DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to amendments filed for No. 18/394,899 on March 23, 2026. Please note Claims 1-12 and 14-21 are pending and have been examined. Please note Claim 4 has been withdrawn in light of an earlier restriction requirement.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 30, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-3, 5-12, 14-16 and 18-21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terre et al. ( US 2023/0274512 A1 ) in view of Soda ( US 2018/0277160 A1 ).
Terre teaches in Claim 1:
A system for processing media signals ( Figure 1, [0085] discloses an embodiment for processing user interaction in a virtual environment. Please note aspects such as a virtual screen 112 for the user to interact with, i.e. media ), comprising:
a controller having at least one media control element to be operated by a user in a control event ( Figure 2, [0079], [0086] disclose input unit 202, which can be defined as a variety of devices for the user to operate and input signals to/through. Please note examples of a keyboard, mouse, touchscreen, user’s hand, etc );
an artificial reality apparatus adapted to provide visual input for the user to create an artificial reality environment ( Figure 2, [0092] discloses a remote processing unit 208 which can help to provide virtual content to the user. Such virtual content is provided through input devices the user operates. [0075] discloses details on the realty environments and [0344] discloses the virtual content may include video, audio, or other types of content in various formats ); and
wherein the artificial reality apparatus is adapted to display a virtual indication based on the control event or based on an operating mode of the system ( Figure 1, [0085] disclose details on the virtual screen 112 which can display document 116, widgets 114A-114D, virtual cursor, etc (read as examples of a virtual indication). This are updated as the user operates the various input devices, such as the keyboard, mouse, touchscreen, etc. For example, Figure 7, [0159] discloses changing scenes 710 (on the virtual screen) in light of touch sensor inputs made by the user ), wherein the virtual indication is displayed at a virtual position in space that appears to the user as covering or being positionally associated with the at least one of ( Please note the alternative claim language here. Upon review of the specification, it is interpreted as a disjunctive stipulation ):
the MIDI controller or an outline of the MIDI controller ( Figure 23, [0271] discloses the selection of the virtual object 2312 is associated with and/or covers the user’s hand. Also, please note the combination below for aspects of the “MIDI” aspect ); the media control element or an outline of the media control element; or a display area of the MIDI controller or a display area of the media control element ( As for outline of elements, Figure 17, [0217] discloses other virtual content, such as a virtual widget which can associate with a user’s hand gesture and be moved around ); but
Terre does not explicitly teach “a computer comprising a media processing unit for processing audio signals, and an output unit for outputting the audio signals processed by the media processing unit, a MIDI controller connected to the computer for controlling the media processing unit, the MIDI controller…wherein the at least one media control element is assigned to one or more audio control parameters, wherein the media processing unit processes the audio signal by modifying the at least one of the one or more audio control parameters”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, user interaction with elements, Soda teaches of a DJ controlling unit 1 which is connected to terminal device 3, ( Soda, Figure 1, [0020] ). Notably, the terminal device 3 is a personal computer which can analyze the track and track source data, as noted in [0085], (read as a computer comprising a media processing unit for processing audio signals) and can output this data to the DJ controlling unit 1, as noted in [0086] (read as an output unit for outputting the audio signals processed by the media processing unit). Figures 1 and 4, [0087]+ disclose operation of the DJ controlling unit 1 (read as a MIDI controller connected to the computer for controlling the media processing unit), which has a plurality of media/audio control parameters, as shown in Figure 2. [0025]+. Based on user interaction, these parameters can be adjusted. On this point, respectfully, is clear that there is some processing unit, whether it is in the terminal device 3, or the JD controlling unit 1, which can process these changes and it is obvious to one of ordinary skill that either of these could perform this functionality. As combined with Terre, who also teaches of user interaction (using a mouse, keyboard, etc), a specific controlling unit 1 can also be one of the items the user can interact with and control, yet another input device in general. Soda specifically teaches of the embodiment of a MIDI controller.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the DJ controlling unit, i.e. a MIDI controller, as taught by Soda, with the motivation that users can enjoy disc jokey (DJ) experience easily, ( Soda, [0006] ). Furthermore, in light of Terre teaching of various input devices, it is a design choice/intended use situation of another example of an input device.
