Examiner Note
A copy of Pobitzer, M., Janicki, F., Rigotti, M., & Malossi, C. (2024). Outline-guided object inpainting with diffusion models. arXiv preprint arXiv:2402.16421. is attached because, while published after the priority date, it describes the same invention.
Claim Interpretation
The claims recite both “erase” and “erode.” A review of the art shows that “erode” is a technical term, see, e.g., https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Erosion_(morphology). The specification describes erosion as morphological erosion at [0014] and [0042]. “Erase” is understood with its plain meaning, i.e., to remove information.
“Segmentation learning model” is any machine learning model that segments or learns from segments. See, e.g., specification [0041] “For example, the trained segmentation machine learning model 408 may be a neural network, such as … among other suitable networks.” Here, the specification has defined the term to include (at least) neural networks that are suitable, i.e., that perform this function. In other words, the segmentation learning model is defined by what it does, rather than what it is (i.e., it is not defined as a particular neural network architecture).
“Blend” is interpreted under its plain meaning, that is, blending an edge is interpreted as the edge between the two images being aesthetically similar.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “inpainting model trained on top of a latent diffusion model” of claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
The below claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a processor to.” The claim should instead recite that there are stored instructions to carry out these steps (whereas “a processor to” is understood as intended use, such that claims 1-7 read on any processor).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 recite “a predetermined number of times,” but this is subjective because the determination is not specified. MPEP 2173.05(b)(IV).
Claims, 1, 8, 14, 15, and 20 recite various steps occurring “via” a processor or a generative model. It is unclear what role the processor or generative model has to be “via.” For example, if in claim 1, the generative model generates a prompt that is used to fill out an area of the erased object, is that level of involvement “via?”
Claim 3 recites “inpainting model trained on top of a latent diffusion model,” but it is unclear what relationship is meant by “on top of.” For example, are the models in series, is one boosting the other?
Dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 15 recites a “computer program product.” The broadest reasonable interpretation of “computer program product” includes software per se. MPEP 2106.03(I). The most relevant section of the specification is [0016], which discusses transitory signals in the context of a “computer readable storage medium” and a “storage device,” but not a “computer program product.” Claims 16-20 are likewise rejected.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea (mental process) without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claim 1 (and its dependents) recite a system, and machines are eligible subject matter.
Claim 8 (and its dependents) recite a method, and processes are eligible subject matter.
Claim 15 (and its dependents) is not directed to a statutory category.
Step 2A, prong one: All of the elements of claims 1-20 are a mental process because a person can look at a CT image and decide if there’s lung cancer. Further, the various models are also mental processes, see example 47, claim 2, element (d) (from the July 2024 AI subject matter eligibility examples). MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) explains that use of a generic computer or in a computer environment is still a mental process. In particular, this section begins by citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 US 63 (1972). “The Supreme Court recognized this in Benson, determining that a mathematical algorithm for converting binary coded decimal to pure binary within a computer’s shift register was an abstract idea.” In Benson the Supreme Court did not separately analyze the computer hardware at issue; the specifics of what hardware was claimed is only included in an appendix to the decision.
Because there are no additional elements, no further analysis is required for Step 2A, prong two or Step 2B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 13-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20240169622A1 (“Xie”).
As highlighted by the claim objection, claim 1 and dependents require only a processor ”to” perform certain operations. The operations are not particular to the structure of the processor; they appear to be performable with appropriate programming by any conventional processor. Xie shows a processor 405 in Fig. 4 that appears to be suitable for the intended use of Claim 1-8. There is no associated memory claimed; there is no particular structure of a processor claimed; this is just intended use.
In addition,
1. A system, comprising a processor to:
receive an annotated data sample comprising an object contained in an annotated mask; (Xie, Fig. 2, step 205)
partially erase the object contained in the annotated mask; and (Xie, Fig. 2, step 210. Xie’s partially noisy map teaches the claimed partially erase because the specification uses “erase” broadly (see, e.g., specification [0037] that eroding is a type of erasing), and Xie’s noise means that information has been removed.)
fill out an erased area of the object a predetermined number of times via a trained generative model to generate an additional annotated data sample. (Xie, Fig. 2, step 215. Xie’s denoising teaches the claimed filling out. If you look closely, you see that the cat in the bottom right is wearing a different hat than the original cat in the upper left. Fig. 12, step 1225. Xie’s training the model teaches the claimed additional annotated data sample.)
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the trained generative model comprises a diffusion-based inpainting model. (Xie, [0003] “The multi-modal image editing system performs image inpainting by replacing a region of the image corresponding to the mask with noise and using a diffusion model … ”)
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the generative model comprises an inpainting model trained on top of a latent diffusion model. (Xie, [0011] “FIG. 5 shows an example of a guided latent diffusion architecture according to aspects of the present disclosure.”)
