DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 14, 20, and 21 have been amended. No claims have been newly added nor canceled. Claims 1-21 remain pending in the present application. The previous 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection of claims 1-21 have been withdrawn as a result of amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 14 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant asserts that the previously applied prior art fails to disclose at least the limitation of "receiving a set of weights that correspond to at least one movement data point of the set of movement data points and that prioritize the at least one movement data point of the set of movement data points over another movement data point of the set of movement data points, wherein the set of weights indicates an importance of the at least one movement data point, the importance defining a priority of the at least one movement data point over the another movement data point." Specifically, Applicant asserts that the "weights" disclosed in at least [0079]-[0080] of Hayaishi are fundamentally different from the "set of weights as claimed," arguing that "under the current amendment, claim 1 explicitly requires that 'the set of weights indicates an importance of the at least one movement data point, the importance defining a priority of the at least one movement data point over the another movement data point.' In other words, the weight is expressly a property of the movement data point in the source motion, not of any inter-device distance metric." The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Specifically, the examiner asserts that, as claimed, there is no requirement that the "priorities" be "expressly a property of the movement data point in the source motion." Rather, as claimed, the "weights" must merely correspond to a movement data point, rather than the weighting be an intrinsic property of a point in the source movement data. Hayaishi, in at least [0079]-[0080] discloses, inter alia, "the user can set the weight of the point (i.e., "receiving a set of weights that correspond to at least one movement data point of the set of movement data points") where the user wants the distance to be closer to a larger value compared to the other weights (i.e., "that prioritize at least movement point of the set of movement data points"). Further, the examiner asserts that, rather than Applicant's assertion that "the weights in Hayaishi are entirely internal to the robot's positional solver and never reflect user-assigned significance to individual input trajectories," that the weights of Hayaishi do reflect user-assigned significance, because, as disclosed in [0079] of Hayaishi, "the user can set the weight of the point where the user wants the distance to be closer to a larger value compared to the other weights," which the examiner asserts amounts to a "user-assigned significance" to a specific reference point. Hence, Applicant's arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, 11, 13-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayaishi (JP6529039B2), hereafter Hayaishi.
Regarding claim 1, Hayaishi discloses a computer-implemented method of determining control signals for robotics devices, the method comprising:
Receiving movement data corresponding to a desired motion for a robotics device (0022, The model link string information may be obtained, for example, by the motion capture technology. Motion capture may be performed, for example, by detecting the position of a marker attached to the model 5, or may be performed using a captured image of the model 5. The motion capture performed using a marker may be, for example, an optical motion capture, a mechanical motion capture, or a magnetic motion capture. In addition, when performing motion capture using a captured image, the accuracy of motion capture using the captured image may be improved, for example, by measuring the distance to the model 5 or the like. For example, KINECT (registered trademark) or RealSense may be used as a device for performing motion capture using a captured image.);
Receiving robotics device data for the robotics device, wherein the robotics device data includes control data and a set of reference points corresponding to a set of locations on the robotics device (0025, The storage unit 12 stores joint movement range information which is information indicating the movement range of joints in the link row of the robot 6. It is preferable that the joint movement range information includes information on all joints whose movement range is limited. For example, when the angle of the joint Pi between the links 101 and 102 in the link row of the robot 6 is represented by θ1i, θ2i, and θ3i as shown in FIG. 5, the joint movement range information is one of θ1i, θ2i, and θ3i. The information may be information indicating a range regarding one or more angles having a limited range of motion. 0032, The calculation unit 15 is configured so that the objective function corresponding to each distance between the plurality of locations whose coordinate values are specified by the identification unit 14 and the plurality of locations in the link row of the robot 6 respectively corresponding to the plurality Robot link string information, which is information on the position of each link included in the link string of 6, is calculated. Here, each of a plurality of points in the link row of the robot 6 corresponding to a plurality of reference points in the link row of the model 5 may also be referred to as a reference point. For example, a plurality of locations in the link array of the robot 6 corresponding to a plurality of locations in the link array of the model 5 identified by the identification unit 14 have, for example, a predetermined ratio between end points of the link array of the robot 6…);
