DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-4 are currently pending and currently under examination.
Priority
2. Application is a continuation-in-part of Application 18352807 filed on 7/14/2023, which is a continuation-in-part of application 18173882 filed on 2/24/2023 which claims benefit and priority from foreign application GB2219591.1 filed on 12/22/2022. Priority has been granted to the foreign application and the effective filing date of 12/22/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are: “administering to the patient”.
Claim 4 recites “an anxiolytic such as buspirone, clonazepam, desvenlafaxine, fluoxetine, gabapentin and/or lorazepam; or a proton pump inhibitor such as omeprazole, pantoprazole or rabeprazole.” The use of the words “such as” makes it unclear whether the claim is limited to the list of drugs following or if it is open to other anxiolytics or proton pump inhibitors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dahlof (US2018/0078529 A1, as cited on IDS 5/31/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Dahlof discloses a method of treating a patient diagnosed with an interstitial lung disease (ILD), including idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, comprising: administering a pharmaceutical drug for treating pulmonary fibrosis. (See Dahlof, pg. 2 [0012]).
Regarding claims 2-3, Dahlof discloses the pharmaceutical drug for treating pulmonary fibrosis is an angiotensin II type 2 receptor agonist (ATRAG), specifically N-butyloxycarbonyl- 3-(4-imidazol-1-ylmethylphenyl)-5-iso-butylthiophene-2-sulfonamide (Compound 21 or 'C21'). (See Dahlof pg. 2 [0013]).
Regarding claim 4, Dahlof teaches that the pharmaceutical drug for treating pulmonary fibrosis can be pirfenidone or nintedanib. (See Dahlof, pg. 1 [0006]).
5. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Camber (US11844868 B2, effective filing date 4/24/2020).
Camber discloses a method of treating a patient diagnosed with an interstitial lung disease, idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, by administering to the patient ATRAG, N-butyloxycarbonyl- 3-(4-imidazol-1-ylmethylphenyl)-5-iso-butylthiophene-2-sulfonamide (Compound 21 or 'C21'). (See Cambert, abstract).
6. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Camber 2 (US11654115 B2, effective filing date 4/24/2020).
Camber 2 claims a method for treating a patient diagnosed with an interstitial lung disease, specifically idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, by administration of the ATRAG, C21. (See Camber 2, abstract)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camber (US11844868 B2, effective filing date 4/24/2020) in view of Dahlof (US2018/0078529 A1, as cited on IDS 5/31/2024).
Camber discloses the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above.
Camber does not disclose the method of treating pulmonary fibrosis by administering pirfenidone or nintedanib.
Dahlof teaches administering pirfenidone and nintedanib for treating patients diagnosed with idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis as discussed above.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the method of treatment for Cambert with the method of treatment of Dahlof. It would have been obvious because combination therapy is a known practice in medicine and both pharmaceutical agents treat the same disease, idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the methods of treatment in Cambert and Dahlof with a reasonable expectation of success for producing the present claimed invention.
8. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camber 2 (US11654115 B2, effective filing date 4/24/2020) in view of Dahlof (US2018/0078529 A1, as cited on IDS 5/31/2024). .
Camber 2 discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Camber 2 does not disclose the pharmaceutical drug for treating pulmonary fibrosis is selected from pirfenidone or nintedanib.
Dahlof teaches the use of pirfenidone and nintedanib for treating idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis as discussed above.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the method of treatment for Camber 2 with the method of treatment of Dahlof. It would have been obvious because combination therapy is a known practice in medicine and both pharmaceutical agents treat the same disease. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the methods of treatment in Camber 2 and Dahlof with a reasonable expectation of success for producing the present claimed invention.
Double Patenting
9. Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11654115 (Hereinafter referred to as Patent ‘115) in view of Dahlof (US2018/0078529 A1, as cited on IDS 5/31/2024).
Patent ‘115 claims a method for treating interstitial lung disease, specifically idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, by administration of the ATRAG, C21.
Patent ‘115 does not claim the pharmaceutical drug for treating pulmonary fibrosis is selected from pirfenidone, or nintedanib.
Dahlof teaches the use of pirfenidone and nintedanib for treating pulmonary fibrosis as discussed above.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the method of treatment for Patent ‘115 with the method of treatment of Dahlof. It would have been obvious because combination therapy is a known practice in medicine and both pharmaceutical agents treat the same disease. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the methods of treatment in Patent ‘115 and Dahlof with a reasonable expectation of success for producing the present claimed invention.
10. Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11844868 (Hereinafter referred to as Patent ‘868) in view of Dahlof (US2018/0078529 A1, as cited on IDS 5/31/2024).
Patent ‘868 claims a method for treating interstitial lung disease, specifically idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, by administration of the ATRAG, C21.
Patent ‘868 does not claim the pharmaceutical drug for treating pulmonary fibrosis is selected from pirfenidone, or nintedanib.
Dahlof teaches the use of pirfenidone and nintedanib for treating pulmonary fibrosis as discussed above.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the method of treatment for Patent ‘868 with the method of treatment of Dahlof. It would have been obvious because combination therapy is a known practice in medicine and both pharmaceutical agents treat the same disease. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the methods of treatment in Patent ‘868 and Dahlof with a reasonable expectation of success for producing the present claimed invention.
Conclusion
11. Claims 1-4 are rejected.
/LINDSAY DUNN/Examiner, Art Unit 1644
/Laura B Goddard/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642