Claim Objections
Claim(s) 21 and 42 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 21, it recites “wherein the TCI selection field is signaled using at least one of Radio Resource Control (RRC) and Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) based signaling.” However, claim 18 indicates the TCI selection field is signaled in a DCI. So, it is not clear whether the TCI selection field is signaled MAC-CE or DCI.
Claim 42 is objected for the same reason as stated above. Appropriate correction(s) is/are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 18-19, 21, 23, 25-30, 32 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (US 20250351088), hereinafter Yuan1 in view of Yuan (US 20230087394), hereinafter Yuan2.
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 1/18/27, Yuan1 teaches A method for performing signaling in a multi Transmission/Reception Point (TRP) wireless communication system ([0049], “a user equipment (UE) may communicate with multiple transmission and reception points (TRPs).”), the method comprising:
receiving ([Fig.3 and 0109], “The UE 115-b may receive MAC-CE 325 (e.g., from the network entity 105-b).”), by at least one second node (104) (UE 115b), at least one Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) from at least one first node (102) ([Fig.3, step 325]), wherein the at least one MAC-CE comprises at least one code-point ([0109], “The MAC-CE 325 may include ... indication that may indicate one or more codepoints.”), wherein the at least one code-point maps to at least one Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state ([0109], “one or more codepoints that may be associated with some or all of the TCI states of the TCI state list.”);
receiving, by the at least one second node (104) ([0110], “The UE 115-b may receive DCI 335 (e.g., from the network entity 105-b).”), at least one of a flag and TCI field ([0110], “TCI indication”) in at least one Downlink Control Information (DCI) from the at least one first node (102) ([0110], “The DCI 335 may include a unified TCI indication that may indicate a codepoint (e.g., of the one or more codepoints that were included in the MAC-CE 325).”), wherein the flag comprises at least one bit to indicate one of a single TRP and a multi TRP operation from the at least one first node (102), wherein the TCI field comprises ... the at least one code-point of the at least one MAC-CE ([0110], “The DCI 335 may include a unified TCI indication that may indicate a codepoint (e.g., of the one or more codepoints that were included in the MAC-CE 325).”);
selecting, by the at least one second node (104), the at least one TCI state based on at least one of the flag and the TCI field ([0110], “the UE 115-b may determine, select, or identify that the UE 115-b is to use a TCI state mapped in the codepoint for communications with a TRP.”); and
performing, by the at least one second node (104), at least one of at least one Downlink (DL) reception and at least one Uplink (UL) transmission using at least one TCI state selected ([0110], “the UE 115-b may determine, select, or identify that the UE 115-b is to use a TCI state mapped in the codepoint for communications with a TRP.” And [0111], “the UE 115-b may transmit one or more uplink transmissions 350 (e.g., that may have been scheduled by the DCI 335 or one or more other DCIs).”).
However, Yuan1 does not specifically disclose at least one bit to indicate and activating.
In an analogous art, Yuan2 discloses receiving ([0047], “the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, DCI including an uplink TCI codepoint (e.g., in a three-bit uplink TCI request field) to be mapped to an uplink TCI state in the subset of uplink TCI states selected by the MAC-CE.”), by the at least one second node (104) (UE), at least one of a flag and TCI field in at least one Downlink Control Information (DCI) ([0047], “DCI including an uplink TCI codepoint (e.g., in a three-bit uplink TCI request field).”) from the at least one first node (102) (base station), wherein the flag comprises at least one bit to indicate one of a single TRP and a multi TRP operation from the at least one first node (102), wherein the TCI field comprises at least one bit to indicate the at least one code-point of the at least one MAC-CE ([0047], “(e.g., in a three-bit uplink TCI request field) to be mapped to an uplink TCI state in the subset of uplink TCI states selected by the MAC-CE.”);
activating, by the at least one second node (104), the at least one TCI state based on at least one of the flag and the TCI field ([0047], “downlink control information (DCI) may include in a TCI request field to activate a particular uplink TCI state for an uplink transmission scheduled by the DCI.”); and
performing, by the at least one second node (104), at least one of at least one Downlink (DL) reception and at least one Uplink (UL) transmission using at least one TCI state activated ([0048], “the UE may perform an uplink transmission using the uplink TCI state mapped to the uplink TCI codepoint included in the DCI scheduling the uplink transmission.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan to specify at least one bit for indication as taught by Yuan2. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to specify which TCI state for uplink transmission.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 2, Yuan1 teaches wherein the MAC-CE is at least one of a single TRP MAC-CE and a multiple TRP MAC-CE ([0050], a UE may operate “in multi-TRP operation ... the UE may receive signaling that may indicate (e.g., in RRC, medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), downlink control information (DCI), or other signaling) which of the multiple default sets are to be used for communications.”).
