DETAILED ACTION
Any rejections made in a previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 10 depends from cancelled claim 2. As such, it is unclear what limitations claim 10 includes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo (US 2007/0015651).
Regarding claim 1, Endo discloses an optical glass comprising, by weight %, 1 to 15% of B2O3, 0 to 10% of SiO2 with SiO2/B2O3 from 0.3 to 2, 25 to 40% of La2O3, 18 to 38% of TiO2, 7 to 17% BaO, a total content of MgO, CaO, SrO from 0 to 10%, 2 to 10% ZrO2, 0 to 7% WO3 0 to 7% ZnO, 5 to 15% of Nb2O5, 0 to 5% of Gd2O3 and 0 to 5% of Y2O3, see abstract and [0015-0019 and 0052-0071].
While the reference teaches ranges that overlap the presently claimed ranges, the reference fails to disclose an anticipatory example or ranges that are sufficiently specific to anticipate the claimed ranges. However, it has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges taught by the reference, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05. Further note, that based on the disclosed ranges for the individual components, the reference is considered to render obvious the claimed sum and claimed ratios.
Regarding claim 3, based on the ranges disclosed for Nb2O5, TiO2, ZrO2 and WO3, the reference is considered to render obvious the claimed sum, see above discussion.
Regarding claim 4, based on the ranges disclosed for La2O3, Gd2O3 and Y2O3, the reference is considered to render obvious the claimed sum, see above discussion.
Regarding claim 5, based on the ranges disclosed for MgO, CaO, SrO, BaO, ZnO, La2O3, Gd2O3 and Y2O3, the reference is considered to render obvious the claimed ratio, see above discussion.
Regarding claim 6, based on the ranges disclosed for Nb2O5, SiO2 and TiO2, the reference is considered to render obvious the claimed ratio, see above discussion.
Regarding claim 7, the reference discloses the glass has a refractive index of 2 or more, which overlaps the claimed range [0001]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 8, based on the ranges disclosed for the individual components, the reference is considered to render obvious the claimed ratios and sums, see above discussion. Additionally, the reference discloses the glass has a refractive index of 2 or more, which overlaps the claimed range [0001]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claims 9-16, the reference discloses an optical element formed of the optical glass [0001].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 2-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA A AUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783