DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/22/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9, 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (CN110121812B).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a management method of an electrochemical device (Claim 1 and page 1: a method for charging a battery; In a high-voltage environment, continuous constant-voltage (CV, Constant-Voltage) charging will cause the cathode of the battery to undergo an oxidation reaction and release oxygen), wherein the method comprises:
in a preset state of the electrochemical device, measuring a predetermined parameter of the electrochemical device (page 3: when it is detected that the value of the electrical parameter of the battery is less than the first threshold value of the electrical parameter); and
in response to the predetermined parameter meeting a preset condition (pages 10, 15: After the number of times reaches the number threshold), performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device (pages 10, 15: When the value of the electrical parameter of the battery is less than the second threshold value due to naturally discharge), wherein the discharge-charge operation includes:
discharging the electrochemical device to a second voltage threshold (pages 10, 15: After the number of times reaches the number threshold, when it is detected that the value of the electrical parameter of the battery is less than the second threshold value of the electrical parameter. When the value of the electrical parameter of the battery is less than the second threshold value due to naturally discharged),
wherein the second voltage threshold (second threshold is 5%-50%) is less than a first voltage threshold (95%-99%; see page 3), and
the first voltage threshold is a limited charge voltage of the electrochemical device (page 4: the first threshold is the fully-charged battery power value A voltage value corresponding to 95% of the power value); and
charging the electrochemical device to a third voltage threshold (pages 3, 5-6: the third threshold is the value of the electrical parameter when the battery is fully charged),
wherein a difference between the third voltage threshold and the first voltage threshold (Page 3: the electrical parameter is voltage or power, the first threshold is less than the second threshold, and the third threshold is greater than the second threshold) is not greater than 20% (100%-95% = 5%; see page 3).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses wherein the step of in response to the predetermined parameter meeting the preset condition (page 2: greater than or equal to the third threshold), performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device (page 2: re-starting charging) includes:
in response to the predetermined parameter being not less (greater) than a preset threshold, performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device (page 2: re-starting charging to make all the value of the electrical parameter of the battery is greater than or equal to the third threshold of the electrical parameter).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses wherein the preset state includes at least one of the following: a working voltage of the electrochemical device is not less than the first voltage threshold, or the electrochemical device is electrically connected with a charging device (pages 2-4: connected to an external charger).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses wherein the step of measuring a predetermined parameter of the electrochemical device includes measuring a duration of the electrochemical device in the preset state, and the step of in response to the predetermined parameter meeting the preset condition (page 2: charging is performed for the first time until the battery is fully charged, Before the timing time reaches the time threshold, the first charging mode is executed), performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device includes:
in response to the duration being not less than a preset duration, performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device (page 2: after the counted time reaches the time threshold, a second charging mode is executed. The second charging mode includes when it is detected that the value of the electrical parameter of the battery is less than the second threshold of the electrical parameter, re-starting charging to make all the value of the electrical parameter of the battery is greater than or equal to the third threshold of the electrical parameter).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses wherein before performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device, the method further comprises: generating prompt information of a discharge-charge operation so as to prompt a user that the electrochemical device enters a discharge-charge operation state (page 20: two charging method options 505a and 505b, including: "normal charging method" option 505a and "long-plug charging method" option 505b; via user input); and after receiving an instruction of performing the discharge-charge operation from the user, starting the discharge-charge operation (page 20: If the user selects the information of the "normal charging method" option 505a, the first charging method is used).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses a charging device, comprising a processor and a machine-readable storage medium, wherein the machine-readable storage medium stores machine executable instruction and the processor (page 18: the memory may be used to store software programs and modules. The processor executes various functional applications and data processing of the mobile phone by running the software programs and modules stored in the memory) is configured to execute the machine executable instruction to realize the management method of the electrochemical device as claimed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses an electronic device, wherein the electronic device comprises:
a state detection device, a predetermined-parameter measurement device and a discharge-charge device;
the state detection device is configured to detect a state of the electrochemical device (page 4: the processor detects that the value of the electrical parameter of the battery);