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the generated additional annotated data sample comprises an image-mask pair that comprises the annotated mask of the annotated data sample. (Xie, Fig. 2, step 215. [0171] “The loss function provides a value (a “loss”) for how close the predicted annotation data is to the actual annotation data.” See also, claim 20 “generate a predicted mask based on the composite image map using a mask network.”)
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is to erode the annotated mask to generate an eroded mask and erase an area of the object within the eroded mask to partially erase the object. (Xie, Fig. 2, step 210. Xie’s partially noisy map teaches the claimed partially erase because Xie’s noise is the same as the specification’s eroding (see, specification [0037] that eroding is a type of erasing).)
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is to blend an edge of the filled out area of the object with an original outer portion of the object that was not erased using a Gaussian filter. (Xie, Fig. 7, step 755. This is the same cat image as Fig. 2, but easier to see. That the picture looks relatively unedited teaches the claimed blended edges.)
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is to input the associated class from the annotated mask as a text guidance into the diffusion-based inpainting model. (Xie, Fig. 2, step 205. Xie’s text prompt teaches the claimed associated class because specification [0043] identifies text input as a type of class.)
Claim 8 is rejected as per claim 1.
9. The computer-implemented method of claim 8, further comprising training a segmentation learning model using the generated additional annotated data sample. (Xie, Fig. 12, step 1225. See also, [0082] “training component 445 fine-tunes the pretrained diffusion model based on the segmentation training data … .”)
10. The computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein the generated additional annotated data sample comprises the annotated mask from the annotated data sample. (Xie, Fig. 12, step 1215.)
11. The computer-implemented method of claim 8, further comprising receiving a text prompt and filling out the erased area using a diffusion-based inpainting model guided by the text prompt. (Xie, Fig. 11, step 1125.)
13. The computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein filling out the erased area comprises blending an edge of the filled out area of the object with an original outer portion of the object that was not erased using a Gaussian filter. (Xie, Fig. 13, step 1325.)
14. The computer-implemented method of claim 8, further comprising filling out, via the processor, the erased area of the object via the generative model a predetermined number of times to generate a plurality of additional annotated data samples having the same annotation as the annotated data sample. (Xie, Fig. 3. Xie’s composite images (plural) disclose the claimed plurality of samples. Xie, Fig. 12, step 1225. Xie’s training teaches that these are the claimed annotated data samples.)
For claims 15-20, see also, Xie, [0004] “non-transitory computer readable medium.”
Claim 15 is rejected as per claim 1.
Claim 16 is rejected as per claim 9.
Claim 17 is rejected as per claim 11.
20. The computer program product of claim 15, further comprising program code executable by the processor to fill the erased area of the object via the generative model a predetermined number of times to generate a plurality of additional annotated data samples having the same annotation as the annotated data sample. (Xie, Fig. 3. Xie’s composite images (plural) disclose the claimed plurality of samples. Xie, Fig. 12, step 1225. Xie’s training teaches that these are the claimed annotated data samples.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20240169622A1 (“Xie”) in view of the Wikipedia article Erosion (morphology) as of October 27, 2023, retrieved from https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Erosion_(morphology)&oldid=1182092397 (“Wikipedia”).
12. The computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein partially erasing the object comprises eroding the annotated mask to generate an eroded mask and erasing an area of the object within the eroded mask. (Li, [100] “erosion kernel can be preset during the preprocessing stage … Similarly, the mask container table can also be preset in the image material preprocessing stage.”)
(Wikipedia, “The erosion operation usually uses a structuring element for probing and reducing the shapes contained in the input image.” Wikipedia’s reducing teaches the claimed erasing, see also the example under “binary erosion” and “otherwise it gets deleted”. Wikipedia’s input image teaches the claimed mask, further, Wikipedia’s input can be used with Xie’s mask because Xie teaches processing the masked and unmasked images separately.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wikipedia to the teachings of Xie such that Wikipedia’s erosion is used to implement Li’s erasing for the purpose of a technique for deleting data that is specific to shapes in images (Wikipedia, “reducing the shapes contained in the input image”), simple substitution (MPEP 2143), or art recognized equivalence for the same purpose (MPEP 2144.06(II)) because erosion is a “one of two fundamental operations (the other being dilation) in morphological image processing,” (Wikipedia) and this technique deletes data (i.e., it is a known substitute for other types of removing information).
Based on the above, this is an example of “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.” MPEP 2143.
Claims 18 is rejected as per claim 12. See also, Xie, [0004] “non-transitory computer readable medium.”
19. The computer program product of claim 15, further comprising program code executable by the processor to receive an erosion kernel and erode the annotated mask based on the erosion kernel. (Wikipedia, Binary erosion, “Example … B is a 3 x 3 matrix.” Wikipedia’s example uses B as an erosion kernel, and B is analogous to specification, [0048] “a conservative erosion kernel of 12x12 pixels.”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20210158523A1 – [0220] “The remaining mask was dilated by a kernel size of 6 to reverse the effects of the initial erosion kernel”
US11570398B2 – Fig. 8
/DAVID ORANGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663