DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is responsive to amendment filed on 03/31/2026. Claims 1, 16, and 18 are amended. Claims 19-20 are new. Claims 1-2, and 5-20 are pending examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/01/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9, 12-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samona et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220083790) in view of Dingle, (U.S. Patent No. 12039502).
As to Claim 1, Samona teaches a notification device comprising: a display; (0017: a display),a storage; and (0074: storage),a controller that is connected to the display and the storage, the controller being configured to control to the display (Fig. 8 display 0007: display information related to the upcoming one or more upcoming terrain features on the user interface.), the controller being configured to determine whether a privilege is set in the storage, the privilege being associated with a rider of a first human-powered vehicle, the privilege being a right to display information related to a positional relationship between a plurality of human-powered vehicles included in a group ride (0092: multiple users 20 are utilizing the monitoring system 10 at the same time, the users 20 may be notified of other users 20 in their path based on factors including but not limited to GPS location, directional bearing, and speed), the plurality of human-powered vehicles including the first human-powered vehicle, (0083: the electronic device 18 may communicate with the server 60 through the network/cloud 62 to obtain the stored instructions, if any exist. Upon receiving the stored instructions, the electronic device 18 may implement the instructions. The server 60 may additionally store information related to multiple electronic devices 18 and operate and/or provide instructions to the various electronic devices 18 in conjunction with the stored information with or without intervention from a user 20 and/or the electronic device 18. For example, any number of electronic devices 18, which may be operably coupled with respective vehicles 12 (such as bicycles 16), and users 20 can access the server 60 for storing and retrieving event-related data. In some instances, multiple electronic devices 18 on multiple vehicles 12 can send event-related data to the server 60 for storage in the data store 64. This collection of event-related data can be accessed by any number of users 20, and/or electronic devices 18 to assist with route planning, accident avoidance while riding the bicycle 16, and notifications of potentially dangerous areas along a route and may select a different route depending on the severity of the danger. While the vehicle 12 is being ridden along a route, the electronic device 18 may access the server 60 to identify upcoming areas where previous events occurred with different users 20 as detected through other electronic devices 18. The electronic device 18 can provide notification to the user 20 of vehicle 12 to be cautious in the upcoming area. For example, the electronic device 18 may provide a terrain feature mitigation notification that provides a suggestion to the user 20 of how to mitigate specific terrain features by advising the user 20 of what specific action(s) to take to safely overcome the upcoming terrain. For example, the electronic device 18 may provide a notification to a user 20 in the form of a suggestion to decrease a riding speed to a suggested speed and/or by a suggested percentage. In addition, as will be described in greater detail below, the electronic device 18 may additionally or alternatively map the terrain or trail and/or utilize mapped terrain trail to provide suggested routes and/or riding parameters through one or more augmented visual images/videos.), (0045: a hazard, possible hazards, condition, activity, event, occurrence, and/or situation associated with the vehicle 12 or the environment in which the vehicle 12 is operating (e.g., as the vehicle 12 traverses a route), was operated (e.g., after the vehicle 12 traverses a route), and/or is to be operated. Example information of interest includes, but is not limited to, obstacles (e.g., bumps, roots, rocks), turns, terrain variations, speed (or changes in speed), acceleration (or changes in acceleration), road conditions (e.g., potholes, road construction, poor street lighting, poor lane markings, heavy vehicle traffic, heavy pedestrian traffic, dangerous intersections, accidents, potential accidents, construction zones), unsanitary items (i.e. syringe, excrement), high crime areas, areas of unrest, storm drains, common water retention areas, sudden braking of the bicycle 16, swerving of the bicycle 16, sudden acceleration of the bicycle 16, bicycle tire slippage, and the like) that may hinder both usage of the vehicle 12 and/or movement of the user 20 without the vehicle 12 or a vehicle at all (such as through hiking, running, walking, jogging, etc.). Any information of interest may further include a time of operation, an altitude, weather, and/or any other conditions.), and (0079: an application interface 82 may be operably coupled with the cloud 62 and/or the application 66. The application interface 82 may be configured to receive data related to a predefined boundary such that a user 20 may obtain information on the predefined boundary based on the inputted data. It will be appreciated that any person, entity, or device can supply inputs to the data store 64 through the application interface 82 for users 20 to benefit from. For example, a location for a trail, park, route, and/or other location may be entered through the application interface 82. In addition, various terrain features within the location may be identified. Further, one or more terrain feature mitigations may also be entered through the application interface 82. In addition, the monitoring system 10 may be used for various other activities such as skiing. In such instances, a skier may be warned of various terrain features and/or how to mitigate various terrain features based on the location of the electronic device 18 and/or the one or more sensors 14. In some instances, the application interface 82 can allow users to upload other fitness application history from other systems to the cloud 62 and/or the electronic device 18 of the monitoring system 10.), (Examiner notes: privilege can be found in paragraph 0083: obtain instructions of stored information related to multiple riders and that instruction information can be related event data such as 0045: a hazard, possible hazards, condition, activity, event, occurrence, and/or situation associated with the vehicle 12 or the environment in which the vehicle 12 is operating (e.g., as the vehicle 12 traverses a route), was operated (e.g., after the vehicle 12 traverses a route), and/or is to be operated. Example information of interest includes, but is not limited to, obstacles (e.g., bumps, roots, rocks), turns, terrain variations, speed (or changes in speed),the controller being further configured to control the display to display the information related to the positional relationship in a case where the privilege has been set; (0083: the electronic device 18 may communicate with the server 60 through the network/cloud 62 to obtain the stored instructions, if any exist. Upon receiving the stored instructions, the electronic device 18 may implement the instructions. The server 60 may additionally store information related to multiple electronic devices 18 and operate and/or provide instructions to the various electronic devices 18 in conjunction with the stored information with or without intervention from a user 20 and/or the electronic device 18. For example, any number of electronic devices 18, which may be operably coupled with respective vehicles 12 (such as bicycles 16), and users 20 can access the server 60 for storing and retrieving event-related data. In some instances, multiple electronic devices 18 on multiple vehicles 12 can send event-related data to the server 60 for storage in the data store 64. This collection of event-related data can be accessed by any number of users 20, and/or electronic devices 18 to assist with route planning, accident avoidance while riding the bicycle 16, and notifications of potentially dangerous areas along a route and may select a different route depending on the severity of the danger. While the vehicle 12 is being ridden along a route, the electronic device 18 may access the server 60 to identify upcoming areas where previous events occurred with different users 20 as detected through other electronic devices 18. The electronic device 18 can provide notification to the user 20 of vehicle 12 to be cautious in the upcoming area. For example, the electronic device 18 may provide a terrain feature mitigation notification that provides a suggestion to the user 20 of how to mitigate specific terrain features by advising the user 20 of what specific action(s) to take to safely overcome the upcoming terrain. For example, the electronic device 18 may provide a notification to a user 20 in the form of a suggestion to decrease a riding speed to a suggested speed and/or by a suggested percentage. In addition, as will be described in greater detail below, the electronic device 18 may additionally or alternatively map the terrain or trail and/or utilize mapped terrain trail to provide suggested routes and/or riding parameters through one or more augmented visual images/videos.), (0045: a hazard, possible hazards, condition, activity, event, occurrence, and/or situation associated with the vehicle 12 or the environment in which the vehicle 12 is operating (e.g., as the vehicle 12 traverses a route), was operated (e.g., after the vehicle 12 traverses a route), and/or is to be operated. Example information of interest includes, but is not limited to, obstacles (e.g., bumps, roots, rocks), turns, terrain