Detailed Action
Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA status
Response to Amendment
This Final Office action is responsive to the amendment and reply filed on July 6, 2026 (hereafter “Response”). The amendments to the claims are acknowledged and have been entered.
Claims 1, 15, and 19 are now amended.
Claim 10 remains canceled.
Claims 1–9 and 11–20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
New Matter
Claim 9 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) for continuing to recite the new matter added in the previous amendment. The Applicant traverses the rejection, but the traversal is not persuasive.
Claim 9 continues to recite the new matter added by the March 13, 2026 amendment, which narrowed the scope of what the claimed CNN, CNN-LSTM, and ViT classify to “utterances and messages,” rather than the more broadly recited “interaction” in the original version of claim 9.
In contrast, the specification only discloses that the CNN, CNN-LSTM, and ViT are “trained to recognize images, including those within video, that may be interesting to a user based on analysis of other images or of image topics like a style of painting (e.g., impressionist).” (Spec. ¶ 27) (emphasis added). Images are not “utterances” or “messages” within the context of the present application. This application never explains how these models—which the Applicant allegedly configured to process images—process audio, text, or any other representation of natural language, yet the scope of the claimed utterances and messages currently includes audio, text, and other representations of natural language. To the extent that some messages may contain images or videos, the CNN, CNN-LSTM and ViT may be capable of classifying those images or videos within the messages, but that is not the same as using a CNN, CNN-LSTM, or ViT to classify the entire utterance or the entire message, and indeed, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “utterance” doesn’t even include images or videos.
The Applicant currently cites paragraphs 45 and 28 in support of the new matter. However, paragraph 45 does not say anything about a CNN, CNN-LSTM, or ViT at all. Instead, paragraph 45 only uses the generic term “model” to reference the component responsible for classifying utterances and messages. Merely disclosing that some model can classify utterances and messages falls far short of disclosing that the CNN, CNN-LSTM, or ViT specifically are the ones to perform said classification. Furthermore, reading the rest of the specification, we learn that the “model” from paragraph 45 isn’t one particular type of model, but rather, the model 216 (and/or classifier 218) comprise several different models that are each responsible for identifying or classifying different types of media (text, audio, images, video). Some of those internal models (e.g., those in claim 8) are responsible for classifying the text portions of messages or utterances, while others (those from claim 9) are responsible for classifying the image and video portions. Merely disclosing that all of the models collectively classify utterances and messages is not a disclosure of only one particular model from the collective performing the whole task on its own.
The Applicant argues that “[p]aragraph [0028] describes a topics of interest model 216 that can implement both an LDA and CNN to identify visual or textual content.” (Response 1). But that is not what paragraph 28 actually says. Paragraph 28 says “identifying both visual and textual content can be done using a combination of LDA and CNN.” (Spec. ¶ 28). Paragraph 28 says this immediately after the specification says that the LDA is for text (Spec. ¶¶ 25–26) while the CNN is for images (Spec. ¶ 27). The only reasonable way to read that sentence from paragraph 28, therefore, is that the combination of LDA and CNN identify both visual and textual content by using the LDA for the textual content and the CNN for the visual content. Using both models for visual content and then using both models for textual content does not make sense, both in the context of this particular application, but also in this field of endeavor, where it is recognized that “a Latent Dirichlet Allocation (LDA) model that analyzes text” (Spec. ¶ 25) while “a convolutional neural network (CNN) model [] is trained to recognize images.” (Spec. ¶ 27).
Since the specification never explains how to adapt these visual models for the unexpected use of non-visual media, any amendment that attempts to claim such use is new matter.
Accordingly, claim 9 stands rejected for reciting new matter.
Anticipation and Obviousness
In response to the rejection of claims 1–8 and 11–20 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0185823 A1 (“Seligmann”), the Applicant narrowed the scope of the independent claims to require the use of “a classification model” for classifying the claimed utterances and messages, and contends that Seligmann fails to disclose such a model.
The Examiner agrees, but not for any of the reasons provided by the Applicant. Accordingly, the claims will now be rejected over the obvious combination of Seligmann with U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0091912 A1 (“Covell”). Since both references are mentioned in the Applicant’s remarks, the Examiner will now address a few misconceptions raised by the Applicant.
