Claim Status
Claims 1, 11, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-9, and 11-21 remain pending and are ready for examination. Claim 10 has been cancelled. Claim 21 has been added.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action has been issued in response to amendment filed 07/06/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been carefully and fully considered. With respect to applicant’s argument of the remarks which recites:
“Nandu fails to disclose or suggest, inter alia, determining a surface that includes “determining a mesh that comprises a plurality of adjacent polygons,” as discussed and agreed upon with Examiner Follansbee during the interview… Therefore, Nandu does not disclose a mesh composed of a plurality of adjacent polygons, as recited in amended claim 1”
The examiner agrees and in light of the amendments made has withdrawn the 102 rejection, and now rejects independent claims considering Nandu (US20200023573), in view of Kohling et al. (US20080297514, herein Kohling) in a 103 rejection.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Claims 14-15 depend on claim 10 which was cancelled. Please correct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 13-15, and 18-21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nandu (US20200023573), in view of Kohling et al. (US20080297514, herein Kohling).
Regarding claim 1, Nandu teaches A method of additively manufacturing a layer of a structure ([0020] FIG. 2 depicts an illustration of the components of an additive manufacturing system 100, [0112] the number of layers L in the fully-custom infill for article 151 is based on the desired thickness of the article (i.e., 50 to 60 mm) and the thickness of each layer (i.e., 0.5 mm)), the method comprising: determining a surface representing the layer of the structure ([0022] FIG. 4 illustrates a top view of a single horizontal layer of a portion of a bicycle frame, [0124] the algorithm has been designed to only look a certain number of layers below the current layer); determining a seed tool path lying on the surface; at each of a plurality of seed points along a length of the seed tool path ([0013] generating a tool path to distribute starting and ending filament points across slices in the z-plane as well, as addressed further herein in connection with FIG. 21, [0116] straight edges of a potential tool path having a length greater than a predetermined length may be identified ) , determining an offset direction that is transverse to an axis of the seed tool path at each of the plurality of seed points and parallel with a face of a …polygon… ([0106] All of the tool paths and material runs illustrated are within one layer. Each edge gets a number of continuous paths offset from it until the part is finished, [0084] FIG. 3 shows a slice in the xy plane of a part, a bicycle frame, 300 that is generated by creating concentric offset paths from the outline edges of the part 300); generating a plurality of offset points, each of which is offset in the offset direction from a corresponding one of the plurality of seed points ([0084] FIG. 3 shows a slice in the xy plane of a part, a bicycle frame, 300 that is generated by creating concentric offset paths from the outline edges of the part 300) ; determining an offset tool path based on the plurality of offset points ([0106] All of the tool paths and material runs illustrated are within one layer. Each edge gets a number of continuous paths offset from it until the part is finished, [0107] offsetting paths from the other non-dominant edges are started, [0084] FIG. 3 shows a slice in the xy plane of a part, a bicycle frame, 300 that is generated by creating concentric offset paths from the outline edges of the part 300) ; and causing a machine to discharge material along the offset tool path ([0106] All of the tool paths and material runs illustrated are within one layer. Each edge gets a number of continuous paths offset from it until the part is finished, [0117] FIG. 20 shows a process of generating tool paths to preserve continuity of fiber reinforced filaments 2000 in accordance with the present invention. In step 2002, a clipping outline comprising a two dimensional polygon for a part to be printed is established. This clipping outline maintains a record of the empty space that can be filled with material paths or runs).
