DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on April 23, 2026. Claims 1-20 are still pending in the present application. This action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The argument features Faccin does not disclose that the supported data transfer type is about transferring the coverage data from the network to the UE.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s statement and asserts that the claims are broadly written. Using the broadest reasonable interpretation, Faccin discloses that the supported data transfer type [“…the communication and processing circuitry 742 may be configured to generate and transmit via the transceiver 710 a registration request including one or more UE capabilities to the AMF in the core network…The UE capabilities (e.g. network type indication) may further indicate a set of one or more satellite types within the non-terrestrial network type supported by the wireless communication device 700.” (par. 101, lines 1-14)] is about transferring the coverage data from the network to the UE [“The communication and processing circuitry 742 may further be configured to receive and process a timer selection instruction from the AMF in the core network.” (par. 102, lines 1-3)].
In view of the above, the rejection using Faccin is maintained as repeated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Faccin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2021/0105064).
Consider claim 1; Faccin discloses a method implemented by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
causing an exchange of capability information of a user equipment (UE) with a control plane function of a network (e.g. AMF) [“…the communication and processing circuitry 742 may be configured to generate and transmit via the transceiver 710 a registration request including one or more UE capabilities to the AMF in the core network…The UE capabilities (e.g. network type indication) may further indicate a set of one or more satellite types within the non-terrestrial network type supported by the wireless communication device 700.” (par. 101, lines 1-14)], the capability information indicating a supported type of data transfer [“…the communication and processing circuitry 742 may be configured to generate and transmit via the transceiver 710 a registration request including one or more UE capabilities to the AMF in the core network…The UE capabilities (e.g. network type indication) may further indicate a set of one or more satellite types within the non-terrestrial network type supported by the wireless communication device 700.” (par. 101, lines 1-14)] for transferring coverage data from the network to the UE [“The communication and processing circuitry 742 may further be configured to receive and process a timer selection instruction from the AMF in the core network.” (par. 102, lines 1-3)], the coverage data indicating at least one of location or timing of a network coverage by a non- terrestrial network (NTN) node of the network [“The communication and processing circuitry 742 may further be configured to receive and process a timer selection instruction from the AMF in the core network.” (par. 102, lines 1-3)];
processing the coverage data received by the UE from the network to determine at least one of the location or the timing of the network coverage [“The communication and processing circuitry 742 may further be configure to perform one or more mobility management and/or session management procedures with the core network using the MM/SM timers 715.” (par. 103, lines 1-4)], the coverage data being transferred from the network to the UE [“The communication and processing circuitry 742 may further be configured to receive and process a timer selection instruction from the AMF in the core network.” (par. 102, lines 1-3)] according to the supported type of data transfer [“…the communication and processing circuitry 742 may be configured to generate and transmit via the transceiver 710 a registration request including one or more UE capabilities to the AMF in the core network…The UE capabilities (e.g. network type indication) may further indicate a set of one or more satellite types within the non-terrestrial network type supported by the wireless communication device 700.” (par. 101, lines 1-14)]; and
causing communication of the UE with the NTN node based on the UE being in the network coverage [“In addition, the communication and processing circuitry 742 may be configured to perform an initial attach procedure to attach to a base station (e.g….satellite gNB) within a RAN (e.g. a …non-terrestrial RAN).” (par. 103, lines 4-8)] according to the at least one of the location or the timing [“The communication and processing circuitry 742 may further be configure to perform one or more mobility management and/or session management procedures with the core network using the MM/SM timers 715.” (par. 103, lines 1-4)].
Consider claim 2; Faccin discloses processing selection information (par. 30, lines 6-14) that is received from the control plane function [e.g. AMF (par. 30, lines 1-4; par. 44, lines 7-10; par. 63, lines 5-8)] and that indicates a selection of the supported type of data transfer (par. 30, lines 6-14; par. 66, lines 6-17) from the one or more data transfer types (par. 29).
Consider claim 3; Faccin discloses selecting the supported type of data transfer from the one or more data transfer types (par. 30, lines 6-14).
Consider claim 4; Faccin discloses the capability information (par. 29, lines 13-22; par. 30, lines 6-14) indicates that the UE supports at least one of a control plane or a user plane [e.g. AMF (par. 44, lines 7-10; par. 63, lines 5-8)] for receiving the coverage data from the network (par. 60, lines 1-4; par. 66, lines 6-20).
