DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This office action is a response to an application filed on 10/24/2025, in which claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 13-14 are currently amended. Claims 15-17 are newly added.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims rejected under 35 USC 102 and 103 in Remarks filed on 10/24/2025 have been considered but are moot upon further consideration and a new ground of rejection made under 35 USC 103 based on Blaser (“Description of SDR and 360° video coding technology proposal by RWTH Aachen University”, JVET-J0023-r1, 04/10/2018, IDS filed on 12/22/2023.) in view of Chen (CN 114710665 B), and Blaser (“Description of SDR and 360° video coding technology proposal by RWTH Aachen University”, JVET-J0023-r1, 04/10/2018, IDS filed on 12/22/2023.) in view of Chen (CN 114710665 B), and further in view of Yamori (WO 2021131058 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blaser (“Description of SDR and 360° video coding technology proposal by RWTH Aachen University”, JVET-J0023-r1, 04/10/2018, IDS filed on 12/22/2023.) in view of Chen (CN 114710665 B).
Regarding claim 1, Blaser discloses an image decoding device comprising a circuit (Blaser; Pg i. Abstract. An imaging encoder/decoder, including a circuit, is used to performed video coding.),
wherein the circuit decodes a first syntax for controlling possibility of application of a geometric partitioning mode of a decoding target sequence (Blaser; Table 9, Pg. 7, 8. A first syntax, geo_cu_flag, is decoded for enabling/disabling possibility of using a geometric partitioning mode for a decoding sequence.), and
control controls whether to decode a second syntax for controlling possibility of application of an intra prediction mode to the geometric partitioning mode of the decoding target sequence according to a value of the first syntax (Blaser; Table 9, Pg. 7, 8. A second syntax, geo_inter_intra_flag, is determined to be decoded for enabling/disabling possibility of using an intra prediction mode to a geometric partitioning mode in accordance with a first syntax).
But it does not specifically disclose decoding a first syntax for controlling, at a sequence level, the possibility of application of a geometric partitioning mode of a to an entire decoding target sequence comprising a plurality of blocks, and decoding a second syntax for controlling, at the sequence level.
However, Chen teaches decoding a first syntax for controlling, at a sequence level, the possibility of application of a geometric partitioning mode of a to an entire decoding target sequence comprising a plurality of blocks, and decoding a second syntax for controlling, at the sequence level (Chen; Pg. 43, 3rd Para. Switch control information/a first syntax is used/decoded for controlling the possibility of using geometric division mode at a sequence level, and a flag/a second syntax is used/decoded for controlling at a sequence level.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding system of Blaser to adapt a syntax/indication processing approach, by incorporating Chen’s teaching wherein different syntax elements are used for perform prediction associated with GPM and intra-prediction, for the motivation to perform video coding using various prediction modes (Chen; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 2, modified Blaser teaches wherein the circuit: decodes the second syntax when the value of the first syntax is 1 (Blaser; Table 9, Pg. 7, 8. A second syntax is decoded for a first syntax being 1.); and
does not decode the second syntax when the value of the first syntax is not 1 (Blaser; Table 9, Pg. 7, 8. A second syntax is decoded for a first syntax being not 1.).
Regarding claim 4, modified Blaser teaches wherein the circuit: infers a value of a first internal parameter for controlling whether to apply the geometric partitioning mode to a decoding target block under a first predetermined condition when the value of the second syntax is not 1 (Blaser; Table 9, Pg. 7, 8. For a second syntax being not 1, a value of a first parameter is determined/inferred for enabling or not the geometric partitioning mode.); and
infers a value of a second internal parameter for controlling whether to apply the geometric partitioning mode to the decoding target block under a second predetermined condition when the value of the second syntax is 1 (Blaser; Table 9, Pg. 7, 8. For a second syntax being 1, a value of a second parameter is determined/inferred for enabling or not the geometric partitioning mode.).
