DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 16 and 19-29 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 12/22/23.
Upon further consideration, the election of species has been withdrawn.
3. Applicant’s IDS filed on 12/22/23, 1/19/24, 10/10/25 and 4/23/26 have been acknowledged.
The non-English foreign patent documents are considered to its English Abstract. Applicant is required to submit English translation for further consideration.
4. The oath filed on 12/22/23 has been acknowledged.
5. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
7. Claims 24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The use of the term “preferably” in claim 24 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following such terms or phrases are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2173.05 (h).
Claim 26 is missing a conjunction between items (c ) and (d).
10. Claims 16 and 19-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over WO2012/095662 (IDS reference) in view of U.S.Pub.2015/0150979 (IDS reference).
The ‘662 publication teaches treatment of IL-17 mediated disorders comprising administering antibody formulation that binds IL-17A and IL-17F set forth in the SEQ ID NO:1-2 (see SEQ ID NO:7, 9, 11 and 15, see claims 1-8, 16-17, p. 24-27). The ‘662 publication further teaches inclusion of acetate buffer, amino acids, and/or polysorbate at pH of interest (p. 24-27) and the disorder comprises Crohn’s disease, rheumatoid arthritis, JIA or psoriasis. In addition, the ‘662 publication teaches use of antibody fragments (p. 10).
The disclosure of the ‘662 publication differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use 80-200mg/ml of antibody, addition of glycine as in claim 1 and specific concentrations of excipients recited in claims 16-24 of the instant application.
The ‘979 publication teaches antibody formulations comprising about 200mg/ml of antibody with 20-150mM of acetate, 0.01-0.03% polyorbate with 100-500mM of glycine (claims 15-28). The ‘979 publication further teaches exemplary formulations comprising 40mM of sodium acetate, about 220mM of glycine, 200mg/ml of antibody 0.01% polysorbate at pH 5 (Example 1) and this formulation reduces viscosity and enhances overall stability.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize known excipient concentrations taught by the ‘979 publication into the IL-17A/F antibody compositions taught by the ‘662 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of known excipient concentration combinations taught by the ‘979 publication and reduces viscosity for higher concentration and enhances stability.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
11. Claims 16 and 19-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. 8,580,265 (IDS reference) in view of U.S.Pub.2015/0150979 (IDS reference).
The ‘265 patent teaches treatment of IL-17 mediated disorders comprising administering antibody formulation that binds IL-17A and IL-17F set forth in the SEQ ID NO:1-2 (see SEQ ID NO:7, 9, 11 and 15, see col. 16-18). The ‘265 patent further teaches inclusion of acetate buffer, amino acids, and/or polysorbate at pH of interest (col. 14-15) in the formulation. In addition, the ‘265 patent teaches use of antibody fragments (p. 10).
The disclosure of the ‘265 patent differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use 80-200mg/ml of antibody, addition of glycine as in claim 1 and specific concentrations of excipients recited in claims 16-24 of the instant application.
The ‘979 publication teaches antibody formulations comprising about 200mg/ml of antibody with 20-150mM of acetate, 0.01-0.03% polysorbate with 100-500mM of glycine (claims 15-28). The ‘979 publication further teaches exemplary formulations comprising 40mM of sodium acetate, about 220mM of glycine, 200mg/ml of antibody 0.01% polysorbate at pH 5 (Example 1) and this formulation reduces viscosity and enhances overall stability.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize known excipient concentrations taught by the ‘979 publication into the IL-17A/F antibody compositions taught by the ‘265 patent.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of known excipient concentration combinations taught by the ‘979 publication and reduces viscosity for higher concentration and enhances stability.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
12. No claims are allowable.
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
October 6, 2026
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641