DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office action is based on the 18/394507 application originally filed December 22, 2023.
Claims 1-22, filed January 13, 2026, are pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansch et al. (US 2016/0130514) hereinafter “Hansch” in view of Eden et al. (US 2004/0200265) hereinafter “Eden”.
Regarding Claims 1-22
Hansch discloses in paragraph 0001, the use of nitrogen compounds quaternized in a specific manner as a fuel additive and lubricant additive or kerosene additive, such as, more particularly, as a detergent additive; for reducing the level of or preventing deposits in the injection systems of direct injection diesel engines, for reducing the fuel consumption of direct injection diesel engines, and for minimizing power loss in direct injection diesel engines, especially in diesel engines with common rail injection systems; and as an additive for gasoline fuels, especially for operation of DISI engines.
Hansch discloses in paragraph 0021, a fuel composition or lubricant composition comprising, in a majority of a customary fuel or lubricant, a proportion, especially an effective amount, of at least one reaction product comprising a quaternized nitrogen compound, or a fraction thereof which comprises a quaternized nitrogen compound and is obtained from the reaction product by purification, said reaction product being obtainable by reacting a quaternizable nitrogen compound, for example a quaternizable alkylamine comprising at least one quaternizable, especially tertiary, amino group, with a quaternizing agent which converts the at least one quaternizable, especially tertiary, amino group to a quaternary ammonium group, the quaternizing agent being a hydrocarbyl epoxide.
Hansch further discloses in paragraphs 21-30, the fuel composition, wherein the quaternizable nitrogen compound is selected from a) at least one alkylamine comprising at least one compound of the following general formula 3:
RaRbRcN (3)
in which at least one of the Ra, Rb and Rc radicals, for example one or two, is a straight-chain or branched, saturated or unsaturated C8-C40-hydrocarbyl radical (especially straight-chain or branched C8-C40-alkyl) and the other radicals are identical or different, straight-chain or branched, saturated or unsaturated C1-C6-hydrocarbyl radicals (especially C1-C6-alkyl); b) at least one polyalkene-substituted amine comprising at least one quaternizable, especially tertiary, amino group; c) at least one polyether-substituted amine comprising at least one quaternizable, especially tertiary, amino group; and d) at least one reaction product of a hydrocarbyl-substituted acylating agent and a compound comprising a nitrogen or oxygen atom and additionally comprising at least one quaternizable, especially tertiary, amino group; and e) mixtures thereof.
Hansch discloses in paragraphs 0035-0046, the fuel composition, wherein the quaternizing agent comprises an epoxide of the general formula 4
where the Rd radicals present therein are the same or different and are each H or a hydrocarbyl radical, the hydrocarbyl radical being an aliphatic or aromatic radical having at least 1 to 10 carbon atoms. The fuel composition or lubricant composition according to any of embodiments 1 to 3, wherein the free acid of the quaternizing agent is a hydrocarbyl-substituted C3-C28-dicarboxylic acid. The fuel composition or lubricant composition according to any of the preceding embodiments, wherein the quaternizing agent is selected from lower alkylene oxides in combination with a hydrocarbyl-substituted polycarboxylic acid.
Hansch discloses in paragraph 0190, use of epoxides as quaternizing agents, these are used in the presence of free acids, especially in the presence of free hydrocarbyl-substituted unsaturated, especially saturated, optionally substituted, especially unsubstituted, protic acids, such as particularly with hydrocarbyl-substituted dicarboxylic acids, especially hydrocarbyl-substituted C3-C28 or C3-C12-dicarboxylic acids, especially unsubstituted saturated C3-C6-dicarboxylic acid.
