CTNF 18/394,824 CTNF 86902 DETAILED ACTION This is a response to Application # 18/394,824 filed on December 22, 2023 in which claims 1-19 were presented for examination. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims Claims 1-19 are pending, of which claims 6 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) and claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1). Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements filed December 22, 2023 and November 11, 2025 comply with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. They has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits. Title of the Invention 37 C.F.R. § 1.72(a) states: “The title of the invention may not exceed 500 characters in length and must be as short and specific as possible ” (emphasis added). Thus, the title of the invention is not sufficiently descriptive. A new title is required that is more clearly and more specifically indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: subject to the rejection of this claim under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) below, the use of the comma (‘,’) in between “a HRM identifier, or a payload identifier” is grammatically incorrect because lists of two are not separated by commas. However, should Applicant follow the examiner’s suggested amendment in the rejection of this claim under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) below, the comma would be necessary . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. § 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claims 6 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Regarding claim 6 , this claim includes the limitation: wherein the interface unit has a plurality of output channels, wherein each output channel is associated with an individual identifier, and wherein the release operation instructions submitted from the control unit to the interface unit include identifier information indicating which output channel of the interface unit should be activated, or wherein the release operation instructions submitted from the control unit to the interface unit include information indicating a HRM identifier, or a payload identifier. (Emphasis added). Due to the lack of a carriage return combined with the use of an “and” and an “or,” this limitation is subject to two, mutually exclusive interpretations. First, this may be interpreted with the “or” applying between the two limitations separated by the carriage return. In other words, under this interpretation, only one of (1) “wherein the interface unit has a plurality of output channels, wherein each output channel is associated with an individual identifier, and wherein the release operation instructions submitted from the control unit to the interface unit include identifier information indicating which output channel of the interface unit should be activated” or (2) “wherein the release operation instructions submitted from the control unit to the interface unit include information indicating a HRM identifier, or a payload identifier” is required. This is the interpretation of the claim as written. Second, this may be interpreted as the “or” only applying to the two clauses after the “and.” In other words, under this interpretation, “wherein the interface unit has a plurality of output channels, wherein each output channel is associated with an individual identifier” is always required, but only one of (1) “wherein the release operation instructions submitted from the control unit to the interface unit include identifier information indicating which output channel of the interface unit should be activated” or (2) “wherein the release operation instructions submitted from the control unit to the interface unit include information indicating a HRM identifier, or a payload identifier” is required. If this is Applicant’s intended interpretation, the examiner recommends amending this claim to: wherein the interface unit has a plurality of output channels, wherein each output channel is associated with an individual identifier, and wherein the release operation instructions submitted from the control unit to the interface unit include identifier information indicating which output channel of the interface unit should be activated, or wherein the release operation instructions submitted from the control unit to the interface unit include information indicating a HRM identifier, or a payload identifier. “[I]f a claim is amenable to two or more plausible claim constructions, the USPTO is justified in requiring the applicant to more precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention by holding the claim unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph, as indefinite.” Ex parte Miyazaki , 89 USPQ2d 1207, 1211 (BPAI 2008) (precedential). See also Ex parte McAward , Appeal 2015-006416 (PTAB 2017) (precedential) (affirming the holding in Ex parte Miyazaki ). Therefore, this claim is indefinite. Regarding claim 14 , this claim includes the limitation “wherein the interface unit is located in a centre region of the plurality of HRMs, as seen in an intended flight direction of the payload dispenser structure .” (Emphasis added). The “as seen in” clause is confusing and does not properly define the metes and bounds of this claim. Therefore, this claim is indefinite. Regarding claim 15 , this claim includes the limitation “wherein both the control unit and the interface unit are located in the adapter portion of the payload dispenser structure, and wherein the plurality of HRMs are located primarily in the payload carrying portion of the payload dispenser structure.” (Emphasis added). The term “primarily” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “primarily” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Regarding claim 16, this claim includes the limitation “wherein the interface unit is attached to the payload dispenser structure at a location that results in substantially minimal weight of the total amount of HRM electrical wires that interconnect the HRMs with the interface unit.” (Emphasis added). The term “substantially minimal” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially minimal” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. § 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Novotney et al., US Publication 2019/0225354 ( hereinafter