Nandu does not teach wherein determining the surface includes determining a mesh that comprises a plurality of adjacent polygons… first polygon of the mesh… wherein the offset direction is updated to be parallel with a face of a second polygon adjacent to the first polygon when an edge of the first polygon is encountered in the offset direction, and wherein the face of the second polygon is non-coplanar with the face of the first polygon
Kohling teaches wherein determining the surface includes determining a mesh that comprises a plurality of adjacent polygons… first polygon of the mesh (Fig. 20D, Fig. 25A [0089] Different techniques exist for surface representations such as meshes, parametric surfaces (such as NURBS), and algebraic surface, [0085] boundaries of closed polygons that can be embroidered in different colors and textures, [0092] Creating a triangulation of a general 2- or 3-dimensional concave polygon can be done in three steps)… wherein the offset direction is updated to be parallel with a face of a second polygon adjacent to the first polygon when an edge of the first polygon is encountered in the offset direction, and wherein the face of the second polygon is non-coplanar with the face of the first polygon (Fig. 25A-B, Fig. 19, [0093] triangulated strips are then projected onto a plane and cut to avoid self-intersections. FIG. 24A shows a triangle strip 2400 computed from a number of curve loops evolved on a non-Euclidean surface. Unfolding the strip 2400 on a plane produces a flat unfolded strip 2402, as shown in FIG. 24B. The unfolding may be performed by first selecting one triangle. Then, an adjacent triangle is unfolded onto the plane of the first triangle by rotating it around their shared edge. The process of unfolding is then repeated sequentially along the strips. Whenever a cycle is encountered during this process, the strip is cut along an edge. FIG. 24B shows one large cut at edge 2404; a smaller cut is shown in close-up on FIG. 24C, producing a gap between strips within the region indicated by oval 2406. The unfolding process may lead to self-intersecting triangles, as shown in the region indicated by oval 2408 of FIG. 24D. Such intersections are eliminated by breaking the strip into multiple pieces 2410 and 2412, as shown in FIG. 24E, [0089] the displacement vector is projected to the tangent plane of the surface and a numerical integration scheme is used to the move point along the surface in the direction of the projected displacement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nandu’s teaching of a printing process using tool paths and material runs with Kohling’s teaching of generating paths using triangulation meshes as surface representation. The combined teaching provides an expected result of a printing process using tool paths and material runs using triangulation meshes as surface representation. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve surface representation quality as supported by Kohling [0092] “an edge-flipping optimization is used to improve the aspect ratio of the triangles. Edges are flipped repeatedly to minimize the sum of the squares of the lengths of all interior edges, such as edge 2310. FIG. 23C shows a triangulation after this process.”
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Nandu and Kohling teach The method of claim 1, wherein the offset direction is perpendicular to the axis of the seed tool path at each of the plurality of seed points (Nandu, [0025] FIG. 7 shows a top view of the entirety of the bicycle frame of FIG. 4 with four long edges to illustrate an edge-offsetting strategy providing filament continuity in accordance with the present invention, [0106] All of the tool paths and material runs illustrated are within one layer. Each edge gets a number of continuous paths offset from it until the part is finished).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Nandu and Kohling teach The method of claim 1, wherein the axis comprises a line tangential to an arc forming at least part of the seed tool path (Nandu, Fig. 7, [0116] straight edges of a potential tool path having a length greater than a predetermined length may be identified. More generally, edges having less than a maximum rate of curvature over a length greater than the predetermined length are identified. Acute angle turns along an exterior edge of a slice are also identified, as well as, the relationship of such identified acute angle turns to subsequent angles of redirected tool path movement, [0075] Filament 131 comprises a tow of reinforcing fibers that is substantially parallel to its longitudinal axis. In accordance with the illustrative embodiments, filament 131 comprises a cylindrical towpreg of contiguous 12K carbon fiber that is impregnated with thermoplastic resin) .
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Nandu and Kohling teach The method of claim 1, wherein determining the offset tool path based on the plurality of offset points includes connecting the plurality of offset points with straight edges (Nandu, [0015] One presently preferred fiber feathering approach addressed herein is an outcome of an edge-offsetting strategy flowing from a tool path generation technique to preserve filament continuity used to generate tool paths for material runs… the tool path generation technique may advantageously employ a process in which long and short edges, acute angled joins of edges and a clipping outline are advantageously employed to preserve filament continuity by decreasing the number of short material runs and material runs making abrupt turns leading to filament stops and restarts, [abstract] identifying long edges and eliminating short edges which acute angles with long edges and utilizing a clipping outline as part of the process of determining start and end points of material runs).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Nandu and Kohling teach The method of claim 1, further including: determining a second seed tool path based on the offset tool path; at each of a plurality of second seed points along a length of the second seed tool path, determining a second offset direction that is transverse to a second axis of the second seed tool path and parallel with the surface; generating a plurality of second offset points, each of which is offset in the second offset direction from a corresponding one of the plurality of second seed points; determining a second offset tool path based on the plurality of second offset points; and causing the machine to deposit material along the second offset tool path (Nandu, Fig. 7, Fig. 20, [0015] edge-offsetting strategy flowing from a tool path generation technique to preserve filament continuity used to generate tool paths for material runs, [0115] FIG. 19 shows a process of feathering 1900 in accordance with the present invention. In step 1902, a first filament layout for an article of manufacture is determined without consideration of feathering. In step 1904, an area or areas within the layout where weakness occurs are determined as a result of an alignment of filament ends, an alignment of acutely angled filament edges or the like. At step 1906, a second filament layout applying feathering principles to reduce part weakness flowing from alignment of filament and the like is devised. In step 1908, an article of manufacture is printed employing fiber reinforced filament and utilizing the second filament layout, [0084] FIG. 3 shows a slice in the xy plane of a part, a bicycle frame, 300 that is generated by creating concentric offset paths from the outline edges of the part 300, [0106] All of the tool paths and material runs illustrated are within one layer. Each edge gets a number of continuous paths offset from it until the part is finished, [0117] FIG. 20 shows a process of generating tool paths to preserve continuity of fiber reinforced filaments 2000 in accordance with the present invention. In step 2002, a clipping outline comprising a two dimensional polygon for a part to be printed is established. This clipping outline maintains a record of the empty space that can be filled with material paths or runs)) .