Determining a correlation between a set of movement data points in the movement data and the set of reference points (0032, The calculation unit 15 is configured so that the objective function corresponding to each distance between the plurality of locations whose coordinate values are specified by the identification unit 14 and the plurality of locations in the link row of the robot 6 respectively corresponding to the plurality Robot link string information, which is information on the position of each link included in the link string of 6, is calculated. Here, each of a plurality of points in the link row of the robot 6 corresponding to a plurality of reference points in the link row of the model 5 may also be referred to as a reference point.);
Receiving a set of weights that correspond to at least one movement data point of the set of movement data points and that prioritize at least one movement data point of the set of movement data points over another movement data point of the set of movement data points (0079, Further, in the present embodiment, the objective function used by the calculation unit 15 in optimization may be one corresponding to each weighted distance. That is, weights are multiplied as coefficients by the distances between the plurality of reference points in the link string of the model 5 and the plurality of reference points in the link string of the robot 6 respectively corresponding to the plurality of reference points included in the objective function It may be Specifically, the objective function E used in the above-mentioned specific example may be changed to the following equation. Here, Wj is a weight, and may be stored in, for example, the storage unit 12. The weights Wj are different in at least one value. Otherwise, there is no need to set weights. In addition, the weight Wj may be changed appropriately by the user or the like. In such a case, for example, by setting the weight of the portion where the user wants the distance to be close to a large value as compared with other weights, the robot link string information is set so that the distance becomes close.) wherein the set of weights indicates an importance of the at least one movement data point, the importance defining a priority of the at least one movement data point over the another movement data point (0079, For example, the tip of the link row of the model 5 is included in a plurality of locations specified by the identifying unit 14, and the location in the link row of the robot 6 corresponding to the identified location that is the tip of the link row of the model 5 is In the case of the tip of the link row of the robot 6, by setting the weight of the distance of the tip of each link row of the model 5 and the robot 6 larger than the weight of the other distances, The robot link string information can be calculated so that the tip and the tip of the link string of the robot 6 are close to each other. Specifically, the weight of the distance of the tip of each link row of the model 5 and the robot 6 may be set to "3", and the other weight may be set to "1". Since the tip of the link row of the model 5 and the tip of the link row of the robot 6 are usually at a position of interest, the motion of the robot 6 is approximated by the motion of the model 5 by becoming a positional relationship approximating both…);
Determining, using the control data, at least one control signal to change a state of the robotics device based on the desired motion for the robotics device (0066, The output unit 17 outputs the robot link string information received from the noise removing unit 16 to the robot 6 (step S107). As a result, the robot 6 controls the motor or the like of each joint so that each joint of the link array has an angle included in the robot link array information. By doing so, the shape of the link row of the model 5 and the shape of the link row of the robot 6 become similar. Also, by repeating such an operation, the robot 6 can be controlled to imitate the operation of the model 5, and the robot 6 can be operated as a mirror robot.), wherein the at least one control signal is determined based on a distance between the at least one movement data point in the set of movement data points and at least one reference point in the set of reference points (0079, For example, the tip of the link row of the model 5 is included in a plurality of locations specified by the identifying unit 14, and the location in the link row of the robot 6 corresponding to the identified location that is the tip of the link row of the model 5 is In the case of the tip of the link row of the robot 6, by setting the weight of the distance of the tip of each link row of the model 5 and the robot 6 larger than the weight of the other distances, The robot link string information can be calculated so that the tip and the tip of the link string of the robot 6 are close to each other. Specifically, the weight of the distance of the tip of each link row of the model 5 and the robot 6 may be set to "3", and the other weight may be set to "1". Since the tip of the link row of the model 5 and the tip of the link row of the robot 6 are usually at a position of interest, the motion of the robot 6 is approximated by the motion of the model 5 by becoming a positional relationship approximating both…); and
Operating the robotics device using the determined at least one control signal (0066, The output unit 17 outputs the robot link string information received from the noise removing unit 16 to the robot 6 (step S107). As a result, the robot 6 controls the motor or the like of each joint so that each joint of the link array has an angle included in the robot link array information. By doing so, the shape of the link row of the model 5 and the shape of the link row of the robot 6 become similar. Also, by repeating such an operation, the robot 6 can be controlled to imitate the operation of the model 5, and the robot 6 can be operated as a mirror robot.).