variations, speed (or changes in speed), acceleration (or changes in acceleration), road conditions (e.g., potholes, road construction, poor street lighting, poor lane markings, heavy vehicle traffic, heavy pedestrian traffic, dangerous intersections, accidents, potential accidents, construction zones), unsanitary items (i.e. syringe, excrement), high crime areas, areas of unrest, storm drains, common water retention areas, sudden braking of the bicycle 16, swerving of the bicycle 16, sudden acceleration of the bicycle 16, bicycle tire slippage, and the like) that may hinder both usage of the vehicle 12 and/or movement of the user 20 without the vehicle 12 or a vehicle at all (such as through hiking, running, walking, jogging, etc.). Any information of interest may further include a time of operation, an altitude, weather, and/or any other conditions.), and (0079: an application interface 82 may be operably coupled with the cloud 62 and/or the application 66. The application interface 82 may be configured to receive data related to a predefined boundary such that a user 20 may obtain information on the predefined boundary based on the inputted data. It will be appreciated that any person, entity, or device can supply inputs to the data store 64 through the application interface 82 for users 20 to benefit from. For example, a location for a trail, park, route, and/or other location may be entered through the application interface 82. In addition, various terrain features within the location may be identified. Further, one or more terrain feature mitigations may also be entered through the application interface 82. In addition, the monitoring system 10 may be used for various other activities such as skiing. In such instances, a skier may be warned of various terrain features and/or how to mitigate various terrain features based on the location of the electronic device 18 and/or the one or more sensors 14. In some instances, the application interface 82 can allow users to upload other fitness application history from other systems to the cloud 62 and/or the electronic device 18 of the monitoring system 10.), (Examiner notes: displaying information on the display screen based on the stored information related to multiple riders such as accident avoidance while riding the bicycle 16, and notifications of potentially dangerous areas along a route and may select a different route depending on the severity of the danger and can be based on the gps location).
Samona does not teach the information related to the positional relationship including information related to a position of at least one second human-powered vehicle with respect to the first human-powered vehicle, the second human-powered vehicle being included in the plurality of human-powered vehicles of the group ride.
However Dingle teaches the information related to the positional relationship including information related to a position of at least one second human-powered vehicle with respect to the first human-powered vehicle, the second human-powered vehicle being included in the plurality of human-powered vehicles of the group ride; (55: FIG. 6, multiple cyclist devices can be paired with multiple bike devices 305, 310, 320 to form a group 600 of cyclists. The “grouping” feature can be used to pair multiple bikes of cyclists riding in a group. Multiple bikes can be paired to join a group by the activation of each user, for example, based on a predetermined distance and/or geolocation. Using the user interface of his or her device(s), the user can enter instructions to join the group when his or her bike is detected to be within a predetermined distance within a range of, for example, 0.5 mile to 1 mile, from the group.), (14: multiple cyclist devices can be paired with multiple bike devices to form a group of cyclists. The “grouping” feature can be used to pair multiple bikes of cyclists riding in a group. The group can be paired, for example, based on a predetermined distance and/or geolocation. When riding within a group, the system can alert the cyclists of the proximity distance to avoid a crash if a cyclist is riding too closely to the preceding cyclist), and (claim 1: A transport and repair vehicle communication system for providing a bicycle hailing service and mobile bike repair shop, the system comprising: a first biker activity tracker device attached to a biker's body; a second biker activity tracker device attached to the biker's helmet to detect biker activity data; wherein the first biker activity tracker device is in communication with the second biker activity tracker device; wherein the second biker activity tracker device includes: a first impact detection sensor configured to detect a first impact to the biker when there is contact between the biker and one or more objects; a first GPS sensor configured to determine a first location and movement of the biker; a gyroscope sensor configured to measure an orientation of the biker's body; and a biometric sensor configured to be in contact with the biker to acquire biological information of the biker; a first communication interface configured to communicate with a transportation facilitation system; a first memory configured to store first impact information of the biker, the first location and movement information of the biker, the orientation information of the biker's body and the biological information of the biker; and a first processor coupled to the first memory and wherein the first processor is configured to execute, according to one or more first commands, instructions to receive, process, and respond to the information from the first impact detection sensor, the first GPS sensor, the gyroscope sensor, and the biometric sensor; and a first bicycle activity tracker device attached to a bicycle; a second bicycle activity tracker device attached to the bicycle to detect bicycle activity data; wherein the first bicycle activity tracker device is in communication with the second bicycle activity tracker device; wherein the second bicycle activity tracker device includes: a second impact detection sensor configured to detect a second impact to the biker's bicycle when there is contact between the biker's bicycle and the one or more objects; and a second GPS sensor configured to determine a second location and movement of the bicycle; a second communication interface configured to communicate with the transportation facilitation system and wherein the second communication interface, the first communication interface, and the transportation facilitation system are configured to be in communication with each other; a second memory configured to store second impact information of the bicycle and second location and movement information of the bicycle; and a second processor coupled to the second memory and wherein the second processor is configured to execute, according to one or more second commands, instructions to receive, process, and respond to the information from the second impact detection sensor and the second GPS sensor; a database storing profiles indicating setup preferences for a plurality of bikers enrolled as users of a transportation arrangement service and at least one type of bicycle associated with each biker; one or more transportation facilitation system processors; and one or more memory resources storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more transportation facilitation system processors, cause the transportation facilitation system to: pair the first biker activity tracker device with the first bicycle activity tracker device; receive a bicycle pick-up request from a user device, which is either the first biker activity tracker device or the first bicycle activity tracker device, running a designated application of the transportation arrangement service, the bicycle pick-up request comprising a pick-up location, a number of passengers, bicycle specification information, bicycle transport accommodations, bike repair services, and accident occurrence information; and wherein the one or more transportation facilitation system processors determines the accident occurrence information by: calculating, using an algorithm, a separation distance value to indicate a distance of the biker and the bicycle relative to each other based on signals from the first GPS sensor and the second GPS sensor; and tracking and monitoring in real-time movement, position, and orientation of the second biker activity tracker device and the second bicycle activity tracker device to determine an occurrence of an accident and a severity of the accident based on the biker activity data, the bicycle activity data, the separation distance value, and a Head Injury Criterion (HIC) score), (Examiner notes: information related to positional relationship including information related to position of the first and second bicycle can be when the first bike and the second bike determined they are in the same location or close to each others and the bikes becomes paired and joins a bicycle riding group).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Samona to include the information related to the positional relationship including information related to a position of at least one second human-powered vehicle with respect to the first human-powered vehicle, the second human-powered vehicle being included in the plurality of human-powered vehicles of the group ride of Dingle. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that the information related to the positional relationship including information related to a position of at least one second human-powered vehicle with respect to the first human-powered vehicle, the second human-powered vehicle being included in the plurality of human-powered vehicles of the group ride would provide more information about the group riders which would help in providing accurate information to riders and therefore make the method/system more accurate.