the predetermined-parameter measurement device (page 4: the processor starts timing when detecting that the external charger is turned on) is configured to measure a predetermined parameter of the electrochemical device (page 4: after the chip is charged for the first time until the battery is fully charged, before the timing time reaches the time threshold);
the discharge-charge device is configured to perform at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device (page 4: when it is detected that the value of the electrical parameter of the battery is less than the first threshold of the electrical parameter, the charging chip is controlled to start charging again until the battery is fully charged);
when the state detection device detects that the electrochemical device is in a preset state (page 4: before the timing time reaches the time threshold), the predetermined-parameter measurement device is notified to measure the predetermined parameter of the electrochemical device (page 4: when it is detected that the value of the electrical parameter of the battery is less than the first threshold of the electrical parameter);
in response to the predetermined-parameter measurement device measuring that the predetermined parameter meet the preset condition, a discharge-charge operation notification is sent (page 4: the charging chip is controlled to start charging again until the battery is fully charged);
after receiving the discharge-charge operation notification, the discharge-charge device performs the at least one discharge-charge operation (page 4: the charging chip is controlled to start charging again until the battery is fully charged);
the discharge-charge operation includes:
discharging the electrochemical device to a second voltage threshold (pages 10, 15: After the number of times reaches the number threshold, when it is detected that the value of the electrical parameter of the battery is less than the second threshold value of the electrical parameter. When the value of the electrical parameter of the battery is less than the second threshold value due to naturally discharged),
wherein the second voltage threshold (second threshold is 5%-50%) is less than a first voltage threshold (95%-99%; see page 3), and
the first voltage threshold is a limited charge voltage of the electrochemical device (page 4: the first threshold is the fully-charged battery power value A voltage value corresponding to 95% of the power value); and
charging the electrochemical device to a third voltage threshold (pages 3, 5-6: the third threshold is the value of the electrical parameter when the battery is fully charged),
wherein a difference between the third voltage threshold and the first voltage threshold (Page 3: the electrical parameter is voltage or power, the first threshold is less than the second threshold, and the third threshold is greater than the second threshold) is not greater than 20% (100%-95% = 5%; see page 3).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses wherein the preset state includes at least one of the following: a voltage of the electrochemical device is not less than the first voltage threshold, or the electrochemical device is electrically connected with a charging device (page 2: when it is detected that the external charger is turned on).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses wherein the predetermined-parameter measurement device includes a thickness measurement device, and/or (interpret as “or ”) a duration measurement device (pages 2-3: charging is performed for the first time until the battery is fully charged. Before the timing time reaches the time threshold, the first charging mode is executed), and/or (interpret as “or”) a device for measuring internal pressure of electrochemical device; the thickness measurement device is configured to measure a thickness of the electrochemical device; the duration measurement device is configured to measure a duration of the electrochemical device in the preset state (pages 2-3: charging is performed for the first time until the battery is fully charged. Before the timing time reaches the time threshold, the first charging mode is executed… the process of detecting that the external charger is continuously turned on, when the timing time reaches the time threshold); the device for measuring internal pressure of electrochemical device is configured to measure an internal pressure of the electrochemical device.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses wherein the predetermined parameter meeting the preset condition includes the predetermined parameter is not less than a preset threshold (page 3: the process of detecting that the external charger is continuously turned on, when the timing time reaches the time threshold).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses wherein the electronic device further comprises:
an information prompt device, configured to receive a discharge-charge operation notification and generate prompt information of discharge-charge operation to prompt a user that the electrochemical device enters a discharge-charge operation state; wherein after receiving an instruction of performing the discharge-charge operation from the user (page 20: two charging method options 505a and 505b, including: "normal charging method" option 505a and "long-plug charging method" option 505b; via user input), the discharge-charge device performs the at least one discharge-charge operation (page 20: If the user selects the information of the "normal charging method" option 505a, the first charging method is used).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Ghantous et al. US 2016/0116548 (hereinafter Ghantous).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang fails to disclose wherein the step of measuring a predetermined parameter of the electrochemical device includes measuring a thickness of the electrochemical device, and the step of in response to the predetermined parameter meeting the preset condition, performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device includes: in response to the thickness being not less than a preset thickness, performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device.
