DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the multiple reception chains must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
All abbreviations, symbols, acronyms, functional designations, sigla, letter combinations, code names, initialisms, nicknames, mnemonic devices, project names, alphabetical contractions and general slang must be positively defined and identified in the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
A statement of intended use, as the name suggests, describes a manner in which a claimed invention may be used, but does not limit the claim and need not be practiced. If the applicant wishes to limit the claims to an intended use, the claims should positively recite those features and make clear that they are limiting. Claims that use this sort of language do not clearly indicate which meaning is intended. C.R. Bard, Inc. v. M3 Systems, Inc. 157 F.3d 1340, 1348-49 (Fed. Cir. 1998), Ex parte Kearney, 2012 Pat. App. LEXIS 2675 at 1 (BPAI 2012), Aspex Eyewear, Inc. v. Marchon Eyewear, Inc., 672 F.3d 1335, 1349 (Fed. Cir. 2012).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
“A claim which describes the most crucial element in a ‘new’ combination in terms of what it will do, rather than in terms of its own physical characteristics or its arrangement in the new combination, is invalid as a violation of [the indefiniteness requirement].” Halliburton v. Walker, 329 U.S. 1 (1946). A purely functional claim language is not allowable unless done within the scope of 112(f). This general prohibition against the use of “purely functional claim language” (and the more specific Halliburton rule) has not been completely eliminated. Rather, “purely functional claim language” is now permissible but only under the conditions of 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), i.e., if its scope is limited to the corresponding structure, material, or act disclosed in the specification and equivalents thereof. Ex Parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207 (B.P.A.I. 2008). The claims describe the processing circuitry’s configuration only by function, not by structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication 2018/0083679 (Lim, et al).
Lim, et al discloses an apparatus (figures 21 and 22) comprising processing circuitry (#2113) configured to initiate a first directional listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure comprising a directional clear channel access (CCA) procedure in a first direction and during the first LBT procedure, initiate a second LBT procedure comprising a directional CCA procedure in a second direction, note ¶18, 55, 138 and claim 15.
Lim, et al reveals claim 17, the second LBT procedure is initiated during a deferral period of the first CCA procedure, note ¶29.
Lim, et al divulges claim 18, second LBT procedure is aborted when the directional CCA procedure of the first LBT procedure is successful, note ¶5, 49, 59, 159, 164, etc., abstract.
The Examiner has cited particular columns and/or line/paragraphs numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. IN RE JUNG, No. 10-1019 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0410187 (Yang, et al) in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0069927 (Abdelmonem, et al).
Yang, et al discloses an apparatus (figure 15) comprising processing circuitry (#202) configured to monitor for interference signals originating from each of multiple directions and select a first direction of the multiple directions to perform a directional listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure. The first direction is selected based on the interference signals originating from each of the multiple directions, ¶29, 72, 75-79, 147. Yang, et al does not disclose “using” multiple antennas. Abdelmonem, et al teaches the use of multiple antennas for the purpose of obtaining data regarding interference detected in a received communication signal, note ¶19. Hence, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the use of multiple antennas, as taught by Abdelmonem, et al, in the apparatus of Yang, et al in order to perform polarization adjusting for one or more orthogonally-polarized element pairs of an antenna system such that an impact of the interference on the antenna system is minimized.
Claim 9, Yang, et al discloses the processing circuitry continuously monitors the multiple directions for the interference signals, note ¶29, 72, 75-79, etc.
The Examiner has cited particular columns and/or line/paragraphs numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. IN RE JUNG, No. 10-1019 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0410187 (Yang, et al) in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0069927 (Abdelmonem, et al) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2018/0199212 (Lin, et al).
