DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 22, 24-29, 31-36, 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells et al. (US 2017/0344605), hereinafter referred to as Wells in view of Ravindranath et al. (US 9,785,360), hereinafter referred to as Ravindranath.
Referring to claim 21, Wells teaches, as claimed, a method comprising: receiving two or more operations that are directed to a cloud-based storage system (i.e.-receiving multiple write queries to write data across multiple cloud locations, page 2, ¶21, lines 10-13 and page 5, ¶48); and generating, by a storage system controller, from the two or more operations, a coalesced operation (i.e.-coalescing the multiple write queries, page 5, ¶50, lines 5-7), wherein the coalesced operation being a single command (page 2, ¶25, lines 8-11 and page 5, ¶50, lines 5-7); and performing the coalesced operation as a single command on a storage volume (see Abstract, lines 13-16; page 1, ¶4, lines 16-22; and page 2, ¶25, lines 8-9) of the cloud-based storage system (page 5, ¶45, lines 12-20; and ¶50, 4-7).
However, Wells does not teach wherein the coalesced operation having an operational size below an operational size limit.
On the other hand, Ravindranath disclsoes a method for generating a coalesced operation from two or more operations, wherein the coalesced operation having an operational size below an operational size limit (col. 7, lines 12-15, 23-25 and 38-43).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Wells so that the coalesced operation having an operational size below an operational size limit and, the storage volume being of the cloud-based storage system, as taught Ravindranath. The motivation for doing so would have been to optimize read/write transactions from and/or to memory components; and saving network bandwidth directed toward distributed storage system.
As to claim 22, the modified Wells teaches the method of claim 21, wherein generating the coalesced operation further comprises generating a coalesced write operation (see Wells, page 2, ¶25, lines 7-11).
As to claim 24, the modified Wells innately teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising: performing the coalesced operation on two or more memory regions in the storage volume that are adjacent to each other (see Wells, page 10, ¶94, lines 13-16 and ¶105, lines 14-17).
As to claim 25, the modified Wells in view of Ravindranath teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the storage volume is a block storage volume (see Ravindranath, col. 9, lines 32-33).
As to claim 26, the modified Wells teaches the method of claim 25, wherein metadata for the block storage volume may be stored using an ordered log structured index (see Wells, page 2, ¶21, lines 5-8).
As to claim 27, the modified Wells teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the two or more operations include a write operation (see Wells, page 2, ¶21, lines 11-13).
Referring to claims 28, 29 and 31-34, the claims are substantially the same as claims 21, 22 and 24-27, hence the rejection of claims 21, 22 and 24-27 is applied accordingly.
Referring to claims 35, 36 and 38-41, the claims are substantially the same as claims 21, 22, and 24-27, hence the rejection of claims 21, 22 and 24-27 is applied accordingly.
Examiner’s note:
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passages as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Contact Information
/Elias Mamo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2184