DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 USC § 102/103.
Applicant argues:
Applicant respectfully submits that Mishima is silent with respect to the recited features of amended claim 1, and has not been shown to disclose at least these features of the claim.
For the teaching of these features prior to the current amendments, the Office Action on page 5 offers Mishima (citing para. [0031]). However, Applicant respectfully submits that Mishima has not been shown to disclose at least the current claim language.
For example, Mishima (para. [0031]) states:
The camera 2 is an imaging device for outputting the frame data F having
captured image data. The frame data F conforms to, for example, an ITU-R BT.
656 standard, and is output from the camera 2 to the LCD driver 4 through the image monitoring apparatus 1. Further, the camera 2 performs an operation based on a control signal output from the abnormality control device 300 according to an input of the abnormality detection signal or an abnormality flag to be described below. For example, the camera 2 may stop imaging or turn off its power and enter
an operation stop state.
Applicant respectfully submits that Mishima merely refers to a camera outputting frame data having captured image data. In contrast to the features of claim 1 as presently amended, Mishima does not disclose (1) that the image data is generated by an image processor, (2) that the image processor is used to receive vehicle status data and generate the image data, and (3) the image data is obtained in a first transmission state indicating that reception of the image data is normal. In fact, Mishima states that the camera performs an operation based on a control signal output from the abnormality control device according to an input of the abnormality detection signal or an abnormality flag.
Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that Mishima has not been shown to disclose "in a first transmission state: obtaining first image data," particularly where "the first image data is generated by an image processor, the image processor is used to receive vehicle status data and
generate the first image data, and the first transmission state indicates that reception of the first image data is normal" as recited in amended claim 1 (emphasis added).
As stated in para. [0007] of the Current Application:
When the receiving status is normal, that is, in the first transmission state, the first image data provided by the GPU is received, and the corresponding third image data is displayed by using the display unit. When the receiving status is abnormal (that is, in the second transmission state), for example, data cannot be monitored due to a connection interruption, or monitored data is not refreshed within a specified time period due to data freezing, the pre-stored second image data is read based on the vehicle status data, and the corresponding fourth image data is displayed by using the display unit. This implements backup display of the vehicle status data, improves reliability of an in-vehicle display system, and further improves vehicle driving safety. In addition, in the technical solution of implementing backup display by using multiple channels and different sources, no additional GPU is used. Therefore, implementation costs of the technical solution
are relatively low.
For at least the above-mentioned reasons, Applicant respectfully asserts that claim 1 distinguishes over Mishima, and is in condition for allowance. Independent claim 11 recites features similar but not identical to independent claim 1. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection be withdrawn with respect to all pending claims.
Examiner replies that:
Applicant has amended the claims to change the scope since the previous action. The amendment(s) necessitate new ground(s) of rejection and are rejected in detail under the § 102/103 headings below.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 10-13, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Future Automotive Technology CN109614068 (Google translation).
Regarding claim 1:
(Currently Amended) An in-vehicle display control method, wherein the method comprises: (Future Automotive Technology The present invention provides electronic apparatus system emergency display methods and device extremely, wherein method includes:).
in a first transmission state:
obtaining first image data, wherein the first image data is generated by an image processor, (Future Automotive Technology Here, computer language instruction set (the The X86 that the first controller can execute for microprocessor Architecture, x86 framework), the centers such as advanced reduced instruction set machine (Advanced RISC Machine, ARM) framework Processor (Central Processing Unit, CPU), master controller can be system level chip (System-on-a- Chip, SoC) etc. chips, second controller can be 8,16,32, ARM framework, the micro-control units such as non-ARM framework (Microcontroller Unit, MCU) microcontroller chip)(Future Automotive Technology With reference to first aspect, in one possible implementation, the first display processing is first controller The program in the corresponding first memory of first memory is called to carry out the first drawing processing to the bus data.)
the image processor is used to receive vehicle status data and generate the first image data, (Future Automotive Technology In a kind of possible design, described device 20 further includes automobile bus 206, and the automobile bus 206 is used for will The data such as the automobile operating state received are sent to bus transceiver 205 in a manner of bus differential signal.)(Future Automotive Technology The master controller 201 respectively with first controller 202, the second controller 204 and the display Device 203 is connected, the first display data sent for receiving first controller 202, and the first display data are turned It is sent to the display 203 to be shown)
and the first transmission state indicates that reception of the first image data is normal (Future Automotive Technology In the embodiment of the present invention, during electronic apparatus system operates normally, master controller be can receive to first The first display data that controller is sent and the bus data for receiving second controller transmission)(Future Automotive Technology when the first controller operates normally, then show that the first controller is corresponding Operating system and the corresponding function services of application program,).
and sending third image data to a display for displaying, wherein the third image data corresponds to the first image data (Future Automotive Technology S101, master controller receive the first display data that the first controller is sent, and extremely by the first display data forwarding Display is shown that the first display data are that the first controller runs operating system and application program to second controller transmission Bus data carry out first display and handle.).