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Nandu and Kohling teach The method of claim 1, further including: generating a plurality of second offset points, each of which is offset in the offset direction from a corresponding one of the plurality of seed points; determining a second offset tool path based on the plurality of second offset points; and causing the machine to deposit material along the second offset tool path (Nandu, Fig. 7, Fig. 20, [0015] edge-offsetting strategy flowing from a tool path generation technique to preserve filament continuity used to generate tool paths for material runs, [0115] FIG. 19 shows a process of feathering 1900 in accordance with the present invention. In step 1902, a first filament layout for an article of manufacture is determined without consideration of feathering. In step 1904, an area or areas within the layout where weakness occurs are determined as a result of an alignment of filament ends, an alignment of acutely angled filament edges or the like. At step 1906, a second filament layout applying feathering principles to reduce part weakness flowing from alignment of filament and the like is devised. In step 1908, an article of manufacture is printed employing fiber reinforced filament and utilizing the second filament layout, [0084] FIG. 3 shows a slice in the xy plane of a part, a bicycle frame, 300 that is generated by creating concentric offset paths from the outline edges of the part 300, [0106] All of the tool paths and material runs illustrated are within one layer. Each edge gets a number of continuous paths offset from it until the part is finished, [0117] FIG. 20 shows a process of generating tool paths to preserve continuity of fiber reinforced filaments 2000 in accordance with the present invention. In step 2002, a clipping outline comprising a two dimensional polygon for a part to be printed is established. This clipping outline maintains a record of the empty space that can be filled with material paths or runs)) .
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Nandu and Kohling teach The method of claim 1, further including: at each of the plurality of seed points along a length of the seed tool path, determining a second offset direction opposite the offset direction and parallel with the surface; generating a plurality of second offset points, each of which is offset in the second offset direction from a corresponding one of the plurality of seed points; determining a second offset tool path based on the plurality of second offset points; and causing the machine to deposit material along the second offset tool path (Nandu, Fig. 7, Fig. 20, [0015] edge-offsetting strategy flowing from a tool path generation technique to preserve filament continuity used to generate tool paths for material runs, [0115] FIG. 19 shows a process of feathering 1900 in accordance with the present invention. In step 1902, a first filament layout for an article of manufacture is determined without consideration of feathering. In step 1904, an area or areas within the layout where weakness occurs are determined as a result of an alignment of filament ends, an alignment of acutely angled filament edges or the like. At step 1906, a second filament layout applying feathering principles to reduce part weakness flowing from alignment of filament and the like is devised. In step 1908, an article of manufacture is printed employing fiber reinforced filament and utilizing the second filament layout, [0084] FIG. 3 shows a slice in the xy plane of a part, a bicycle frame, 300 that is generated by creating concentric offset paths from the outline edges of the part 300, [0106] All of the tool paths and material runs illustrated are within one layer. Each edge gets a number of continuous paths offset from it until the part is finished, [0117] FIG. 20 shows a process of generating tool paths to preserve continuity of fiber reinforced filaments 2000 in accordance with the present invention. In step 2002, a clipping outline comprising a two dimensional polygon for a part to be printed is established. This clipping outline maintains a record of the empty space that can be filled with material paths or runs)).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Nandu and Kohling teach The method of claim 1, wherein the offset tool path is determined to pass sequentially through each of the plurality of offset points (Nandu, Fig. 8A-8E, [0093] In FIG. 8A, a first offset edge 801 is generated which is offset from edge material path or edge 708. As a centerline of edge 708 is spaced a distance the width, w, of edge 708 divided by two from the part's intended edge, the centerline of offset edge 801 is 3 w/2 from the intended edge. In FIG. 8B, a second offset edge 803 is generated beside edge 704. In FIG. 8C, a third offset edge 805 is generated beside edge 706. In FIG. 8D, a fourth offset edge 807 is generated beside edge 702. The process continues in FIG. 8E with a fifth offset edge 809 beside the first offset edge 801).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Nandu and Kohling teach The method of claim 12, further including offsetting at least one of the plurality of offset points from the corresponding one of the plurality of seed points a remainder of the offset distance in the updated offset direction (Nandu, Fig. 7, Fig. 20, In FIG. 8A, a first offset edge 801 is generated which is offset from edge material path or edge 708. As a centerline of edge 708 is spaced a distance the width, w, of edge 708 divided by two from the part's intended edge, the centerline of offset edge 801 is 3 w/2 from the intended edge. In FIG. 8B, a second offset edge 803 is generated beside edge 704. In FIG. 8C, a third offset edge 805 is generated beside edge 706. In FIG. 8D, a fourth offset edge 807 is generated beside edge 702. The process continues in FIG. 8E with a fifth offset edge 809 beside the first offset edge 801, [0094] As