Terre and Soda teach in Claim 2:
The system of claim 1, wherein the MIDI controller is configured to generate a control signal upon operation of the media control element, wherein the control signal indicates the control event. ( Figure 7, [0159] discloses a gesture on the touch sensor (one of the interpreted controllers), which results in the display of the scene in the head mounted display changing. Please also note this change is applicable to the keyboard and mouse shown in Figure 1 as well. Please note the combination with Soda with regards to the MIDI controller )
Terre teaches in Claim 3:
The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one media control element is adapted for physical manipulation by a user such as to be set to at least one of a plurality of control positions, wherein the media processing unit is adapted for processing the media signal depending on a current control position of the media control element as set by the user, and wherein the artificial reality apparatus is adapted to display the virtual indication based on the current control position as set by the user. ( Figures 1 and 7, [0159] disclose gestures and in general, input signals received by the touch sensor, keyboard, mouse, etc. There can be a plurality of control positions which can be set by these inputs/gestures. For example, Figure 1, [0085], [0355] disclose a physical control such as a slider or knob (known to have a plurality of control positions) and [0147] discloses a plurality of options that can permit manipulation of information )
Terre and Soda teach in Claim 5:
The system of claim 3, wherein the MIDI controller is configured to set a media control parameter according to a current control event, wherein the media processing unit is configured to process the media signal based on the media control parameter, and wherein the virtual indication represents a current value of the media control parameter. ( Figure 1, [0102], [0186] discloses a volume bar widget which can be adjusted when the user interacts with it (read as a media control parameter according toa current control event). The widget shows the current volume level, as shown. Please note the combination with Soda with regards to the MIDI controller )
Terre teaches in Claim 6:
The system of claim 2, wherein the media processing unit is configured to process the media signal based on the control signal. ( As disclosed above, as the user interacts with the various input devices, such as what is shown in Figure 7, the signals are processed and the virtual screen is updated )
Terre and Soda teach in Claim 8:
The system of claim 1, wherein the artificial reality apparatus is one of ( Please note the alternative claim language here ):
an augmented reality system comprising a camera for capturing images of the user's real-world environment, including at least the MIDI controller, such that the user views camera images of the MIDI controller, and wherein the camera images are processed by the augmented reality system such as to add the virtual indication ( [0075] discloses an augmented reality environment. [0186] discloses camera which can capture the user’s gesture actions. Please note the combination with Soda with regards to the MIDI controller );
a mixed reality system configured to let the user see a mixture of light coming directly from the MIDI controller and light coming from the artificial reality environment including the virtual indication ( [0075] discloses a mixed reality environment which is a hybrid of physical real-world and virtual environments, i.e. mixture of light coming from at least two sources ); or
a virtual reality system in which substantially an entirety of the visual input of the user over substantially an entire field of view of the user is provided by virtual content of the artificial reality environment, wherein the virtual content comprises a virtual MIDI controller and the virtual indication. ( [0075] disclose an extended virtual reality environment which simulates a non-physical (read as artificial) environment )
Terre teaches in Claim 9:
The system of claim 1, further comprising a gesture detecting apparatus configured to detect a hand position and a control gesture of a user's hand when operating the media control element in the control event, wherein the system is configured to determine an estimated control element position based on the hand position upon detection of the control gesture. ( [0107] discloses a plurality of input devices which can receive a plurality of input types. For example, [0186] discloses a camera sensor may be used to detect gestures )
Terre teaches in Claim 10:
The system of claim 9, wherein the gesture detecting apparatus is configured to classify a detected gesture of the user’s hand based on the control signal. ( Figure 17, [0217] discloses a hand gesture to indicate a drag of virtual widget 114E. This is one example of classifying a gesture. Another example is provided in Figure 7, [0415] with respect to a pinch or zoom gesture, etc )
Terre and Soda teach in Claim 11:
The system of claim 1, wherein the system is configured to obtain MIDI controller position data representing at least one of ( Please note the alternative claim language here ):
a position in space of the MIDI controller ( Figure 1, [0085] discloses a mouse as one of the input devices. As is known, the position in space of the mouse impacts the location of the cursor and/or what elements on the virtual screen are interacted with. Please note the combination with Soda with regards to the MIDI controller );
an orientation of the MIDI controller in space;
a size of the MIDI controller;
a position in space of the media control element;
a position in space of a display area of the MIDI controller;
a position in space of a display area of the media control element; or
a position in space of a predefined feature of the MIDI controller.
