DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group l, corresponding to claims 1-9 and 17-18, in the reply filed on 5/27/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “Docking Element” recited in claim 2 and 3 “Securing Element” reciting in claim 2 and 3 “Holding Element” recited in claim 2 and 3.
“Docking Element (5)” is interpreted as structurally requiring a printed press-fit pin, a metal press-fit pin, or a mix of a metal press fit pin and a printed press-fit pin having a spherical surface and/or a plane surface, or a structure for joining two elements, which includes press fit pins, holes, grooves or wells [as described on page 8 lines 26- page 9 line 10, page 10 lines 1-7, and page 16 lines 5-10 of the instant application], or an equivalents thereof.
“Securing Element (7)” is interpreted as structurally requiring a printed press-fit pin, a metal press-fit pin, or a mix of a metal press fit pin and a printed press-fit pin, the securing element comprising a spherical surface and/or plane surface, or a structure for joining two elements, which includes press fit pins, holes, grooves or wells [as described on page 8 line 11- 24, page 9 line 11-13, and page 10 lines 1-7 of the instant application], or an equivalents thereof.
“Holding Element (9)” is interpreted as structurally requiring a structure for joining two elements, which includes press fit pins, holes, grooves or wells [as described on page 10 lines 1-7 of the instant application], or an equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A) Applicant recites the phrase “each other” in claim 9 line 5. The structure corresponding to the phrase “each other” is unclear and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dee Lee (WO 2013/104741A1).
Regarding to claim 1, Dee Lee discloses a method for using a fixing arrangement [as can be seen from Figures 1-2 in Dee Lee] with a base element (base structure 12, as described on page 21 lines 6-15, and can be seen from Figure 1 in Dee Lee) for fixing a workpiece (object 24, as can be seen from Figure 1 in Dee Lee) in a welding process [as described on page 13 lines 3-11 in Dee Lee], comprising:
attaching a fixture (locators 14, 16, 18, 20, 22, as described on page 21 lines 6-15 and can be seen from Figure 1 in Dee Lee) at a precision structure of a work surface (a top surface of 12, as can be seen from Figure 1 in Dee Lee) of the base element (12) and; securing the workpiece (24) at the fixing arrangement by the fixture(14, 16, 18, 20, 22) [as can be seen from Figure 1 in Dee Lee]; the fixture (14, 16, 18, 20, 22) being formed by an additive manufacturing process [as described on page 2 lines 28-31 in Dee Lee].
11. Regarding to claim 2, Dee Lee discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the fixture (14, 16, 18, 20, 22) comprises a first surface (a first surface of 14, 16, 18, 20, 22, as can be seen from Figure 1 in Dee Lee) and a docking element (placement feature 35, as invoked by 112 (f) having the corresponding structure of an element for joining to parts, as set forth above) to attach the fixture at the precision structure [as described on page 16 lines 9-34 and can be seen from Figures 1-5 in Dee Lee], the docking element located on the first surface (first surface of 14, 16, 18, 20, 22).
12. Regarding to claim 3, Dee Lee discloses the method according to claim 1 further comprising: providing a device to fix the workpiece (24) in the welding process[Figures 1-5], comprising the base element (12) with the work surface (top surface of 12) [Figure 1], the work surface comprises the precision structure, the fixture (14, 16, 18, 20, 22), comprising a first surface (a first surface of 14, 16, 18, 20, 22) with a docking element (a first placement feature 35, as invoked by 112 (f) having the corresponding structure of an element for joining to parts, as set forth above) and a second surface (a second surface of 14, 16, 18, 20, 22) with a securing element (a second placement feature 35, as invoked by 112 (f) having the corresponding structure of an element for joining to parts, as set forth above), and the workpiece (24) comprising a holding element (opening, as can be seen from Figure 1 in Dee Lee and as invoked by 112 (f) having the corresponding structure of an element for joining to parts, as set forth above], interjoining the precision structure of the base element (12) with the docking element (first 35) of the first surface , and interjoining the securing element (second 35) of the second surface with the holding element of the workpiece (24), to precisely fix the workpiece(24) [as can be seen from Figure 1 in Dee Lee].
13. Regarding to claim 4, Dee Lee discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the docking element or the securing element (first or second 35) comprises a spherical surface or a plane surface [as can be seen from Figures 1-5 in Dee Lee].
14. Regarding to claim 5, Dee Lee discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the first surface (a first surface of 14, 16, 18, 20, 22) and the second surface (a second surface of 14, 16, 18, 20, 22) stand at a predeterminable angle to each other, or an angle between the first surface and the surface is between 0 and 360 degrees or the angle between the first surface and the second surface varies across the first surface and the second surface B, or the first surface or the second surface comprises a spherical surface or a plane surface or the fixture is a solid block of material, or the fixture is flexible [Figure 1 in Dee Lee].
15. Regarding to claim 6, Dee Lee discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the fixture (14, 16, 18, 20, 22) comprises a hole or a gap to save on material, or the fixture is made of a compound material, or wherein the fixture masks a part of the workpiece, or the welding process is automated [Figure 1 in Dee Lee].
Regarding to claim 8, Dee Lee discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the fixture is capable of being used several times [as can be seen from Figure 1 in Dee Lee].
Regarding to claim 18, Dee Lee discloses the method according to claim 2 and 13, having an angle between the first surface (a first surface of 14, 16, 18, 20, 22) and the second surface (a second surface of 14, 16, 18, 20, 22) between 0 and 180 degrees [as can be seen from Figure 1 in Dee Lee].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 9, and 17 is/are rejected, as best understood in view of the above 112 rejection, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dee Lee (WO 2013/104741A1)
Regarding to claim 7, Dee Lee discloses according to claim 2, a connection between the precision structure and the docking element. However, Dee Lee does not explicitly disclose the connection having a clearance between 0.5 and 1 mm. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection to include having a clearance between 0.5 and 1 mm, as an obvious to try clearance range with would yield a predictable solution with a reasonable expectation of success.
21. Regarding to claim 9, Dee Lee discloses the method according to claim 1, having a fixture (14, 16, 18, 20, 22) being a clamp. However, Dee Lee does not explicitly disclose the clamp being a sliding clamp, comprising a stationary bracket and a sliding bracket, the stationary bracket and the sliding bracket each comprise a clamping surface, the clamping surfaces of stationary bracket and the sliding bracket are parallel to each other and face each other, the sliding bracket is capable of being moved along an Axis is the Axis being orthogonal to the clamping surfaces, or each of the clamping surfaces comprises a precision pin to fix the workpiece. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fixture in Dee Lee to include an alternate clamping apparatus having the recited structure, as a simple substitution of one known clamping element for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding to claim 17, Dee Lee discloses the method according to claim 2, a connection between the precision structure and the docking element. However, Dee Lee does not explicitly disclose the connection having a clearance between 0.065 and 0.085 mm. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection to include having a clearance between 0.0.65 and 0.085 mm, as an obvious to try clearance range with would yield a predictable solution with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/NIRVANA DEONAUTH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726