DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Please see response below:
In response to application argument, the present application teaches the use of a user program and/or a script, i.e., a set of executable pre-written instructions for setting up the test protocols, particularly to automate and speed up the testing process. On the other hand, Chew exclusively teaches "human intervention" for setting up the test session (i.e., requires skilled personnel in conjunction with the test setup). Hence, in the context of automation, Chu teaches away from the present claimed subject matter (Examiner respectfully disagree with the Applicant, Chew teaches the amended claimed limitations “setting up the test protocols with the aid of a user program and/or a script, wherein the user program and/or the script is configured as a plug-in” (see Chew’s para. 31-32, user program/script to test with a computing device with a browser plug-in)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5,7-10 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chew et al. (US 2014/0321285 A1, hereinafter “Chew”).
Regarding claim 1, Chew discloses a method for compliance testing a device under test (see Figure 2, para. 0035, DUT 290), wherein the device under test is provided with more than one communication interface for a wireless and/or a wire-bound protocol (see para. 0035-0037,one or more ports, communication link may be wired or wireless), wherein the communication interfaces are configured for at least two different communication protocols (see para. 0037 and 0039, Ethernet , WiFi, WiMax), the method comprising the steps of: assigning a test protocol to each of the communication interfaces (see para. 0039, test protocol such as Ethernet, WiFi, ZigBee or Bluetooth), automatically executing, at least once, each of the test protocols wherein the communication interfaces are configured for at least two different communication protocols (see para. 0039-41, programmable devices to generate test data; para. 0054, test head to communicate with each protocol; para. 0069, test a device) and setting up the test protocols with the aid of a user program and/or a script, wherein the user program and/or the script is configured as a plug-in (see Chew’s para. 31-32, user program/script to test with a computing device with a browser plug-in).
Regarding claim 2, Chew discloses wherein the test protocols are executed at one test cycle, especially the same test cycle (see para. 0069, test cycle).
Regarding claim 3, Chew discloses wherein the method further comprises the step of repeatedly executing at least a part, preferably each, of the test protocols (see para. 0069, may be repeated).
Regarding claim 5, Chew discloses wherein the method further comprises the step of setting up the respective speed during corresponding run time with respect to at least a part, preferably each, of the test protocols with the aid of a user program and/or a script (see para. 0069, time periods define the run time for the test).
Regarding claim 7, Chew discloses wherein compliance testing comprises or is PHY compliance testing and/or Ethernet compliance testing (see para. 0025, Ethernet; para. 0077, layer 2 or layer 3).
Regarding claim 8, Chew discloses wherein executing at least a part, preferably each, of the test protocols comprises applying at least one of different signal characteristics, preferably different test signal frequencies and/or different test signal levels, different disturbing signals, preferably different random disturbing signals and/or different pre-defined disturbing signals, different standards, preferably different communication standards and/or different IEEE standards (see para. 0037, different standards).
Regarding claim 9, Chew discloses wherein the method further comprises the steps of: switching to at least one further device under test especially in an automated manner, and performing at least one of the steps to said at least one further device under test (see para. 0065, request for specific test).
Regarding claim 10, Chew discloses wherein the method further comprises the step of creating a central report comprising the corresponding test results from at least a part, preferably each, of the test protocols (see para. 0065, summarize the test data and present to a user).
Regarding claim 13, Chew discloses a computing device being configured to perform at least one of the steps of the method according to claim 1 (see para. 0036, test equipment 200).
Regarding claim 14, Chew discloses a measurement device for compliance testing a device under test, the measurement device comprising a computing device according to claim 13 and a wireless and/or wired interface being connectable to device under test (see Figures 2 and 3, para. 0036 and 0039).
Regarding claim 15, Chew discloses wherein the wireless and/or wired interface is connectable to at least one further device under test, and/or wherein the measurement device further comprises at least one further wireless and/or wired interface being connectable to at least one further device under test (see Figure 2 and 3, para. 0039, DUT).
Regarding claim 16, Chew discloses wherein the method further comprises the step of creating a central report comprising the corresponding test results from at least one test with respect to the at least on further device under test, preferably at least a part or each further test protocols (see para. 0061-0065, test module collect test data).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chew in view of Hicks et al. (US 2004/0064760 A1, hereinafter “Hicks”).
Regarding claim 11, Chew discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention explicitly wherein the method further comprises the step of performing a statistical analysis, preferably a statistical analysis comprising at least one graph especially visualizing at least a part of said statistical analysis, more preferably a statistical analysis comprising at least one pie chart especially visualizing at least a part of said statistical analysis, most preferably a statistical analysis comprising at least one graph and/or at least one pie chart for a synopsis of the corresponding test results of the central report, on the basis of the central report. However, Hicks from a similar field of endeavor discloses further comprises the step of performing a statistical analysis, preferably a statistical analysis comprising at least one graph especially visualizing at least a part of said statistical analysis (see para/ 0130, utilization statistics), more preferably a statistical analysis comprising at least one pie chart especially visualizing at least a part of said statistical analysis (see para. 0130-0131, the graph field includes pie charts), most preferably a statistical analysis comprising at least one graph and/or at least one pie chart for a synopsis of the corresponding test results of the central report, on the basis of the central report (see para. 0118, a graphical chart). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include Hicks graphical representation into Chew test data scheme. The method can be implemented the interface. The motivation of doing this is to represent the performance of the device under test.
Regarding claim 12, Chew discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention wherein the method further comprises the steps of: displaying the statistical analysis, preferably the statistical analysis comprising at least one graph especially visualizing at least a part of said statistical analysis, more preferably the statistical analysis comprising at least one pie chart especially visualizing at least a part of said statistical analysis, most preferably the statistical analysis comprising at least one graph and/or at least one pie chart for a synopsis of the corresponding test results of the central report, especially with the aid of a display unit and/or a graphical user interface, and/or updating the statistical analysis, preferably the statistical analysis comprising at least one graph especially visualizing at least a part of said statistical analysis, more preferably the statistical analysis comprising at least one pie chart especially visualizing at least a part of said statistical analysis, most preferably the statistical analysis comprising at least one graph and/or at least one pie chart for a synopsis of the corresponding test results of the central report, especially in real time. However, Hicks from a similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the method further comprises the steps of: displaying the statistical analysis, preferably the statistical analysis comprising at least one graph especially visualizing at least a part of said statistical analysis (see para. 0118 and 0138, graphical and tabular representation), more preferably the statistical analysis comprising at least one pie chart especially visualizing at least a part of said statistical analysis, most preferably the statistical analysis comprising at least one graph and/or at least one pie chart for a synopsis of the corresponding test results of the central report (see para. 0131, pie chart), especially with the aid of a display unit and/or a graphical user interface, and/or updating the statistical analysis, preferably the statistical analysis comprising at least one graph especially visualizing at least a part of said statistical analysis, more preferably the statistical analysis comprising at least one pie chart especially visualizing at least a part of said statistical analysis (see para. 0131, GUI with pie chart representation of statistics(, most preferably the statistical analysis comprising at least one graph and/or at least one pie chart for a synopsis of the corresponding test results of the central report, especially in real time (see para. 0118 and 0138, graphical representation of test results). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include Hicks graphical representation into Chew test data scheme. The method can be implemented the interface. The motivation of doing this is to represent the performance of the device under test.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MOHAMMAD S. ANWAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/MOHAMMAD S ANWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463