Ghantous further discloses wherein the step of measuring a predetermined parameter of the electrochemical device includes measuring a thickness of the electrochemical device (¶¶ 0024, 0053; detect a thickness of the battery), and the step of in response to the predetermined parameter meeting the preset condition, performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device (¶ 0095) includes:
in response to the thickness being not less than a preset thickness, performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device (¶ 0095; if the thickness or change in thickness of the battery exceeds a predetermined range or value… adapt, change or modify the charging sequence or operation to manage or control the swelling of the battery).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to incorporate with the teaching of Ghantous by changing the charging sequence when the thickness of the battery exceeds a safety range or value, because it would be advantageous to reduce battery swelling and further improve battery life of battery-powered devices in ¶ 0052.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses wherein the step of measuring a duration of the electrochemical device in the preset state, and the step of in response to the predetermined parameter meeting the preset condition (page 2: charging is performed for the first time until the battery is fully charged. Before the timing time reaches the time threshold, the first charging mode is executed), performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device includes at least one of the following steps:
when the thickness is measured to be less than a preset thickness and the duration is measured to be not less than a preset duration, performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device;
when the duration is measured to be less than the preset duration and the thickness is measured to be not less than the preset thickness, performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device; or
when the duration is measured to be not less than the preset duration, performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device (page 2: after the counted time reaches the time threshold, a second charging mode is executed. The second charging mode includes when it is detected that the value of the electrical parameter of the battery is less than the second threshold of the electrical parameter, re-starting charging to make all the value of the electrical parameter of the battery is greater than or equal to the third threshold of the electrical parameter).
Zhang fails to teach wherein the step of measuring a predetermined parameter of the electrochemical device includes measuring a thickness of the electrochemical device and the step of in response to the predetermined parameter meeting the preset condition, performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device includes at least one of the following steps: when the duration is measured to be not less than the preset duration and the thickness is measured to be not less than the preset thickness, performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device.
However, Ghantous further discloses wherein the step of measuring a predetermined parameter of the electrochemical device includes measuring a thickness of the electrochemical device and the step of in response to the predetermined parameter meeting the preset condition (¶¶ 0024, 0053; detect a thickness of the battery), performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device includes at least one of the following steps:
when the duration is measured to be not less than the preset duration and the thickness is measured to be not less than the preset thickness, performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device (¶ 0095; if the thickness or change in thickness of the battery exceeds a predetermined range or value… adapt, change or modify the charging sequence or operation to manage or control the swelling of the battery).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to incorporate with the teaching of Ghantous by changing the charging sequence when the thickness of the battery exceeds a safety range or value, because it would be advantageous to reduce battery swelling and further improve battery life of battery-powered devices in ¶ 0052.
Claim(s) 6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Fu et al. US 2022/0190623 (hereinafter Fu).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang fails to disclose wherein the step of measuring a predetermined parameter of the electrochemical device includes measuring an internal pressure of the electrochemical device, and the step of in response to the predetermined parameter meeting the preset condition, performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device includes: when the internal pressure of the electrochemical device is measured to be not less than a preset internal pressure of the electrochemical device, performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device.
Fu further discloses wherein the step of measuring a predetermined parameter of the electrochemical device includes measuring an internal pressure of the electrochemical device (¶ 0024; the internal pressure value of the battery module may be acquired by sensing via a pressure sensor provided in the battery module), and the step of in response to the predetermined parameter meeting the preset condition, performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device includes:
when the internal pressure of the electrochemical device is measured to be not less than a preset internal pressure of the electrochemical device, performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device (¶ 0061; when the internal pressure value of the battery module is larger than the maximum pressure threshold, the battery module may be controlled to stop charging and discharging).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to incorporate with the teaching of Fu by controlling the charging/discharging process based on the internal pressure value of the battery, because it would be advantageous to avoid potential risks of overusing the battery module and further prolong service life of the battery module.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses wherein the step of measuring a duration of the electrochemical device in the preset state, and the step of in response to the predetermined parameter meeting the preset condition (page 2: charging is performed for the first time until the battery is fully charged. Before the timing time reaches the time threshold, the first charging mode is executed), performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device includes at least one of the following steps:
when the internal pressure of the electrochemical device is measured to be less than a preset internal pressure of the electrochemical device and the duration is measured to be not less than a preset duration, performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device;
when the duration is measured to be less than the preset duration and the internal pressure of the electrochemical device is measured to be not less than the preset internal pressure of the electrochemical device, performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device; and
when the duration is measured to be not less than the preset duration, performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device (page 2: after the counted time reaches the time threshold, a second charging mode is executed. The second charging mode includes when it is detected that the value of the electrical parameter of the battery is less than the second threshold of the electrical parameter, re-starting charging to make all the value of the electrical parameter of the battery is greater than or equal to the third threshold of the electrical parameter).
Zhang fails to disclose wherein the step of measuring a predetermined parameter of the electrochemical device includes measuring an internal pressure of the electrochemical device, performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device includes at least one of the following steps: when the internal pressure of the electrochemical device is measured to be not less than the preset internal pressure of the electrochemical device.