Novotney) . Regarding claim 1 , Novotney discloses a multichannel actuation system for a launch vehicle comprising “a control unit operably connected to a single interface unit” (Novotney ¶ 40) where control unit 108 is connected to interface bus 112, which is shown in Fig. 1 to be a single unit. Additionally, Novotney discloses “a plurality of individual hold-and-release mechanisms (HRMs) configured for releasably holding a plurality of payloads to the launch vehicle” (Novotney ¶ 40) by controlling one or more hold-down and release mechanisms (HDRMs). Further, Novotney discloses “wherein each of the plurality of HRMs is operably connected to the interface unit” (Novotney ¶ 40 and Fig. 1) where each of the HDRMs are shown to be connected to interface bus 112. Finally, Novotney discloses “wherein the interface unit is configured for controlling actuation of the plurality of HRMs based on release operation instructions received from the control unit” (Novotney ¶ 70) where the control unit causes the associated HDRMs to actuate. Regarding claim 2 , Novotney discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Novotney discloses “wherein the control unit has a first connector that is connected to an input connector of the interface unit via an interface bus” (Novotney ¶ 40) where the interface unit is the interface bus and is connected to the control unit. Regarding claim 3 , Novotney discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Novotney discloses “wherein the interface unit has a plurality of output connectors, wherein each of the plurality of HRMs is directly connected to an output connector of the interface unit via individual electrical wires” (Novotney ¶ 45, see also Fig. 1) where the interface bus is a multi-wire bus. Regarding claim 4 , Novotney discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Novotney discloses “wherein a first subset of the plurality of individual HRMs are arranged to jointly hold a first payload to a dispenser of the launch vehicle, and wherein a second subset of the plurality of individual HRMs are arranged to jointly hold a second payload to the dispenser of the launch vehicle” (Novotney ¶¶ 60-64 and Fig. 6) where Fig. 6 shows three subsets of HDRMs 612 each holding their own payload. Regarding claim 5 , Novotney discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Novotney discloses “wherein each of the plurality of HRMs is configured to releasably hold a payload to a dispenser of the launch vehicle.” (Novotney ¶ 59). Regarding claim 6 , Novotney discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Novotney discloses “wherein the interface unit has a plurality of output channels” (Novotney ¶ 40 and Fig. 1) where Fig. 1 shows a plurality of output channels. Further, Novotney discloses “wherein each output channel is associated with an individual identifier” (Novotney ¶ 49) where each output is associated with a unique address. Moreover, Novotney discloses “wherein the release operation instructions submitted from the control unit to the interface unit include identifier information indicating which output channel of the interface unit should be activated, or wherein the release operation instructions submitted from the control unit to the interface unit include information indicating a HRM identifier, or a payload identifier” (Novotney ¶ 57) where the release instructions are individually addressed to the payload (i.e., include a payload identifier). Regarding claim 7 , Novotney discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Novotney discloses “wherein each of the plurality of HRMs is individually actuatable by the control unit via the interface unit” (Novotney ¶ 57) where the release instructions are individually releasable. Regarding claim 8 , Novotney discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Novotney discloses “wherein the plurality of HRMs are of a non-energetic type, or an energetic type, or a mixture of non-energetic and energetic types” (Novotney ¶ 49) where the plurality of HRMs may be non-energetic, energetic, or a hybrid (i.e., mixture) of the two. Regarding claim 9 , Novotney discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Novotney discloses “further comprising a redundant control unit operably connected to a single redundant interface unit, and wherein each of the plurality of HRMs is connected also to the redundant interface unit” (Novotney ¶ 63 and Fig. 6) where cable 614 may include a second wire for purposes of redundancy, making it a single redundant interface unit connected to each of the HDRMs. Further, Novotney discloses “wherein the redundant interface unit is configured for controlling actuation of the HRMs based on release operation instructions received from the redundant control unit” (Novotney ¶ 63) where the cable or the redundancy cable may control the payload release. Regarding claim 10 , Novotney discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 9 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Novotney discloses “wherein the redundant control unit has a first connector that is connected to an input connector of the redundant interface unit via a redundant interface bus” (Novotney Fig. 6) where the redundant interface unit is the redundant interface bus and is connected to the control unit. Regarding claim 11 , Novotney discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 9 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Novotney discloses “wherein the redundant interface unit has a plurality of output connectors, wherein each of the plurality of HRMs is directly connected to an output connector of the redundant interface unit via individual redundant HRM electrical wires” (Novotney ¶ 63 and Fig. 6) where Novotney Fig. 6 shows such connections and ¶ 63 states that these may be cables (i.e., wires). Regarding claim 12 , Novotney discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Novotney discloses “further comprising a payload dispenser structure having an adapter portion and a payload carrying portion, wherein the payload dispenser structure is configured to carry a plurality of payloads” (Novotney ¶ 57 and Fig. 5A) where vehicle 500 (i.e., the payload dispensing structure) includes adapter 504 (i.e., an adapter portion) and a dispenser 506 (i.e., a payload carrying portion), which is shown in Fig. 5A to carry a plurality of payloads 