DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, Claims 9-11, 14-16, and 24-29 in the reply filed on 24 November 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims have been amended to resolve the original differences. This is not found persuasive because although the claims have been extensively amended, they still differ by combination/sub-combination and subclasses of search; accordingly, they would still be subject to restriction. Accordingly, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 1-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention/group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Volz et al. (USP# 6,143,440). Volz discloses a device comprising: an implantable housing of a medical device (e.g. Col 3, ll 10-13), the housing having an opening, and a feedthrough, wherein the feedthrough closes the opening, establishing a portion of a hermetically sealed enclosure of the device (e.g. Fig. 16, feedthrough 324/322), and the housing is recessed at the location of the housing that establishes the opening (e.g. Fig. 16 – where feedthrough element 315 as a whole inserts into the recessed hole of the housing, extending into the housing).
Claims 9-11, 14-16, and 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller et al. (US 2013/0197298; hereinafter “Miller”).
Regarding claim 9, Miller discloses a device comprising: an implantable housing of a medical device (e.g. ¶¶ 47 – BCT 200), the housing having an opening, and a feedthrough, wherein the feedthrough closes the opening, establishing a portion of a hermetically sealed enclosure of the device (e.g. ¶¶ 73, Fig. 5, #212), and the housing is recessed at the location of the housing that establishes the opening (e.g. Fig. 5 – where there is clearly a recessed region at this feedthrough).
Regarding claim 10, Miller discloses the housing has a length, a width, and a height; with respect to a view looking down on a plane established by the length and the width, the electronics assembly is located on a first side of the housing, a battery is located on a second, opposite side of the housing, and the feedthrough is located between the battery and most of the electronics assembly (e.g. Fig. 6; e.g. ¶¶ 49 – “In such arrangements, a power management module 142 can interface with internal battery 140 and/or external battery 144 of the speech processing unit 100 to provide operating power to the BCT 200.”).
Regarding claim 11, Miller discloses the housing as a length, a width and a height; and the opening is located in at least about the center of at least one of the length or the width (e.g. Fig. 5 – where the opening is centered on the panel, which would be both the center of the width and height).
Regarding claim 14, Miller discloses the device is a cochlear implant; a stimulating lead assembly is connected to the feedthrough; and a connector portion of the stimulating lead assembly is located in the recess (e.g. Fig. 3A – where 174 connects to the rest of the components).
Regarding claim 25, Miller discloses a bottom of the connector portion is above a bottom surface of the housing (e.g. Fig. 5 – where the bottom surface is flat, and the connector is on the side and above it).
Regarding claim 15, Miller discloses the device is a totally implantable hearing prosthesis that includes a stimulating assembly and an implantable microphone; the stimulating assembly and the implantable microphone are in signal communication with an electronics assembly located in the housing via the feedthrough or via the feedthrough and one or more other feedthroughs (e.g. ¶¶ 50 – embodiments where the device is fully implantable).
Regarding claim 16, Miller discloses the housing has a length, a width, and a height; and with respect to a view looking down on a plane established by the length and the width, a battery is located on a first side of the housing, and the feedthrough is located adjacent the battery in a non-overlapping manner (e.g. Fig. 6; e.g. ¶¶ 49 – “In such arrangements, a power management module 142 can interface with internal battery 140 and/or external battery 144 of the speech processing unit 100 to provide operating power to the BCT 200.” – where the battery would not overlap the side of the feedthrough).
Regarding claim 24, Miller discloses the recess of the housing establishes a channel; and the feedthrough is located in the channel (e.g. Fig. 5 – where it is clear the feedthrough passes through a channel in the hermetic sealed wall of the housing).
Regarding claim 26, Miller discloses the recess of the housing establishes a channel; and one or more of: the channel extends from one side of the housing to the other side of the housing; a first lead extends out one side of the channel and a second lead extends out another side of the channel (e.g. Fig. 5 – where two leads extend out of the channel).
Regarding claim 27, Miller discloses the recess of the housing establishes a channel; and the channel is established by sidewalls that extend upwards away from a bottom surface of the, the feedthrough extending through the wall (e.g. Fig. 5 – where the channel/feedthrough extends through the sidewall in the figure).
Regarding claim 28, Miller discloses a bottom surface of the housing is a complex surface extending on a first plane and then on a second plane above, with respect to an axis normal to a length and a width of the housing, the first plane and then on a third plane below, with respect to the axis, the second plane; and the second plane includes the opening (e.g. Fig. 5 – where the examiner considers the side to be the second plane including the opening).
Regarding claim 29, Miller discloses the feedthrough is completely recessed relative to the shipping rectangular cuboid of the housing (e.g. Fig. 5, where the feedthrough appears recessed).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796