Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the generic placeholders as pointed out by Examiner in the claim interpretation section are “not generic nonce words…but are structural terms that do not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f)”. Applicant then points to the specification and argues that the terms “as used in the specification and figures…designate structural elements” and that “paragraphs [0021], [0022], [0029], and [0033-0038] of the specification describe particular example structural implementations of these elements (page 8, Arguments).
With regards to the recitations of “a vertical driver, a horizontal driver, and a rotary driver” in claim 11, Examiner has considered the claims and has withdrawn the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) invocation and interpretation of the claimed terms. However, an inspection module, a drive module, and a mount module are generic placeholders which are performing specific functions within the claims. However, the claims pointed out below (and in the previous office action) lack structure for performing the claimed function(s). Thus, the claim interpretations have been maintained.
Applicant argues that Kim does not disclose the amended subject matter of independent claims 1 and 15 (pages 8-9 of Arguments). Specifically, Applicant argues against the structural elements cited by Examiner during the interview on 3/5/2026 and the cited subject matter of the previous office action disclosing the claimed invention, i.e. the gas exhaust system (540) and suction machine disclosed in [0267] of Kim. Applicant argues that “the vacuum gripper of Kim does not exhaust contaminant removed by a non-contact type cleaner” and “the gas exhaust system of Kim does not exhaust contaminant from the semiconductor fabrication chamber that is not exhausted by the local exhauster”.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites, inter alia, a local exhauster configured to exhaust contaminant removed by the non-contact type cleaner from the semiconductor fabrication chamber and a main exhauster configured to exhaust contaminant from the semiconductor fabrication chamber that is not exhausted by the local exhauster. Claim 15 recites, inter alia, a main exhauster configured to exhaust contaminant from the semiconductor fabrication chamber that is not exhausted by the cleaning module and a local exhauster configured to exhaust contaminant removed by the non-contact type cleaner from the semiconductor fabrication chamber. The claimed inventions recite two structures, each with functional language tied thereto.
The gas exhaust system is configured to remove gas from the system, including a processing or cleaning gas ([0096]). The work robot is also configured to be contained within a processing apparatus which is brought into a vacuum state by the gas exhaust system (see [0402]). Examiner notes that both robots (240_1, 220) can be used simultaneously, parallelly, or separately, and even contemplates a plurality of robots (see [0401-403]). As can be seen in Figures 7A and 7B, the robot(s) have multiple arms, each with different end effector tools. Kim also discloses the end effector types include those for cleaning, such as a suction machine, a dry ice gun, a CO2 dispenser, and so forth, when the interior of the chamber is being cleaned ([0266-0267]; see also [0104], [0114]). The gas exhaust system does remove contaminants by inducing a vacuum state to the interior of the system, and thus contaminants within the chamber (including cleaning or processing gas) is removed. Furthermore, the suction machine disclosed by Kim is configured to perform the claimed function, as the suction machine end effector is provided when the interior is being cleaned.
For the above stated reasons, Examiner has not found Applicant’s arguments persuasive, and the prior art rejections have been updated to reflect the amended claim scope. This action is made final herein.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
an inspection module in claims 1 and 15. When looking to the specification, the inspection module (200) is described to include an imager (210), an inspection sensor (220), and an inspection controller (230); please see [0029]. This limitation shall be construed to cover the structure described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
a drive module in claims 1 and 15. When looking to the specification, the drive module (300) is described to include the actuators described in [0033-0036]. This limitation shall be construed to cover the structure described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
a mount module in claims 12 and 15. When looking to the specification, the mount module (400) is described to be a mount block; please see [0038]. This limitation shall be construed to cover the structure described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “the non-contact type cleaner”. However, the claim lacks antecedent basis for the recitation, and thus is it unclear what is imparted into the claimed invention. For the purposes of examination, the claim scope requires a non-contact type cleaner.