Regarding claim 2, Hayaishi discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the movement data comprises motion capture data, animation data, or sensor data (0022, The model link string information may be obtained, for example, by the motion capture technology. Motion capture may be performed, for example, by detecting the position of a marker attached to the model 5, or may be performed using a captured image of the model 5. The motion capture performed using a marker may be, for example, an optical motion capture, a mechanical motion capture, or a magnetic motion capture.).
Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 2, and is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 3, Hayaishi discloses the computer implemented method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the at least one control signal is determined based on minimizing the distance between the at least one movement data point and the at least one reference point (0033, Distances between a plurality of locations specified by the identifying unit 14 and a plurality of locations in the link row of the robot 6 respectively corresponding to the plurality of locations are a specified reference point and a link of the robot 6 corresponding to the reference point It is the distance to the reference point in the column. The objective function according to each distance may be a function whose value increases as each distance increases. Specifically, the objective function may be the sum of squares of each distance. In that case, mapping using the least squares method will be performed. 0034, Further, to calculate robot link string information so that the objective function becomes smaller may be to calculate robot link string information so as to minimize the objective function, Examiner's note: the examiner asserts that the minimizing of the objective function, which is a sum relating to the distance between reference points on the model and reference points on the robot, amounts to a minimizing of the distances).
Regarding claim 5, Hayaishi discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the set of movement data points, the set of reference points, or both are identified by a user (0022, The model link string information may be obtained, for example, by the motion capture technology. Motion capture may be performed, for example, by detecting the position of a marker attached to the model 5, or may be performed using a captured image of the model 5. The motion capture performed using a marker may be, for example, an optical motion capture, a mechanical motion capture, or a magnetic motion capture. Examiner's note: the marker positions, i.e., the movement data points, would be chosen by the user when attaching the markers to the model).
Claim 17 is similar in scope to claim 5, and is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 6, Hayaishi discloses the computer implemented method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the at least one control signal is determined at least in part based on the set of weights (0079, In the case of the tip of the link row of the robot 6, by setting the weight of the distance of the tip of each link row of the model 5 and the robot 6 larger than the weight of the other distances, The robot link string information can be calculated so that the tip and the tip of the link string of the robot 6 are close to each other. Specifically, the weight of the distance of the tip of each link row of the model 5 and the robot 6 may be set to "3", and the other weight may be set to "1". Since the tip of the link row of the model 5 and the tip of the link row of the robot 6 are usually at a position of interest, the motion of the robot 6 is approximated by the motion of the model 5 by becoming a positional relationship approximating both).
Claim 18 is similar in scope to claim 6, and is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 7, Hayaishi discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the robotics device is a legged robotics device, an under-actuated robotics device, a simulation of a robotics device, or a combination thereof (0035, robot 6 is a humanoid robot, Examiner's note: a humanoid robot would be a legged robot).
Claim 19 is similar in scope to claim 7, and is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 8, Hayaishi discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the robotics device data comprises dimensions of the robotics device, mass distribution of the robotics device, a set of possible states of the robotics device, degrees of freedom of at least one component of the robotics device, or combinations thereof (0027, The storage unit 12 may store information other than the joint movement range information. For example, link length information indicating the length of each link in the link string of the robot 6 may be stored in the storage unit 12. It is known as forward kinematics of a robot that the position of the link row of the robot 6 can be specified by using the link length information and the angle of each joint in the link row of the robot 6. Further, for example, information on the direction of the axis of each joint in the link row of the robot 6 may be stored in the storage unit 12.).