can be seen in FIGS. 8A-8E as each new edge is added, the edge gets clipped or otherwise ended just before it intersects with a previous edge that is already present. Examples of this clipping are when second offset edge 803 is added, it is clipped just before it reaches original edge 702, [0097] In FIG. 10A, first offset edge 1002 is added with its center line 3 w/2 from the intended edge of the bicycle frame, the clipping outline 914 is adjustably spaced in from the edge of the void resulting in a new clipping outline 1000 with a portion 1014 surrounding the void moved to a distance 2 w from the edge of void 1006 and the other edges moved to a distance w from the intended external edge, [0124] the path is analyzed looking for a starting point that is at least a predetermined distance away from all the other start points that have been determined so far. This distance is advantageously a user established parameter. When checking if a point is far enough away from other points, the algorithm has been designed to only look a certain number of layers below the current layer).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Nandu and Kohling teach The method of claim 10, wherein the plurality of seed points are determined such that at least one of the plurality of seed points lies within or on an edge of each polygon that the seed tool path touches (Nandu, [0117] FIG. 20 shows a process of generating tool paths to preserve continuity of fiber reinforced filaments 2000 in accordance with the present invention. In step 2002, a clipping outline comprising a two dimensional polygon for a part to be printed is established. This clipping outline maintains a record of the empty space that can be filled with material paths or runs. If the cross-section of the desired three dimensional part varies, the clipping outline for each side will be varied to reflect such variation as needed, [0124] the path is analyzed looking for a starting point that is at least a predetermined distance away from all the other start points that have been determined so far. This distance is advantageously a user established parameter. When checking if a point is far enough away from other points, the algorithm has been designed to only look a certain number of layers below the current layer).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Nandu and Kohling teach The method of claim 10, wherein a spacing between the plurality of seed points is determined based on a dimension of polygons that the seed tool path touches (Nandu, [0124] an algorithm has been implemented to distribute the starts of cyclic paths. Another constraint utilized is that it is much less desirable to start or end a path on a curve. So, in addition to distributing the starts it is desirable to put them in locations where the filament will be relatively straight. Consequently, all of the straight segments of a path are first identified. After identifying these regions, the path is analyzed looking for a starting point that is at least a predetermined distance away from all the other start points that have been determined so far. This distance is advantageously a user established parameter. When checking if a point is far enough away from other points, the algorithm has been designed to only look a certain number of layers below the current layer, [0043] FIG. 21 shows a cross-sectional illustration of fiber reinforced filaments beginning and ending in a series of horizontal xy plane slices that have been further sliced in the z plane to illustrate distribution of the beginnings and endings in the z dimension in accordance with aspects of the present invention, [0095] The present approach maintains a desired two dimensional polygon of the empty space remaining that can be filled with tool paths or material runs. As each edge is added, the clipping outline is updated with the empty space being reduced appropriately. The updated clipping outline is then used to clip the next edge that is added).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Nandu and Kohling teach The method of claim 10, wherein the seed tool path includes a plurality of segments connected end-to-end (Nandu, Fig. 3, [abstract] linear segments of filament, such as but not limited to continuous carbon fiber-reinforced thermoplastic filament. Approaches to tool path generation are addressed in which material runs of filament are applied that distribute where cuts, beginning, or ends of segments occur or points where two ends of segments are fused or the like to preserve filament continuity by reducing the number of short segments, [0016] depositing the segments of filament employing filament feathering to carefully distribute the locations of filament beginnings and endings, cuts, or discontinuities, and the like, [0011] In FIG. 1A, the filaments 10, 20, and 30 have been cut or otherwise deposited in a discontinuous manner and then fused in regions 14, 24, and 34, respectively).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Nandu and Kohling teach The method of claim 18, wherein each of the plurality of seed points is positioned at an end of a segment of the seed tool path (Nandu, Fig. 3, [abstract] linear segments of filament, such as but not limited to continuous carbon fiber-reinforced thermoplastic filament. Approaches to tool path generation are addressed in which material runs of filament are applied that distribute where cuts, beginning, or ends of segments occur or points where two ends of segments are fused or the like to preserve filament continuity by reducing the number of short segments, [0016] depositing the segments of filament employing filament feathering to carefully distribute the locations of filament beginnings and endings, cuts, or discontinuities, and the like, [0011] In FIG. 1A, the filaments 10, 20, and 30 have been cut or otherwise deposited in a discontinuous manner and then fused in regions 14, 24, and 34, respectively).