Any claim listed as rejected above but not specifically addressed above has inherited the rejection of a claim specifically addressed above due to dependency therefrom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20260004258).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an apparatus for cleaning a semiconductor fabrication chamber (see [0074-0075]; see Figures 7A-9C, 11C, 15, 16), the apparatus comprising:
a cleaning module configured to clean an inner area of the semiconductor fabrication chamber in a non-contact manner (see [0401]; wherein stowable work robot 240_1 is configured to clean the interior of a substrate processing apparatus, see [0104], [0126], [0144-0147], [0229-0230]; wherein work robot 220 is also configured to clean the interior of a substrate processing apparatus, see [0107-0110], [0113], wherein [0266-0267] disclose non-contact cleaning type elements; see Figures 7A-9C and 15), the cleaning module comprising a local exhauster configured to exhaust contaminant removed by the non-contact type cleaner from the semiconductor fabrication chamber (see exhaust system 540 of Figure 5, as well as [0402], [0090], [0095-0097], [0100], [0104-0105], [0120], [0140], [0266-0267]; see also the suction machine for cleaning disclosed in [0267]);
a main exhauster configured to exhaust contaminant from the semiconductor fabrication chamber that is not exhausted by the local exhauster ([0267]: see a suction machine for cleaning, as well as the exhaust system 540; i.e. the prior art teaches two structures for exhausting, the exhaust system 540 and the suction element in [0267]);
an inspection module configured to inspect a cleaning of the semiconductor fabrication chamber by the cleaning module (wherein stowable work robot 240_1 has a multi-sensor unit 792, imaging devices 940 and 960, laser range finger 950, a controller 793, see [0119-0127], [0140-0143], [0146-0147], [0150]; wherein robot 220 has a multi-sensor unit 760, imaging devices 727 and 820, and a controller 703; see [0107-0116], [0133-0135]; [0056]: wherein the remote monitoring apparatus 210 transmits an instruction to measure the state of the interiors of the substrate processing systems, and wherein the maintenance is determined based on the state measurement results; see also [0066]; see also cleaning control unit 1122 which adjusts the control instruction based on sensor data, [0191-0194]; see also sensor 1013 in [0197-0198]; see also [0227-0241]; see also imaging device 727, disclosed in [0130-0131]); and
a drive module configured to move the cleaning module and the inspection module in the semiconductor fabrication chamber (see at least [0145-0147] regarding the robot arm 470 accessing the processing apparatus 431 to control stowable work robot 240_1; see also [0158] regarding travel signals for controlling travelling of the work robot 220; wherein [0121] discloses height/vertical adjustment of robot 240_1, and the robot 240_1 may move in both the horizontal direction, vertical direction, and may rotate, see Figure 7B; wherein the robot 220 has an elevating mechanism, is displaceable in the horizontal direction, and may also rotate, see Figure 7A; see also [0167-0168], [0174-0179], [0191], [0195], [0197-0198]; see also [0130-0133]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Kim further discloses wherein the cleaning module comprises:
a non-contact type cleaner configured to clean the inner area of the semiconductor fabrication chamber in the non-contact manner (see [0267]: a CO2 dispenser and a dry ice gun; wherein each robot 220 or 240_1 is configured to have a cleaning end effector located thereon, see Figures 7A-9C);
a cleaner sensor configured to detect position information of the non-contact type cleaner with respect to the semiconductor fabrication chamber (wherein there are a plurality of sensors disclosed by the prior art, see at least sensors disclosed in [0158-0162] for both the robot 220 and robot 240_1; see also multi-sensor units 760, 792; see also [0118] and [0127]; wherein [0130-0131] and [0135] disclose controlling the posture and position of robot 220 based on image data captured by the sensor; wherein [0168-0170] discloses sensor data, position/posture information; wherein [0175-0178] discloses acquiring position and posture information from the sensor data processing unit to control the robot 240_1; see also sensor elements disclosed in [0130], [0140]); and
a cleaner controller configured to control a position of the non-contact type cleaner based on the position information detected by the cleaner sensor (see [0206], and controller 703 for work robot 220, [0108], and controller 793 for robot 240_1, [0123]; see also [0130] and [0152], [0158]; see also control based on data captured by imaging device 820, [0133]; see also control based on imaging data from imaging device 940, [0140]; see also imaging device 960 for providing control data, [0147]; see also controller units 1101, 1103, 1111, 1113, disclosed in [0170-0170]; see also [0179-0186]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Kim further discloses wherein the non-contact type cleaner is configured to clean the inner area of the semiconductor fabrication chamber in the non-contact manner by using a laser ([0267]: wherein the end