Regarding claim 10, Hayaishi discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein determining the at least one control signal comprises determining error values associated with distances between the set of movement data points and the set of reference points (0063, The objective function E is, for example, the square of the distance between the reference point ps1 and the reference point PS1, the square of the distance between the reference point ps2 and the reference point PS2, the square of the distance between the reference point ps3 and the reference point PS3 in FIG. The square of the distance between the reference point ps4 and the reference point PS4 is added. If both end points of the link string are also reference points, their distances may be included in the objective function.).
Regarding claim 11, Hayaishi discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the at least one control signal is determined in real time (0037, The output unit 17 outputs information on the angle of each joint of the link row of the robot 6 according to the robot link row information. The robot link string information is robot link string information from which high-frequency noise components have been removed by the noise removing unit 16. When the mapping process is performed in real time, the output unit 17 may repeat the information in time series and may output the information at fixed or indefinite time intervals. In this case, for example, the robot 6 operates in accordance with the movement of the model 5.).
Regarding claim 13, Hayaishi discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the state of the robotics device relates to a linear movement or an angular movement of at least one component of the robotics device (0037, When the robot 6 has two or more link rows, the output unit 17 may output information for each of the link rows of the robot 6. When the robot link string information is information on the angle of each joint of the link string of the robot 6, the output unit 17 may output the robot link string information as it is. When the robot link string information is information indicating the position of the link string of the robot 6, the output unit 17 converts the robot link string information into information on the angle of each joint of the link string of the robot 6 and outputs Do. For example, in FIG. 5, when the positions of the links 101 and 102 are known, a method of specifying the angle with respect to each axis of the joint Pi is already known. It can be converted into information on the angle of each joint of the six link rows. The information on the angle of each joint of the link row of the robot 6 may be information indicating the angle of each joint, and as a result, it may be information on which the angle of each joint can be known.).
Regarding claim 14, Hayaishi discloses a computer-implemented method of retargeting of robotics device movements, the method comprising:
Receiving movement data corresponding to a target motion for a robotics device (0022, The model link string information may be obtained, for example, by the motion capture technology. Motion capture may be performed, for example, by detecting the position of a marker attached to the model 5, or may be performed using a captured image of the model 5. The motion capture performed using a marker may be, for example, an optical motion capture, a mechanical motion capture, or a magnetic motion capture. In addition, when performing motion capture using a captured image, the accuracy of motion capture using the captured image may be improved, for example, by measuring the distance to the model 5 or the like. For example, KINECT (registered trademark) or RealSense may be used as a device for performing motion capture using a captured image.);
Determining characteristics of the robotics device, wherein the characteristics comprise control data (0025, The storage unit 12 stores joint movement range information which is information indicating the movement range of joints in the link row of the robot 6. It is preferable that the joint movement range information includes information on all joints whose movement range is limited. For example, when the angle of the joint Pi between the links 101 and 102 in the link row of the robot 6 is represented by θ1i, θ2i, and θ3i as shown in FIG. 5, the joint movement range information is one of θ1i, θ2i, and θ3i. The information may be information indicating a range regarding one or more angles having a limited range of motion.), a set of reference points corresponding to a set of locations on the robotics device (0032, The calculation unit 15 is configured so that the objective function corresponding to each distance between the plurality of locations whose coordinate values are specified by the identification unit 14 and the plurality of locations in the link row of the robot 6 respectively corresponding to the plurality Robot link string information, which is information on the position of each link included in the link string of 6, is calculated. Here, each of a plurality of points in the link row of the robot 6 corresponding to a plurality of reference points in the link row of the model 5 may also be referred to as a reference point. For example, a plurality of locations in the link array of the robot 6 corresponding to a plurality of locations in the link array of the model 5 identified by the identification unit 14 have, for example, a predetermined ratio between end points of the link array of the robot 6…), and dimensions of the robotics device (0027, The storage unit 12 may store information other than the joint movement range information. For example, link length information indicating the length of each link in the link string of the robot 6 may be stored in the storage unit 12. It is known as forward kinematics of a robot that the position of the link row of the robot 6 can be specified by using the link length information and the angle of each joint in the link row of the robot 6. Further, for example, information on the direction of the axis of each joint in the link row of the robot 6 may be stored in the storage unit 12.);