As to Claim 2, Samona and Dingle teach the notification device according to claim 1.
Samona further teaches the notification device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured not to display the information related to the positional relationship on the display in a case where the privilege is not set; (0083: the electronic device 18 may communicate with the server 60 through the network/cloud 62 to obtain the stored instructions, if any exist. Upon receiving the stored instructions, the electronic device 18 may implement the instructions. The server 60 may additionally store information related to multiple electronic devices 18 and operate and/or provide instructions to the various electronic devices 18 in conjunction with the stored information with or without intervention from a user 20 and/or the electronic device 18. For example, any number of electronic devices 18, which may be operably coupled with respective vehicles 12 (such as bicycles 16), and users 20 can access the server 60 for storing and retrieving event-related data. In some instances, multiple electronic devices 18 on multiple vehicles 12 can send event-related data to the server 60 for storage in the data store 64. This collection of event-related data can be accessed by any number of users 20, and/or electronic devices 18 to assist with route planning, accident avoidance while riding the bicycle 16, and notifications of potentially dangerous areas along a route and may select a different route depending on the severity of the danger. While the vehicle 12 is being ridden along a route, the electronic device 18 may access the server 60 to identify upcoming areas where previous events occurred with different users 20 as detected through other electronic devices 18. The electronic device 18 can provide notification to the user 20 of vehicle 12 to be cautious in the upcoming area. For example, the electronic device 18 may provide a terrain feature mitigation notification that provides a suggestion to the user 20 of how to mitigate specific terrain features by advising the user 20 of what specific action(s) to take to safely overcome the upcoming terrain. For example, the electronic device 18 may provide a notification to a user 20 in the form of a suggestion to decrease a riding speed to a suggested speed and/or by a suggested percentage. In addition, as will be described in greater detail below, the electronic device 18 may additionally or alternatively map the terrain or trail and/or utilize mapped terrain trail to provide suggested routes and/or riding parameters through one or more augmented visual images/videos.), (0045: a hazard, possible hazards, condition, activity, event, occurrence, and/or situation associated with the vehicle 12 or the environment in which the vehicle 12 is operating (e.g., as the vehicle 12 traverses a route), was operated (e.g., after the vehicle 12 traverses a route), and/or is to be operated. Example information of interest includes, but is not limited to, obstacles (e.g., bumps, roots, rocks), turns, terrain variations, speed (or changes in speed), acceleration (or changes in acceleration), road conditions (e.g., potholes, road construction, poor street lighting, poor lane markings, heavy vehicle traffic, heavy pedestrian traffic, dangerous intersections, accidents, potential accidents, construction zones), unsanitary items (i.e. syringe, excrement), high crime areas, areas of unrest, storm drains, common water retention areas, sudden braking of the bicycle 16, swerving of the bicycle 16, sudden acceleration of the bicycle 16, bicycle tire slippage, and the like) that may hinder both usage of the vehicle 12 and/or movement of the user 20 without the vehicle 12 or a vehicle at all (such as through hiking, running, walking, jogging, etc.). Any information of interest may further include a time of operation, an altitude, weather, and/or any other conditions.), and (0079: an application interface 82 may be operably coupled with the cloud 62 and/or the application 66. The application interface 82 may be configured to receive data related to a predefined boundary such that a user 20 may obtain information on the predefined boundary based on the inputted data. It will be appreciated that any person, entity, or device can supply inputs to the data store 64 through the application interface 82 for users 20 to benefit from. For example, a location for a trail, park, route, and/or other location may be entered through the application interface 82. In addition, various terrain features within the location may be identified. Further, one or more terrain feature mitigations may also be entered through the application interface 82. In addition, the monitoring system 10 may be used for various other activities such as skiing. In such instances, a skier may be warned of various terrain features and/or how to mitigate various terrain features based on the location of the electronic device 18 and/or the one or more sensors 14. In some instances, the application interface 82 can allow users to upload other fitness application history from other systems to the cloud 62 and/or the electronic device 18 of the monitoring system 10).
As to Claim 5, Samona and Dingle teach the notification device according to claim 1.
Samona further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to control the display to display a change state of the positional relationship; (0045: output data indicative of any information of interest based on changes in speed).
As to Claim 8, Samona and Dingle teach the notification device according to claim 1.
Samona further teaches wherein the notification device is configured to be attachable to a human-powered vehicle; (Fig. 7: attachable device such as phone device attached to a bicycle).
As to Claim 9, Samona and Dingle teach the notification device according to claim 1.
Samona further teaches wherein the information related to the positional relationship is displayed based on a timing at which a relative distance between the first human-powered vehicle and the second human-powered vehicle is measured; (0052: the various types of information of interest described above could be captured during the use of the monitoring system 10. Each set of data related to the information of interest can be manually analyzed to associate each real-world information of interest with a risk score. That set of data (the combination of real-world information of interest with associated risk score) can then be utilized as a set of training data used to train an MLE to perform an automated evaluation of information of interest to determine a risk score associated with the environment. For instance, the MLE may be trained using the set of data by extracting particular features out of the set of data. For example, if road cyclists are logging a dangerous intersection regularly on specific days (e.g., Monday-Friday) between specific times (e.g., 7 am-9 am and 4 pm-6 pm) and not as often midday (even with a weighted average of users), the MLE may determine that the hazard is likely due to rush hour traffic exacerbating the danger and associate a risk score with such conditions and/or in specific locations. In addition, if there are slow downs or intermittent stoppages during specific times, the MLE may determine that there is notable traffic. The traffic data provided to the monitoring system may be provided from any remote source (e.g., any source that is physically separated from the electronic device 18, the user, and/or otherwise not position dependent based on movement of the vehicle 12).
As to Claim 12, Samona and Dingle teach the notification device according to claim 1.
