CTNF 18/394,775 CTNF 84142 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 4-5, 8-9, and 15-19 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 4, it appears that claim 4 should depend from claim 2 instead of claim 1 due to the limitation of claim 4 including the additional vertical expansion including layer. As such, as a suggestion, “The bonding structure of claim 1…additional vertical expansion inducing layer” should be changed to “The bonding structure of claim 2…the additional vertical expansion inducing layer”. Regarding claim 5, “additional vertical expansion inducing layer” should be changed to “the additional vertical expansion inducing layer”. Regarding claim 8, it appears that claim 8 should depend from claim 7 instead of claim 6 due to the limitation of claim 8 including the second dielectric material. As such, as a suggestion, “The semiconductor device of claim 6” should be changed to “The semiconductor device of claim 7”. Claim 9, which depends from claim 8, is also objected by virtue of its dependency. Regarding claim 15, “at least one first bonding pad” in line 4 and “at least one second bonding pads” in line 7 should be changed to “first bonding pads” and “second bonding pads” (See additional imitation of claim 15 reciting “the first bonding pads” and “the second bonding pads”). Claims 16-19, which depend from claim 15, are also objected by virtue of their dependencies. Regarding claim 18, it appears that claim 18 should depend from claim 17 instead of claim 16 due to the limitation of claim 18 including the second vertical expansion inducing layer. As such, as a suggestion, “The method of claim 16…the first and second vertical expansion including layer” should be changed to “The method of claim 17…the first and second vertical expansion including layers” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2, 4-9, 11, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2021/0057371 A1; hereinafter “Park”) . Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a bonding structure comprising: a plurality of bonding pads (155) (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 31-32); and a bonding insulation layer (120 and 130) configured to electrically isolate the bonding pads from each other, the bonding insulation layer including at least one dielectric layer (120) and at least one vertical expansion inducing layer (130) over the dielectric layer, wherein the vertical expansion inducing layer comprises a hardness greater than a hardness of the dielectric layer (130 formed of SiCN has a hardness greater than a hardness of 120 formed of SiOF) (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 23-24). Regarding claim 2, Park teaches further comprising an additional vertical expansion inducing layer (110) located under the dielectric layer (Fig. 4 and paragraph 22). Regarding claim 4, Park teaches wherein at least one of the vertical expansion inducing layer and additional vertical expansion inducing layer comprises at least one of nitrogen and carbon (paragraph 24, 130 formed of SiCN). Regarding claim 5, Park teaches wherein at least one of the vertical expansion inducing layer and additional vertical expansion inducing layer comprises at least one of a silicon nitride layer and a silicon carbon nitride layer (paragraph 24, 130 formed of SiCN). Regarding claim 6, Park teaches a semiconductor device comprising: a first bonding structure including a first bonding layer (a bottom structure including at least 120 and 130) (Fig. 7 and paragraphs 19-32); and a second bonding structure including a second bonding layer (a top structure including at least 220 and 230) bonded to the first bonding layer (Fig. 7 and paragraphs 34-38 and 43-44), wherein at least one of the first bonding layer and the second bonding layer comprises: a plurality of bonding pads (155) (paragraphs 31-32); and a bonding insulation layer (120 and 130) arranged between the bonding pads, the bonding insulation layer including an upper region (a region having 130) adjacent to a bonding surface between the first and second bonding layers and a lower region (a region having 120) under the upper region, and wherein an interface stress between the upper region of the bonding insulation layer and the bonding pad is greater than an interface stress between the lower region of the bonding insulation layer and the bonding pad (an interface stress between the region having 130 formed of SiCN and 155 is greater than an interface stress between the region having 120 formed of SiOF and 155) (paragraphs 23-24). Regarding claim 7, Park teaches wherein the upper region of the bonding insulation layer comprises at least one first dielectric material (130 formed of SiCN), the lower region of the bonding insulation layer comprises at least one second dielectric material (120 formed of SiOF), and the first dielectric layer comprises a hardness greater than a hardness of the second dielectric layer (130 formed of SiCN has a hardness greater than a hardness of 120 formed of SiOF) (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 23-24). Regarding claim 8, Park teaches wherein the bonding insulation layer further comprises a dielectric layer (110) positioned under the lower region, wherein the dielectric layer comprises a third dielectric material including a hardness greater than a hardness of the second dielectric material (110 formed of TEOS is harder than 120 formed of SiOF) (Fig. 7 and paragraphs 22-23). Regarding claim 9, Park teaches wherein at least one of the first dielectric material and the third dielectric material comprises at least one of silicon nitride and silicon carbon nitride (paragraph 24, 130 formed of SiCN). Regarding claim 11, Park teaches a semiconductor device comprising: a device layer (110) (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 20-21); and a bonding structure (a structure including at least 120 and 130) formed over the device layer, the bonding structure comprising a bonding insulation layer (120 and 130) and