Regarding claim 20, Nandu teaches A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium that provides instructions that, if executed on a computer processor, will cause the processor to perform operations comprising: (Nandu, [0045] Controller 101 comprises the hardware and software necessary to direct build chamber 102, robot 121, deposition head 122, and turntable 110, in order to fabricate the article 151 or other desired articles, [0053] Software for controller 101 generates tool paths to preserve filament continuity as addressed further herein): determining a surface representing a layer of a structure ([0022] FIG. 4 illustrates a top view of a single horizontal layer of a portion of a bicycle frame, [0124] the algorithm has been designed to only look a certain number of layers below the current layer); determining a seed tool path lying on the surface; at each of a plurality of seed points along a length of the seed tool path ([0013] generating a tool path to distribute starting and ending filament points across slices in the z-plane as well, as addressed further herein in connection with FIG. 21, [0116] straight edges of a potential tool path having a length greater than a predetermined length may be identified ), determining an offset direction that is transverse to an axis of the seed tool path at each of the plurality of seed points and parallel with a face of a …polygon… ([0106] All of the tool paths and material runs illustrated are within one layer. Each edge gets a number of continuous paths offset from it until the part is finished, [0084] FIG. 3 shows a slice in the xy plane of a part, a bicycle frame, 300 that is generated by creating concentric offset paths from the outline edges of the part 300); generating a plurality of offset points, each of which is offset in the offset direction from a corresponding one of the plurality of seed points ([0084] FIG. 3 shows a slice in the xy plane of a part, a bicycle frame, 300 that is generated by creating concentric offset paths from the outline edges of the part 300); determining an offset tool path based on the plurality of offset points ([0106] All of the tool paths and material runs illustrated are within one layer. Each edge gets a number of continuous paths offset from it until the part is finished, [0107] offsetting paths from the other non-dominant edges are started, [0084] FIG. 3 shows a slice in the xy plane of a part, a bicycle frame, 300 that is generated by creating concentric offset paths from the outline edges of the part 300); and causing a machine to deposit material along the offset tool path ([0106] All of the tool paths and material runs illustrated are within one layer. Each edge gets a number of continuous paths offset from it until the part is finished, [0117] FIG. 20 shows a process of generating tool paths to preserve continuity of fiber reinforced filaments 2000 in accordance with the present invention. In step 2002, a clipping outline comprising a two dimensional polygon for a part to be printed is established. This clipping outline maintains a record of the empty space that can be filled with material paths or runs).