Terre and Soda teach in Claim 12:
The system of claim 11, wherein the artificial reality apparatus is configured to display the virtual indication at a virtual position in space that is determined based on the MIDI controller position data. ( Figure 17, [0217] disclose a hand gesture 1710 to move the widget 114E. Please note the change in virtual positions based on the gesture data, whether it is in the air or done on the touch screen. Furthermore, this claim language would be satisfied considering the mouse input means taught by Terre as well. Please note the combination with Soda with regards to the MIDI controller )
Terre and Soda teach in Claim 14:
The system of claim 11, further comprising a MIDI controller detecting apparatus configured to detect the MIDI controller position data. ( [0087] discloses the input unit can detect contact, movement or break of movement, such as for the touchscreen. [0088] discloses sensors with similar functionality. Please note the combination with Soda with regards to the MIDI controller )
Terre and Soda teach in Claim 15:
The system of claim 11, wherein the system is configured to obtain the MIDI controller position data based on data received from the MIDI controller including based on the control signal. ( The same reasoning applied in Claim 14 is also applicable here as well: [0087] discloses the input unit can detect contact, movement or break of movement, such as for the touchscreen. [0088] discloses sensors with similar functionality. Please note the combination with Soda with regards to the MIDI controller )
Terre teaches in Claim 16:
The system of claim 1, wherein the artificial reality apparatus is configured to display the virtual indication at a virtual position in space that is associated with a gaze direction of the user's eyes. ( [0261] discloses gaze detection and in a general sense, is an input means described above. Also, please note the virtual objects/regions which are impacted by the user’s gaze. [0483] discloses a virtual cursor which can be moved based on the gaze (another example of a virtual indication) )
Terre and Soda teach in Claim 18:
The system of claim 1, wherein the MIDI controller is connected to the computer by using a digital interface; and wherein the computer is configured to receive the control signal via the interface and to control the artificial reality apparatus to display the virtual indication based on the control signal. ( [0079] discloses the input devices can provide data in a digital format and store the data in a memory device accessible by a processing device. Please note the combination with Soda with regards to the MIDI controller )
Terre teaches in Claim 19:
The system of claim 18, wherein the digital interface is a wireless digital interface. ( [0147] discloses the touch controllers, sensors can be processed using wired or wireless systems. [0174], [0179] disclose Bluetooth, Wifi, etc, protocols which are used for keyboards, etc. [0079] discloses the digital format )
Terre teaches in Claim 20:
A method ( Figure 1, [0085] discloses an embodiment for processing user interaction in a virtual environment. Please note aspects such as a virtual screen 112 for the user to interact with, i.e. media ) comprising:
operating at least one control element of a [MIDI] controller by a user in a control event ( Figure 2, [0079], [0086] disclose input unit 202, which can be defined as a variety of devices for the user to operate and input signals to/through. Please note examples of a keyboard, mouse, touchscreen, user’s hand, etc. Please note the combination below for aspects of the MIDI controller );
processing, [via the media processing unit, the audio signal by modifying at least one of the one or more audio control parameters; and operating an artificial reality apparatus to provide a visual input for the user to create an artificial reality environment ( Figure 2, [0092] discloses a remote processing unit 208 which can help to provide virtual content to the user. Such virtual content is provided through input devices the user operates. [0075] discloses details on the realty environments );