Regarding claim(s) 3/26/38, Yuan1 teaches wherein the at least one TCI state belongs to a unified TCI state ([0049], “the multiple TRPs may each be associated with a single transmission configuration indication (TCI) state, also referred to as a unified TCI state, and the UE may receive an indication of such a unified TCI state.”).
Regarding claim(s) 5/25/32, Yuan1 teaches wherein the at least one UL transmission is at least one of Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH), Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) ([0048], “the UE may perform an uplink transmission using the uplink TCI state mapped to the uplink TCI codepoint included in the DCI scheduling the uplink transmission, which may include an SRS, a PRACH, a PUCCH, a PUSCH, a DMRS for a PUCCH, a DMRS for a PUSCH.”), and UL reference signals.
Regarding claim(s) 6/23/30, Yuan1 teaches wherein the at least one code-point of the at least one MAC-CE is mapped to the at least one of one TCI state ([0110], “The codepoint may be mapped with one or more TCI states.”), two TCI states, three TCI states and four TCI states.
Regarding claim(s) 19/28, Yuan1 teaches wherein the TCI selection field indicates the at least one TCI state ([0109], “indication that may indicate one or more codepoints that may be associated with some or all of the TCI states.”) corresponding to the at least one code-point indicated using the TCI field in the DCI to the at least one second node (104) ([0110], “The DCI 335 may include a unified TCI indication that may indicate a codepoint (e.g., of the one or more codepoints that were included in the MAC-CE 325). The codepoint may be mapped with one or more TCI states or TCI state identifiers.”).
Regarding claim(s) 21/29, Yuan1 teaches wherein the TCI selection field is signaled using at least one of Radio Resource Control (RRC) and Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) based signaling ([0109], “The MAC-CE 325 may include a TCI activation or indication that may indicate one or more codepoints that may be associated with some or all of the TCI states.”).
Claim(s) 39-42 and 47-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan1 in view of Yuan2, and further in view of Zhu (US 20230362951), provisional document US 63339677).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 39, Yuan1 teaches A method for performing signaling in a multi Transmission/Reception Point (TRP) wireless communication system ([0049], “a user equipment (UE) may communicate with multiple transmission and reception points (TRPs).”), the method comprising:
receiving ([Fig.3 and 0109], “The UE 115-b may receive MAC-CE 325 (e.g., from the network entity 105-b).”), by at least one second node (104) (UE 115b), at least one Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) from at least one first node (102) ([Fig.3, step 325]), wherein the at least one MAC-CE comprises at least one code-point ([0109], “The MAC-CE 325 may include ... indication that may indicate one or more codepoints.”), wherein the at least one code-point maps to at least one Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state ([0109], “one or more codepoints that may be associated with some or all of the TCI states of the TCI state list.”);
receiving, by the at least one second node (104) ([0110], “The UE 115-b may receive DCI 335 (e.g., from the network entity 105-b).”), a TCI field ... in at least one Downlink Control Information (DCI) from the at least one first node (102) ([0110], “The DCI 335 may include a unified TCI indication that may indicate a codepoint (e.g., of the one or more codepoints that were included in the MAC-CE 325).”), wherein the TCI field comprises ... the at least one code-point of the at least one MAC-CE ([0110], “The DCI 335 may include a unified TCI indication that may indicate a codepoint (e.g., of the one or more codepoints that were included in the MAC-CE 325).”);
selecting, by the at least one second node (104), the at least one TCI state based ... the TCI field ([0110], “the UE 115-b may determine, select, or identify that the UE 115-b is to use a TCI state mapped in the codepoint for communications with a TRP.”); and
performing, by the at least one second node (104), at least one of at least one Downlink (DL) reception and at least one Uplink (UL) transmission using the at least one TCI state activated ([0048], “the UE may perform an uplink transmission using the uplink TCI state mapped to the uplink TCI codepoint included in the DCI scheduling the uplink transmission.”).
However, Yuan1 does not specifically disclose at least one bit to indicate and activating.
