DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The present Office Action is based upon the Applicant’s amendment filed on 08/10/2026. Claims 1-11, 13-23 are now pending in the present application. This action is made FINAL.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
“A Radio Propagation Environment Providing for A Propagation of A Wireless Signal Via A Path Component”.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 29 of page 1 of the current specification, replace “scenario Fig. 1b)” with --scenario; Fig. 1b-- after “MIMO,”;
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
Figures 1a to 1c should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 11 is/or objected to because of the following informality/informalities:
a) On line 3 of claim 11, replace “the” with --a-- before “beacon”;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 22 recites, “wherein the device is configured for performing a beam alignment process in cooperation with two other distributed components for jointly forming a communication of the wireless communication scenario”; however, the current specification does not support the limitation(s).
Claim 23 recites, “wherein the device is configured for performing a beam alignment process in cooperation with two other distributed components for jointly forming a communication of the wireless communication scenario”; however, the current specification does not support the limitation(s).
Applicant is welcomed to point out to the portion(s) of the specification that provides support for the limitation(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAPORAL DEL BARRIO et al. US 20210235359 A1 (hereinafter Caporal) in view of Haija et al. US 20240405807 A1 (hereinafter Haija).
Regarding claim 22, Caporal discloses a device configured to operate in a wireless communication scenario comprising a radio propagation environment (FIG. 2 to FIG. 5, par. 0053 and 0061 for base station 52 and user device 54 in with propagation scenario with multipath and par. 0063, “In the system 50, a plurality of synchronisation symbol blocks (SSBs) are transmitted from the base station 52 to the user device 54 (e.g. using different beams of an antenna of the base station). Thus, different beams take different paths between the base station 52 and the user device 54, such that one or more paths are line of sight (LOS) and one or more paths are non-line of sight (NLOS) paths”, the device configured for identifying a path component of a wireless signal travelling through the radio propagation environment (FIG. 5 and FIG. 6, par. 0065, “where the user device 54 receives a plurality of synchronisation symbol blocks from the base station 52. In one example embodiment, 64 SSBs are sent, sequentially, in different directions (although, of course, many variants to such an arrangement are possible). The user device 54 may receive a subset of the transmitted blocks, with many being non-line of sight (NLOS) beams and perhaps one or a few being line of sight (LOS) beams Details of the SSBs received… ”); wherein the device is configured for receiving the wireless signal and an identifier and for deriving, based on the identifier, that the wireless signal was received via the path component for identifying the path component (FIG. 14, par. 0111, 0112 and 0116, “The response may identify the SSB identified in block 156 (e.g. by providing a beam index to the identified path). Alternatively, or in addition, the message 157 may include the delay correction factor or a corrected delay for the identified beam”).
However, Caporal fails to disclose wherein the device is configured for performing a beam alignment process in cooperation with two other distributed components for jointly forming a communication of the wireless communication scenario.
In the same field of endeavor, Haija discloses wherein the device is configured for performing a beam alignment process in cooperation with two other distributed components for jointly forming a communication of the wireless communication scenario (FIGs. 1, 5a-5b and 6a-6c, par. 0142, “a manner for configuring beams from different nodes such that the beams from the different nodes substantially align (overlap) at the RIS. When the beams substantially align, i.e. the beam spots align) this helps improve a total gain for a signal between the two nodes and efficiently utilize the RIS for multi-link communication, i.e. a link from a base station to the RIS and a link from the RIS to a UE.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of configuring beams from different nodes as taught by Haija to the beams with different paths between the base station and the user device as disclosed by Caporal for purpose of improving a total gain for a signal between the two nodes.
Regarding claim 23, Caporal discloses a device, e.g., a base station configured for operating in a wireless communication scenario, the device configured for selectively tagging a signal transmitted by the device when directing the signal along a predetermined path in the wireless communication scenario and with a tag that is associated with the path; so that the tag identifies the path (FIG. 14, for beam index for identifying paths; par. 0116-0118, “At message 157, a response to the request 151 is sent to the communication node 141. The response may identify the SSB identified in block 156 (e.g. by providing a beam index to the identified path)… At block 158, the communication node 141 makes use of the message 157. For example, the identified LOS path and/or the delay correction factor may be used to improve positioning of the user device 142”; par. 0028, “receiving an indicator (e.g. a beam index) and/or a delay correction factor of a line of sight path from a user device in response to said first enquiry.”).
In the same field of endeavor, Haija discloses wherein the device is configured for performing a beam alignment process in cooperation with two other distributed components for jointly forming a communication of the wireless communication scenario (FIGs. 1, 5a-5b and 6a-6c, par. 0142, “a manner for configuring beams from different nodes such that the beams from the different nodes substantially align (overlap) at the RIS. When the beams substantially align, i.e. the beam spots align) this helps improve a total gain for a signal between the two nodes and efficiently utilize the RIS for multi-link communication, i.e. a link from a base station to the RIS and a link from the RIS to a UE.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of configuring beams from different nodes as taught by Haija to the beams with different paths between the base station and the user device as disclosed by Caporal for purpose of improving a total gain for a signal between the two nodes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-21 is/are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior arts of the record, Caporal fails to suggest, disclose or teach individually or in combination to render obvious limitation(s), “wherein the wireless communication scenario is configured for performing a beam alignment process by use of at least three distributed components for jointly forming a communication of the wireless communication scenario.” of independent claim 1.
Therefore, claims 1-11 and 13-21 are considered novel and non-obvious, and allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 22 and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLAHYAR KASRAIA N/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642