wherein the artificial reality apparatus displays a virtual indication based on the control event and/or based on an operating mode of the method ( Figure 1, [0085] disclose details on the virtual screen 112 which can display document 116, widgets 114A-114D, virtual cursor, etc (read as examples of a virtual indication). This are updated as the user operates the various input devices, such as the keyboard, mouse, touchscreen, etc. For example, Figure 7, [0159] discloses changing scenes 710 (on the virtual screen) in light of touch sensor inputs made by the user )
and is displayed at a virtual position in space that appears to the suer as covering or being positionally associated with at least one of ( Please note the alternative claim language here. Upon review of the specification, it is interpreted as a disjunctive stipulation ): the MIDI controller or an outline of the MIDI controller ( Figure 23, [0271] discloses the selection of the virtual object 2312 is associated with and/or covers the user’s hand. Also, please note the combination below for aspects of the “MIDI” aspect ); the control element or an outline of the control element; or a display area of the MIDI controller or a display area of the control element ( As for outline of elements, Figure 17, [0217] discloses other virtual content, such as a virtual widget which can associate with a user’s hand gesture and be moved around ); but
Terre does not explicitly teach of being connected to a “a computer comprising a media processing unit for processing audio signals, and an output unit for outputting the audio signals processed by the media processing unit, wherein the at least one control element is assigned to one or more audio control parameters by a user in a control event; processing, via the media processing unit, the audio signal by modifying at least one of the one or more audio control parameters”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, user interaction with elements, Soda teaches of a DJ controlling unit 1 which is connected to terminal device 3, ( Soda, Figure 1, [0020] ). Notably, the terminal device 3 is a personal computer which can analyze the track and track source data, as noted in [0085], (read as a computer comprising a media processing unit for processing audio signals) and can output this data to the DJ controlling unit 1, as noted in [0086] (read as an output unit for outputting the audio signals processed by the media processing unit). Figures 1 and 4, [0087]+ disclose operation of the DJ controlling unit 1 (read as a MIDI controller connected to the computer for controlling the media processing unit), which has a plurality of media/audio control parameters, as shown in Figure 2. [0025]+. Based on user interaction, these parameters can be adjusted. On this point, respectfully, is clear that there is some processing unit, whether it is in the terminal device 3, or the JD controlling unit 1, which can process these changes and it is obvious to one of ordinary skill that either of these could perform this functionality. As combined with Terre, who also teaches of user interaction (using a mouse, keyboard, etc), a specific controlling unit 1 can also be one of the items the user can interact with and control, yet another input device in general. Soda specifically teaches of the embodiment of a MIDI controller.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the DJ controlling unit, i.e. a MIDI controller, as taught by Soda, with the motivation that users can enjoy disc jokey (DJ) experience easily, ( Soda, [0006] ). Furthermore, in light of Terre teaching of various input devices, it is a design choice/intended use situation of another example of an input device.