The Applicant contends that the portion of Seligmann cited in the rejection for classifying utterances or messages (paragraph 66) merely involves the user actively searching and selecting which conversations to focus on, rather than classifying them as required by the claim. (Response 3). The Examiner agrees that paragraph 66 discloses this, but that is not the only thing paragraph 66 discloses, nor was that the portion of paragraph 66 mapped to this claim element.
Paragraph 66 is cited to show that the utterances and messages in Seligmann’s environment are “classified . . . as being related to one or more topics” as required by the claim language, because the sound sources in the three-dimensional sound space (i.e., Seligmann’s utterances and messages) may be assigned “tags” that classify them as being related them to at least one topic, or concerning a particular user. Paragraph 66 indeed discloses that users may search for these tags, but it is the pre-tagging itself that discloses and/or teaches the claimed “classifying” of utterances or messages.
The only thing not disclosed by this pre-tagging is the use of “a classification model” that the Applicant just now added to claims 1 and 19. Thus, the reason a 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejection cannot be maintained over Seligmann isn’t because Seligmann discloses searching for classified utterances and messages, but rather, it is that Seligmann does not say how it assigns the tags to the utterances and messages.
Covell, on the other hand, does teach how to classify utterances and messages at least for the reasons given in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of claim 9, which also provides an evidence-backed rationale as to why one of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the two. The Response does not address those teachings; it merely concludes, without evidence, that “it has not been shown how Covell resolves at least the deficiencies of Seligmann discussed above.” (Response 4). This argument is non-responsive to the rejection, which did in fact explain exactly what the Applicant says is missing.
Accordingly, all of claims 1–9 and 11–20 are now rejected over the obvious combination of Seligmann with Covell, at least for the reasons given in the prior rejection of claim 9, and for further reasons set forth in the rejection below.
For at least these reasons, the claims stand rejected, and the Applicant’s requests for a notice of allowance (Response 5) is respectfully denied.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 9 continues to recite the new matter added by the March 13, 2026 amendment, which narrowed the scope of what the claimed CNN, CNN-LSTM, and ViT classify to “utterances and messages,” rather than the more broadly recited “interaction” in the original version of claim 9.
In contrast, the specification only discloses that the CNN, CNN-LSTM, and ViT are “trained to recognize images, including those within video, that may be interesting to a user based on analysis of other images or of image topics like a style of painting (e.g., impressionist).” (Spec. ¶ 27) (emphasis added). Images are not “utterances” or “messages” within the context of the present application. This application never explains how these models—which the Applicant allegedly configured to process images—process audio, text, or any other representation of natural language, yet the scope of the claimed utterances and messages currently includes audio, text, and other representations of natural language. To the extent that some messages may contain images or videos, the CNN, CNN-LSTM and ViT may be capable of classifying those images or videos within the messages, but that is not the same as using a CNN, CNN-LSTM, or ViT to classify the entire utterance or the entire message, and indeed, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “utterance” doesn’t even include images or videos.
The Applicant currently cites paragraphs 45 and 28 in support of the new matter. However, paragraph 45 does not say anything about a CNN, CNN-LSTM, or ViT at all. Instead, paragraph 45 only uses the generic term “model” to reference the component responsible for classifying utterances and messages. Merely disclosing that some model can classify utterances and messages falls far short of disclosing that the CNN, CNN-LSTM, or ViT specifically are the ones to perform said classification. Furthermore, reading the rest of the specification, we learn that the “model” from paragraph 45 isn’t one particular type of model, but rather, the model 216 (and/or classifier 218) comprise several different models that are each responsible for identifying or classifying different types of media (text, audio, images, video). Some of those internal models (e.g., those in claim 8) are responsible for classifying the text portions of messages or utterances, while others (those from claim 9) are responsible for classifying the image and video portions. Merely disclosing that all of the models collectively classify utterances and messages is not a disclosure of only one particular model from the collective performing the whole task on its own.
The Applicant argues that “[p]aragraph [0028] describes a topics of interest model 216 that can implement both an LDA and CNN to identify visual or textual content.” (Response 1). But that is not what paragraph 28 actually says. Paragraph 28 says “identifying both visual and textual content can be done using a combination of LDA and CNN.” (Spec. ¶ 28). Paragraph 28 says this immediately after the specification says that the LDA is for text (Spec. ¶¶ 25–26) while the CNN is for images (Spec. ¶ 27). The only reasonable way to read that sentence from paragraph 28, therefore, is that the combination of LDA and CNN identify both visual and textual content by using the LDA for the textual content and the CNN for the visual content. Using both models for visual content and then using both models for textual content does not make sense, both in the context of this particular application, but also in this field of endeavor, where it is recognized that “a Latent Dirichlet Allocation (LDA) model that analyzes text” (Spec. ¶ 25) while “a convolutional neural network (CNN) model [] is trained to recognize images.” (Spec. ¶ 27).