Consider claim 5; Faccin discloses the capability information (par. 29, lines 13-22; par. 30, lines 6-14) indicates that the network supports at least one of a control plane or a user plane [e.g. AMF (par. 44, lines 7-10; par. 63, lines 5-8)] for sending the coverage data to the UE (par. 60, lines 1-4; par. 66, lines 6-20).
Consider claim 6; Faccin discloses the supported type of data transfer corresponds to a control plane [e.g. AMF (par. 44, lines 7-10; par. 63, lines 5-8; par. 66, lines 6-17)], wherein the coverage data is received from the control plane function by at least using the control plane [e.g. AMF (par. 44, lines 7-10; par. 63, lines 5-8; par. 66, lines 6-17)], and wherein the control plane function includes a mobility management entity or an access and mobility management function [e.g. AMF (par. 44, lines 7-10; par. 63, lines 5-8; par. 66, lines 6-17)].
Consider claim 7; Faccin discloses the coverage data is received by a non-access stratum (NAS) layer of the UE (par. 28, lines 1-8; par. 44, lines 7-10), wherein the coverage data is received in multiple portions based on a control plane protocol other than a NAS protocol [e.g. SIP (par. 35, lines 3-12).
Consider claim 8; Faccin discloses the coverage data is transferred using a non-IP based mechanism or is received in a configuration update command message, an attach accept message (par. 66, lines 6-17), or a tracking area update accept message, and wherein the capability information is sent in a REGISTRATION REQUEST message (par. 66, lines 6-17), and wherein the coverage data is received in a REGISTRATION ACCEPT message (par. 66, lines 6-17).
Consider claim 9; Faccin discloses the coverage data is received in a message associated with a container type for transferring NTN node network coverage (par. 28, lines 1-7; par. 44, lines 7-10; par. 60, lines 1-4; par. 63, lines 5-8), wherein the message includes a downlink NAS transport message that is received based on an uplink NAS transport message sent from the UE (par. 28, lines 1-7; par. 44, lines 7-10; par. 63, lines 5-8).
Consider claim 10; Faccin discloses causing a completion message to be sent to the control plane function [e.g. AMF (par. 44, lines 7-10; par. 63, lines 5-8)] [e.g. the UE is now able to receive services (par. 66, lines 6-20)], the completion message indicating the procedure transaction identity (e.g. optional identity) and a second message identity (e.g. optional second identity) (par. 66, lines 6-20).
Consider claim 11; Faccin discloses a component to be implemented in an apparatus, the component comprising:
processing circuitry configured to:
causing an exchange of capability information of a user equipment (UE) with a control plane function of a network (e.g. AMF) [“…the communication and processing circuitry 742 may be configured to generate and transmit via the transceiver 710 a registration request including one or more UE capabilities to the AMF in the core network…The UE capabilities (e.g. network type indication) may further indicate a set of one or more satellite types within the non-terrestrial network type supported by the wireless communication device 700.” (par. 101, lines 1-14)], the capability information indicating a supported type of data transfer [“…the communication and processing circuitry 742 may be configured to generate and transmit via the transceiver 710 a registration request including one or more UE capabilities to the AMF in the core network…The UE capabilities (e.g. network type indication) may further indicate a set of one or more satellite types within the non-terrestrial network type supported by the wireless communication device 700.” (par. 101, lines 1-14)] for transferring coverage data from the network to the UE [“The communication and processing circuitry 742 may further be configured to receive and process a timer selection instruction from the AMF in the core network.” (par. 102, lines 1-3)], the coverage data indicating at least one of location or timing of a network coverage by a non- terrestrial network (NTN) node of the network [“The communication and processing circuitry 742 may further be configured to receive and process a timer selection instruction from the AMF in the core network.” (par. 102, lines 1-3)];
processing the coverage data received by the UE from the network to determine at least one of the location or the timing of the network coverage [“The communication and processing circuitry 742 may further be configure to perform one or more mobility management and/or session management procedures with the core network using the MM/SM timers 715.” (par. 103, lines 1-4)], the coverage data being transferred from the network to the UE [“The communication and processing circuitry 742 may further be configured to receive and process a timer selection instruction from the AMF in the core network.” (par. 102, lines 1-3)] according to the supported type of data transfer [“…the communication and processing circuitry 742 may be configured to generate and transmit via the transceiver 710 a registration request including one or more UE capabilities to the AMF in the core network…The UE capabilities (e.g. network type indication) may further indicate a set of one or more satellite types within the non-terrestrial network type supported by the wireless communication device 700.” (par. 101, lines 1-14)]; and
causing communication of the UE with the NTN node based on the UE being in the network coverage [“In addition, the communication and processing circuitry 742 may be configured to perform an initial attach procedure to attach to a base station (e.g….satellite gNB) within a RAN (e.g. a …non-terrestrial RAN).” (par. 103, lines 4-8)] according to the at least one of the location or the timing [“The communication and processing circuitry 742 may further be configure to perform one or more mobility management and/or session management procedures with the core network using the MM/SM timers 715.” (par. 103, lines 1-4)]; and
interface circuitry coupled with the processing circuitry (par. 100), the interface circuitry configured to communicatively couple the processing circuitry with another component of the apparatus (par. 100).