Dingle further teaches wherein the positional relationship is measured by using wireless communication between the plurality of human-powered vehicles; (55: FIG. 6, multiple cyclist devices can be paired with multiple bike devices 305, 310, 320 to form a group 600 of cyclists. The “grouping” feature can be used to pair multiple bikes of cyclists riding in a group. Multiple bikes can be paired to join a group by the activation of each user, for example, based on a predetermined distance and/or geolocation. Using the user interface of his or her device(s), the user can enter instructions to join the group when his or her bike is detected to be within a predetermined distance within a range of, for example, 0.5 mile to 1 mile, from the group.), (14: multiple cyclist devices can be paired with multiple bike devices to form a group of cyclists. The “grouping” feature can be used to pair multiple bikes of cyclists riding in a group. The group can be paired, for example, based on a predetermined distance and/or geolocation. When riding within a group, the system can alert the cyclists of the proximity distance to avoid a crash if a cyclist is riding too closely to the preceding cyclist).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the positional relationship is measured by using wireless communication between the plurality of human-powered vehicles. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the positional relationship is measured by using wireless communication between the plurality of human-powered vehicles would provide more information about the group riders which would help in providing accurate information to riders and therefore make the method/system more accurate.
As to Claim 13, Samona and Dingle teach the notification device according to claim 12.
Samona further teaches wherein the wireless communication relationship includes a Bluetooth-Low-Energy communication; (0072: Exemplary wireless communication networks include a wireless transceiver (e.g., a BLUETOOTH module, a ZIGBEE transceiver, a Wi-Fi transceiver, an IrDA transceiver, an RFID transceiver, etc.), local area networks (LAN), wide area networks (WAN), including the Internet, providing data communication services, Adaptive Network Topologies (ANT/ANT+), and/or one device that may be configured to communicate with multiple sensors/actuators and the like).
As to Claim 14, Samona and Dingle teach the notification device according to claim 1.
Dingle further teaches wherein the positional relationship is measured based on position information of the plurality of human-powered vehicles; (55: FIG. 6, multiple cyclist devices can be paired with multiple bike devices 305, 310, 320 to form a group 600 of cyclists. The “grouping” feature can be used to pair multiple bikes of cyclists riding in a group. Multiple bikes can be paired to join a group by the activation of each user, for example, based on a predetermined distance and/or geolocation. Using the user interface of his or her device(s), the user can enter instructions to join the group when his or her bike is detected to be within a predetermined distance within a range of, for example, 0.5 mile to 1 mile, from the group.), (14: multiple cyclist devices can be paired with multiple bike devices to form a group of cyclists. The “grouping” feature can be used to pair multiple bikes of cyclists riding in a group. The group can be paired, for example, based on a predetermined distance and/or geolocation. When riding within a group, the system can alert the cyclists of the proximity distance to avoid a crash if a cyclist is riding too closely to the preceding cyclist).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the positional relationship is measured based on position information of the plurality of human-powered vehicles. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the positional relationship is measured based on position information of the plurality of human-powered vehicles would provide more information about the group riders which would help in providing accurate information to riders and therefore make the method/system more accurate.
As to Claim 15, Samona and Dingle teach the notification device according to claim 1.
Samona further teaches wherein the controller is configured to set the privilege; (0083: the electronic device 18 may communicate with the server 60 through the network/cloud 62 to obtain the stored instructions, if any exist. Upon receiving the stored instructions, the electronic device 18 may implement the instructions. The server 60 may additionally store information related to multiple electronic devices 18 and operate and/or provide instructions to the various electronic devices 18 in conjunction with the stored information with or without intervention from a user 20 and/or the electronic device 18. For example, any number of electronic devices 18, which may be operably coupled with respective vehicles 12 (such as bicycles 16), and users 20 can access the server 60 for storing and retrieving event-related data. In some instances, multiple electronic devices 18 on multiple vehicles 12 can send event-related data to the server 60 for storage in the data store 64. This collection of event-related data can be accessed by any number of users 20, and/or electronic devices 18 to assist with route planning, accident avoidance while riding the bicycle 16, and notifications of potentially dangerous areas along a route and may select a different route depending on the severity of the danger. While the vehicle 12 is being ridden along a route, the electronic device 18 may access the server 60 to identify upcoming areas where previous events occurred with different users 20 as detected through other electronic devices 18. The electronic device 18 can provide notification to the user 20 of vehicle 12 to be cautious in the upcoming area. For example, the electronic device 18 may provide a terrain feature mitigation notification that provides a suggestion to the user 20 of how to mitigate specific terrain features by advising the user 20 of what specific action(s) to take to safely overcome the upcoming terrain. For example, the electronic device 18 may provide a notification to a user 20 in the form of a suggestion to decrease a riding speed to a suggested speed and/or by a suggested percentage. In addition, as will be described in greater detail below, the electronic device 18 may additionally or alternatively map the terrain or trail and/or utilize mapped terrain trail to provide suggested routes and/or riding parameters through one or more augmented visual images/videos.), (0045: a hazard, possible hazards, condition, activity, event, occurrence, and/or situation associated with the vehicle 12 or the environment in which the vehicle 12 is operating (e.g., as the vehicle 12 traverses a route), was operated (e.g., after the vehicle 12 traverses a route), and/or is to be operated. Example information of interest includes, but is not limited to, obstacles (e.g., bumps, roots, rocks), turns, terrain variations, speed (or changes in speed), acceleration (or changes in acceleration), road conditions (e.g., potholes, road construction, poor street lighting, poor lane markings, heavy vehicle traffic, heavy pedestrian traffic, dangerous intersections, accidents, potential accidents, construction zones), unsanitary items (i.e. syringe, excrement), high crime areas, areas of unrest, storm drains, common water retention areas, sudden braking of the bicycle 16, swerving of the bicycle 16, sudden acceleration of the bicycle 16, bicycle tire slippage, and the like) that may hinder both usage of the vehicle 12 and/or movement of the user 20 without the vehicle 12 or a vehicle at all (such as through hiking, running, walking, jogging, etc.). Any information of interest may further include a time of operation, an altitude, weather, and/or any other conditions.), and (0079: an application interface 82 may be operably coupled with the cloud 62 and/or the application 66. The application interface 82 may be configured to receive data related to a predefined boundary such that a user 20 may obtain information on the predefined boundary based on the inputted data. It will be appreciated that any person, entity, or device can supply inputs to the data store 64 through the application interface 82 for users 20 to benefit from. For example, a location for a trail, park, route, and/or other location may be entered through the application interface 82. In addition, various terrain features within the location may be identified. Further, one or more terrain feature mitigations may also be entered through the application interface 82. In addition, the monitoring system 10 may be used for various other activities such as skiing. In such instances, a skier may be warned of various terrain features and/or how to mitigate various terrain features based on the location of the electronic device 18 and/or the one or more sensors 14. In some instances, the application interface 82 can allow users to upload other fitness application history from other systems to the cloud 62 and/or the electronic device 18 of the monitoring system 10.), (Examiner notes: privilege can be found in paragraph 0083: obtain instructions of stored information related to multiple riders and that instruction information can be related event data such as 0045: a hazard, possible hazards, condition, activity, event, occurrence, and/or situation associated with the vehicle 12 or the environment in which the vehicle 12 is operating (e.g., as the vehicle 12 traverses a route), was operated (e.g., after the vehicle 12 traverses a route), and/or is to be operated. Example information of interest includes, but is not limited to, obstacles (e.g., bumps, roots, rocks), turns, terrain variations, speed (or changes in speed).