Hansch discloses in paragraph 0189, examples of suitable hydrocarbyl epoxides include aliphatic and aromatic alkylene oxides such as, more particularly, C2-12-alkylene oxides such as ethylene oxide, propylene oxide, 1,2-butylene oxide, 2,3-butylene oxide, 2-methyl-1,2-propene oxide (isobutene oxide), 1,2-pentene oxide, 2,3-pentene oxide, 2-methyl-1,2-butene oxide, 3-methyl-1,2-butene oxide, 1,2-hexene oxide, 2,3-hexene oxide, 3,4-hexene oxide, 2-methyl-1,2-pentene oxide, 2-ethyl-1,2-butene oxide, 3-methyl-1,2-pentene oxide, 1,2-decene oxide, 1,2-dodecene oxide or 4-methyl-1,2-pentene oxide; and aromatic-substituted ethylene oxides such as optionally substituted styrene oxide, especially styrene oxide or 4-methylstyrene oxide.
Hansch discloses in paragraph 0190, use of epoxides as quaternizing agents, these are used in the presence of free acids, especially in the presence of free hydrocarbyl-substituted unsaturated, especially saturated, optionally substituted, especially unsubstituted, protic acids, such as particularly with hydrocarbyl-substituted dicarboxylic acids, especially hydrocarbyl-substituted C3-C28 or C3-C12-dicarboxylic acids, especially unsubstituted saturated C3-C6-dicarboxylic acid. Hansch discloses in paragraph 0192, additionally suitable are aromatic dicarboxylic acids, for example phthalic acid. Hansch discloses in paragraph 0198, especially preferred is PIBSA having a bismaleation level of up to 30%, preferably up to 25% and more preferably up to 20%. In general, the bismaleation level is at least 2%, preferably at least 5% and more preferably at least 10%. Controlled preparation is described, for example, in U.S. Pat. No. 5,883,196. For the preparation, high-reactivity PIB (HR-PIB) having Mn in the range from 500 to 3000, for example 550 to 2500, 800 to 1200 or 900 to 1100 is particularly suitable. Mn is determined by means of GPC as described in U.S. Pat. No. 5,883,196. Particularly preferred PIBSA prepared from HR-PIB (Mn=1000) has hydrolysis numbers of 85-95 mg KOH/g.
Hansch discloses in paragraphs 0211-0214, further additive components, the fuel additized with the inventive quaternized additive is a gasoline fuel or especially a middle distillate fuel, in particular a diesel fuel. The fuel may comprise further customary additives to improve efficacy and/or suppress wear. In the case of diesel fuels, these are primarily customary detergent additives, carrier oils, cold flow improvers, lubricity improvers, corrosion inhibitors, demulsifiers, dehazers, antifoams, cetane number improvers, combustion improvers, antioxidants or stabilizers, antistats, metallocenes, metal deactivators, dyes and/or solvents. In the case of gasoline fuels, these are in particular lubricity improvers (friction modifiers), corrosion inhibitors, demulsifiers, dehazers, antifoams, combustion improvers, antioxidants or stabilizers, antistats, metallocenes, metal deactivators, dyes and/or solvents.
Hansch further discloses in paragraph 0298, fuels, especially middle distillate fuels, with a content of the inventive quaternized additive which is effective as an additive for achieving advantageous effects in the operation of internal combustion engines, for example of diesel engines, especially of direct injection diesel engines, in particular of diesel engines with common rail injection systems. This effective content (dosage) is generally 10 to 5000 ppm by weight, based in each case on the total amount of fuel.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
It is to be noted, Hansch specifically teaches testing integrated parts of the engine and emission systems of the internal combustion engine combusting gasoline or diesel fuel compositions but fails to specifically teach the claimed method step of counting the number of particulates emitted may be determined using a particle and emission measuring system directly connected to the tailpipe of the vehicle which comprises an exhaust gas flow meter, a gas emission measuring unit and a particle counter of the presently claimed invention.
However, it is known in the art to apply an apparatus for measuring particulates that are found in emissions in the tailpipe of the a vehicle, as taught by Eden.
Eden discloses in the abstract, a method and apparatus for characterizing particulate matter in gases emitted from the exhaust tailpipe of a moving vehicle includes providing a micro-dilution device on the vehicle and, while the vehicle is moving, retrieving samples of the gases and mixing the samples with ambient air with the micro-dilution device, thereby forming diluted samples of the gases containing volatile and non-volatile particulate matter. A particulate analyzer is provided on the vehicle which measures at least one parameter of the volatile and non-volatile particulate matter.