Nandu does not teach wherein determining the surface includes determining a mesh that comprises a plurality of adjacent polygons… first polygon of the mesh… wherein the offset direction is updated to be parallel with a face of a second polygon adjacent to the first polygon when an edge of the first polygon is encountered in the offset direction, and wherein the face of the second polygon is non-coplanar with the face of the first polygon
Kohling teaches wherein determining the surface includes determining a mesh that comprises a plurality of adjacent polygons… first polygon of the mesh (Fig. 20D, Fig. 25A [0089] Different techniques exist for surface representations such as meshes, parametric surfaces (such as NURBS), and algebraic surface, [0085] boundaries of closed polygons that can be embroidered in different colors and textures, [0092] Creating a triangulation of a general 2- or 3-dimensional concave polygon can be done in three steps)… wherein the offset direction is updated to be parallel with a face of a second polygon adjacent to the first polygon when an edge of the first polygon is encountered in the offset direction, and wherein the face of the second polygon is non-coplanar with the face of the first polygon (Fig. 25A-B, Fig. 19, [0093] triangulated strips are then projected onto a plane and cut to avoid self-intersections. FIG. 24A shows a triangle strip 2400 computed from a number of curve loops evolved on a non-Euclidean surface. Unfolding the strip 2400 on a plane produces a flat unfolded strip 2402, as shown in FIG. 24B. The unfolding may be performed by first selecting one triangle. Then, an adjacent triangle is unfolded onto the plane of the first triangle by rotating it around their shared edge. The process of unfolding is then repeated sequentially along the strips. Whenever a cycle is encountered during this process, the strip is cut along an edge. FIG. 24B shows one large cut at edge 2404; a smaller cut is shown in close-up on FIG. 24C, producing a gap between strips within the region indicated by oval 2406. The unfolding process may lead to self-intersecting triangles, as shown in the region indicated by oval 2408 of FIG. 24D. Such intersections are eliminated by breaking the strip into multiple pieces 2410 and 2412, as shown in FIG. 24E, [0089] the displacement vector is projected to the tangent plane of the surface and a numerical integration scheme is used to the move point along the surface in the direction of the projected displacement).
Regarding claim 21, Nandu teaches A computer system, comprising: a …having processor-readable instructions stored therein; and one or more processors configured to access the… and execute the processor-readable instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors configures the one or more processors to perform a plurality of functions, including functions for : (Nandu, [0045] Controller 101 comprises the hardware and software necessary to direct build chamber 102, robot 121, deposition head 122, and turntable 110, in order to fabricate the article 151 or other desired articles, [0053] Software for controller 101 generates tool paths to preserve filament continuity as addressed further herein): determining a surface representing a layer of a structure ([0022] FIG. 4 illustrates a top view of a single horizontal layer of a portion of a bicycle frame, [0124] the algorithm has been designed to only look a certain number of layers below the current layer)…; determining a seed tool path lying on the surface; at each of a plurality of seed points along a length of the seed tool path ([0013] generating a tool path to distribute starting and ending filament points across slices in the z-plane as well, as addressed further herein in connection with FIG. 21, [0116] straight edges of a potential tool path having a length greater than a predetermined length may be identified ), determining an offset direction that is transverse to an axis of the seed tool path at each of the plurality of seed points and parallel with a face of a… polygon ([0106] All of the tool paths and material runs illustrated are within one layer. Each edge gets a number of continuous paths offset from it until the part is finished, [0084] FIG. 3 shows a slice in the xy plane of a part, a bicycle frame, 300 that is generated by creating concentric offset paths from the outline edges of the part 300); generating a plurality of offset points, each of which is offset in the offset direction from a corresponding one of the plurality of seed points ([0084] FIG. 3 shows a slice in the xy plane of a part, a bicycle frame, 300 that is generated by creating concentric offset paths from the outline edges of the part 300), … determining an offset tool path based on the plurality of offset points ([0106] All of the tool paths and material runs illustrated are within one layer. Each edge gets a number of continuous paths offset from it until the part is finished, [0107] offsetting paths from the other non-dominant edges are started, [0084] FIG. 3 shows a slice in the xy plane of a part, a bicycle frame, 300 that is generated by creating concentric offset paths from the outline edges of the part 300); and causing a machine to deposit material along the offset tool path ([0106] All of the tool paths and material runs illustrated are within one layer. Each edge gets a number of continuous paths offset from it until the part is finished, [0117] FIG. 20 shows a process of generating tool paths to preserve continuity of fiber reinforced filaments 2000 in accordance with the present invention. In step 2002, a clipping outline comprising a two dimensional polygon for a part to be printed is established. This clipping outline maintains a record of the empty space that can be filled with material paths or runs).