As to Claim 16, Samona teaches a notification system comprising: a notification device; and an external controller, the notification device including: a display; (0017: a display which can be notification device and an external controller),a storage, and (0074: storage),a controller that is connected to the display and the storage, the controller being configured to control to the display, (Fig. 8 display 0007: display information related to the upcoming one or more upcoming terrain features on the user interface.), the controller being configured to determine whether a privilege is set in the storage (See Fig. 1 and 6-7), the privilege being associated with a rider of a first human-powered vehicle, the privilege being a right to display information related to a positional relationship between a plurality of human-powered vehicles included in a group ride (0092: multiple users 20 are utilizing the monitoring system 10 at the same time, the users 20 may be notified of other users 20 in their path based on factors including but not limited to GPS location, directional bearing, and speed), the plurality of human-powered vehicles including the first human-powered vehicle, (0083: the electronic device 18 may communicate with the server 60 through the network/cloud 62 to obtain the stored instructions, if any exist. Upon receiving the stored instructions, the electronic device 18 may implement the instructions. The server 60 may additionally store information related to multiple electronic devices 18 and operate and/or provide instructions to the various electronic devices 18 in conjunction with the stored information with or without intervention from a user 20 and/or the electronic device 18. For example, any number of electronic devices 18, which may be operably coupled with respective vehicles 12 (such as bicycles 16), and users 20 can access the server 60 for storing and retrieving event-related data. In some instances, multiple electronic devices 18 on multiple vehicles 12 can send event-related data to the server 60 for storage in the data store 64. This collection of event-related data can be accessed by any number of users 20, and/or electronic devices 18 to assist with route planning, accident avoidance while riding the bicycle 16, and notifications of potentially dangerous areas along a route and may select a different route depending on the severity of the danger. While the vehicle 12 is being ridden along a route, the electronic device 18 may access the server 60 to identify upcoming areas where previous events occurred with different users 20 as detected through other electronic devices 18. The electronic device 18 can provide notification to the user 20 of vehicle 12 to be cautious in the upcoming area. For example, the electronic device 18 may provide a terrain feature mitigation notification that provides a suggestion to the user 20 of how to mitigate specific terrain features by advising the user 20 of what specific action(s) to take to safely overcome the upcoming terrain. For example, the electronic device 18 may provide a notification to a user 20 in the form of a suggestion to decrease a riding speed to a suggested speed and/or by a suggested percentage. In addition, as will be described in greater detail below, the electronic device 18 may additionally or alternatively map the terrain or trail and/or utilize mapped terrain trail to provide suggested routes and/or riding parameters through one or more augmented visual images/videos.), (0045: a hazard, possible hazards, condition, activity, event, occurrence, and/or situation associated with the vehicle 12 or the environment in which the vehicle 12 is operating (e.g., as the vehicle 12 traverses a route), was operated (e.g., after the vehicle 12 traverses a route), and/or is to be operated. Example information of interest includes, but is not limited to, obstacles (e.g., bumps, roots, rocks), turns, terrain variations, speed (or changes in speed), acceleration (or changes in acceleration), road conditions (e.g., potholes, road construction, poor street lighting, poor lane markings, heavy vehicle traffic, heavy pedestrian traffic, dangerous intersections, accidents, potential accidents, construction zones), unsanitary items (i.e. syringe, excrement), high crime areas, areas of unrest, storm drains, common water retention areas, sudden braking of the bicycle 16, swerving of the bicycle 16, sudden acceleration of the bicycle 16, bicycle tire slippage, and the like) that may hinder both usage of the vehicle 12 and/or movement of the user 20 without the vehicle 12 or a vehicle at all (such as through hiking, running, walking, jogging, etc.). Any information of interest may further include a time of operation, an altitude, weather, and/or any other conditions.), and (0079: an application interface 82 may be operably coupled with the cloud 62 and/or the application 66. The application interface 82 may be configured to receive data related to a predefined boundary such that a user 20 may obtain information on the predefined boundary based on the inputted data. It will be appreciated that any person, entity, or device can supply inputs to the data store 64 through the application interface 82 for users 20 to benefit from. For example, a location for a trail, park, route, and/or other location may be entered through the application interface 82. In addition, various terrain features within the location may be identified. Further, one or more terrain feature mitigations may also be entered through the application interface 82. In addition, the monitoring system 10 may be used for various other activities such as skiing. In such instances, a skier may be warned of various terrain features and/or how to mitigate various terrain features based on the location of the electronic device 18 and/or the one or more sensors 14. In some instances, the application interface 82 can allow users to upload other fitness application history from other systems to the cloud 62 and/or the electronic device 18 of the monitoring system 10.), (Examiner notes: privilege can be found in paragraph 0083: obtain instructions of stored information related to multiple riders and that instruction information can be related event data such as 0045: a hazard, possible hazards, condition, activity, event, occurrence, and/or situation associated with the vehicle 12 or the environment in which the vehicle 12 is operating (e.g., as the vehicle 12 traverses a route), was operated (e.g., after the vehicle 12 traverses a route), and/or is to be operated. Example information of interest includes, but is not limited to, obstacles (e.g., bumps, roots, rocks), turns, terrain variations, speed (or changes in speed),the controller being further configured to control the display to display the information related to the positional relationship in a case where the privilege has been set; (0083: the electronic device 18 may communicate with the server 60 through the network/cloud 62 to obtain the stored instructions, if any exist. Upon receiving the stored instructions, the electronic device 18 may implement the instructions. The server 60 may additionally store information related to multiple electronic devices 18 and operate and/or provide instructions to the various electronic devices 18 in conjunction with the stored information with or without intervention from a user 20 and/or the electronic device 18. For example, any number of electronic devices 18, which may be operably coupled with respective vehicles 12 (such as bicycles 16), and users 20 can access the server 60 for storing and retrieving event-related data. In some instances, multiple electronic devices 18 on multiple vehicles 12 can send event-related data to the server 60 for storage in the data store 64. This collection of event-related data can be accessed by any number of users 20, and/or electronic devices 18 to assist with route planning, accident avoidance while riding the bicycle 16, and notifications of potentially dangerous areas along a route and may select a different route depending on the severity of the danger. While the vehicle 12 is being ridden along a route, the electronic device 18 may access the server 60 to identify upcoming areas where previous events occurred with different users 20 as detected through other electronic devices 18. The electronic device 18 can provide notification to the user 20 of vehicle 12 to be cautious in the upcoming area. For example, the electronic device 18 may provide a terrain feature mitigation notification that provides a suggestion to the user 20 of how to mitigate specific terrain features by advising the user 20 of what specific action(s) to take to safely overcome the upcoming terrain. For example, the electronic device 18 may provide a notification to a user 20 in the form of a suggestion to decrease a riding speed to a suggested speed and/or by a suggested percentage. In addition, as will be described in greater detail below, the electronic device 18 may additionally or alternatively map the terrain or trail and/or utilize mapped terrain trail to provide suggested routes and/or riding parameters through one or more augmented visual images/videos.), (0045: a hazard, possible hazards, condition, activity, event, occurrence, and/or situation associated with the vehicle 12 or the environment in which the vehicle 12 is operating (e.g., as the vehicle 12 traverses a route), was operated (e.g., after the vehicle 12 traverses a route), and/or is to be operated. Example information of interest includes, but is not limited to, obstacles (e.g., bumps, roots, rocks), turns, terrain variations, speed (or changes in speed), acceleration (or changes in acceleration), road conditions (e.g., potholes, road construction, poor street lighting, poor lane markings, heavy vehicle traffic, heavy pedestrian traffic, dangerous intersections, accidents, potential accidents, construction