Since the specification never explains how to adapt these visual models for the unexpected use of non-visual media, any amendment that attempts to claim such use is new matter.
Accordingly, claim 9 is rejected for reciting new matter.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1–9 and 11–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0185823 A1 (“Seligmann”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0091912 A1 (“Covell”).
Claim 1
Seligmann teaches:
One or more computer-readable storage media comprising instructions that when executed by processing circuitry cause the processing circuitry to:
“Embodiments within the scope of the present disclosure may [] include tangible and/or non-transitory computer-readable storage media for carrying or having computer-executable instructions or data structures stored thereon.” Seligmann ¶ 68. “Computer-executable instructions, associated data structures, and program modules represent examples of the program code means for executing steps of the methods disclosed herein.” Seligmann ¶ 68.
instantiate a virtual environment comprising a virtual two-dimensional or three-dimensional space in which a plurality of users can interact;
“The system 100 generates a three-dimensional sound space having a plurality of sound sources playing at a same time, wherein each of the plurality of sound sources is assigned a respective location in the three-dimensional sound space relative to one another, and wherein a user is assigned a current location in the three-dimensional sound space relative to each respective location (700). The plurality of sound sources can include . . . a live communication session, a recorded conversation, etc.” Seligmann ¶ 55.
classify, using a classification
Sound sources in the three-dimensional sound space may be assigned “tags” that classify them as being related them to at least one topic (e.g., “customer complaints”) or concerning a particular user (e.g. “Bob”). Seligmann ¶ 66. Sound sources may also be classified into different “groupings” that are “based on a topic, a relevance, a search request, a category, a level of detail, a ranking, a rating, a term, a title, a length, a creator, an identity, an age, an association, specific content, and/or other factors.” Seligmann ¶ 58.
identify a topic of interest for a particular user in the utterances or messages based on a topics of interest model for the particular user;
The user may select one or more “search objects” (the claimed topics of interest model) in order to instruct the system to search for sound sources that correspond to the topics identified in the search objects. Seligmann ¶ 66.
and cause a response action to be initiated in a local execution of the virtual environment presented to the particular user based on the identified topic of interest, wherein the response action includes modifying an audio or visual aspect associated with the utterance or message presented to the user.
“In one example, the user can select the search object ‘Bob’ in the system 100. In response, all the conversations that relate to Bob can attach themselves to the object representing Bob in the three-dimensional sound space. The user can then select ‘customer complaints,’ which causes an object representing the tag ‘customer complaint’ to be introduced into the three-dimensional sound space. The conversations that have been tagged ‘customer complaint’ can then self-arrange around the ‘customer complaint’ tag object. Those conversations that are tagged ‘customer complaint’ and also involve Bob can attach to both the Bob object and the ‘customer complaint’ tag object, and group together.” Seligmann ¶ 66.
In view of the foregoing, the only difference between Seligmann and the claimed invention is that Seligmann does not necessarily disclose a classification model for assigning (i.e., classifying) its tags to its utterances and messages. Seligmann merely says what to do with said tags once they’ve been assigned.
Covell, however, teaches a system comprising one or more devices configured to:
classify, using a classification model, utterances or messages by the plurality of users within the virtual environment as being related to one or more topics;
Covell teaches, among other things, several different models that analyze speech, text, and video, and classify their content into different topics. Covell ¶¶ 72 (video) and 78–79 (speech and text).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use any one or more of Covell’s classification models to provide the tags for Seligmann’s various objects, thereby using a classification model to classify utterances and messages from Seligmann’s users.
The rationale supporting this conclusion “is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.” MPEP § 2143 (subsection (I.)(A.)) (citing KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007)). In accordance with MPEP § 2143 (subsection (I.)(A.)), the factual findings leading to this rationale are supported by the evidence in this case as follows:
(1) The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. The evidence for this finding is set forth above, via the citations mapping each passage of the prior art to a corresponding claim element.
(2) Ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. The evidence for this finding is that each of the models described in Covell’s system are able to function independently from one another. The inputs and outputs to each of the models are the same regardless of which systems they are integrated into—these are each known models that take the same class of inputs, and process them in the same way.