However, Fu further discloses wherein the step of measuring a predetermined parameter of the electrochemical device includes measuring an internal pressure of the electrochemical device (¶ 0024; the internal pressure value of the battery module may be acquired by sensing via a pressure sensor provided in the battery module), performing at least one discharge-charge operation on the electrochemical device includes at least one of the following steps: when the internal pressure of the electrochemical device is measured to be not less than the preset internal pressure of the electrochemical device (¶ 0061; when the internal pressure value of the battery module is larger than the maximum pressure threshold, the battery module may be controlled to stop charging and discharging).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to incorporate with the teaching of Fu by controlling the charging/discharging process based on the internal pressure value of the battery, because it would be advantageous to avoid potential risks of overusing the battery module and further prolong service life of the battery module.
Claim(s) 10, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Takahashi et al. US 2006/0166100 (hereinafter Takahashi).
Regarding claims 10 and 18, Zhang fails to disclose wherein a positive electrode in the electrochemical device includes at least one of Lithium cobalt oxide or Lithium iron phosphate.
However, Takahashi further discloses wherein a positive electrode in the electrochemical device includes at least one of Lithium cobalt oxide (¶ 0012 and abstract; a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery which has a positive electrode containing lithium cobalt oxide as a positive active material) or Lithium iron phosphate.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to incorporate with the teaching of Takahashi by including Lithium cobalt oxide as a positive active material, because it would be advantageous to improve energy density of the battery and battery capacity.
Claim(s) 11, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Takahashi as applied to claim 10 or 13 above, and further in view of TANG et al. US 2018/0048031 (hereinafter Tang).
Regarding claims 11 and 19, Zhang does not disclose wherein when the electrochemical device is an electrochemical device of Lithium cobalt oxide system, the first voltage threshold of the electrochemical device is 4.3V to 4.5V; when the electrochemical device is an electrochemical device of Lithium iron phosphate system, the first voltage threshold of the electrochemical device is 3.5V to 3.7V; when the electrochemical device is a mixed system of Lithium cobalt oxide and Lithium iron phosphate, the first voltage threshold of the electrochemical device is 4.3V to 4.5V.
However, Takahashi further discloses wherein when the electrochemical device is an electrochemical device of Lithium cobalt oxide system (¶ 0012 and abstract; a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery which has a positive electrode containing lithium cobalt oxide as a positive active material), the first voltage threshold of the electrochemical device is 4.3V to 4.5V (¶ 0012; which is charged with an end voltage of
at least 4.3 V).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to incorporate with the teaching of Takahashi by including Lithium cobalt oxide as a positive active material, because it would be advantageous to improve energy density of the battery and battery capacity.
Zhang in view of Takahashi discloses does not disclose when the electrochemical device is an electrochemical device of Lithium iron phosphate system, the first voltage threshold of the electrochemical device is 3.5V to 3.7V; when the electrochemical device is a mixed system of Lithium cobalt oxide and Lithium iron phosphate, the first voltage threshold of the electrochemical device is 4.3V to 4.5V.
However, Tang further discloses when the electrochemical device is an electrochemical device of Lithium iron phosphate system, the first voltage threshold of the electrochemical device is 3.5V to 3.7V (¶ 0004; When the method is applied in lithium iron phosphate battery, U0 is charge cut-off voltage of 3.6V… 3.5V, 3.65V and 3.7V are commonly recognized by the industry as the charge cut-off voltage used by the low power constant-current and constant-voltage charging method).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang in view of Takahashi to incorporate with the teaching of Tang by including lithium iron phosphate battery in the system, because it would be advantageous to reduce the manufacturing cost and improve thermal safety issue.
Although Zhang in combination Takahashi and Tang is silent about when the electrochemical device is a mixed system of Lithium cobalt oxide and Lithium iron phosphate, the first voltage threshold of the electrochemical device is 4.3V to 4.5V, Official notice is taken with respect to a mixed system of Lithium cobalt oxide and Lithium iron phosphate, the first voltage threshold of the electrochemical device is 4.3V to 4.5V since it is very well known in the art to charge up to the cutoff voltage of Lithium cobalt oxide when a mixed of Lithium cobalt oxide and Lithium iron phosphate is applied to the electrochemical device disclosed by the prior art would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to utilize the energy capacity of Lithium cobalt oxide batteries.
Conclusion
/ZIXUAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 09/17/2026