Determining a mapping between the target motion for the robotics device and a trajectory for the set of reference points, wherein the mapping is based on the control data and the dimensions of the robotics device (0032, The calculation unit 15 is configured so that the objective function corresponding to each distance between the plurality of locations whose coordinate values are specified by the identification unit 14 and the plurality of locations in the link row of the robot 6 respectively corresponding to the plurality Robot link string information, which is information on the position of each link included in the link string of 6, is calculated. Here, each of a plurality of points in the link row of the robot 6 corresponding to a plurality of reference points in the link row of the model 5 may also be referred to as a reference point. 0027, The storage unit 12 may store information other than the joint movement range information. For example, link length information indicating the length of each link in the link string of the robot 6 may be stored in the storage unit 12. It is known as forward kinematics of a robot that the position of the link row of the robot 6 can be specified by using the link length information and the angle of each joint in the link row of the robot 6. Further, for example, information on the direction of the axis of each joint in the link row of the robot 6 may be stored in the storage unit 12.), and wherein the mapping minimizes a distance between the set of reference points and a set of movement data points corresponding to the target motion (0033, Distances between a plurality of locations specified by the identifying unit 14 and a plurality of locations in the link row of the robot 6 respectively corresponding to the plurality of locations are a specified reference point and a link of the robot 6 corresponding to the reference point It is the distance to the reference point in the column. The objective function according to each distance may be a function whose value increases as each distance increases. Specifically, the objective function may be the sum of squares of each distance. In that case, mapping using the least squares method will be performed. 0034, Further, to calculate robot link string information so that the objective function becomes smaller may be to calculate robot link string information so as to minimize the objective function, Examiner's note: the examiner asserts that the minimizing of the objective function, which is a sum relating to the distance between reference points on the model and reference points on the robot, amounts to a minimizing of the distances);
Receiving a set of weights that correspond to at least one movement data point of the set of movement data points and that prioritize the at least one movement data point of the set of movement data points over another movement data point of the set of movement data points (0079, Further, in the present embodiment, the objective function used by the calculation unit 15 in optimization may be one corresponding to each weighted distance. That is, weights are multiplied as coefficients by the distances between the plurality of reference points in the link string of the model 5 and the plurality of reference points in the link string of the robot 6 respectively corresponding to the plurality of reference points included in the objective function It may be Specifically, the objective function E used in the above-mentioned specific example may be changed to the following equation. Here, Wj is a weight, and may be stored in, for example, the storage unit 12. The weights Wj are different in at least one value. Otherwise, there is no need to set weights. In addition, the weight Wj may be changed appropriately by the user or the like. In such a case, for example, by setting the weight of the portion where the user wants the distance to be close to a large value as compared with other weights, the robot link string information is set so that the distance becomes close.) wherein the set of weights indicates an importance of the at least one movement data point, the importance defining a priority of the at least one movement data point over the another movement data point (0079, For example, the tip of the link row of the model 5 is included in a plurality of locations specified by the identifying unit 14, and the location in the link row of the robot 6 corresponding to the identified location that is the tip of the link row of the model 5 is In the case of the tip of the link row of the robot 6, by setting the weight of the distance of the tip of each link row of the model 5 and the robot 6 larger than the weight of the other distances, The robot link string information can be calculated so that the tip and the tip of the link string of the robot 6 are close to each other. Specifically, the weight of the distance of the tip of each link row of the model 5 and the robot 6 may be set to "3", and the other weight may be set to "1". Since the tip of the link row of the model 5 and the tip of the link row of the robot 6 are usually at a position of interest, the motion of the robot 6 is approximated by the motion of the model 5 by becoming a positional relationship approximating both…);