(3) One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable, given the inputs and outputs of the models remain unchanged.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enhance Seligmann’s search object with Covell’s models.
Claim 2
Seligmann and Covell teach the computer-readable storage media of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further to
cause the response action to be initiated based on a context of the particular user in the virtual environment.
“Based on the input, the system 100 then changes each respective location of the plurality of sound sources relative to the new location in the three-dimensional sound space (704).” Seligmann ¶ 62. “The sound sources in the new three-dimensional sound space can be arranged or grouped based on one or more factors, such as similarities, differences, age, topics, rankings, ratings, etc. The user can select the sound source from the three-dimensional sound space by moving toward the sound source in the three-dimensional sound space, clicking on a graphical representation of the sound source in an interface, navigating towards the sound source using a navigation device or button, gesturing to select the sound source, gesturing to indicate a motion towards the sound source, etc.” Seligmann ¶ 63.
Claim 3
Seligmann and Covell teach the computer-readable storage media of claim 2,
wherein the context of the particular user includes one or more of a location of the particular user within the virtual environment, a vicinity of the particular user with respect to other users within the virtual environment, or an orientation of the particular user within the virtual environment.
“FIG. 6 illustrates an example user experience in a three-dimensional sound space with multiple sound sources. Here, the user’s experience navigating a three-dimensional sound space is illustrated by reference to what the user 602 perceives when navigating a college building 600 . . . . Further, the user 602 can go inside a classroom to bring the lecture from that classroom into focus. For example, the user 602 can enter the classroom C to bring the history lecture into focus. This will cause the other lectures to fade out and/or dim. If the user 602 moves to position 2, she will affect the sound she perceives by changing her location relative to the different sound sources. For example, at position 2, the user 602 will be closer to the classroom E and farther away from the classrooms A and B than she was at position 1. Thus, by moving to position 2, the user 602 will bring the lecture from classroom E into focus, and will cause the lectures from classrooms A and B to fade out and/or dim.” Seligmann ¶ 51.
Claim 4
Seligmann and Covell teach the computer-readable storage media of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further to
cause the response action to be initiated based on a behavior of the particular user.
“[T]he system 100 receives input from the user to navigate to a new location in the three-dimensional sound space (702),” Seligmann ¶ 60, and “[b]ased on the input, the system 100 then changes each respective location of the plurality of sound sources relative to the new location in the three-dimensional sound space (704).” Seligmann ¶ 62.
Claim 5
Seligmann and Covell teach the computer-readable storage media of claim 4,
wherein the behavior of the particular user includes one or more of a voice volume of the particular user, a gesture made by the particular user, or a position of the user with respect to a sensor of a device instantiating the local execution of the virtual environment that is presented to the particular user.
“The input [received at 702] can be text, audio, a gesture, a movement, a selection, a click, an event, a signal from an input device, a command, a request, a query, an instruction, a motion, an input from a software control, etc. For example, the user can use an input device, such as a joystick, to navigate to the new location in the three-dimensional sound space. As another example, the user can navigate to the new location by physically moving in the direction of the new location, as perceived by the user in the three-dimensional sound space.” Seligmann ¶ 60.
Claim 6
Seligmann and Covell teach the computer-readable storage media of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further to
cause the response action to be initiated based on a priority indication for the identified topic of interest.
“As the user navigates the three-dimensional sound space, the plurality of sound sources can dynamically self-arrange based on groupings, categories, rules, rankings, ratings, similarities, user input, context, metadata, size, sound quality, source type, etc. For example, the plurality of sound sources can dynamically self-arrange according to groupings based on a topic, a relevance, a search request, an association, a term, content, etc.” Seligmann ¶ 62.
Claim 7
Seligmann and Covell teach the computer-readable storage media of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further to
select the response action to be initiated from a set of response actions.
If the input at 702 is an input to move the user within the environment, then the system 100’s response at 704 is to “dynamically arrange the plurality of sound sources based on the new location to simulate the user’s movement through the three-dimensional sound space.” Seligmann ¶ 62.
If the input at 702 is an input of the user selecting a particular sound, then the system 100’s response at 704 is to “generate[] a new three-dimensional sound space based on sound sources related to the selected sound source.” Seligmann ¶ 63.