effector provided to the working robots includes a CO2 dispenser and a dry ice gun; see also [0305-0306]; see also [0401]; wherein [0109] discloses a laser device, i.e. a laser device in combination with an end effector disclosed in [0267] is used to clean, as the laser device assists in performing the cleaning operation; see also [0118], [0127], [0134], [0141]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Kim further discloses wherein the position information comprises a distance and/or an angle between the non-contact type cleaner and a surface of the semiconductor fabrication chamber (see [108], [0109], [0112], [0135-0136], [0142], [0149], [0174], [0175]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Kim further discloses wherein the cleaner controller is configured to control a distance between the non-contact type cleaner and a surface of the semiconductor fabrication chamber, and the cleaner controller further controls a rotation of the non-contact type cleaner (see rotation disclosed in [0112] and [0114-0118] as well as the rotations shown in Figure 7A; see also [0108], [0109], [0135-0136], [0140-0142], [0149], [0174], [0175]; wherein [0130-0131] and [0135] disclose controlling the posture and position of robot 220 based on image data captured by the sensor; wherein [0168-0170] discloses sensor data, position/posture information; wherein [0175-0178] discloses acquiring position and posture information from the sensor data processing unit to control the robot 240_1).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Kim further discloses wherein the rotation of the non-contact type cleaner comprises a roll rotated with respect to a first horizontal direction, a pitch rotated with respect to a second horizontal direction substantially perpendicular to the first horizontal direction, and a yaw rotated with respect to a vertical direction (referring to Figure 7A; see rotational direction of arrows 782, 781, 780, 779, 778, 777, 776, 775, 774, 773, 771, and elevation in direction 772 regarding robot 220, i.e. there are roll, pitch, and yaw movements; see Figure 7B regarding robot 240_1, wherein the arms of the robot 240_1 have the same configuration/movement capabilities as the arms of the robot 220, as disclosed in [0125], i.e. the arms of the robot 240 have the claimed roll, pitch, and yaw movements).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Kim further discloses wherein the inspection module comprises:
an imager configured to photograph the inner area of the semiconductor fabrication chamber before and after a cleaning process by the cleaning module (see robot 220 having an end effector 740 including multi-sensor unit 760, including imaging device 727, imaging device 820, laser range finder 830, measures the direction of the tip of the end effector in order to control the posture of the arm; see [0115-0118], [0130], [0133-0137]; see also the multi-sensor unit 792 for stowable work robot 240_1, including imaging devices 940, 950, 950, see [0127], [0140-0147]);
an inspection sensor configured to detect position information of the imager with respect to the semiconductor fabrication chamber (see multi-sensor units 760, 792 of each respective robot 220, 240_1; see also [0133-0137], [0140-0147], [0149-0150]); and
an inspection controller configured to control a position of the imager based on the position information detected by the inspection sensor (see controller 703 controlling the operation of the manipulator 700a and the operation of the traveling part 702; see also posture control of the stowable work robot 240_1 as disclosed in [0145-0147]; see also controller 793 for stowable work robot 240_1, as disclosed in [0152-0153], see also sensors and controller elements disclosed in [0158-0160]; see also [0163], [0167-0168]; see also main control unit 1111, [0172-0186]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Kim further discloses wherein the inspection controller is configured to control a distance between the imager and the semiconductor fabrication chamber and a rotation of the imager ([0158-0160]; [0167-0168]; [0172], [0174-0178], [0180-0186]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Kim further discloses wherein the rotation of the imager comprises a roll rotated with respect to a first horizontal direction, a pitch rotated with respect to a second horizontal direction substantially perpendicular to the first horizontal direction and a yaw rotated with respect to a vertical direction (referring to Figure 7A; see rotational direction of arrows 782, 781, 780, 779, 778, 777, 776, 775, 774, 773, 771, and elevation in direction 772 regarding robot 220, i.e. there are roll, pitch, and yaw movements; see Figure 7B regarding robot 240_1, wherein the arms of the robot 240_1 have the same configuration/movement capabilities as the arms of the robot 220, as disclosed in [0125], i.e. the arms of the robot 240 have the claimed roll, pitch, and yaw movements).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Kim further discloses wherein the drive module comprises:
a vertical driver configured to move the cleaning module and the inspection module in a vertical direction (regarding robot 220: see elevating mechanism for moving up and down along arrow 772 in Figure 7A, disclosed in [0112]; regarding robot 240_1, the robot 240_1 is displaceable in the vertical direction, see Figure 7B and [0125]);