In an analogous art, Yuan2 discloses receiving ([0047], “the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, DCI including an uplink TCI codepoint (e.g., in a three-bit uplink TCI request field) to be mapped to an uplink TCI state in the subset of uplink TCI states selected by the MAC-CE.”), by the at least one second node (104) (UE), a TCI field ... in at least one Downlink Control Information (DCI) ([0047], “DCI including an uplink TCI codepoint (e.g., in a three-bit uplink TCI request field).”) from the at least one first node (102) (base station), wherein the TCI field comprises at least one bit to indicate the at least one code-point of the at least one MAC-CE ([0047], “(e.g., in a three-bit uplink TCI request field) to be mapped to an uplink TCI state in the subset of uplink TCI states selected by the MAC-CE.”);
activating, by the at least one second node (104), the at least one TCI state based on ... the TCI field ([0047], “downlink control information (DCI) may include in a TCI request field to activate a particular uplink TCI state for an uplink transmission scheduled by the DCI.”); and
performing, by the at least one second node (104), at least one of at least one Downlink (DL) reception and at least one Uplink (UL) transmission using at least one TCI state activated ([0048], “the UE may perform an uplink transmission using the uplink TCI state mapped to the uplink TCI codepoint included in the DCI scheduling the uplink transmission.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan to specify at least one bit for indication as taught by Yuan2. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to specify which TCI state for uplink transmission.
However, the combination of Yuan1 and Yuan2 does not teach at least one index of at least one bit map from a plurality of bit maps in at least one Downlink Control Information (DCI) from the at least one first node (102).
In an analogous art, Zhu teaches receiving, by the at least one second node (104) ([Fig.11 and 0263], “the UE receives in the second DCI” from a base station.) ... at least one index of at least one bit map ([Fig.11, 0263], the UE may receive a bitmap “10” in second DCI) from a plurality of bit maps ([0263], bitmaps “10” and “01”) in at least one Downlink Control Information (DCI) from the at least one first node ([0263], second DCI).
activating, by the at least one second node (104) ...based on at least one of the at least one index of the at least one bit map from the plurality of bit maps ([0263], “if the bitmap is set to “01,” the UE may apply TCI state #C indicated in the second DCI to replace/update TCI state #B indicated in the first DCI. That is, the UE may apply TCI state #A indicated in the first DCI and TCI state #C indicated in the second DCI for the multi-TRP operation.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan to specify at least bitmap as taught by Zhu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to specify which TCI state for data transmission.
.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 40, Zhu teaches wherein the at least one bit map indicates the at least one TCI state corresponding to the code-point indicated using TCI field in the at least one DCI to the at least one second node (104) ([0263], “if the bitmap is set to “01,” the UE may apply TCI state #C indicated in the second DCI to replace/update TCI state #B indicated in the first DCI. That is, the UE may apply TCI state #A indicated in the first DCI and TCI state #C indicated in the second DCI for the multi-TRP operation.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan to specify at least bitmap as taught by Zhu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to specify which TCI state for data transmission.
Regarding claim(s) 41, Zhu teaches wherein the at least one index of the at least one bit map from the plurality of bit map implicitly or explicitly indicates at least one of a single TRP and a multi TRP operation ([0263], “the UE may apply TCI state #A indicated in the first DCI and TCI state #C indicated in the second DCI for the multi-TRP operation.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan to specify at a least bitmap as taught by Zhu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to specify which TCI state for data transmission.
Regarding claim(s) 42, Zhu teaches wherein the at least one bit map is signaled using at least one of Radio Resource Control (RRC) and Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) based signaling ([0290], “a bitmap could be included/indicated/configured in the MAC CE activation command.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan to specify at least a bitmap as taught by Zhu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to specify which TCI state for data transmission.
Regarding claim(s) 47, Zhu teaches wherein position of bits in the at least one bitmap field represents the at least one TCI state activated ([0263], “if the bitmap is set to “01,” the UE may apply TCI state #C indicated in the second DCI to replace/update TCI state #B indicated in the first DCI. That is, the UE may apply TCI state #A indicated in the first DCI and TCI state #C indicated in the second DCI for the multi-TRP operation.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan to specify at least bitmap as taught by Zhu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to specify which TCI state for data transmission.
Regarding claim(s) 48, Yuan1 teaches wherein the at least one TCI state belongs to a unified TCI state ([0049], “the multiple TRPs may each be associated with a single transmission configuration indication (TCI) state, also referred to as a unified TCI state, and the UE may receive an indication of such a unified TCI state.”).
Claim(s) 4 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan1 in view of Yuan2, and further in view of Zhou (US 20210144744).