Generating a control signal based on the mapping, and the at least one movement data point in the set of movement data points (0066, The output unit 17 outputs the robot link string information received from the noise removing unit 16 to the robot 6 (step S107). As a result, the robot 6 controls the motor or the like of each joint so that each joint of the link array has an angle included in the robot link array information. By doing so, the shape of the link row of the model 5 and the shape of the link row of the robot 6 become similar. Also, by repeating such an operation, the robot 6 can be controlled to imitate the operation of the model 5, and the robot 6 can be operated as a mirror robot. 0079, For example, the tip of the link row of the model 5 is included in a plurality of locations specified by the identifying unit 14, and the location in the link row of the robot 6 corresponding to the identified location that is the tip of the link row of the model 5 is In the case of the tip of the link row of the robot 6, by setting the weight of the distance of the tip of each link row of the model 5 and the robot 6 larger than the weight of the other distances, The robot link string information can be calculated so that the tip and the tip of the link string of the robot 6 are close to each other. Specifically, the weight of the distance of the tip of each link row of the model 5 and the robot 6 may be set to "3", and the other weight may be set to "1". Since the tip of the link row of the model 5 and the tip of the link row of the robot 6 are usually at a position of interest, the motion of the robot 6 is approximated by the motion of the model 5 by becoming a positional relationship approximating both…); and
Operating the robotics device using the control signal (0066, The output unit 17 outputs the robot link string information received from the noise removing unit 16 to the robot 6 (step S107). As a result, the robot 6 controls the motor or the like of each joint so that each joint of the link array has an angle included in the robot link array information. By doing so, the shape of the link row of the model 5 and the shape of the link row of the robot 6 become similar. Also, by repeating such an operation, the robot 6 can be controlled to imitate the operation of the model 5, and the robot 6 can be operated as a mirror robot.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayaishi, and further in view of Ott et al. ("Motion Capture based Human Motion Recognition and Imitation by Direct Marker Control"), hereafter Ott.
Regarding claim 4, Hayaishi discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, but fails to disclose it further comprising:
Determining a trajectory associated with the at least one movement data point, wherein the at least one control signal is based on the trajectory.
Ott, however in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach determining a trajectory associated with the at least one movement data point, wherein the at least one control signal is based on the trajectory (Page 403, Col. 2, Paragraph 3, measured data from the motion capture system used as a desired trajectory for the controller).
Hayaishi and Ott are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., motion capture-based robotics control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the trajectory association of Ott in order to provide a means of providing a discrete trajectory from a plurality of movement points. The motivation to combine is to provide a means by which the plurality of movement points can be better evaluated.
Claim 16 is similar in scope to claim 4, and is similarly rejected.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayaishi, and further in view of Xie (US 20220379470 A1), hereafter Xie.
Regarding claim 9, Hayaishi discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, but fails to disclose it further comprising:
Modifying the at least one control signal in response to a changed environmental condition.
Xie, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach:
Modifying the at least one control signal in response to a changed environmental condition (0019, robot controller is used to regulate the motion status of the humanoid robot so as to correct the planned motion trajectory of the humanoid robot in real time so that the corrected planned trajectory matches the real motion condition of the humanoid robot and reduces the disturbance of the environment in which the robot is located).
Hayaishi and Xie are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robot control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the planned motion correction of Xie in order to provide a means of ensuring the robot can operate properly. The motivation to combine is to reduce the disturbance caused by the environment in which the robot is located (see at least 0019 of Xie).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayaishi, and further in view of Kalouche (US 20210205986 A1), hereafter Kalouche.
Regarding claim 12, Hayaishi discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the state of the robotics device comprises a position and an orientation of the at least one reference point at a time point.
Kalouche, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein the state of the robotics device comprises a position and an orientation of the at least one reference point at a time point (0069, robot kinematics module generates kinematic parameters of the robot, kinematic parameters correspond to a position and an orientation for each segment and/or joint of the robot).
Hayaishi and Kalouche are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., motion capture-based robot control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the state of the robotics device of Kalouche in order to provide better means of describing the control system as a whole. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the state of the robot is known as accurately as possible while being controlled.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalouche in view of Hayaishi.