zones), unsanitary items (i.e. syringe, excrement), high crime areas, areas of unrest, storm drains, common water retention areas, sudden braking of the bicycle 16, swerving of the bicycle 16, sudden acceleration of the bicycle 16, bicycle tire slippage, and the like) that may hinder both usage of the vehicle 12 and/or movement of the user 20 without the vehicle 12 or a vehicle at all (such as through hiking, running, walking, jogging, etc.). Any information of interest may further include a time of operation, an altitude, weather, and/or any other conditions.), and (0079: an application interface 82 may be operably coupled with the cloud 62 and/or the application 66. The application interface 82 may be configured to receive data related to a predefined boundary such that a user 20 may obtain information on the predefined boundary based on the inputted data. It will be appreciated that any person, entity, or device can supply inputs to the data store 64 through the application interface 82 for users 20 to benefit from. For example, a location for a trail, park, route, and/or other location may be entered through the application interface 82. In addition, various terrain features within the location may be identified. Further, one or more terrain feature mitigations may also be entered through the application interface 82. In addition, the monitoring system 10 may be used for various other activities such as skiing. In such instances, a skier may be warned of various terrain features and/or how to mitigate various terrain features based on the location of the electronic device 18 and/or the one or more sensors 14. In some instances, the application interface 82 can allow users to upload other fitness application history from other systems to the cloud 62 and/or the electronic device 18 of the monitoring system 10.), (Examiner notes: displaying information on the display screen based on the stored information related to multiple riders such as accident avoidance while riding the bicycle 16, and notifications of potentially dangerous areas along a route and may select a different route depending on the severity of the danger and can be based on the gps location).
Samona does not teach the information related to the positional relationship including information related to a position of at least one second human-powered vehicle with respect to the first human-powered vehicle, the second human-powered vehicle being included in the plurality of human-powered vehicles of the group ride, and the privilege being set to the storage by the external controller.
However Dingle teaches the information related to the positional relationship including information related to a position of at least one second human-powered vehicle with respect to the first human-powered vehicle, the second human-powered vehicle being included in the plurality of human-powered vehicles of the group ride, and the privilege being set to the storage by the external controller; (55: FIG. 6, multiple cyclist devices can be paired with multiple bike devices 305, 310, 320 to form a group 600 of cyclists. The “grouping” feature can be used to pair multiple bikes of cyclists riding in a group. Multiple bikes can be paired to join a group by the activation of each user, for example, based on a predetermined distance and/or geolocation. Using the user interface of his or her device(s), the user can enter instructions to join the group when his or her bike is detected to be within a predetermined distance within a range of, for example, 0.5 mile to 1 mile, from the group.), (14: multiple cyclist devices can be paired with multiple bike devices to form a group of cyclists. The “grouping” feature can be used to pair multiple bikes of cyclists riding in a group. The group can be paired, for example, based on a predetermined distance and/or geolocation. When riding within a group, the system can alert the cyclists of the proximity distance to avoid a crash if a cyclist is riding too closely to the preceding cyclist), and (claim 1: A transport and repair vehicle communication system for providing a bicycle hailing service and mobile bike repair shop, the system comprising: a first biker activity tracker device attached to a biker's body; a second biker activity tracker device attached to the biker's helmet to detect biker activity data; wherein the first biker activity tracker device is in communication with the second biker activity tracker device; wherein the second biker activity tracker device includes: a first impact detection sensor configured to detect a first impact to the biker when there is contact between the biker and one or more objects; a first GPS sensor configured to determine a first location and movement of the biker; a gyroscope sensor configured to measure an orientation of the biker's body; and a biometric sensor configured to be in contact with the biker to acquire biological information of the biker; a first communication interface configured to communicate with a transportation facilitation system; a first memory configured to store first impact information of the biker, the first location and movement information of the biker, the orientation information of the biker's body and the biological information of the biker; and a first processor coupled to the first memory and wherein the first processor is configured to execute, according to one or more first commands, instructions to receive, process, and respond to the information from the first impact detection sensor, the first GPS sensor, the gyroscope sensor, and the biometric sensor; and a first bicycle activity tracker device attached to a bicycle; a second bicycle activity tracker device attached to the bicycle to detect bicycle activity data; wherein the first bicycle activity tracker device is in communication with the second bicycle activity tracker device; wherein the second bicycle activity tracker device includes: a second impact detection sensor configured to detect a second impact to the biker's bicycle when there is contact between the biker's bicycle and the one or more objects; and a second GPS sensor configured to determine a second location and movement of the bicycle; a second communication interface configured to communicate with the transportation facilitation system and wherein the second communication interface, the first communication interface, and the transportation facilitation system are configured to be in communication with each other; a second memory configured to store second impact information of the bicycle and second location and movement information of the bicycle; and a second processor coupled to the second memory and wherein the second processor is configured to execute, according to one or more second commands, instructions to receive, process, and respond to the information from the second impact detection sensor and the second GPS sensor; a database storing profiles indicating setup preferences for a plurality of bikers enrolled as users of a transportation arrangement service and at least one type of bicycle associated with each biker; one or more transportation facilitation system processors; and one or more memory resources storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more transportation facilitation system processors, cause the transportation facilitation system to: pair the first biker activity tracker device with the first bicycle activity tracker device; receive a bicycle pick-up request from a user device, which is either the first biker activity tracker device or the first bicycle activity tracker device, running a designated application of the transportation arrangement service, the bicycle pick-up request comprising a pick-up location, a number of passengers, bicycle specification information, bicycle transport accommodations, bike repair services, and accident occurrence information; and wherein the one or more transportation facilitation system processors determines the accident occurrence information by: calculating, using an algorithm, a separation distance value to indicate a distance of the biker and the bicycle relative to each other based on signals from the first GPS sensor and the second GPS sensor; and tracking and monitoring in real-time movement, position, and orientation of the second biker activity tracker device and the second bicycle activity tracker device to determine an occurrence of an accident and a severity of the accident based on the biker activity data, the bicycle activity data, the separation distance value, and a Head Injury Criterion (HIC) score), (Examiner notes: information related to positional relationship including information related to position of the first and second bicycle can be when the first bike and the second bike determined they are in the same location or close to each others and the bikes becomes paired and joins a bicycle riding group).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Samona to include the information related to the positional relationship including information related to a position of at least one second human-powered vehicle with respect to the first human-powered vehicle, the second human-powered vehicle being included in the plurality of human-powered vehicles of the group ride, and the privilege being set to the storage by the external controller of Dingle. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that the information related to the positional relationship including information related to a position of at least one second human-powered vehicle with respect to the first human-powered vehicle, the second human-powered vehicle being included in the plurality of human-powered vehicles of the group ride, and the privilege being set to the storage by the external controller would provide more information about the group riders which would help in providing accurate information to riders and therefore make the method/system more accurate.