502. Further, Novotney discloses “wherein the control unit, the interface unit and the plurality of HRMs are fastened to the payload dispenser structure” (Novotney ¶¶ 60-61 and Fig. 6) by disclosing that the control unit 610 may be installed within adapter 504 or dispenser 506 and HDRMs 616 may be installed with dispenser 606. Because the interface unit connects the control unit 610 and are HDRMs 616 are connected to each other via the interface unit, this must also necessarily be installed within vehicle 600. Finally, Novotney discloses “wherein each HRM of the payload dispenser structure is operably connected to the interface unit.” (Novotney Fig. 6). Regarding claim 13 , Novotney discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 12 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Novotney discloses “wherein the control unit is located in the adapter portion of the payload dispenser structure, and wherein the interface unit is located in the payload carrying portion of the payload dispenser structure” (Novotney ¶ 59 and Fig. 6) where the controller may be located in adapter portion 604 and the interface unit is located in both adapter portion 604 and dispenser 606. Regarding claim 14 , Novotney discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 12 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Novotney discloses “wherein the interface unit is located in a centre region of the plurality of HRMs, as seen in an intended flight direction of the payload dispenser structure” (Novotney Fig. 6) where the interface bus is shown to run in between HDRMs 614, making it in the center region of the HDRMs. Regarding claim 15 , Novotney discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 12 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Novotney discloses “wherein both the control unit and the interface unit are located in the adapter portion of the payload dispenser structure, and wherein the plurality of HRMs are located primarily in the payload carrying portion of the payload dispenser structure” (Novotney ¶ 59 and Fig. 6) where the controller may be located in adapter portion 604 and the interface unit is located in both adapter portion 604 and dispenser 606, and the HRDMs are located on dispenser 606. Regarding claim 16 , Novotney discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 12 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Novotney discloses “wherein the interface unit is attached to the payload dispenser structure at a location that results in substantially minimal weight of the total amount of HRM electrical wires that interconnect the HRMs with the interface unit” (Novotney ¶ 47) where the structure of the wiring results in reduced weight. Regarding claim 17 , Novotney discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Novotney discloses “a launch vehicle comprising the multichannel actuation system according to claim 1.” (Novotney ¶ 41). Regarding claim 18 , Novotney discloses a payload dispenser structure for carrying and releasing a plurality of payloads, comprising “a control unit fastened to the payload dispenser structure ” (Novotney ¶¶ 60-61 and Fig. 6) by disclosing that the control unit 610 may be installed within adapter 504 or dispenser 506 of vehicle 600 (i.e., the payload dispensing structure). Additionally, Novotney discloses “an interface unit fastened to the payload dispenser structure” (Novotney Fig. 6) where the interface bus is shown to run in vehicle 600. Further, Novotney discloses “being operably connected to the control unit for receiving release operation instructions from the control unit” (Novotney ¶ 40) where control unit 108 is connected to interface bus 112. Moreover, Novotney discloses “a plurality of individual hold-and-release mechanisms (HRMs) fastened to the payload dispenser structure” (Novotney ¶ 40) by controlling one or more hold-down and release mechanisms (HDRMs). Likewise, Novotney discloses “configured for releasably holding a plurality of payloads to the payload dispenser structure” (Novotney ¶ 70) where the control unit causes the associated HDRMs to actuate. Finally, Novotney discloses “wherein each HRM of the payload dispenser structure is operably connected to the interface unit” (Novotney ¶ 40 and Fig. 1) where each of the HDRMs are shown to be connected to interface bus 112. Regarding claim 19, Novotney discloses a method for operating a multichannel actuation system for a payload dispenser structure of a launch vehicle “wherein the multichannel actuation system comprises a control unit operably connected to a single interface unit” (Novotney ¶ 40) where control unit 108 is connected to interface bus 112, which is shown in Fig. 1 to be a single unit. Additionally, Novotney discloses “a plurality of individual hold-and-release mechanisms (HRMs) configured for releasably holding a plurality of payloads to the launch vehicle” (Novotney ¶ 40) by controlling one or more hold-down and release mechanisms (HDRMs). Further, Novotney discloses “wherein each of the plurality of HRMs is operably connected to the interface unit” (Novotney ¶ 40 and Fig. 1) where each of the HDRMs are shown to be connected to interface bus 112. Likewise, Novotney discloses “the method comprising: obtaining instructions by the control unit about release operation of one or more payloads,” (Novotney ¶ 57). Novotney also discloses “submitting release operation instructions from the control unit the interface unit.” (Novotney ¶ 57). Finally, Novotney discloses “controlling actuation of a plurality of individual HRMs for releasing one or more of the plurality of payloads from the payload dispenser structure.” (Novotney ¶ 57) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure : Mora Plaza et al., US Publication 2024/0425208, Spacecraft hold down and release system. Novotney et al., US Patent 10,124,915, HDRM system for a launch vehicle. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANDREW R DYER whose telephone number is (571)270-3790. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 7:30-4:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Aniss Chad can be reached on 571-270-3832. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANDREW R DYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/394,824 Page 2 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/394,824 Page 3 Art Unit: 3662