Nandu does not teach memory…wherein determining the surface includes determining a mesh that comprises a plurality of adjacent polygons… first polygon of the mesh… wherein the offset direction is updated to be parallel with a face of a second polygon adjacent to the first polygon when an edge of the first polygon is encountered in the offset direction, and wherein the face of the second polygon is non-coplanar with the face of the first polygon
Kohling teaches memory ([0085] storage medium, such as a hard drive or CD-ROM) … wherein determining the surface includes determining a mesh that comprises a plurality of adjacent polygons… first polygon of the mesh (Fig. 20D, Fig. 25A [0089] Different techniques exist for surface representations such as meshes, parametric surfaces (such as NURBS), and algebraic surface, [0085] boundaries of closed polygons that can be embroidered in different colors and textures, [0092] Creating a triangulation of a general 2- or 3-dimensional concave polygon can be done in three steps)… wherein the offset direction is updated to be parallel with a face of a second polygon adjacent to the first polygon when an edge of the first polygon is encountered in the offset direction, and wherein the face of the second polygon is non-coplanar with the face of the first polygon (Fig. 25A-B, Fig. 19, [0093] triangulated strips are then projected onto a plane and cut to avoid self-intersections. FIG. 24A shows a triangle strip 2400 computed from a number of curve loops evolved on a non-Euclidean surface. Unfolding the strip 2400 on a plane produces a flat unfolded strip 2402, as shown in FIG. 24B. The unfolding may be performed by first selecting one triangle. Then, an adjacent triangle is unfolded onto the plane of the first triangle by rotating it around their shared edge. The process of unfolding is then repeated sequentially along the strips. Whenever a cycle is encountered during this process, the strip is cut along an edge. FIG. 24B shows one large cut at edge 2404; a smaller cut is shown in close-up on FIG. 24C, producing a gap between strips within the region indicated by oval 2406. The unfolding process may lead to self-intersecting triangles, as shown in the region indicated by oval 2408 of FIG. 24D. Such intersections are eliminated by breaking the strip into multiple pieces 2410 and 2412, as shown in FIG. 24E, [0089] the displacement vector is projected to the tangent plane of the surface and a numerical integration scheme is used to the move point along the surface in the direction of the projected displacement).
Claims 4, 11-12, and 16-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nandu (US20200023573), in view of Kohling et al. (US20080297514, herein Kohling), and in further view of Martin et al. (US20050093862, herein Martin).
Regarding claim 4, Nandu teaches The method of claim 1,
Nandu does not teach wherein determining the seed tool path includes: applying a mapping function to the surface to transform the surface from a three-dimensional surface to a two-dimensional surface; determining a two-dimensional seed tool path on the two-dimensional surface; and applying a mapping function to the two-dimensional seed tool path to generate a three-dimensional seed tool path
Martin teaches wherein determining the seed tool path includes: applying a mapping function to the surface to transform the surface from a three-dimensional surface to a two-dimensional surface; determining a two-dimensional seed tool path on the two-dimensional surface; and applying a mapping function to the two-dimensional seed tool path to generate a three-dimensional seed tool path ([0014] For example, texture mapping involves associating 2D color images with regions of a 3D mesh. To establish such an association, an atlas consisting of charts that can be easily mapped to the planar domains of the images is necessary, [0031] receiving one or more input meshes representing a three dimensional model. The three dimensional model is capable of being represented as a 2-manifold polygon mesh. A conversion process automatically converts the input mesh to a multiresolution quadrilateral-based subdivision surface (MQSS) representation, [0056] high-quality atlas decompositions of 3D models for various applications (for example, texture mapping). The methods may be used to process the digital 3D model data stored in the 3D model database 104 a and/or in the remotely stored 3D model database 108 over the network 107 and in cooperation with the server 109. As but one example, a 3D input model to be remeshed could be remotely stored in the 3D model database 108 a, while the remeshed 3D model represented as a multiresolution subdivision surface could be stored in the local 3D model database 104.) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nandu’s teaching of generating tool paths using a 2D polygon filled with tool paths in order to make 3D objects with Martin’s teaching of transforming meshes made up of polygons for texture mapping. The combined teaching provides an expected result of generating tool paths using meshes for texture mapping. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve accuracy when generating a tool path to improve quality of the printed object.
Regarding claim 11, Nandu teaches The method of claim 1, wherein: ([0110] generate tool paths from a dominant edge, the edge which is the dominant edge may vary layer by layer as desired. Layers may be included in the design of an article of manufacture where all edges hold the same weight as addressed above in detail. Rotating between all of these options per layer or per second or subsequent layers provides good overall strength in the part as all the layers stack up. Each layer would have a different contribution to the overall strength of the part due to the dominant edges that have more fiber paths) ; determining the offset direction includes determining a linear direction that is parallel with the face of a first polygon … in the offset direction points (Fig. 3, [0106] All of the tool paths and material runs illustrated are within one layer. Each edge gets a number of continuous paths offset from it until the part is finished, [0107] offsetting paths from the other non-dominant edges are started, [0084] FIG. 3 shows a slice in the xy plane of a part, a bicycle frame, 300 that is generated by creating concentric offset paths from the outline edges of the part 300).