Yang, et al in view of Abdelmonem, et al discloses all subject matter, note the above paragraphs, except for monitoring for the interference signals originating from each of the multiple directions comprises processing signals by multiple reception chains. Lim, et al teaches the use of monitoring for the interference signals originating from each of the multiple directions comprises processing signals by multiple reception chains for the purpose of distinguish between beam sweeping signals that are received from different transmitters, figure 5 and 13, ¶134, 137, 166-167. Hence, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the use of monitoring for the interference signals originating from each of the multiple directions comprises processing signals by multiple reception chains for the purpose of distinguish between beam sweeping signals that are received from different transmitters, as taught by Lim, et al, in the apparatus of Yang, et al in view of Abdelmonem, et al in order to facilitate antenna beam alignment in multi-connection scenarios.
The Examiner has cited particular columns and/or line/paragraphs numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. IN RE JUNG, No. 10-1019 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0410187 (Yang, et al) in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0069927 (Abdelmonem, et al) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2018/0083679 (Lim, et al).
Yang, et al in view of Abdelmonem, et al discloses all subject matter, note the above paragraphs, except for determine a strength of each of the interference signals using a direction of arrival (DoA) estimation and the selection of the first direction is based on the strength of each of the interference signals. Lim, et al teaches the use of determining a strength of each of the interference signals using a direction of arrival (DoA) estimation and the selection of the first direction is based on the strength of each of the interference signals for the purpose of operating a full-duplex scheme by considering a direction-of-arrival (DoA) in a communication system supporting a beamforming scheme, note figure 12, ¶82, 175, 187. Hence, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the use of determining a strength of each of the interference signals using a direction of arrival (DoA) estimation and the selection of the first direction is based on the strength of each of the interference signals for the purpose of operating a full-duplex scheme by considering a direction-of-arrival (DoA) in a communication system supporting a beamforming scheme, as taught by Lim, et al, in the apparatus of Yang, et al in view of Abdelmonem, et al in order to operating a full-duplex scheme by considering a channel rank in a communication system supporting a beamforming scheme.
The Examiner has cited particular columns and/or line/paragraphs numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. IN RE JUNG, No. 10-1019 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0410187 (Yang, et al) in view of WO 2017/184865 (Convida Wireless, LLC).
Yang, et al discloses an apparatus (figure 15) comprising processing circuitry (#202) configured to monitor, interference signals originating from a first direction (¶29, 72, 75-79, 147). Determine, based on the monitoring in the first direction, whether interference signals are originating from a second direction and perform a directional listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure comprising a directional clear channel access (CCA) procedure in the second direction based on whether there are interference signals originating from the second direction (¶3, 133, 139). Yang, et al does not disclose “using” analog beamforming. Convida Wireless, LLC teaches the use of analog beamforming for the purpose of achieving additional gain can be an alternative in conjunction with digital precoding, ¶97, 126, 137, etc., figures 18, A,B, 19. Hence, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the use of analog beamforming for the purpose of achieving additional gain can be an alternative in conjunction with digital precoding, as taught by Convida Wireless, LLC, in the apparatus of Yang, et al, in order to cover different serving areas may be critical to cover the entire coverage areas within a serving cell.
The Examiner has cited particular columns and/or line/paragraphs numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. IN RE JUNG, No. 10-1019 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Allowable Subject Matter
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Claims 6-8, 10, 11, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-15 and 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not disclose or make obvious the selection of the first direction is based on comparing the strength of each of the interference signals to a predetermined threshold. In combination with in an apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: monitor, using multiple antennas, for interference signals originating from each of multiple directions and select a first direction of the multiple directions to perform a directional listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure. The first direction is selected based on the interference signals originating from each of the multiple directions. Determine a strength of each of the interference signals using a direction of arrival (DoA) estimation.
Conclusion
If applicants wish to request for an interview, an "Applicant Initiated Interview Request" form (PTOL-413A) should be submitted to the examiner prior to the interview in order to permit the examiner to prepare in advance for the interview and to focus on the issues to be discussed. This form should identify the participants of the interview, the proposed date of the interview, whether the interview will be personal, telephonic, or video conference, and should include a brief description of the issues to be discussed. A copy of the completed "Applicant Initiated Interview Request" form should be attached to the Interview Summary form, PTOL-413 at the completion of the interview and a copy should be given to applicant or applicant's representative.
WILLIAM D. CUMMING
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2645
/WILLIAM D CUMMING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645