If the input at 702 is an input of the user selecting or inputting a “search object,” then the system 100’s response at 704 is to produce an arrangement wherein “the objects move towards the terms that they are associated with, and those objects with no associations can fall to the ground.” Seligmann ¶ 65.
Claim 8
Seligmann and Covell teach the computer-readable storage media of claim 1, wherein the instructions are to
classify utterances and messages or identify topics of interest using one of a Latent Dirichlet Allocation (LDA), a large language model (LLM), a natural language processing (NLP) model, and a non-negative matrix factorization (NMF) model.
Among the four alternatives listed in claim 8, Seligmann at least discloses using an NLP model, thereby disclosing “using one of” the foregoing four alternatives. Specifically, “the plurality of sound sources can be assigned locations based on their differences, their similarities, their relative relevance to the user, their ranking, their age, their date, their topic(s), their rating, their level of detail and/or granularity, etc.” Seligmann ¶ 58 (emphasis added). Likewise, the sound space may be organized “according to a setting, a preference, a rule, a similarity, a relevance, a criteria, a ranking, a rating, an age, a user input, a history, a context, a topic, a level of detail and/or granularity, etc.” Seligmann ¶ 59 (emphasis added).
Claim 9
Seligmann teaches the computer-readable storage media of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the use of a CNN, LTSM, or ViT model to classify utterances and messages or identify topics of interest.
Covell, however, teaches instructions to
classify utterances and messages or identify topics of interest using a convolutional neural network (CNN) model, a CNN long short-term memory (LTSM) model, or a Vision Transformer (ViT)-based model.
An image analysis system 544 is provided, in which “a frame 512-1 of video 512 may be analyzed. Using a relevant object detection algorithm, an equation or other relevant topic may be identified in the frame 512-1,” and “[i]n some embodiments, characteristics of objects may be identified by referencing an ontology,” in conjunction with “using an R-CNN” to identify the object. Covell ¶ 87.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enhance Seligmann’s search object with Covell’s image analysis system 544, which included an R-CNN to identify objects depicted in images.
The rationale supporting this conclusion “is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.” MPEP § 2143 (subsection (I.)(A.)) (citing KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007)). In accordance with MPEP § 2143 (subsection (I.)(A.)), the factual findings leading to this rationale are supported by the evidence in this case as follows:
(1) The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. The evidence for this finding is set forth above, via the citations mapping each passage of the prior art to a corresponding claim element.
(2) Ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. The evidence for this finding is that image analysis system 544 is independent from the rest of the system disclosed by Covell. That is, the inputs and outputs to image analysis system 544 are the same regardless of whether image analysis system 544 is part of system 500 or any other system.
(3) One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable, given the inputs and outputs of image analysis system 544 remain unchanged.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enhance Seligmann’s search object with Covell’s image analysis system 544.
Claim 11
Seligmann and Covell teach the computer-readable storage media of claim 10,
wherein the response action includes reorienting a display of the virtual environment presented to the particular user.
“FIG. 6 illustrates an example user experience in a three-dimensional sound space with multiple sound sources. Here, the user’s experience navigating a three-dimensional sound space is illustrated by reference to what the user 602 perceives when navigating a college building 600 . . . . Further, the user 602 can go inside a classroom to bring the lecture from that classroom into focus. For example, the user 602 can enter the classroom C to bring the history lecture into focus. This will cause the other lectures to fade out and/or dim. If the user 602 moves to position 2, she will affect the sound she perceives by changing her location relative to the different sound sources. For example, at position 2, the user 602 will be closer to the classroom E and farther away from the classrooms A and B than she was at position 1. Thus, by moving to position 2, the user 602 will bring the lecture from classroom E into focus, and will cause the lectures from classrooms A and B to fade out and/or dim.” Seligmann ¶ 51.
Claim 12
Seligmann and Covell teach the computer-readable storage media of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further to
obtain feedback from the user related to the initiated response action and modify a set of system response actions based on the feedback.
After responding to a user’s search action, “[t]he user can continue to refine the search” with subsequent refinements, causing the system 100 to output a narrower set of results. Seligmann ¶ 66. For example, responsive to a search for “Bob,” “all the conversations that relate to Bob can attach themselves to the object representing Bob in the three-dimensional sound space. The user can then select ‘customer complaints,’ which causes an object representing the tag ‘customer complaint’ to be introduced into the three-dimensional sound space.” Seligmann ¶ 66.