at least one bonding pad (155) formed in the bonding insulation layer, wherein the bonding insulation layer includes a plurality of dielectric layers (120 and 130) stacked from the device layer toward a bonding surface, wherein at least one of the dielectric layers adjacent to the bonding surface comprises a first dielectric material (130 formed of SiCN), and remaining dielectric layers comprise a second dielectric material (120 formed of SiOF) comprising a hardness less than a hardness of the first dielectric material (120 formed of SiOF has a hardness less than 130 formed of SiCN) (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 23-24 and 31-32). Regarding claim 14, Park teaches wherein the first dielectric material comprises at least one of nitrogen and carbon (paragraph 24, 130 formed of SiCN). Regarding claim 15, Park teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, the method comprising: providing a first bonding structure including a first bonding insulation layer (a structure including at least 120 and 130) and at least one first bonding pad (155) in the first bonding insulation layer (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 19-32); providing a second bonding structure (a structure including at least 220 and 230) including a second bonding insulation layer (220 and 230) and at least one second bonding pads (255) in the second bonding insulation layer (Fig. 5 and paragraphs 34-38); bonding the first bonding structure and the second bonding structure to make the first bonding insulation layer contact the second bonding insulation layer (Fig. 6 and paragraphs 39-42); and thermally expanding the first bonding pads and the second bonding pads in a vertical direction to hybrid-bond the first bonding pads to the second bonding pads (Fig. 7 and paragraphs 43-45), wherein providing the first bonding structure includes: forming at least one first buffer layer (120) (paragraph 23); forming at least one first vertical expansion inducing layer (130) over the first buffer layer (paragraph 24), the first vertical expansion inducing layer including a hardness higher than a hardness of the first buffer layer (130 formed of SiCN has a hardness greater than a hardness of 120 formed of SiOF) (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 23-24); and forming the first bonding pads through the first vertical expansion inducing layer and the first buffer layer (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 31-32). Regarding claim 16, Park teaches wherein the first vertical expansion inducing layer is positioned to contact the second bonding structure (Fig. 7). Regarding claim 17, Park teaches wherein providing the second bonding structure includes: forming at least one second buffer layer (220) (paragraphs 34-38); forming at least one second vertical expansion inducing layer (230) over the second buffer layer (paragraphs 34-38), the second vertical expansion inducing layer including a hardness higher than a hardness of the second buffer layer (230 formed of SiCN has a hardness greater than a hardness of 220 formed of SiOF) (paragraphs 23-24); and forming the second bonding pads (255) through the second vertical expansion inducing layer and the second buffer layer (Fig. 5 and paragraphs 34-38), wherein the second vertical expansion inducing layer is directly contacted the first vertical expansion inducing layer when the first bonding structure is hybrid-bonded to the second bonding structure (Fig. 7). Regarding claim 18, Park teaches wherein at least one of the first and second vertical expansion inducing layer comprises at least one nitrogen and carbon (paragraph 24, 130 formed of SiCN) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3, 10, 12-13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park . Regarding claims 3, 10, 12-13, and 19, Park teaches wherein the upper region of the bonding insulation layer includes at least one of silicon nitride, silicon oxy-nitride, and silicon carbon nitride and the lower region of the bonding insulation layer includes silicon oxide (for claim 10, Park, paragraphs 23-24). However, Park does not explicitly teach thicknesses for the additional vertical expansion inducing layer (110), the dielectric layer/the lower region/the first buffer layer (120), the vertical expansion inducing layer/the first vertical expansion including layer/the upper region (130), the second buffer layer (220), and the second vertical expansion inducing layer (230). Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the thicknesses/volumes of the layers listed above (110, 120, 130, 220, and 230 in Park) as a routine experimentation in order to obtain the optimal thickness ranges for the layers and to obtain the desired comparisons between or among layers as claimed. It has held that discovering an optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller , 105 USPQ 233. Furthermore, if the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not performed different than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device: In re Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc. , 220 USPQ 777. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DANIEL B WHALEN whose telephone number is (571)270-3418. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 8AM-5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sue Purvis can be reached on (571)272-1236. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DANIEL WHALEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/394,775 Page 2 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/394,775 Page 3 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/394,775 Page 4 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/394,775 Page 5 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/394,775 Page 6 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/394,775 Page 7 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/394,775 Page 8 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/394,775 Page 9 Art Unit: 2893