DETAILED ACTION
Requirement for Restriction/Election was mailed 19 February 2026.
Applicant’s Response to Requirement for Restriction/Election was received 20 April 2026.
Status of the Claims
The listing of claims filed 20 April 2026 has been examined.
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claims 19-20 are cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDSs) filed on 11 June 2024 and 22 December 2023 are acknowledged and have been considered. Any lined-through references have not been considered and must be submitted or resubmitted in proper format for consideration. For example, in the IDS filed on 22 December 2023, a copy of NPL documents entitled “Brown MS, Goldstein JL. LIPOPROTEIN METABOLISM IN THE MACROPHAGE: Implication for Cholesterol Deposition in Atherosclerosis. Annu Rev Biochem. 1983;52(1):223-261.” and “Stringham NT, Holmes PV, Stringham JM. Effects of macular xanthophyll supplementation on brain-derived neurotrophic factor, pro-inflammatory cytokines, and cognitive performance. Physiol Behav. 2019;211.” are missing.
Benefit of Earlier Filing Date
The instant application, filed 22 December 2023, claims the benefit of an earlier filing date to U.S. Provisional Patent Application Serial No. 63/435,423, filed 27 December 2022. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s claim.
Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-18) and cancellation of the claims in Group II (19-20) in the Response filed 20 April 2026 is acknowledged. Because Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
Applicant’s election with traverse of meso zeaxanthin as the macular xanthophyll, docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) as the omega-3 fatty acid, and magnesium as the single additional material in the election of species requirement in the Response filed 20 April 2026 is acknowledged. However, Applicant’s arguments in opposition to the election of species requirement have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The election of species requirement of 19 February 2026 is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites, “…the macular xanthophyll include lutein, zeaxanthin, and meso zeaxanthin.” This appears to be a typo. Examiner recommends amending to, “…the macular xanthophylls include lutein, zeaxanthin, and meso zeaxanthin.” [Emphasis added.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howard (US 2020/0197349 A1; IDS dated 11 June 2024, Cite No. 1) in view of Zafer (WO 2021/162659 A1; IDS dated 11 June 2024, Cite No. 2).
Regarding claims 1-18, Howard teaches a method for improving human cognitive function (p. 1, ¶ [0002]) by administering a unit dose containing 10 mg meso-zeaxanthin, 10 mg lutein, 2 mg zeaxanthin, and fish oil (p. 25, Claims 1 and 10-11). The dosing regimen could be at least 1-3 doses per week or daily doses, and Howard suggests a skilled artisan would recognize the administration schedule could be adjusted according to the amount of each active ingredient (i.e., macular carotenoids and omega-3 fatty acids) in the composition (p. 5, ¶ [0053]). Additionally, Howard presents a study wherein subjects received a supplement containing 10 mg lutein, 10 mg, meso-zeaxanthin, 2 mg zeaxanthin, 15 mg vitamin E, and 1 g fish oil (p. 6, ¶ [0081]). The fish oil contained 430 g docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) and 90 mg eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA). Doses were provided as two capsules, and study participants were instructed to consume two capsules per day (p. 6, ¶ [0081]).
Howard does not explicitly teach a method for improving cardiovascular health.
Zafer teaches compositions for promoting and/or maintaining geriatric health, including muscle tissue building and cardiovascular health (p.1, Lines7-8), said compositions comprising, “…at least one source of beta-hydroxy-beta-methylbutyrate in combination with lutein and zeaxanthin.” (p. 15, Claim 1). Furthermore, Zafer discusses the various therapeutic benefits conferred by lutein and zeaxanthin, stating lutein may improve measures of cardiovascular health and zeaxanthin may positively impact arterial health (p. 6, Lines 11-27). Additionally, Zafer discloses an exemplary composition containing DHA, EPA, lutein, zeaxanthin, choline, vitamin D3, vitamin E, vitamin C, folic acid, vitamin B1, vitamin B2, vitamin B6, vitamin B12, calcium, magnesium, iron, zinc, manganese, copper, iodine, and selenium (p. 13-14, Example 2). The composition may also include medium chain triglycerides (p. 9, Lines 4-12).
Zafer does not explicitly teach meso zeaxanthin.
Prior to the filing of the instant application, a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) following the teachings of Howard would have found it prima facie obvious to apply the method for improving cognitive function disclosed by Howard to instead improve cardiovascular health based on the teachings of Zafer because Zafer discloses similar compositions for supporting cardiovascular health, specifically noting the roles lutein and zeaxanthin may play in improving cardiovascular health and/or arterial health. Thus, a skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using the compositions disclosed by Howard to improve cardiovascular health since Zafer suggests lutein and zeaxanthin may be useful in improving cardiovascular health. Furthermore, a skilled artisan would have recognized lutein and zeaxanthin are macular xanthophylls and been motivated to include an additional macular xanthophyll in the composition, such as meso zeaxanthin as disclosed by Howard. Additionally, because the method claimed by Howard includes using at least one omega-3 fatty acid (Claim 1), a PHOSITA would have found it obvious to try using fatty acids in various forms, like free fatty acids and/or triglycerides, as well as omega-3 fatty acid salts.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 8,623,428 B2, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 8,962,043 B2, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,463,167 B2, claim 1 of US 9,603,813 B2 in view of Zafer (WO 2021/162659 A1; IDS dated 11 June 2024, Cite No. 2).