Regarding claim 20, Kalouche discloses at least one computer-readable medium carrying instructions that, when executed by a computing system, cause the cause the computing system to:
Receive a desired motion sequence for a first operator having a first set of characteristics, wherein the first set of characteristics comprises dimensions of the first operator (0039, tracking module tracks the poses of the subject in subsequent images captured by the image capturing device, pose estimation module is able to estimate a pose of a subject in real-time as images are captured by the image capturing device, 0037, operator may manually set the subject's body part dimensions);
Determine a correlation between a first set of reference points corresponding to one or more locations on the first operator and a second set of reference points corresponding to one or more locations on a second robotics device, wherein the second robotics device has a second set of characteristics different from the first set of characteristics (0052, indirect mapping may be employed if the robot 135 does not have an anthropomorphic design or similarly dimensioned arms, legs, and/or fingers, indirect mapping may use a linear or non-linear function to map an estimate of the limbs and joint angles of the operator to the segments and joint angles of the robot 135, indirect mapping may be used if the robot's dimensions are on a different scale compared to the operator's body, the robot has a different configuration or number of joints compared to the operator's body, or it is desired to have varying levels of control sensitivity in joint or end-effector space); and
Generate a modified control signal based on the correlation, the second set of characteristics, and the first set of characteristics, wherein the modified control signal is to control the second robotics device to generate the desired motion sequence (0030, robotic system controller 145 receives the generated body pose information from its corresponding operator system 110 and accordingly determines a set of mapping parameters and kinematic parameters to control the motion of the robot, 0052, indirect mapping may be employed if the robot 135 does not have an anthropomorphic design or similarly dimensioned arms, legs, and/or fingers, indirect mapping may use a linear or non-linear function to map an estimate of the limbs and joint angles of the operator to the segments and joint angles of the robot 135, indirect mapping may be used if the robot's dimensions are on a different scale compared to the operator's body, the robot has a different configuration or number of joints compared to the operator's body, or it is desired to have varying levels of control sensitivity in joint or end-effector space); and
Operate the second robotics device using the modified control signal (0026, The robotic system 115 controls the robot and causes the robot to move in accordance with a pose of the operator. The robotic system 115 receives the generated body pose information of the subject in the captured images and, based on the generated body pose information, determines mapping parameters and one or more kinematic parameters of the robot. In the embodiment of FIG. 1, the robotic system 115 includes a robot 135, an image capturing device 140, and a robotic system controller 145.).
The examiner notes that Kalouche, under one interpretation, appears to further disclose wherein the first operator is a first robotics device (0016, A subject herein refers to any moving objects that have more than one pose. The moving objects include, among other objects, animals, people, and robots. Although embodiments herein are described with reference to humans as the subject, note that the present invention can be applied essentially in the same manner to any other object or animal having more than one pose. In several instances, the subject may also be referred to as an operator, 0021, In the embodiment of FIG. 1, the operator system 110 is controlled by the operator, who may be the subject of one or more captured images. For the sake of clarity, it is understood that the subject and the operator are referred to interchangeably, but it is also understood that, in some embodiments, the subject in the captured images may be a separate subject from the operator of the operator system 110.). In order to expedite prosecution, the examiner asserts that it would be obvious to have made the first operator a first robotic device in view of Kalouche, as at least [0016] of Kalouche provides a suggestion that the operator/subject may be a robot (0016, A subject herein refers to any moving objects that have more than one pose. The moving objects include, among other objects, animals, people, and robots. Although embodiments herein are described with reference to humans as the subject, note that the present invention can be applied essentially in the same manner to any other object or animal having more than one pose. In several instances, the subject may also be referred to as an operator). The examiner asserts that the above underlined portion provides an explicit suggestion that the “subject/operator” of Kalouche may be a robot, rendering the claim obvious.
Kalouche fails to explicitly disclose, however, receiving a set of weights corresponding to at least one reference point of the first set of reference points that prioritize the at least one reference point over another reference point of the first set of reference points, wherein the set of weights indicates an importance of the at least one reference point, the importance defining a priority of the at least one reference point over the another reference point; and
Wherein the modified control signal is generated based additionally on the set of weights, wherein the modified control signal is to control the second robotics device to generate the desired motion sequence based on the prioritized at least one reference point.