Regarding claim(s) 4, Zhou teaches wherein the at least one DL reception is at least one of Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) ([0101], “the UE processes the PDSCH according to the indicated TCI state IDs.”), and DL reference signals.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan1 to specify PDSCH as taught by Zhou. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need use indicated TCI state for downlink transmission.
Regarding claim(s) 12, Zhou teaches wherein at least one code-point is determined by its ordinal position among all TCI state fields ([0087], “The code point to which the TCI State is mapped is determined by its ordinal position among all the TCI States.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan1 to specify ordinal position as taught by Zhou. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to determining code point mapping for the TCI states.
Claim(s) 7, 24 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan1 in view of Yuan2, and further in view of KHOSHNEVISAN (US 20230239885).
Regarding claim(s) 7/24/31, KHOSHNEVISAN teaches wherein the at least one code-point is mapped to the at least one TCI state from at least one of at least one joint/DL TCI states and at least one UL TCI state ([0084], “The TCI codepoint may be mapped (e.g., by MAC-CE) to either one joint TCI state, one downlink-only TCI state, one uplink-only TCI state.”). .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan1 to specify joint TCI state as taught by KHOSHNEVISAN. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need for data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan1 to specify joint TCI state as taught by KHOSHNEVISAN. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need for data transmission.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan1 in view of Yuan2, and further in view of Zhu (US 20240090073, provisional document 63/405,704) .
Regarding claim(s) 8, Zhu teaches wherein the at least one MAC-CE ([0124], “unified TCI state activation/deactivation MAC CE 800.” And [0096], “a MAC CE could be used to indicate to the UE 116 a beam (i.e., a TCI state and/or a TCI state ID) for the transmission/reception of a PDCCH or a PDSCH.”)) comprises at least one of serving cell identity (ID) (“[0126] Serving Cell ID: This field indicates the identity of the Serving Cell for which the MAC CE applies.”), Bandwidth Part Indicator (BWP ID), at least one Reserved bit (R) field, at least one joint/DL TCI state ID field, at least one UL TCI state IDfield, at least one Ai field and at least one D/Ui field, at least one Bi, j field, at least one Ci field, and at least one Di, j field.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan1 to specify MAC CE as taught by Zhu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to provide multiple information for data communication.
Regarding claim(s) 9, Zhu teaches wherein the at least one code-point of the at least one MAC-CE is applied to the BWP ID comprising at least one of DL BWP (“[0127] DL BWP ID: This field indicates a DL BWP for which the MAC CE applies as the codepoint of the DCI bandwidth part indicator field as specified in document and standard.”) and UL BWP.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan1 to specify MAC CE as taught by Zhu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to provide multiple information for data communication.
Regarding claim(s) 10, Zhu teaches wherein the at least one Ai field indicates whether ith TCI code-point maps to any one of single and multiple TCI states from at least one of the at least one joint/DL TCI state (“[0129] P.sub.i: This field indicates whether each TCI codepoint has multiple TCI states or single TCI state. If P.sub.i field is set to 1, it indicates that i.sup.th TCI codepoint includes the DL TCI state and the UL TCI state.”) and the at least one UL TCI state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan1 to specify MAC CE as taught by Zhu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to provide multiple information for data communication.
Regarding claim(s) 11, Zhu teaches wherein the at least one D/Ui field indicates whether ith TCI code-point maps to at least one TCI state from at least one of the at least one joint/DL TCI state and the at least one UL TCI state (“[0130] D/U: This field indicates whether the TCI state ID in the same octet is for joint/downlink or uplink TCI state. If this field is set to 1, the TCI state ID in the same octet is for joint/downlink. If this field is set to 0, the TCI state ID in the same octet is for uplink.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan1 to specify MAC CE as taught by Zhu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to provide multiple information for data communication.
Regarding claim(s) 33, Zhu teaches wherein the length of the signaling index is (n+1), where n = log2 (maximum number of TCI states in the at least one code-point).
Claim(s) 13-14 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan1 in view of Yuan2 and Zhu, and further in view of Liu (US 20240195573).
Regarding claim(s) 13, Liu teaches wherein the at least one Bi, j field indicates at least one code-point indicating at least one UL TCI state ID field is present ([0078], “UL TCI state ID n (n=0 to N) (each with 6 bits): the UL TCI state ID n field indicates the UL TCI state identified by UL-TCI-StateID for the n.sup.th codepoint of TCI field the DCI.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan1 to specify UL TCI state ID as taught by Liu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to transmitting update mapping to a UE.