a horizontal driver configured to move the cleaning module and the inspection module in a horizontal direction (regarding robot 220: see travelling part 702 movable in the horizontal direction, see [0109]; wherein the arms are also displaceable in the horizontal direction, see Figure 7A; regarding robot 240_1, the arms of robot 240_1 are displaceable in the horizontal direction, see Figure 7B and [0125]); and
a rotary driver configured to rotate the cleaning module and the inspection module with respect to the vertical direction (regarding robot 220: see rotation in the direction of arrow 771, Figure 7A, as well as [0112]; regarding robot 240_1, the arms of robot 240_1 are rotatable in the vertical direction, see Figure 7B as well as [0125]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Kim further discloses further comprising a mount module configured to removably mount the drive module to the semiconductor fabrication chamber (see the mounting and positioning of robot 220 via gate 810 and element 701 in Figure 8B; see the mounting and positioning of robot 240_1 as disclosed in [0120-0125]; see also Figures 9A-9C).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Kim further discloses wherein the mount module comprises a mount block that is configured to be connected to the drive module and removably mounted to the semiconductor fabrication chamber together with the drive module (wherein both robots are removably mounted to the semiconductor chamber as can be seen in Figures 7A-9C).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Kim further discloses wherein the main exhauster is installed at the mount block (see exhaust system 540 of Figure 5, as well as [0402], [0090], [0095-0097], [0100], [0104-0105], [0120], [0140], [0266]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses an apparatus for cleaning a semiconductor fabrication chamber (see [0074-0075]; see Figures 7A-9C, 11C, 15, 16), the apparatus comprising:
a cleaning module configured to clean an inner area of the semiconductor fabrication chamber in a non-contact manner (see [0401]; wherein stowable work robot 240_1 is configured to clean the interior of a substrate processing apparatus, see [0104], [0126], [0144-0147], [0229-0230]; wherein work robot 220 is also configured to clean the interior of a substrate processing apparatus, see [0107-0110], [0113], wherein [0266-0267] disclose non-contact cleaning type elements; see Figures 7A-9C and 15);
a main exhauster configured to exhaust contaminant from the semiconductor fabrication chamber that is not exhausted by the cleaning module (see exhaust system 540 of Figure 5, as well as [0402], [0090], [0095-0097], [0100], [0104-0105], [0120], [0140], [0266]; [0267]: see a suction machine for cleaning, as well as the exhaust system 540; i.e. the prior art teaches two structures for exhausting, the exhaust system 540 and the suction element in [0267]);
an inspection module configured to inspect a cleaning of the semiconductor fabrication chamber by the cleaning module (wherein stowable work robot 240_1 has a multi-sensor unit 792, imaging devices 940 and 960, laser range finger 950, a controller 793, see [0119-0127], [0140-0143], [0146-0147], [0150]; wherein robot 220 has a multi-sensor unit 760, imaging devices 727 and 820, and a controller 703; see [0107-0116], [0133-0135]; [0056]: wherein the remote monitoring apparatus 210 transmits an instruction to measure the state of the interiors of the substrate processing systems, and wherein the maintenance is determined based on the state measurement results; see also [0066]; see also cleaning control unit 1122 which adjusts the control instruction based on sensor data, [0191-0194]; see also sensor 1013 in [0197-0198]; see also [0227-0241]; see also imaging device 727, disclosed in [0130-0131]);
a drive module configured to move the cleaning module and the inspection module in the semiconductor fabrication chamber (see at least [0145-0147] regarding the robot arm 470 accessing the processing apparatus 431 to control stowable work robot 240_1; see also [0158] regarding travel signals for controlling travelling of the work robot 220; wherein [0121] discloses height/vertical adjustment of robot 240_1, and the robot 240_1 may move in both the horizontal direction, vertical direction, and may rotate, see Figure 7B; wherein the robot 220 has an elevating mechanism, is displaceable in the horizontal direction, and may also rotate, see Figure 7A; see also [0167-0168], [0174-0179], [0191], [0195], [0197-0198]; see also [0130-0133]); and
a mount module configured to removably mount the drive module to the semiconductor fabrication chamber (see the mounting and positioning of robot 220 via gate 810 and element 701 in Figure 8B; see the mounting and positioning of robot 240_1 as disclosed in [0120-0125]; see also Figures 9A-9C),
wherein the cleaning module comprises:
a non-contact type cleaner configured to clean the inner area of the semiconductor fabrication chamber in the non-contact manner (see [0267]: a CO2 dispenser and a dry ice gun; wherein each robot 220 or 240_1 is configured to have a cleaning end effector located thereon, see Figures 7A-9C);