Hayaishi, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach receiving a set of weights corresponding to at least one reference point of the first set of reference points that prioritize the at least one reference point over another reference point of the first set of reference points, wherein the set of weights indicates an importance of the at least one reference point, the importance defining a priority of the at least one reference point over the another reference point (0079, Further, in the present embodiment, the objective function used by the calculation unit 15 in optimization may be one corresponding to each weighted distance. That is, weights are multiplied as coefficients by the distances between the plurality of reference points in the link string of the model 5 and the plurality of reference points in the link string of the robot 6 respectively corresponding to the plurality of reference points included in the objective function. It may be Specifically, the objective function E used in the above-mentioned specific example may be changed to the following equation. Here, Wj is a weight, and may be stored in, for example, the storage unit 12. The weights Wj are different in at least one value. Otherwise, there is no need to set weights. In addition, the weight Wj may be changed appropriately by the user or the like. In such a case, for example, by setting the weight of the portion where the user wants the distance to be close to a large value as compared with other weights, the robot link string information is set so that the distance becomes close.); and
Wherein the modified control signal is generated based additionally on the set of weights, wherein the modified control signal is to control the second robotics device to generate the desired motion sequence based on the prioritized at least one reference point (0079, For example, the tip of the link row of the model 5 is included in a plurality of locations specified by the identifying unit 14, and the location in the link row of the robot 6 corresponding to the identified location that is the tip of the link row of the model 5 is In the case of the tip of the link row of the robot 6, by setting the weight of the distance of the tip of each link row of the model 5 and the robot 6 larger than the weight of the other distances, The robot link string information can be calculated so that the tip and the tip of the link string of the robot 6 are close to each other. Specifically, the weight of the distance of the tip of each link row of the model 5 and the robot 6 may be set to "3", and the other weight may be set to "1". Since the tip of the link row of the model 5 and the tip of the link row of the robot 6 are usually at a position of interest, the motion of the robot 6 is approximated by the motion of the model 5 by becoming a positional relationship approximating both…).
Kalouche and Hayaishi are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robotics motion mapping systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the reference point weighting of Hayaishi in order to provide a means of prioritizing a particular movement point over another movement point. The motivation to combine is to allow the user to ensure that the motion of the robot is properly mapped to the reference motion data.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayaishi, and further in view of Ott and Nishimura (US 20220080585 A1), hereafter Nishimura.
Regarding claim 21, Hayaishi discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 14, but fails to explicitly disclose it further comprising:
Determining a possible state of the robotics device; and
Determining a trajectory associated with at least one movement data point of the set of movement data points;
Determining a bi-level optimization of the robotics device movements based on the possible state of the robotics device and the trajectory.
Ott, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach determining a trajectory associated with at least one movement data point of the set of movement data points (Page 403, Col. 2, Paragraph 3, measured data from the motion capture system used as a desired trajectory for the controller).
Hayaishi and Ott are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., motion capture-based robotics control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the trajectory association of Ott in order to provide a means of providing a discrete trajectory from a plurality of movement points. The motivation to combine is to provide a means by which the plurality of movement points can be better evaluated.
The combination of Hayaishi and Ott fails to teach, however, determining a possible state of the robotics device; and
Determining a bi-level optimization of the robotics device movements based on the possible state of the robotics device and the trajectory.
Nishimura, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach determining a possible state of the robotics device (0024, the sensor data 135 is input into a perception system 115, which performs tasks such as image segmentation and object detection, trajectory prediction, and tracking… perception system 114 outputs an initial state, an initial nominal control trajectory 145, and a KL divergence bound 150 for robot 100.); and
Determining a bi-level optimization of the robotics device movements based on the possible state of the robotics device and a trajectory (0024, those inputs are processed by a robot control system 120 that executes the RAT iLQR algorithm, an algorithm for solving the bilevel optimization problem mentioned above.).
Hayaishi, Ott, and Nishimura are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robot control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the state determination and bilevel optimization solution of Nishimura in order to provide a means of better optimizing the motion path of the robot. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the robot is controlled to move in as optimal a way as possible.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BLAKE A WOOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658