As to Claim 17, Samona and Dingle teach the notification system according to claim 16.
Samona further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium encoded with a program to be executed by the external computer, the program being executed by the external computer to set the privilege; (0083: the electronic device 18 may communicate with the server 60 through the network/cloud 62 to obtain the stored instructions, if any exist. Upon receiving the stored instructions, the electronic device 18 may implement the instructions. The server 60 may additionally store information related to multiple electronic devices 18 and operate and/or provide instructions to the various electronic devices 18 in conjunction with the stored information with or without intervention from a user 20 and/or the electronic device 18. For example, any number of electronic devices 18, which may be operably coupled with respective vehicles 12 (such as bicycles 16), and users 20 can access the server 60 for storing and retrieving event-related data. In some instances, multiple electronic devices 18 on multiple vehicles 12 can send event-related data to the server 60 for storage in the data store 64. This collection of event-related data can be accessed by any number of users 20, and/or electronic devices 18 to assist with route planning, accident avoidance while riding the bicycle 16, and notifications of potentially dangerous areas along a route and may select a different route depending on the severity of the danger. While the vehicle 12 is being ridden along a route, the electronic device 18 may access the server 60 to identify upcoming areas where previous events occurred with different users 20 as detected through other electronic devices 18. The electronic device 18 can provide notification to the user 20 of vehicle 12 to be cautious in the upcoming area. For example, the electronic device 18 may provide a terrain feature mitigation notification that provides a suggestion to the user 20 of how to mitigate specific terrain features by advising the user 20 of what specific action(s) to take to safely overcome the upcoming terrain. For example, the electronic device 18 may provide a notification to a user 20 in the form of a suggestion to decrease a riding speed to a suggested speed and/or by a suggested percentage. In addition, as will be described in greater detail below, the electronic device 18 may additionally or alternatively map the terrain or trail and/or utilize mapped terrain trail to provide suggested routes and/or riding parameters through one or more augmented visual images/videos.), (0045: a hazard, possible hazards, condition, activity, event, occurrence, and/or situation associated with the vehicle 12 or the environment in which the vehicle 12 is operating (e.g., as the vehicle 12 traverses a route), was operated (e.g., after the vehicle 12 traverses a route), and/or is to be operated. Example information of interest includes, but is not limited to, obstacles (e.g., bumps, roots, rocks), turns, terrain variations, speed (or changes in speed), acceleration (or changes in acceleration), road conditions (e.g., potholes, road construction, poor street lighting, poor lane markings, heavy vehicle traffic, heavy pedestrian traffic, dangerous intersections, accidents, potential accidents, construction zones), unsanitary items (i.e. syringe, excrement), high crime areas, areas of unrest, storm drains, common water retention areas, sudden braking of the bicycle 16, swerving of the bicycle 16, sudden acceleration of the bicycle 16, bicycle tire slippage, and the like) that may hinder both usage of the vehicle 12 and/or movement of the user 20 without the vehicle 12 or a vehicle at all (such as through hiking, running, walking, jogging, etc.). Any information of interest may further include a time of operation, an altitude, weather, and/or any other conditions.), and (0079: an application interface 82 may be operably coupled with the cloud 62 and/or the application 66. The application interface 82 may be configured to receive data related to a predefined boundary such that a user 20 may obtain information on the predefined boundary based on the inputted data. It will be appreciated that any person, entity, or device can supply inputs to the data store 64 through the application interface 82 for users 20 to benefit from. For example, a location for a trail, park, route, and/or other location may be entered through the application interface 82. In addition, various terrain features within the location may be identified. Further, one or more terrain feature mitigations may also be entered through the application interface 82. In addition, the monitoring system 10 may be used for various other activities such as skiing. In such instances, a skier may be warned of various terrain features and/or how to mitigate various terrain features based on the location of the electronic device 18 and/or the one or more sensors 14. In some instances, the application interface 82 can allow users to upload other fitness application history from other systems to the cloud 62 and/or the electronic device 18 of the monitoring system 10.), (Examiner notes: privilege can be found in paragraph 0083: obtain instructions of stored information related to multiple riders and that instruction information can be related event data such as 0045: a hazard, possible hazards, condition, activity, event, occurrence, and/or situation associated with the vehicle 12 or the environment in which the vehicle 12 is operating (e.g., as the vehicle 12 traverses a route), was operated (e.g., after the vehicle 12 traverses a route), and/or is to be operated. Example information of interest includes, but is not limited to, obstacles (e.g., bumps, roots, rocks), turns, terrain variations, speed (or changes in speed).
As to Claim 19, Samona and Dingle teach the notification device according to claim 1.
Samona further teaches wherein the information related to the positional relationship includes a numerical indication of a distance from the first human-powered vehicle to the second human-powered vehicle; (0096: With further reference to FIGS. 7 and 8, in some embodiments, terrain mapping may be accomplished through the data collected from the one or more sensors 14, the positioning device, the date/time module 38, and/or the weather module 40 that can be used to create a multi-dimensional rendering with numerical values and/or assessments to denote the terrain. Moreover, the data used for the rendering may additionally or alternatively be based on third-party data, which may be converted into comparable data that may be used independently or in conjunction with data collected from the one or more sensors 14. The rendering may be in the form of a multi-dimensional, virtual, planimetric, topographic, thematic, navigation charts, and/or any other type of map or chart. Based on the terrain rendering and/or any other information or data, the monitoring system 10 may be configured to produce a graphic 84 on the display 54 (or anywhere else). As provided herein, the rendering and the graphic 84 produced from the rendering may be created by the server 60 and/or a remote application 66 that is provided to the electronic device 18 through the cloud 62.).
B. Claim(s) 6, 7, 10, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samona et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220083790) in view of Dingle, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 12039502) in view of Katayama et al., (U.S. Patent No. 10380895).