Nandu does not teach of the mesh
Martin further teaches of the mesh ([0090] the set of all such polygons form a coarse polygonal mesh that approximates the input mesh (see FIG. 2J). It follows from the previous observation that, on average, the resulting polygons have at most six sides)
Regarding claim 12, Nandu teaches The method of claim 11,
Nando does not teach further including: making a determination that a distance from the corresponding one of the plurality of seed points to an edge of the first polygon in the offset direction is less than an offset distance between the offset tool path and the seed tool path; and selectively updating the offset direction based on the determination, such that the offset direction is transverse to the axis of the seed tool path at the corresponding one of the plurality of seed points and parallel with a second polygon of the mesh that is adjacent to the first polygon
Martin teaches further including: making a determination that a distance from the corresponding one of the plurality of seed points to an edge of the first polygon in the offset direction is less than an offset distance between the offset tool path and the seed tool path; and selectively updating the offset direction based on the determination, such that the offset direction is transverse to the axis of the seed tool path at the corresponding one of the plurality of seed points and parallel with a second polygon of the mesh that is adjacent to the first polygon (Fig. 7, [0077] generate a set of points located at the centers of region faces with the property that their minimum distance to the boundary samples and to maximal balls around previously generated points is largest. The number of points thus generated depends on the size of the region. The seeds S1, . . . , SN are selected from this point set by sorting the points in the set according to some criterion and imposing a threshold value with respect to which points are accepted or eliminated, [0010] The medial axis transform (MAT) of an object is defined as the set of maximal balls completely contained within the object. The medial axis (MA) consists of the centers of the balls and intuitively can be viewed as the skeleton of the object, [0012] Each time a finer mesh is computed, it is obtained by adding detail offsets to the subdivided coarser mesh. If given a semi-regular mesh, i.e., a mesh with subdivision connectivity, one can easily convert it to a multiresolution surface by defining a smoothing operation to compute vertices on a coarser level from a finer level. ).
Regarding claim 16, Nandu teaches The method of claim 15,
Nandu does not teach wherein the spacing between the plurality of seed points is determined based on an average length of the polygons that the seed tool path touches
Martin teaches wherein the spacing between the plurality of seed points is determined based on an average length of the polygons that the seed tool path touches (Fig. 7, [0077] generate a set of points located at the centers of region faces with the property that their minimum distance to the boundary samples and to maximal balls around previously generated points is largest. The number of points thus generated depends on the size of the region. The seeds S1, . . . , SN are selected from this point set by sorting the points in the set according to some criterion and imposing a threshold value with respect to which points are accepted or eliminated, [0010] The medial axis transform (MAT) of an object is defined as the set of maximal balls completely contained within the object. The medial axis (MA) consists of the centers of the balls and intuitively can be viewed as the skeleton of the object, [0012] Each time a finer mesh is computed, it is obtained by adding detail offsets to the subdivided coarser mesh. If given a semi-regular mesh, i.e., a mesh with subdivision connectivity, one can easily convert it to a multiresolution surface by defining a smoothing operation to compute vertices on a coarser level from a finer level. ).
Regarding claim 17, Nandu teaches The method of claim 16,
Nandu does not teach wherein the spacing between the plurality of seed points is less than or equal to the average length
Martin teaches wherein the spacing between the plurality of seed points is less than or equal to the average length (Fig. 7, [0077] generate a set of points located at the centers of region faces with the property that their minimum distance to the boundary samples and to maximal balls around previously generated points is largest. The number of points thus generated depends on the size of the region. The seeds S1, . . . , SN are selected from this point set by sorting the points in the set according to some criterion and imposing a threshold value with respect to which points are accepted or eliminated, [0010] The medial axis transform (MAT) of an object is defined as the set of maximal balls completely contained within the object. The medial axis (MA) consists of the centers of the balls and intuitively can be viewed as the skeleton of the object, [0012] Each time a finer mesh is computed, it is obtained by adding detail offsets to the subdivided coarser mesh. If given a semi-regular mesh, i.e., a mesh with subdivision connectivity, one can easily convert it to a multiresolution surface by defining a smoothing operation to compute vertices on a coarser level from a finer level)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Pollard (US20230030807) discloses3D polygon mesh model of an object.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YVONNE TRANG FOLLANSBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ALICIA M. CHOI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117