DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Figure 7a, Figure 7b, Figure 7c, Figure 8a, Figure 8b, Figure 8c, Figure 9a, and Figure 9b. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Figure 1, Figure 2, Figure 3, Figure 4, Figure 5, Figure 6. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
The claim(s) are narrative in form and replete with indefinite language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device. The claim(s) must be in one sentence form only. Note the format of the claims in the patent(s) cited.
For the purposes of examination, the claims have been interpreted to require the structural limitations recited, in light of functional language and intended use recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0139236 (Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a system and method for delivering non-invasive electrical and magnetic stimulation to a patient (abstract), comprising a plurality of electrodes configured to deliver electrical currents to the patient’s body, and a plurality of electromagnetic coils configured to electromagnetic stimulation to the patient’s body (Figure 10; [0013]-[0015]; [0036]; [0078]-[0083]); wherein the electrical currents and electromagnetic stimulation is configured to “stimulate healing processes, reduce pain, promote overall well-being, help alleviate symptoms, improve mobility, and enhance the body’s ability to heal itself” (The limitations “stimulate healing processes, reduce pain, promote overall well-being, help alleviate symptoms, improve mobility, and enhance the body’s ability to heal itself” are intended use. Since Lee teaches the electrical and electromagnetic stimulation is intended to provide improved treatment in the manner described in [0004]-[0013], the treatment disclosed by Lee is capable of performing the claimed function.).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020013895 (Persen et al.).
Regarding claim 2, Persen teaches a color-coded, easy-to-read Health Assessment report comprising quantified metrics that are correlated with a client’s subjective feelings (metrics, such as HRV, respiration rate, heart rate, capable of being correlated with patient’s subjective feelings (i.e., “user is feeling anxious, exasperated, concerned, pressured, tense…strained”), and allowing for practitioner identifying areas for improvement, [0065]; metrics color-coded in display: [0095]; Figure 6D).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0257986 (Damani et al.).
Regarding claim 2, Damani teaches a color-coded, easy-to-read Health Assessment report comprising quantified metrics (metrics in color-coded display, capable of being correlated with patient’s subjective feelings and allowing for practitioner identifying areas for improvement: [0126]; [0191]; Figure 13).
Conclusion
It appears the inventor(s) filed the current application pro se (i.e., without the benefit of representation by a registered patent practitioner). While inventors named as applicants in a patent application may prosecute the application pro se, lack of familiarity with patent examination practice and procedure may result in missed opportunities in obtaining optimal protection for the invention disclosed. The inventor(s) may wish to secure the services of a registered patent practitioner to prosecute the application, because the value of a patent is largely dependent upon skilled preparation and prosecution. The Office cannot aid in selecting a patent practitioner.
A listing of registered patent practitioners is available at https://oedci.uspto.gov/OEDCI/. Applicants may also obtain a list of registered patent practitioners located in their area by writing to Mail Stop OED, Director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, VA 22313-1450.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2016/0256105 (Boyle): system and method for delivering electromagnetic therapeutic stimulation, and measuring quantitative and qualitative feedback ([0042]; abstract)
US 2018/0096104 (Maley): system and method for providing health assessment report including color-coded metrics ([0057]) and qualitative feedback on patient’s feelings ([0163])
US 2020/0001041 (Kranck): system for delivering electrical and magnetic fields to targeted portion of patient’s body ([0030]; [0039])
US 2022/0361788 (Shah): system for delivering health assessment report including color-coded metrics that may be correlated with patient’s feelings ([0076])
/CARRIE R DORNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791