signal to cause a remedial action (e.g., causing a mode of operation of the electronic device to change, causing a mode of operation of firmware of the firmware release to change) is sent automatically (e.g., without requiring human intervention) in response to detecting the anomaly).
Yang does not specifically teach based on determining that the settings change or firmware update is not validated, instructing the IED to undertake a remedial measure comprising restarting the settings change or firmware update or reverting to prior settings or firmware.
In an analogous art, however of updating firmware, however, Surdu teaches based on determining that the settings change or firmware update is not validated, instructing the IED to undertake a remedial measure comprising restarting the settings change or firmware update or reverting to prior settings or firmware (see e.g. [0055]- If the FUP is determined to be an “Invalid Package”, the firmware update process stops and [0057]- If the validation is unsuccessful, the firmware receives “Invalid Firmware” (406) status and the rollback procedure starts, deleting the SEE and starting the MEE).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method/system of Yang to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Surdu in order to provide a more efficient method/system of updating firmware while minimizing downtime.
Yang in view of Surdu does not specifically teach an intelligent electronic device (IED) of an electric power delivery system.
In an analogous art, however of updating configuration settings, however, Thanos teaches an intelligent electronic device (IED) of an electric power delivery system (see Fig.2, 42 and associated text, e.g. [0025]- the power distribution substation 26 may be part of the power grid system 10. Accordingly, the power transmission grid 24 and power distribution substation 26 may include various digital and automated technologies, such as intelligent electronic devices (IEDs), to communicate with (e.g., send control commands to and receive measurements from) power equipment such as transformers, motors, generators, switches, breakers, reclosers, or any component of the system 10) and apply a settings change or firmware update (see Figs: 10,11 and associated text e.g. [0048]- the IED configuring device 62 or 100 may send (block 228) instructions to the IED 42, via the wireless network 73, for the IED 42 to restart operations using the provided values for the IED configuration settings and [0049]- the IED may update (block 244) the IED configuration settings of the IED 42 using the values received from the IED configuring device 62 or 100 via the wireless connection 73. In certain embodiments, the IED 42 may then reboot, restart, or cycle power. Finally, the illustrated process 240 ends with the IED 42 operating (block 246) using the updated values for the IED configuration settings and discontinuing wireless commissioning mode operation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method/system of Yang in view of Surdu to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Thanos in order to provide a more efficient method/system of configuring IEDs at a distance in a secure manner.
As to claim 18, Thanos further teaches wherein the settings change or firmware update comprises one or more security configuration changes, [control changes, measurement changes, internal logic results, or any combination thereof] (See e.g. [0047]- In particular, to improve security in the protection and control system 36 illustrated in FIG. 2, the IED configuring device 62 or 100 may prompt the operator, via the display, to provide a new SSID, network security passphrase or key, IP address, IP subnet mask, or other suitable wireless network configuration settings for IED 42).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method/system of Yang in view of Surdu to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Thanos in order to provide a more efficient method/system of configuring IEDs at a distance in a secure manner.
As to claim 19, Yang also teaches wherein the method is performed by a computing device within a local area network of the intelligent electronic device (IED) (See e.g. col.3 lines 50-52: an anomaly detection compute device 100 communicably coupled to an internet-of-things (IOT) compute device 140 via a network 120 and (See e.g. col.3 lines 53-63: The network 120 can be any suitable communications network for transferring data, for example operating over public and/or private communications networks. For example, the network 120 can include a private network, a Virtual Private Network (VPN), a Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS) circuit, the Internet, an intranet, a local area network (LAN), a wide area network (WAN), a metropolitan area network (MAN), a worldwide interoperability for microwave access network (WiMAX®), an optical fiber (or fiber optic)-based network, a Bluetooth® network, a virtual network, and/or any combination thereof).
As to claim 20, Yang also teaches wherein the method is performed by a computing device separated from the intelligent electronic device (IED) by a wide area network (See e.g. col.3 lines 50-52: an anomaly detection compute device 100 communicably coupled to an internet-of-things (IOT) compute device 140 via a network 120 and (See e.g. col.3 lines 53-63: The network 120 can be any suitable communications network for transferring data, for example operating over public and/or private communications networks. For example, the network 120 can include a private network, a Virtual Private Network (VPN), a Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS) circuit, the Internet, an intranet, a local area network (LAN), a wide area network (WAN), a metropolitan area network (MAN), a worldwide interoperability for microwave access network (WiMAX®), an optical fiber (or fiber optic)-based network, a Bluetooth® network, a virtual network, and/or any combination thereof and (see e.g. col.6 lines 52-55: In some instances, the firmware release 109 is not sent to IOT compute device 140 from anomaly detection compute device 100, but rather to IOT compute device 140 from a compute device not shown in FIG. 1)
Conclusion
/CHENECA SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2192
/S. Sough/SPE, Art Unit 2192