Regarding claim(s) 14, Liu teaches wherein the at least one Ci field indicates at least one code-point indicating at least one joint/DL TCI state ID field is present ([0077], “the DL TCI state ID n field indicates the DL TCI state identified by TCI-StateID for the n.sup.th codepoint of TCI field the DCI.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan1 to specify DL TCI state ID as taught by Liu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to transmitting update mapping to a UE.
Regarding claim(s) 16, Liu teaches wherein the at least one joint/DL TCI state ID field indicates the at least one joint/DL TCI state ([0074], “the DL TCI state ID n field indicates the DL TCI state identified by TCI-StateID for the n.sup.th codepoint of TCI field the DCI.”) from a plurality of joint/DL TCI states configured for the at least one second node (104) ([0077] DL TCI state ID n (n=0 to N, N is for example 7).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan1 to specify DL TCI state ID as taught by Liu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to transmitting update mapping to a UE.
Regarding claim(s) 17, Liu teaches wherein the at least one UL TCI state ID field indicates the at least one UL TCI state from a plurality of UL TCI states configured for the at least one second node (104) ([0078], “UL TCI state ID n (n=0 to N) (each with 6 bits): the UL TCI state ID n field indicates the UL TCI state identified by UL-TCI-StateID for the n.sup.th codepoint of TCI field the DCI:”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan1 to specify DL TCI state ID as taught by Liu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to transmitting update mapping to a UE.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan1 in view of Yuan2 and Zhu, and further in view of Hong (US 20210352525 A1A1).
Regarding claim(s) 15, Yu teaches wherein the at least one Di, j field indicates whether preceding octet is one of padding octet ([0212], “available bit(s) in the last octet, this bit(s) may be filled with a padding bit(s).”) and the at least one joint/DL TCI state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan1 to specify padding bits as taught by Yu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is MAC CE is octet aligned.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan1 in view of Yuan2, and further in view of Yuan (US 20250380327 ), hereinafter Yuan3.
Regarding claim(s) 20, Yuan3 teaches wherein the TCI selection field implicitly or explicitly indicates at least one of a single TRP operation and a multi TRP operation ([0102], “If the TCI selection indicator does not select a TRP (e.g., has a zero or null value), the UE 702 may apply both TCIs for the scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH (i.e., performs mTRP communication with both the TRP 704 and the TRP 706).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan1 to specify TCI selection indicator as taught by Yuan3. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to indicate which TRP mode that a UE will apply.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan1 in view of Yuan2, and further in view of Yuk (US 11979213).
Regarding claim(s) 22, Yuk teaches wherein the TCI selection field is a bit map with length of maximum number of TCI states per code-point present in the at least one MAC-CE ([Col.12, lines 1-15], “where L is the maximum number of TCI states to be included in a TCI codepoint.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan1 to specify bitmap as taught by Yuk. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to determine number of codepoints.
Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan1 in view of Yuan2 and Zhu, and further in view of Bagheri (US 20220338235).
Regarding claim(s) 43, Bagheri teaches wherein length of the at least one bit map is maximum number of TCI states per code-point present in the at least one MAC-CE ([0152], “The first bitmap size (number of bits in bitmap) may be a first size with a first maximum number of TCI states associated with the first set of DCI formats.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan1 to specify bitmap as taught by Bagheri. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to determine number of TCI states.
Claim(s) 44-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan1 in view of Yuan2 and Zhu, and further in view of KHOSHNEVISAN.
Regarding claim(s) 44/45, KHOSHNEVISAN teaches wherein the at least one code-point is mapped to the at least one TCI state from at least one of at least one joint/DL TCI states and at least one UL TCI state ([0084], “The TCI codepoint may be mapped (e.g., by MAC-CE) to either one joint TCI state, one downlink-only TCI state, one uplink-only TCI state.”). .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan1 to specify joint TCI state as taught by KHOSHNEVISAN. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need for data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Yuan1 to specify joint TCI state as taught by KHOSHNEVISAN. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need for data transmission.
Regarding claim(s) 46, Yuan1 teaches wherein the at least one DL reception and the at least one UL transmission is at least one of Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH), Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH), and at least one reference signal. ([0048], “the UE may perform an uplink transmission using the uplink TCI state mapped to the uplink TCI codepoint included in the DCI scheduling the uplink transmission, which may include an SRS, a PRACH, a PUCCH, a PUSCH, a DMRS for a PUCCH, a DMRS for a PUSCH.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 33-37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZHIREN QIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2411