Regarding claim 5, modified Blaser teaches wherein the second predetermined condition includes a condition that a fourth syntax indicating a type of a decoding target slice is a B-slice or a P-slice (Blaser; Table 9, Pg. 7, 8. A second condition includes a fourth syntax indicating a decoding slice being a B-slice or a P-slice.).
Claim 13 is directed to an image decoding method, comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claim 1, and is rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Claim 14 is directed to a program stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium for causing a computer to function as an image decoding device, the image decoding device comprising a circuit, wherein: the circuit performs a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claim 1, and is rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Regarding claim 15, modified Blaser teaches circuit is configured to decode coded image data including the decoding target sequence, in accordance with the first syntax and the second syntax, and output an image signal obtained by decoding the coded image data (Blaser; Table 9, Pg. 7, 8. Coded image data is decoded including a decoding target sequence, including a coding unit or segment, in accordance with a first syntax and a second syntax, and image data is obtained by decoding coded image data.).
Regarding claim 16, modified Blaser teaches circuit is configured to decode coded image data including the decoding target sequence, in accordance with the first syntax and the second syntax, and output an image signal obtained by decoding the coded image data (Blaser; Table 9, Pg. 7, 8. Coded image data is decoded including a decoding target sequence, including a coding unit or segment, in accordance with a first syntax and a second syntax, and image data is obtained by decoding coded image data.).
Regarding claim 17, modified Blaser teaches circuit is configured to decode coded image data including the decoding target sequence, in accordance with the first syntax and the second syntax, and output an image signal obtained by decoding the coded image data (Blaser; Table 9, Pg. 7, 8. Coded image data is decoded including a decoding target sequence, including a coding unit or segment, in accordance with a first syntax and a second syntax, and image data is obtained by decoding coded image data.).
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blaser (“Description of SDR and 360° video coding technology proposal by RWTH Aachen University”, JVET-J0023-r1, 04/10/2018, IDS filed on 12/22/2023.) in view of Chen (CN 114710665 B), and further in view of Yamori (WO 2021131058 A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Blaser teaches the second syntax (Blaser; See remarks regarding claim 1 above.).
But modified Blaser does not specifically teach wherein the circuit: decodes a third syntax for controlling a number of types of intra prediction modes applicable to the geometric partitioning mode of the decoding target sequence when the value of the second syntax is 1; and does not decode the third syntax when the value of the second syntax is not 1.
However, Yamori teaches wherein the circuit: decodes a third syntax for controlling a number of types of intra prediction modes applicable to the geometric partitioning mode of the decoding target sequence when the value of the second syntax is 1 (Yamori; Fig. 7, Pg 8, 3rd, 4th Para. For a second syntax being 1 indicating a use of intra prediction, a third syntax/index is decoded for determining a number of types of intra prediction modes on a geometric partition mode of a decoding sequence.); and
does not decode the third syntax when the value of the second syntax is not 1 (Yamori; Fig. 7, Pg 8, 3rd, 4th Para. For a second syntax being not 1 indicating no use of intra prediction, a third syntax is not decoded.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the modified video coding system of Blaser to adapt a syntax/indication processing approach, by incorporating Yamori’s teaching wherein different syntax elements are used for perform prediction associated with GPM, for the motivation to perform video coding using non-rectangular partitions (Yamori; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 6, modified Blaser further teaches wherein the circuit: decodes a fifth syntax specifying a partitioning shape of the geometric partitioning mode of the decoding target block when the value of the first internal parameter or the second internal parameter is 1 (Yamori; Pg. 7, 3rd to 5th Para. For a first internal parameter being 1, a fifth syntax element is decoded for indicating a partitioning shape of GPM.); and
does not decode the fifth syntax when the value of the first internal parameter or the second internal parameter is not 1 (Yamori; Pg. 7, 3rd to 5th Para. For a second internal parameter being not 1, a fifth syntax element is not decoded.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ma (US Pub. 20250247557 A1) teaches a video coding system that performs video coding system that perform geometric partition mode.
Kang (US Pat. 12160565 B2) teachers a video coding system that perform coding for geometrically changed images.
/ALBERT KIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485