DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s reply filed on July 20, 2026.
Restrictions/Elections.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II (Claims 12-20) in the reply filed on July 20, 2026, is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that searching for both groups will not impose a serious burden. This is not found persuasive because “treating for symptoms of abnormal skeletal muscle conditions” will not necessarily overlap with “increasing muscle mass”. Even though both inventions have in common the word “muscle”, they do not overlap.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are the subject of this office action.
Claim 1-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made with traverse in the reply filed on July 20, 2026.
Claims 12-20 are presently under examination.
Priority
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-13, 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Andreeva et. al. (WO 2019/002858, January 3, 2019, cited by Applicant).
CLAIM INTERPRETATION:
Since the specification does not offer a definition of “subjects in need of increasing skeletal muscle mass”, in its broadest interpretation, any human being is “in need of increasing skeletal muscle mass”, regardless of the skeletal mass volume of an individual. For example: even professional athletes with a large skeletal mass volume will benefit from a further “increase of skeletal muscle mass”.
For claims 12-13, Andreeva teaches a method of administering a composition comprising an effective amount of choline and succinate in a molar ratio of choline to succinate 2:1 to individuals suffering from a symptom or condition associated with an imbalanced, damaged or reduced brain energy metabolism (see claims 1-16) or individuals with an increase demand of physical endurance (see page 9, first line). These individuals are considered also “subjects in need of increasing skeletal muscle mass” (see above claim interpretation).
The prior art is silent regarding “the effective amount to increase skeletal muscle mass”. However, Andreeva teaches amounts of 2:1 choline: succinate (DISU) of 250 mg per serving (see beverages 1 and 2 on page 17), 500 mg per serving (see beverage 3 on pages 17-18), and 560 mg per serving (see beverage 4 on page 18), all of which anticipate the instantly claimed range (from about 100 mg to about 1000 mg per serving in claim 2), in one or more servings. One serving of each of the above beverages will also satisfy the condition “up to a total of about 5000 mg per day”.
The office does not have the facilities and resources to provide the factual evidence needed in order to establish that the dosage used in the method of the prior art does not possess the same material, structural and functional characteristics of the dosage claimed in the instant application. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is on the applicant to prove that the dosage used in the claimed method is different from those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See In re Best 562F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and Ex parte Gray 10 USPQ 2d 1922 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1989).
The prior art is silent regarding “increasing skeletal muscle mass”.
However: “increasing skeletal muscle mass” will inevitably flow from the teachings of Andreeva, since the same composition (2:1 choline: succinate) is being administered to the same subjects (any human being). In other words, products of identical composition cannot exert mutually exclusive properties when administered under the same circumstances.
In other words, even though the prior art is silent regarding “increasing skeletal muscle mass”, by practicing the method of Andreeva: “a method of administering a composition comprising an effective amount of choline and succinate in a molar ratio of choline to succinate 2:1 to individuals suffering from a symptom or condition associated with an imbalanced, damaged or reduced brain energy metabolism or an increase demand of physical endurance", one will also be “increasing skeletal muscle mass”, even though the prior art was not aware of it.
Apparently, Applicant has discovered a new property or advantage ("increasing skeletal muscle mass”) of the method disclosed by Andreeva (“a method of administering a composition comprising an effective amount of choline and succinate in a molar ratio of choline to succinate 2:1 to individuals suffering from a symptom or condition associated with an imbalanced, damaged or reduced brain energy metabolism or an increase demand of physical endurance ").
MPEP 2112 I states: “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).”
For claim 15, Andreeva teaches that the composition further comprises a nicotinamide derivative like: nicotinamide riboside (see claim 5).
For claim 16, Andreeva teaches a molar ratio choline: succinate: nicotinamide of 2: 1: 0.01 to 2: 1: 10 (see claim 2).
For claim 17, Andreeva teaches that the composition further comprises creatine (see claim 9).
For claim 18, Andreeva teaches that the composition can be in the form of a beverage (see beverages 1 through 7 on pages 17-19, see claim 15).
The statement “sport beverage for consumption by a healthy human subject, a physically active human subject, and/or a person engaged in sports” is considered an intended use of a composition anticipated by the prior art: the 2: 1 choline: succinate and does not add any new limitation to the claim. Catalina Mktg. Int’l, Inc. V. Coolsavings.com, Inc., 289 F.3d 801, 808, 62 USPQ2d 1781, 1785 (fed. Cir. 2002). “The recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable.” In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
For claim 20, Andreeva teaches that the compositions are formulated to be administered to an aging human subject (see page 9, lines 7-29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreeva et. al. (WO 2019/002858, January 3, 2019, cited by Applicant).
Andreeva teaches all the limitations of claim 14 (see above 102(a)(1) rejection), except for “providing an initial treatment course that includes at least five to seven days supply of the composition in the selected dosage form”. However, training patients for future treatments is routine practice in the pharmaceutical/medicinal art, thus resulting in the practice of claim 14 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 19, Andreeva teaches that the composition can be in the form of a beverage (see beverages 1 through 7 on pages 17-19).
The statements “nutritional beverage” or “sport beverage” are considered intended uses of a composition anticipated by the prior art: the 2: 1 choline: succinate and does not add any new limitation to the claim. Catalina Mktg. Int’l, Inc. V. Coolsavings.com, Inc., 289 F.3d 801, 808, 62 USPQ2d 1781, 1785 (fed. Cir. 2002). “The recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable.” In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/MARCOS L SZNAIDMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628
August 11, 2026.