As to Claim 6, Samona and Dingle teach the notification device according to claim 1.
Samona and Dingle do not teach wherein the change state of the positional relationship is indicated by using an arrow.
However Katayama teaches wherein the change state of the positional relationship is indicated by using an arrow; (Thus, the notification controller 118 can instruct the notification device to guide the driver by blinking only a forward arrow of the icon display in red as shown in FIG. 18A, for example, or by indicating as shown in FIG. 18B the relative positional relationships between the self vehicle and the surrounding vehicles A and B and by displaying a forward arrow and a message “10 m ahead” as to the self vehicle.), and (See Fig. 18a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the change state of the positional relationship is indicated by using an arrow. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the change state of the positional relationship is indicated by using an arrow would help provide a system for the user to use while riding a bike and that therefore make the method/system more user friendly.
As to Claim 7, Samona, Dingle, and Katayama teach the notification device according to claim 6.
Katayama further teaches wherein the change state of the positional relationship includes at least one of a thickness of the arrow and a length of the arrow; (col. 13 lines 27-35: Thus, the notification controller 118 can instruct the notification device to guide the driver by blinking only a forward arrow of the icon display in red as shown in FIG. 18A, for example, or by indicating as shown in FIG. 18B the relative positional relationships between the self vehicle and the surrounding vehicles A and B and by displaying a forward arrow and a message “10 m ahead” as to the self vehicle.), and (See Fig. 18a).
As to Claim 10, Samona and Dingle teach the notification device according to claim 1.
Samona and Dingle do not teach wherein the display is further configured to display the information related to the positional relationship for a predetermined time interval, and then to end displaying of the information related to the positional relationship.
However Katayama teaches wherein the display is further configured to display the information related to the positional relationship for a predetermined time interval, and then to end displaying of the information related to the positional relationship; (col. 6 lines 18-31: Thus, the visual field computing unit 103 records the visual field it calculates (step ST4). Then, if there is any visual field recorded within the preceding predetermined specified time (T1) (within the past specified time (T1)) (YES at step ST5), the visual field computing unit 103 acquires visual fields of past several times recorded within the past specified time (T1) (step ST6), combines them with the visual field it calculates at step ST3 (step ST7), and outputs to the communication unit 105 (step ST8). (46) On the other hand, if there is not any visual field recorded within the past specified time (T1) (NO at step ST5), the visual field computing unit 103 outputs the visual field it calculates at step ST3 to the communication unit 105 without adding any change (step ST8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the display is further configured to display the information related to the positional relationship for a predetermined time interval, and then to end displaying of the information related to the positional relationship. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the display is further configured to display the information related to the positional relationship for a predetermined time interval, and then to end displaying of the information related to the positional relationship would provide more information about the group riders which would help in providing accurate information to riders and therefore make the method/system more accurate.
As to Claim 20, Samona and Dingle teach the notification device according to claim 7.
Samona and Dingle do not teach wherein the at least one of the thickness of the arrow and the length of the arrow increases as an amount of change in a relative distance between the first human-powered vehicle and the second human-powered vehicle increases.
However Carlson teaches wherein the at least one of the thickness of the arrow and the length of the arrow increases as an amount of change in a relative distance between the first human-powered vehicle and the second human-powered vehicle increases; (Thus, the notification controller 118 can instruct the notification device to guide the driver by blinking only a forward arrow of the icon display in red as shown in FIG. 18A, for example, or by indicating as shown in FIG. 18B the relative positional relationships between the self vehicle and the surrounding vehicles A and B and by displaying a forward arrow and a message “10 m ahead” as to the self vehicle.), and (See Fig. 18a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the at least one of the thickness of the arrow and the length of the arrow increases as an amount of change in a relative distance between the first human-powered vehicle and the second human-powered vehicle increases. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the at least one of the thickness of the arrow and the length of the arrow increases as an amount of change in a relative distance between the first human-powered vehicle and the second human-powered vehicle increases would help provide display and arrow the user can use during riding a bike and therefore make the method/system more user friendly.
C. Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samona et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220083790) in view of Dingle, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 12039502) in view of Carlson et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20160363665).
As to Claim 11, Samona and Dingle teach the notification device according to claim 1.
Samona and Dingle do not teach wherein notification of the information related to the positional relationship is executed by using at least one of a sound and a vibration.
However Carlson teaches wherein notification of the information related to the positional relationship is executed by using at least one of a sound and a vibration; (0057: The mobile electronic device 102 is further illustrated as including functionality to provide audible and tactile (vibration-based) feedback to a user. In embodiments, the mobile electronic device 102 includes a speaker 178 and a haptic feedback element 180. Speaker 178 may be any sound producing element (e.g., speaker, headset, mono or stereo headphones, etc.). Haptic feedback element 180 may be a vibration-producing component such as a motor coupled to an eccentric load.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein notification of the information related to the positional relationship is executed by using at least one of a sound and a vibration. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein notification of the information related to the positional relationship is executed by using at least one of a sound and a vibration would help notify the rider with information through vibration or speaker which would force the rider to pay attention to the notification and that therefore make the method/system more user friendly.
D. Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samona et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220083790) in view of Dingle, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 12039502) in view of Oleary et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230098395).
As to Claim 11, Samona and Dingle teach the notification device according to claim 1.
Samona and Dingle do not teach wherein the distance is determined based on a signal strength of a wireless communication signal.
However Oleary teaches wherein the distance is determined based on a signal strength of a wireless communication signal; (0640: a display generation component of the third computer system), wherein the first set of criteria includes a location criterion that the third computer system is within a threshold distance (e.g., as described in reference to FIG. 6AN) (e.g., a physical distance or a communication distance determined based on wireless signal strength or pattern).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the distance is determined based on a signal strength of a wireless communication signal. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the distance is determined based on a signal strength of a wireless communication signal would help provide information about distance based on the strength of the signal which provide a more precise information fore make the method/system more accurate.
NPL Reference
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The NPL “What Are the Types of Display Screens Used in Vehicle Displays” describes “Vehicle displays are used as a security aid, navigation aid, entertainment, safety, and information aid in vehicles. If used properly, it makes driving more fun and safe. This technology has been around for a while and has been of great to benefits many drivers. Apart from being able to display information, vehicle display can help you kill boredom during a long drive. In this article, you will learn about the types of display screens used in-vehicle displays.”.
Pertinent Art
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Reference#US20140229501A1 teaches similar invention which describes the invention relates, inter alia, to a method, a device, a system, a program and a storage medium for comparing a first piece of positional data with at least one second piece of positional data. The first piece of positional data is or can be assigned to a first transport unit or to a unit for generating positional data, while the second piece of positional data is or can be assigned to a second transport unit or to a location of a transport unit.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 03/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to applicant's arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C 103 arguments has been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/TAREK ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621B