Consider claim 16; Faccin discloses a network comprising:
one or more processors (par. 111, lines 1-4); and
one or more memory storing instructions that (par. 111, lines 1-4), upon execution by the one or more processors (par. 111, lines 1-4), configure the network to:
exchange, by a control plane function of the network (e.g. AMF), capability information with a user equipment (UE) [“…the communication and processing circuitry 742 may be configured to generate and transmit via the transceiver 710 a registration request including one or more UE capabilities to the AMF in the core network…The UE capabilities (e.g. network type indication) may further indicate a set of one or more satellite types within the non-terrestrial network type supported by the wireless communication device 700.” (par. 101, lines 1-14)], the capability information indicating a supported type of data transfer [“…the communication and processing circuitry 742 may be configured to generate and transmit via the transceiver 710 a registration request including one or more UE capabilities to the AMF in the core network…The UE capabilities (e.g. network type indication) may further indicate a set of one or more satellite types within the non-terrestrial network type supported by the wireless communication device 700.” (par. 101, lines 1-14)] for transferring coverage data from the network to the UE [“The communication and processing circuitry 742 may further be configured to receive and process a timer selection instruction from the AMF in the core network.” (par. 102, lines 1-3)], the coverage data indicating at least one of location or timing of a network coverage by a non- terrestrial network (NTN) node of the network [“The communication and processing circuitry 742 may further be configured to receive and process a timer selection instruction from the AMF in the core network.” (par. 102, lines 1-3)]; and
cause the coverage data to be sent to the UE by the network [“The communication and processing circuitry 742 may further be configured to receive and process a timer selection instruction from the AMF in the core network.” (par. 102, lines 1-3)] using the supported type of data transfer [“…the communication and processing circuitry 742 may be configured to generate and transmit via the transceiver 710 a registration request including one or more UE capabilities to the AMF in the core network…The UE capabilities (e.g. network type indication) may further indicate a set of one or more satellite types within the non-terrestrial network type supported by the wireless communication device 700.” (par. 101, lines 1-14)] to send the coverage data [“The communication and processing circuitry 742 may further be configured to receive and process a timer selection instruction from the AMF in the core network.” (par. 102, lines 1-3)], wherein communication between the UE and the NTN node is facilitated [“In addition, the communication and processing circuitry 742 may be configured to perform an initial attach procedure to attach to a base station (e.g….satellite gNB) within a RAN (e.g. a …non-terrestrial RAN).” (par. 103, lines 4-8)] based on the coverage data [“The communication and processing circuitry 742 may further be configure to perform one or more mobility management and/or session management procedures with the core network using the MM/SM timers 715.” (par. 103, lines 1-4)].
Consider claim 17; Faccin discloses the supported type of data transfer corresponds to a control plane [e.g. AMF (par. 29; par. 44, lines 7-10; par. 63, lines 5-8)], and wherein the coverage data is sent by the control plane function [e.g. AMF (par. 44, lines 7-10; par. 63, lines 5-8; par. 66, lines 6-20)] by at least using the control plane or a non-IP based delivery mechanism [e.g. AMF (par. 44, lines 7-10; par. 63, lines 5-8)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faccin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2021/0105064) in view of Talebi Fard et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2021/0385283).
Consider claim 12, as applied in claim 11; Faccin discloses the claimed invention except: process an address of the endpoint and a token received from the control plane function; and cause, based on the address, a request for the coverage data and the token to be sent to the endpoint.
In an analogous art Talebi Fard discloses process an address of the endpoint (par. 374, lines 7-22) and a token received from the control plane function [e.g. AMF (par. 382, lines 7-13)]; and cause, based on the address (par. 374, lines 7-22), a request for the coverage data and the token to be sent to the endpoint [e.g. network (par. 374, lines 7-22, 26-32)].
