DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claim limitation of “transforming” never appeared or used to describe the action from “a plurality of vector instruction” to “a single fused micro-operation” in disclosure. At most, the specification used the term “consolidating”. For example, the term “transform” has a meaning of “to change in composition or structure” while the term “consolidate” is understood as “to join together into one whole” (Merriam-Webster).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-10, 13-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyer (US 11,513,802) in view of Caulfield (US 10,846,092).
Referring to claims 1, 15 and 20, Boyer discloses a method comprising:
detecting (fig. 5, check compressibility 502/504) a plurality of vector instructions (fig. 5, micro-operations 502) within a storage (fig. 4, UOP queue 212) of an integrated circuit (fig. 2, processor 200);
transforming (fig. 5, store pair of micro-operations in a single scheduled entry 506; fig. 4, scheduler compression logic 224) the plurality of vector instructions (fig. 4, UOP1, UOP2 212) into a single [fused] instruction (fig. 5, single scheduled entry 506; fig. 4, CUOP 1/2) based on the plurality of vector instructions satisfying a criterion (fig. 5, compressible 504; 4:48-52, compressibility rules),
wherein the satisfying the criteria comprises performing a logical operation (fig. 5, check compressibility rules 502; 4:52-64; 10:1-14) on a portion of an opcode (fig. 5, pairs of micro-operations in the queue 502; 5:5-27) included within each of the plurality of vector instructions;
loading (fig. 5, store in a single scheduler entry 506) the single [fused] instruction into a scheduler queue (fig. 4, scheduler 400; fig.2, scheduler 216/218/220; 15:41-49, scheduler queue) of the integrated circuit, and
executing the single [fused] instruction (fig. 4, execution unit404 executing CUOP 1/2; 8:31-34, micro-operations).
Caulfield discloses a single fused instruction (fig. 9, compound up 90; 4:65-5:4, a single compound uop)
Boyer and Caulfield are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in executing micro-operations. Before the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Boyer and Caulfield before him or her to modify the compressible micro-operations of Boyer to be a single compound micro-operation of Caulfield, thereafter the micro-operations are executed as a single compound instruction with corresponding execution unit (14-1). The suggestion and/or motivation for doing so would be improved performance (5:5-17) as suggested by Caulfield. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Boyer with Caulfield to obtain the invention as specified in the instant application claims.
As to claims 2 and 16, Boyer discloses the method of claim 1, wherein executing the single fused instruction comprises:
receiving (fig. 4, picker logic 402 receives CUOP 1/2 from scheduler 400) the single fused instruction from the scheduler queue;
restoring (fig. 4, UOPEx1, UOPEx2 after picker logic 402) the plurality of vector instructions (fig. 7, first micro-operation 700, second micro-operation 704) from the single fused instruction (fig. 4, UOP1/UOP2 at 212 to CUOP1/2 at scheduler400, then restore as UOPEx1/UOPEx2 after picker logic 402); and
executing the plurality of vector instructions via an execution resource (fig. 4, execution unit 404; fig. 7, execution 704) of the integrated circuit.
As to claims 3 and 17, Boyer discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the execution resource comprises: a floating-point unit (7:56-65, floating point execution unit).
As to claims 5 and 19, Boyer discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the criterion comprises
a certain opcode pair (fig. 5, a pair of micro-operation 502) identified in the plurality of vector instructions being eligible for consolidation (fig. 5, compressible 504); and
transforming the plurality of vector instructions into the single fused instruction comprises combining the plurality of vector instructions into the single fused instruction based on the certain opcode pair being eligible for combining (fig. 5, compressible 504 to Yes).
As to claim 8, Boyer discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the criterion comprises the plurality of vector instructions being positioned within a certain number of instructions (fig. 4, UOP1, UOP2, 212, i.e. one position away) from one another in the storage; and
consolidating the plurality of vector instructions into the single fused micro-operation comprises consolidating the plurality of vector instructions into the single fused instruction based on the plurality of vector instructions being positioned within the certain number of instructions from one another in the storage (fig. 4, compress into CUOP 1/2 in scheduler queue 400).
As to claim 9, Boyer discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the storage comprises a queue (fig. 5, queue 500).
As to claim 10, Boyer discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the single fused instruction complies with a constraint comprising: no more than one immediate value (fig. 3, IMM1 in portion 302) is included in the single fused instruction (8:53-58, an immediate value).
As to claim 13, Boyer discloses the method of claim 1, comprising:
receiving (fig. 4, picker logic 402 receive from scheduler 400) the single fused instruction from the scheduler queue; and
executing (fig. 4, execution unit 404) the single fused instruction via execution resource (fig. 2, processor 200) of the integrated circuit.
As to claim 14, Boyer discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of vector instructions comprises instruction (fig. 5, a pair of micro-operations 502) that is eligible for consolidation into a single instruction (fig. 5, single scheduler entry 502).
Allowable Subject Matter
After resolving issues under 35 USC 112(a), claims 6-7 and 11-12 will be viewed as objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The claim feature of consolidating based on the claim features of 1) a match between eligibility filter and bit string including in the opcode, 2) rendering output of first portion of an opcode with input in a lookup table indexed by second portion of the opcode, 3) satisfying of identified mask register as destination of first vector instruction, checking whether second vector satisfies consolidating criteria, and 4) refusing consolidate additional vector instruction as destination not being a mask register as required in dependent claims 6-7 and 11-12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but they are not deemed to be persuasive.
Applicant argues that the scope of “transforming a plurality of vector instructions to a single fused instruction” is supported by specification para.0043 (pp.8-9).
As previously explained, since the term “transforming” and “consolidating” contains different meanings, Examiner suggest applicant change the claim back to “consolidating”. Examiner also provided dictionary definitions showing the differences. Such a difference would clearly make the claim scope become different. For example, the specification disclosed “instructions to join together into one whole new instruction”, but the present claim requires “a new instruction resulting from change in composition or in structure”.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to examiner Cheng-Yuan Tseng whose telephone number is (571)272-9772, and fax number is (571)273-9772. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 09:00 to 17:30 Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Alicia Harrington can be reached on (571)272-2330. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at (866)217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call (800)786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or (571)272-1000.
/CHENG YUAN TSENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615