and in a second transmission state: obtaining second image data instead of the first image data (Future Automotive Technology the second display data are then the figure drawn As corresponding second image data.Master controller by corresponding second picture signal of the second display data be sent to display into Row display.)(Future Automotive Technology Determine that the first controller is operating abnormally, then after carrying out the second display processing to the bus data that the second controller received is sent The second display data are obtained, user is made to understand the current basic operating condition of automobile, ).
and sending fourth image data to the display for displaying, wherein the fourth image data corresponds to the second image data, wherein: (Future Automotive Technology In the embodiment of the present invention, the second display processing can be master controller by calling master controller corresponding second to deposit Program in reservoir carries out the second drawing processing to bus data.Here, can store in second memory drawing material and Mapping program, master controller are by calling the program in the second memory to carry out the second drawing processing to bus data, i.e., main Controller is drawn according to drawing material and mapping program in the second memory, and the second display data are then the figure drawn As corresponding second image data.Master controller by corresponding second picture signal of the second display data be sent to display into Row display.)
the second transmission state indicates that reception of the first image data is abnormal (Future Automotive Technology S102, master controller is in the time interval apart from upper the first display data for once receiving the transmission of the first controller When reaching preset threshold, determines that the first controller is operating abnormally, then receive the bus data of second controller transmission, bus data For second controller bus signals are carried out with the second electrical level signal obtained after level signal conversion process.)(Future Automotive Technology Determine that the first controller is operating abnormally, then after carrying out the second display processing to the bus data that the second controller received is sent The second display data are obtained, ).
and the first image data and the second image data indicate a vehicle status (Future Automotive Technology The second display data are obtained, user is made to understand the current basic operating condition of automobile, such as check that running velocity, engine turn The information such as speed, signal lamp, when the first controller for carrying operating system and application program occurs abnormal)(Future Automotive Technology To the basic operation conditions of current automobile, such as automobile present speed, engine speed, signal lamp, traffic safety ensure that.).
Regarding claim 2:
(Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Future Automotive Technology. Future Automotive Technology further teaches wherein the first image data is obtained after being processed by [[an]] the image processor (Future Automotive Technology Here, computer language instruction set (the The X86 that the first controller can execute for microprocessor Architecture, x86 framework), the centers such as advanced reduced instruction set machine (Advanced RISC Machine, ARM) framework Processor (Central Processing Unit, CPU), master controller can be system level chip (System-on-a- Chip, SoC) etc. chips, second controller can be 8,16,32, ARM framework, the micro-control units such as non-ARM framework (Microcontroller Unit, MCU) microcontroller chip)(Future Automotive Technology With reference to first aspect, in one possible implementation, the first display processing is first controller The program in the corresponding first memory of first memory is called to carry out the first drawing processing to the bus data.)
Regarding claim 3:
(Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Future Automotive Technology. Future Automotive Technology further teaches wherein the second image data is the vehicle status data from a vehicle bus (Future Automotive Technology then receive the bus data of second controller transmission, bus data For second controller bus signals are carried out with the second electrical level signal obtained after level signal conversion process.)(Future Automotive Technology S103, master controller are sent to aobvious according to the second display data that bus data obtain after the second display processing Show that device is shown.).
Regarding claim 6:
(Previously Presented) The method according to claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Future Automotive Technology. Future Automotive Technology further teaches wherein the vehicle status includes whether (Future Automotive Technology To the basic operation conditions of current automobile, such as automobile present speed, engine speed, signal lamp, traffic safety ensure that.).
Regarding claim 7:
(Previously Presented) The method according to claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Future Automotive Technology. Future Automotive Technology further teaches the first image data indicates at least one of a state of vehicle-mounted equipment operation, a state of vehicle occupants, a state of vehicle driving, or a state of driving environment (Future Automotive Technology The second display data are obtained, user is made to understand the current basic operating condition of automobile, such as check that running velocity, engine turn The information such as speed, signal lamp, when the first controller for carrying operating system and application program occurs abnormal)(Future Automotive Technology To the basic operation conditions of current automobile, such as automobile present speed, engine speed, signal lamp, traffic safety ensure that.).
Regarding claim 8:
(Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Future Automotive Technology. Future Automotive Technology further teaches wherein obtaining the second image data comprises:
receiving the vehicle status data and generating the second image data based on the vehicle status data (Future Automotive Technology Determine that the first controller is operating abnormally, then after carrying out the second display processing to the bus data that the second controller received is sent The second display data are obtained, user is made to understand the current basic operating condition of automobile, ).