a local exhauster configured to exhaust contaminant removed by the non-contact type cleaner from the semiconductor fabrication chamber (see exhaust system 540 of Figure 5, as well as [0402], [0090], [0095-0097], [0100], [0104-0105], [0120], [0140], [0266]; [0267]: see a suction machine for cleaning, as well as the exhaust system 540; i.e. the prior art teaches two structures for exhausting, the exhaust system 540 and the suction element in [0267]);
a cleaner sensor configured to detect position information of the non-contact type cleaner with respect to the semiconductor fabrication chamber (wherein there are a plurality of sensors disclosed by the prior art, see at least sensors disclosed in [0158-0162] for both the robot 220 and robot 240_1; see also multi-sensor units 760, 792; see also [0118] and [0127]; wherein [0130-0131] and [0135] disclose controlling the posture and position of robot 220 based on image data captured by the sensor; wherein [0168-0170] discloses sensor data, position/posture information; wherein [0175-0178] discloses acquiring position and posture information from the sensor data processing unit to control the robot 240_1; see also sensor elements disclosed in [0130], [0140]); and
a cleaner controller configured to control a position of the non-contact type cleaner based on the position information detected by the cleaner sensor (see [0206], and controller 703 for work robot 220, [0108], and controller 793 for robot 240_1, [0123]; see also [0130] and [0152], [0158]; see also control based on data captured by imaging device 820, [0133]; see also control based on imaging data from imaging device 940, [0140]; see also imaging device 960 for providing control data, [0147]; see also controller units 1101, 1103, 1111, 1113, disclosed in [0170-0170]; see also [0179-0186]), and
wherein the inspection module comprises:
an imager configured to photograph the inner area of the semiconductor fabrication chamber before and after a cleaning process by the cleaning module (see robot 220 having an end effector 740 including multi-sensor unit 760, including imaging device 727, imaging device 820, laser range finder 830, measures the direction of the tip of the end effector in order to control the posture of the arm; see [0115-0118], [0130], [0133-0137]; see also the multi-sensor unit 792 for stowable work robot 240_1, including imaging devices 940, 950, 950, see [0127], [0140-0147]);
an inspection sensor configured to detect position information of the imager with respect to the semiconductor fabrication chamber (see multi-sensor units 760, 792 of each respective robot 220, 240_1; see also [0133-0137], [0140-0147], [0149-0150]); and
an inspection controller configured to control a position of the imager based on the position information detected by the inspection sensor (see controller 703 controlling the operation of the manipulator 700a and the operation of the traveling part 702; see also posture control of the stowable work robot 240_1 as disclosed in [0145-0147]; see also controller 793 for stowable work robot 240_1, as disclosed in [0152-0153], see also sensors and controller elements disclosed in [0158-0160]; see also [0163], [0167-0168]; see also main control unit 1111, [0172-0186]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Kim further discloses wherein the non-contact type cleaner is configured to clean the inner area of the semiconductor fabrication chamber in the non-contact manner by using a laser or dry ice ([0267]: wherein the end effector provided to the working robots includes a CO2 dispenser and a dry ice gun; see also [0305-0306]; see also [0401]).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Kim further discloses wherein the cleaner controller is configured to control a distance between the non-contact type cleaner and the semiconductor fabrication chamber and the cleaner controller further controls a rotation of the non-contact type cleaner (see rotation disclosed in [0112] and [0114-0118] as well as the rotations shown in Figure 7A; see also [0108], [0109], [0135-0136], [0140-0142], [0149], [0174], [0175]; wherein [0130-0131] and [0135] disclose controlling the posture and position of robot 220 based on image data captured by the sensor; wherein [0168-0170] discloses sensor data, position/posture information; wherein [0175-0178] discloses acquiring position and posture information from the sensor data processing unit to control the robot 240_1).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Kim further discloses wherein the mount module comprises a mount block configured to be connected to the drive module and removably mounted to the semiconductor fabrication chamber together with the drive module (see the mounting and positioning of robot 220 via gate 810 and element 701 in Figure 8B; see the mounting and positioning of robot 240_1 as disclosed in [0120-0125]; see also Figures 9A-9C).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Kim further discloses wherein the main exhauster is installed at the mount block (see exhaust system 540 of Figure 5, as well as [0402], [0090], [0095-0097], [0100], [0104-0105], [0120], [0140], [0266]; see suction element disclosed in [0267]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723