Claim 13
Seligmann and Covell teach the computer-readable storage media of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further to
generate the topics of interest model based on audio, visual, or textual content associated with the particular user.
In the case of the user selecting a sound source, “the user can be assigned a location relative to the sound sources and associated with the sound source.” Seligmann ¶ 63. In the case of the “search object,” the system 100 can run a query to find sound objects that are relevant to the user’s query. Seligmann ¶¶ 65–66.
In either case, “the plurality of sound sources can be assigned locations based on their differences, their similarities, their relative relevance to the user, their ranking, their age, their date, their topic(s), their rating, their level of detail and/or granularity, etc.” Seligmann ¶ 58. Likewise, the sound space may be organized “according to a setting, a preference, a rule, a similarity, a relevance, a criteria, a ranking, a rating, an age, a user input, a history, a context, a topic, a level of detail and/or granularity, etc.” Seligmann ¶ 59.
Claim 14
Seligmann and Covell teach the computer-readable storage media of claim 13,
wherein the audio, visual, or textual content associated with the particular user is stored on a device instantiating the local execution of the virtual environment presented to the particular user.
As shown in FIG. 1, the input device 190 that provides the input mentioned in the earlier rejection is part of the same local system as the processor 120 that executes the modules 162–166 responsible for creating the virtual environment. See Seligmann ¶¶ 25–26 and 28.
Claims 15–18
Claims 15 and 17–18 are directed to the same method that the computer readable storage media of claims 1, 10, and 11 cause a processor to perform as part of its normal operation. Therefore, the methods in claims 15 and 17–18 are rejected over the same findings and rationale as provided above for claims 1, 10, and 11.
Claim 16 is directed to the same method that the computer readable storage media from any one of claims 2, 4, and 6 causes a processor to perform as part of its normal operation. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected over the findings from any one or more of claims 2, 4, and/or 6.
Claim 19
Seligmann teaches:
A system comprising: one or more host computing devices to instantiate a virtual environment comprising a virtual two-dimensional or three-dimensional space in which a plurality of users can interact;
“The present disclosure provides a way to generate an immersive three-dimensional sound space. A system, method and computer-readable media are disclosed which generate an immersive three-dimensional sound space for audio searching.” Seligmann ¶ 24.
“With reference to FIG. 1, an example system includes a general-purpose computing device 100, including a processing unit (CPU or processor) 120 and a system bus 110 that couples various system components including the system memory 130 such as read only memory (ROM) 140 and random access memory (RAM) 150 to the processor 120.” Seligmann ¶ 25. “The logical operations of the various embodiments are implemented as: (1) a sequence of computer implemented steps, operations, or procedures running on a programmable circuit within a general use computer, (2) a sequence of computer implemented steps, operations, or procedures running on a specific-use programmable circuit; and/or (3) interconnected machine modules or program engines within the programmable circuits.” Seligmann ¶ 30.
and a plurality of user devices connected to the one or more host computing devices over a network, each user device to instantiate a local execution of the virtual environment; wherein each user device is to:
“The computing device 100 shown in FIG. 1 can practice all or part of the recited methods [or] can be a part of the recited systems.” Seligmann ¶ 30. With respect to the latter, Seligmann further discloses that “[e]mbodiments may also be practiced in distributed computing environments where tasks are performed by local and remote processing devices that are linked (either by hardwired links, wireless links, or by a combination thereof) through a communications network.” Seligmann ¶ 69. Under this arrangement, “the three-dimensional sound space 300,” which will be discussed in the rest of this rejection, “can be searched, browsed, and/or navigated by a group of users.” Seligmann ¶ 42.
classify, using a classification
Sound sources in the three-dimensional sound space may be assigned “tags” that classify them as being related them to at least one topic (e.g., “customer complaints”) or concerning a particular user (e.g. “Bob”). Seligmann ¶ 66. Sound sources may also be classified into different “groupings” that are “based on a topic, a relevance, a search request, a category, a level of detail, a ranking, a rating, a term, a title, a length, a creator, an identity, an age, an association, specific content, and/or other factors.” Seligmann ¶ 58.
identify a topic of interest for a particular user in the utterances or messages based on a topics of interest model for the particular user;
In the case of the user selecting a sound source, “the user can be assigned a location relative to the sound sources and associated with the sound source.” Seligmann ¶ 63. In the case of the “search object,” the system 100 can run a query to find sound objects that are relevant to the user’s query. Seligmann ¶¶ 65–66.