Patent ‘428 claims a method of treating macular degeneration in a human consisting essentially of administering lutein, zeaxanthin, and meso-zeaxanthin alongside an oil.
Patent ‘428 does not claim a method for improving cardiovascular health.
Patent ‘043 claims a capsule consisting essentially of mesozeaxanthin, lutein, zeaxanthin, and a fish oil containing an omega-3 fatty acid.
Patent ‘043 does not claim a method for improving cardiovascular health.
Patent ‘167 claims a capsule consisting essentially of mesozeaxanthin, lutein, zeaxanthin, and krill oil.
Patent ‘167 does not claim a method for improving cardiovascular health.
Patent ‘813 claims a capsule consisting essentially of mesozeaxanthin, lutein, zeaxanthin, fish oil containing an omega-3 fatty acid and Vitamin E.
Patent ‘813 does not claim a method for improving cardiovascular health.
Zafer teaches compositions for promoting and/or maintaining geriatric health, including muscle tissue building and cardiovascular health (p.1, Lines7-8), said compositions comprising, “…at least one source of beta-hydroxy-beta-methylbutyrate in combination with lutein and zeaxanthin.” (p. 15, Claim 1). Furthermore, Zafer discusses the various therapeutic benefits conferred by lutein and zeaxanthin, stating lutein may improve measures of cardiovascular health and zeaxanthin may positively impact arterial health (p. 6, Lines 11-27). Additionally, Zafer discloses an exemplary composition containing DHA, EPA, lutein, zeaxanthin, choline, vitamin D3, vitamin E, vitamin C, folic acid, vitamin B1, vitamin B2, vitamin B6, vitamin B12, calcium, magnesium, iron, zinc, manganese, copper, iodine, and selenium (p. 13-14, Example 2). The composition may also include medium chain triglycerides (p. 9, Lines 4-12).
Zafer does not explicitly teach meso zeaxanthin.
A PHOSITA would have been motivated to use the composition disclosed by Patents ‘428, ‘043, ‘167, and ‘813 to improve cardiovascular health because Zafer discloses similar compositions for supporting cardiovascular health, specifically noting the roles lutein and zeaxanthin may play in improving cardiovascular health and/or arterial health. Thus, a skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using the compositions disclosed by Patents ‘428, ‘043, ‘167, and ‘813 to improve cardiovascular health since Zafer suggests lutein and zeaxanthin may be useful in improving cardiovascular health.
Because claims 1-18 in the instant application would have been obvious over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 8,623,428 B2, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 8,962,043 B2, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,463,167 B2, and claim 1 of US 9,603,813 B2 in view of Zafer, claims 1-18 in the instant application are not patentably distinct from claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 8,623,428 B2, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 8,962,043 B2, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,463,167 B2, and claim 1 of US 9,603,813 B2.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/388,554 in view of Zafer (WO 2021/162659 A1; IDS dated 11 June 2024, Cite No. 2).
Application ‘554 claims a dietary supplement for human consumption comprising lutein, zeaxanthin, and meso-zeaxanthin (Claim 1).
Application ‘554 does not claim a method for improving cardiovascular health.
Zafer teaches compositions for promoting and/or maintaining geriatric health, including muscle tissue building and cardiovascular health (p.1, Lines7-8), said compositions comprising, “…at least one source of beta-hydroxy-beta-methylbutyrate in combination with lutein and zeaxanthin.” (p. 15, Claim 1). Furthermore, Zafer discusses the various therapeutic benefits conferred by lutein and zeaxanthin, stating lutein may improve measures of cardiovascular health and zeaxanthin may positively impact arterial health (p. 6, Lines 11-27). Additionally, Zafer discloses an exemplary composition containing DHA, EPA, lutein, zeaxanthin, choline, vitamin D3, vitamin E, vitamin C, folic acid, vitamin B1, vitamin B2, vitamin B6, vitamin B12, calcium, magnesium, iron, zinc, manganese, copper, iodine, and selenium (p. 13-14, Example 2). The composition may also include medium chain triglycerides (p. 9, Lines 4-12).
Zafer does not explicitly teach meso zeaxanthin.
A PHOSITA would have been motivated to use the composition disclosed by Application ‘554 to improve cardiovascular health because Zafer discloses similar compositions for supporting cardiovascular health, specifically noting the roles lutein and zeaxanthin may play in improving cardiovascular health and/or arterial health. Thus, a skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using the compositions disclosed by Application ‘554 to improve cardiovascular health since Zafer suggests lutein and zeaxanthin may be useful in improving cardiovascular health.
Because claims 1-18 in the instant application would have been obvious over claims 1-7 of Application No. 18/388,554 in view of Zafer, claims 1-18 in the instant application are not patentably distinct from claims 1-7 of Application No. 18/388,554.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/B.L.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621