Regarding claim 10:
(Original) The method according to claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Future Automotive Technology. Future Automotive Technology further teaches wherein the vehicle status comprises one or more of a vehicle-mounted device running status, a vehicle occupant status, a vehicle driving status, and a driving environment status (Future Automotive Technology The second display data are obtained, user is made to understand the current basic operating condition of automobile, such as check that running velocity, engine turn The information such as speed, signal lamp, when the first controller for carrying operating system and application program occurs abnormal)(Future Automotive Technology To the basic operation conditions of current automobile, such as automobile present speed, engine speed, signal lamp, traffic safety ensure that.).
Regarding claim 11:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 1. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Regarding claim 12:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 2. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Regarding claim 13:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 3. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Regarding claim 15:
(Previously Presented) The apparatus according to claim 11, has all of its limitations taught by Future Automotive Technology. Future Automotive Technology further teaches wherein the third image data is the same as the first image data (Future Automotive Technology The different vision signal of 201 corresponding video reception interface formats sends out the vision signal after conversion after formatting It send to master controller 201, which is forwarded to display 203 and shown by master controller 201.).
Regarding claim 16:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 6. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Regarding claim 17:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 7. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Regarding claim 18:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 8. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 14, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Future Automotive Technology CN109614068 (Google translation) in view of Chae U.S. Patent/PG Publication 20210209390.
Regarding claim 4:
(Previously Presented) The method according to claim 3, has all of its limitations taught by Future Automotive Technology. Future Automotive Technology does not teach the second image data being the same as the first image data. In a related field of endeavor, Chae teaches:
wherein the pre-stored image data is the same as the first image data generated by an image processor (Chae [0021] The host may then implement high-level error handling options (e.g., discard faulty frame and repeat good frame, and the like).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the first image data as taught by Chae. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide error handling. Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Chae with Future Automotive Technology to obtain the invention.
Regarding claim 14:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 4. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Regarding claim 21:
(New) The method according to claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Future Automotive Technology. Future Automotive Technology further teaches wherein the vehicle status data is received by the image processor using at least one of a controller area network (CAN), a local interconnect network (LIN), (Future Automotive Technology Here, automobile bus can for CAN bus, local interconnect network (Local Interconnect Network, LIN) bus, the system towards media transmit (Media Oriented System Transport, MOST) bus, Ethernet The data/address bus such as bus, bus transceiver can be the data/address bus such as CAN bus, LIN bus, MOST bus, industry ethernet Transponder chip.).
and wherein the image processor includes a (Future Automotive Technology Here, computer language instruction set (the The X86 that the first controller can execute for microprocessor Architecture, x86 framework), the centers such as advanced reduced instruction set machine (Advanced RISC Machine, ARM) framework Processor (Central Processing Unit, CPU), master controller can be system level chip (System-on-a- Chip, SoC) etc. chips, second controller can be 8,16,32, ARM framework, the micro-control units such as non-ARM framework (Microcontroller Unit, MCU) microcontroller chip)
Future Automotive Technology does not teach a GPU. In a related field of endeavor, Chae teaches:
and wherein the image processor includes a graphics processing unit (GPU) (Chae [0068] The computing system 700 comprises a processor 702 which may include one or more processors (CPUs, GPUs, or other types of integrated circuits) and/or other type of system on chip (SoC) components to process image data.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a GPU taught by Chae. The motivation for doing so would have been obvious to try, since Future Automotive Technology has processors and controllers for processing graphics, and there are a limited number of types of processors for processing graphics, where there is a reasonable expectation of success since Future Automotive Technology is there is the same input and output, merely with a different processor. Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Chae with Future Automotive Technology to obtain the invention.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Future Automotive Technology CN109614068 (Google translation) in view of Nakada U.S. Patent/PG Publication 20180262697.
Regarding claim 5:
(Previously Presented) The method according to claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Future Automotive Technology. Future Automotive Technology does not teach adjusting the image. In a related field of endeavor, Nakada teaches:
wherein the third image data is different from the first image data. (Nakada [0051] The processing device 7 is a device that performs a quality changing process of decreasing the quality of the forward environment image I to equal to or lower than a predetermined standard. The quality of the forward environment image I is a quality that influences the visibility (the discrimination for a physical body or the like) of the image, and the index value for the quality includes the resolution of the image and the color number of the image (the number of colors that can be exhibited by each pixel). The predetermined standard includes a permissible value of the resolution, for example.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the image as taught by Nakada. The motivation for doing so would have been to meet country specific requirements (Nakada The permissible value of the resolution sometimes varies depending on country or region. For example, the permissible value of the resolution is sometimes determined based on a regulation about privacy.). Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Nakada with Future Automotive Technology to obtain the invention.
Conclusion
For the prior art referenced and the prior art considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure but not relied upon, see PTO-892 “Notice of References Cited”.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JASON PRINGLE-PARKER whose telephone number is (571) 272-5690 and e-mail is jason.pringle-parker@uspto.gov. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:30am-5:00pm est Monday-Friday. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, King Poon can be reached on (571) 270-0728. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JASON A PRINGLE-PARKER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617