In either case, “the plurality of sound sources can be assigned locations based on their differences, their similarities, their relative relevance to the user, their ranking, their age, their date, their topic(s), their rating, their level of detail and/or granularity, etc.” Seligmann ¶ 58. Likewise, the sound space may be organized “according to a setting, a preference, a rule, a similarity, a relevance, a criteria, a ranking, a rating, an age, a user input, a history, a context, a topic, a level of detail and/or granularity, etc.” Seligmann ¶ 59.
and cause a response action to be initiated in the local execution of the virtual environment presented to the particular user based on the identified topic of interest, wherein the response action includes modifying an audio or visual aspect associated with the utterance or the message presented to the user.
“Based on the input, the system 100 then changes each respective location of the plurality of sound sources relative to the new location in the three-dimensional sound space (704).” Seligmann ¶ 62. “The sound sources in the new three-dimensional sound space can be arranged or grouped based on one or more factors, such as similarities, differences, age, topics, rankings, ratings, etc. The user can select the sound source from the three-dimensional sound space by moving toward the sound source in the three-dimensional sound space, clicking on a graphical representation of the sound source in an interface, navigating towards the sound source using a navigation device or button, gesturing to select the sound source, gesturing to indicate a motion towards the sound source, etc.” Seligmann ¶ 63.
In view of the foregoing, the only difference between Seligmann and the claimed invention is that Seligmann does not necessarily disclose a classification model for assigning (i.e., classifying) its tags to its utterances and messages. Seligmann merely says what to do with said tags once they’ve been assigned.
Covell, however, teaches a system comprising one or more devices configured to:
classify, using a classification model, utterances and messages by the plurality of users within the virtual environment as being related to one or more topics;
Covell teaches, among other things, several different models that analyze speech, text, and video, and classify their content into different topics. Covell ¶¶ 72 (video) and 78–79 (speech and text).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use any one or more of Covell’s classification models to provide the tags for Seligmann’s various objects, thereby using a classification model to classify utterances and messages from Seligmann’s users.
The rationale supporting this conclusion “is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.” MPEP § 2143 (subsection (I.)(A.)) (citing KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007)). In accordance with MPEP § 2143 (subsection (I.)(A.)), the factual findings leading to this rationale are supported by the evidence in this case as follows:
(1) The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. The evidence for this finding is set forth above, via the citations mapping each passage of the prior art to a corresponding claim element.
(2) Ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. The evidence for this finding is that each of the models described in Covell’s system are able to function independently from one another. The inputs and outputs to each of the models are the same regardless of which systems they are integrated into—these are each known models that take the same class of inputs, and process them in the same way.
(3) One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable, given the inputs and outputs of the models remain unchanged.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enhance Seligmann’s search object with Covell’s models.
Claim 20
Seligmann and Covell teach the system of claim 19,
wherein each user device is to cause the response action to be initiated based on at least one of context of the particular user in the virtual environment,
“Based on the input, the system 100 then changes each respective location of the plurality of sound sources relative to the new location in the three-dimensional sound space (704).” Seligmann ¶ 62. “The sound sources in the new three-dimensional sound space can be arranged or grouped based on one or more factors, such as similarities, differences, age, topics, rankings, ratings, etc. The user can select the sound source from the three-dimensional sound space by moving toward the sound source in the three-dimensional sound space, clicking on a graphical representation of the sound source in an interface, navigating towards the sound source using a navigation device or button, gesturing to select the sound source, gesturing to indicate a motion towards the sound source, etc.” Seligmann ¶ 63.
a behavior of the particular user,
“[T]he system 100 receives input from the user to navigate to a new location in the three-dimensional sound space (702),” Seligmann ¶ 60, and “[b]ased on the input, the system 100 then changes each respective location of the plurality of sound sources relative to the new location in the three-dimensional sound space (704).” Seligmann ¶ 62.
and a priority indication for the identified topic of interest.
“As the user navigates the three-dimensional sound space, the plurality of sound sources can dynamically self-arrange based on groupings, categories, rules, rankings, ratings, similarities, user input, context, metadata, size, sound quality, source type, etc. For example, the plurality of sound sources can dynamically self-arrange according to groupings based on a topic, a relevance, a search request, an association, a term, content, etc.” Seligmann ¶ 62.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.136(a).
Justin R. Blaufeld
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2151
/Justin R. Blaufeld/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2151