Eden further discloses in paragraph 0008, a vehicle propelled by a pressure ignition engine or a spark ignition engine.
Eden discloses in paragraph 0010, an apparatus and method for measuring and characterizing particulate matter emitted from an engine, according to another aspect of the invention, includes providing a mass analyzer, a particle analyzer and a computer. The mass analyzer measures the mass of the particulate matter. The particle analyzer counts the particles present in the particulate matter by particle size histogram entailing specific particle size groups. The computer resolves the resulting measured mass and particle counts to estimates of the mass of the particles according to their size as defined by the size histogram.
Eden discloses in paragraph 0028, referring now to the drawings and the illustrative embodiments depicted therein, an apparatus 10 is for characterizing particulate matter in gases emitted from an exhaust tailpipe of a moving vehicle 8 (FIG. 1). Vehicle 8 may be propelled by a compression-ignition engine which has traditionally been associated with particulate matter emission. However, vehicle 8 may be propelled with a spark-ignition engine which also may be capable of producing particulate matter emission.
Eden discloses in paragraph 0036, an output 36 of mass flow controller 26 is combined with the exhaust gas line 38 at a combiner 40. Combiner 40 includes a capillary 42, which combines a portion of output 36 with the exhaust gas from line 38.
Eden discloses in paragraph 0032, an outlet 58 of diluter 46 is supplied to a particle analyzer, such as a counter, and particle sizer 60. Particle analyzer 60 determines a parameter related to the particle content of the raw exhaust provided from line 14. Particle analyzer 60 may measure the count of the particles present in the particulate matter by a size histogram entailing specific particle size groups and provide the histogram through a serial port 62 to a logging device, such as a computer 64.
Eden discloses in paragraph 0038, apparatus 10 may, advantageously, be located a distance from the vehicle exhaust tailpipe. An alternative analyzer 110 is illustrated in FIG. 9 which is configured to be mounted, at least in part, in proximity to the vehicle tailpipe thereby enabling immediate mixing of the gases with ambient air. Apparatus 110 includes a tailpipe unit 72, which is mounted in close proximity to the vehicle tailpipe, and an in-vehicle unit 74 which may be mounted away from the vehicle tailpipe. Tailpipe unit 72 includes micro-dilution device 24, namely, mass flow control valve 28, pump 30, filter 32 and combiner 40. Because the tailpipe unit may be positioned in proximity to the tailpipe, it may be connected to the tailpipe with a line 1 14, which does not have to be heated. A linking line 76, which also does not need to be heated because it is conveying diluted exhaust gas, is reduced in volume by an exhaust discharge 116 and supplied to an optional diluter 46. As with analyzer 10, outlet 58 of diluter 46 is supplied to particle analyzer 60 whose output serial port 62 is supplied to computer 64. Apparatus 10, 110 may provide particle count data of the type illustrated in FIG. 8, which was collected on a diesel bus, by way of example. Referring to FIG. 8, it can be seen that the particulate count is lower during periods where the engine is idling and is higher during other periods. However, it can be seen that the apparatus 10, 110 provides an ongoing stream of data for the vehicle, which it is moving rather than placed on a dynamometer or merely in, an idling state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to measure and/or test the deposit/particulate formation of various parts of an internal combustion engine, including the tailpipe, as taught by Hansch and Eden. The motivation to do so is to measure and/or test the particulate matter found in emission from the combustion of a fuel composition in DISI engines and spark ignition engines.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments directed to the newly submitted claimed amendments, filed June 10, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-22 under Hansch et al. (US 2016/0130514) hereinafter “Hansch” in view of Hansch et al. (EP 2604674 A1) hereinafter “Hansch ‘674” and List et al. (US 2017/0050590) hereinafter “List” have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hansch et al. (US 2016/0130514) hereinafter “Hansch” in view of Eden et al. (US 2004/0200265) hereinafter “Eden”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Latosha Hines/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771