It is an object of Faccin’s invention to provide a method for managing communication. It is an object of Talebi Fard’s invention to provide a method for establishing communication sessions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Faccin by including an address and token, as taught by Talebi Fard, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunication network.
Consider claim 13, as applied in claim 11; Faccin discloses the claimed invention except: determine, from a universal subscriber identity module, configuration information of the endpoint; and cause, based on the configuration information, a request for the coverage data to be sent.
In an analogous art Talebi Fard discloses determine (par. 364, lines 1-6), from a universal subscriber identity module (par. 364, lines 1-6), configuration information of the endpoint (par. 364, lines 1-6); and cause, based on the configuration information (par. 364, lines 1-6), a request for the coverage data to be sent (par. 364, lines 6-10).
It is an object of Faccin’s invention to provide a method for managing communication. It is an object of Talebi Fard’s invention to provide a method for establishing communication sessions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Faccin by including USIM, as taught by Talebi Fard, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunication network.
Consider claim 14, as applied in claim 11; Faccin discloses the claimed invention except: process an address of the endpoint and a token received from the control plane function; and cause, based on the address, an SMS query for the coverage data and the token to be sent to the endpoint.
In an analogous art Talebi Fard discloses process an address of the endpoint (par. 374, lines 7-22) and a token received from the control plane function [e.g. AMF (par. 382, lines 7-13)]; and cause, based on the address (par. 374, lines 7-22), an SMS query for the coverage data and the token to be sent to the endpoint [e.g. network (par. 187, lines 1-13; par. 374, lines 7-22, 26-32)].
It is an object of Faccin’s invention to provide a method for managing communication. It is an object of Talebi Fard’s invention to provide a method for establishing communication sessions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Faccin by including an address and token, as taught by Talebi Fard, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunication network.
Consider claim 15, as applied in claim 11; Faccin discloses the claimed invention except: the coverage data is received from the control plane function based on a transfer of the coverage data from an operation and maintenance server of the network to the control plane function.
In an analogous art Talebi Fard discloses the coverage data is received from the control plane function based on a transfer of the coverage data from an operation and maintenance server of the network to the control plane function (par. 378).
It is an object of Faccin’s invention to provide a method for managing communication. It is an object of Talebi Fard’s invention to provide a method for establishing communication sessions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Faccin by including a server, as taught by Talebi Fard, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunication network.
Consider claim 18, as applied in claim 16; Faccin discloses the claimed invention except: send, by the control plane function to the UE, an address of an endpoint and a token, the endpoint storing the coverage data.
In an analogous art Talebi Fard discloses send, by the control plane function to the UE [e.g. AMF (par. 382, lines 7-13)], an address of an endpoint and a token [e.g. network (par. 374, lines 7-22)], the endpoint storing the coverage data [e.g. network (par. 374, lines 26-32)].
It is an object of Faccin’s invention to provide a method for managing communication. It is an object of Talebi Fard’s invention to provide a method for establishing communication sessions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Faccin by including an address and token, as taught by Talebi Fard, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunication network.
Consider claim 19, as applied in claim 16; Faccin discloses the claimed invention except: send, by the control plane function to the UE, an address of an endpoint and a token, the endpoint storing the coverage data.
In an analogous art Talebi Fard discloses send, by the control plane function to the UE [e.g. AMF (par. 382, lines 7-13)], an address of an endpoint and a token [e.g. network (par. 374, lines 7-22)], the endpoint storing the coverage data [e.g. network (par. 374, lines 26-32)].
It is an object of Faccin’s invention to provide a method for managing communication. It is an object of Talebi Fard’s invention to provide a method for establishing communication sessions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Faccin by including an address and token, as taught by Talebi Fard, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunication network.
Consider claim 20, as applied in claim 16; Faccin discloses the claimed invention except: the coverage data is sent by the control plane function based on a transfer of the coverage data from an operation and maintenance server of the network to the control plane function.
In an analogous art Talebi Fard discloses the coverage data is sent by the control plane function based on a transfer of the coverage data from an operation and maintenance server of the network to the control plane function (par. 378).
It is an object of Faccin’s invention to provide a method for managing communication. It is an object of Talebi Fard’s invention to provide a method for establishing communication sessions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Faccin by including a server, as taught by Talebi Fard, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunication network.
Wiedeman is another reference that discloses the inventive concept.
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within
TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not
mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the
shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any
extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Examiner should be directed to Joel Ajayi whose telephone number is (571) 270-1091. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from 7:30am to 5:00pm and Friday 7:30am to 4:00 pm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Jeanette Parker can be reached on (571) 270-3647. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646