Terre teaches in Claim 21:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium embodying program code that, when executed by one or more processors ( [0182] discloses the non-transitory computer-readable media used by processors ), causes the processors to perform operations comprising:
Operating, via a [MIDI controller] at least one control element of a controller by a user in a control event ( Figure 2, [0079], [0086] disclose input unit 202, which can be defined as a variety of devices for the user to operate and input signals to/through. Please note examples of a keyboard, mouse, touchscreen, user’s hand, etc );
processing a media signal depending on the control event; operating an artificial reality apparatus to provide a visual input for the user to create an artificial reality environment ( Figure 2, [0092] discloses a remote processing unit 208 which can help to provide virtual content to the user. Such virtual content is provided through input devices the user operates. [0075] discloses details on the realty environments ); and
wherein the artificial reality apparatus displays a virtual indication based on the control event and/or based on an operating mode. ( Figure 1, [0085] disclose details on the virtual screen 112 which can display document 116, widgets 114A-114D, virtual cursor, etc (read as examples of a virtual indication). This are updated as the user operates the various input devices, such as the keyboard, mouse, touchscreen, etc. For example, Figure 7, [0159] discloses changing scenes 710 (on the virtual screen) in light of touch sensor inputs made by the user )
and is displayed at a virtual position in space that appears to the suer as covering or being positionally associated with at least one of ( Please note the alternative claim language here. Upon review of the specification, it is interpreted as a disjunctive stipulation ): the MIDI controller or an outline of the MIDI controller ( Figure 23, [0271] discloses the selection of the virtual object 2312 is associated with and/or covers the user’s hand. Also, please note the combination below for aspects of the “MIDI” aspect ); the control element or an outline of the control element; or a display area of the MIDI controller or a display area of the control element ( As for outline of elements, Figure 17, [0217] discloses other virtual content, such as a virtual widget which can associate with a user’s hand gesture and be moved around ); but
Terre does not explicitly teach of operating, “via a MIDI controller connected to a media processing unit of a computer for controlling media processing inputs, at least one control element of a controller by a user in a control event, wherein the at least one media control element is assigned to one or more audio control parameters; processing, via the media processing unit of the computer, a media signal depending on the control event”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, user interaction with elements, Soda teaches of a DJ controlling unit 1 which is connected to terminal device 3, ( Soda, Figure 1, [0020] ). Notably, the terminal device 3 is a personal computer which can analyze the track and track source data, as noted in [0085], (read as a computer comprising a media processing unit for processing audio signals) and can output this data to the DJ controlling unit 1, as noted in [0086] (read as an output unit for outputting the audio signals processed by the media processing unit). Figures 1 and 4, [0087]+ disclose operation of the DJ controlling unit 1 (read as a MIDI controller connected to the computer for controlling the media processing unit), which has a plurality of media/audio control parameters, as shown in Figure 2. [0025]+. Based on user interaction, these parameters can be adjusted. On this point, respectfully, is clear that there is some processing unit, whether it is in the terminal device 3, or the JD controlling unit 1, which can process these changes and it is obvious to one of ordinary skill that either of these could perform this functionality. As combined with Terre, who also teaches of user interaction (using a mouse, keyboard, etc), a specific controlling unit 1 can also be one of the items the user can interact with and control, yet another input device in general. Soda specifically teaches of the embodiment of a MIDI controller.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the DJ controlling unit, i.e. a MIDI controller, as taught by Soda, with the motivation that users can enjoy disc jokey (DJ) experience easily, ( Soda, [0006] ). Furthermore, in light of Terre teaching of various input devices, it is a design choice/intended use situation of another example of an input device.
8. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terre et al.
( US 2023/0274512 A1 ) and Soda ( US 2018/0277160 A1 ), as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Takei et al. ( US 2023/0419931 A1 ).
As per Claim 7:
Terre does not explicitly teach “wherein the media control element is a playback section of the MIDI controller, wherein a current operating mode refers to a piece of music or a music release package currently played back by the playback section, and wherein the virtual indication comprises a textual description or graphical representation of the piece of music or the music release package.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, input devices for a user to interact with, Takei teaches of an audio device 1, ( Takei, Figure 1, [0024] ). Notably, Takei teaches of playback aspects which can be operated by the user, resulting in music being played with various effects applied. As combined with Terre, the mixer is another input device for the user to interact with and as such, will be virtually represented (graphical representation). Whether it is of a piece of music, etc, is a design choice issue.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the mixer, as taught by Takei, with the motivation that Terre teaches of a plurality of input devices the user can interact with and the mixer is yet another one of the plurality of options that can be virtually represented.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments considered, but are respectfully moot in view of new grounds of rejection(s).
Applicant’s attorney, Wyatt Reid, is thanked for his time to discuss the application in an interview held on February 23, 2026. In light of this interview, claim amendments were made to better define the invention
Upon further consideration of these amendments, a new grounds of rejection(s) have been issued. As a result, Applicant’s arguments are moot at this time.
Conclusion
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621