DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-7) in the reply filed on 02/19/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-7 are examined. Claims 8-9 are withdrawn.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 6, change: “corrects [[the]] a current cutting rate based…”
Claim 1, line 7, change: “[[the]] a prior calculated cutting rate
Claim 4, line 2, change: “the prior calculated cutting rate
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretations
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1 – “height detection unit” read as a unit [means] for detecting the height.
Claim 1 – “cutting rate calculation unit” read as a unit [means] for calculating the cut rate.
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because they use generic placeholders:
Claim 1 – “unit”
Claim 1– “unit”
coupled with functional language:
“for height detection”
“for calculating the cutting rate”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Corresponding structure is found in [0030], [0050].
Corresponding structure is found in [0054], [0069]-[0076].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the current cutting rate" in line 6. The claim further recites of “the calculated current cutting rate” in line 7. It is unclear if the cutting rate in line 6 is the same or a different cutting rate with respect to the cutting rate in line 7 since the rate in line 7 contains the term “calculated” of which is absent from the term in line 6. The ambiguity and lack of clarity of the limitation renders the claim indefinite because the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim 2, line 4, recites “the predicted cutting rate”, which lacks antecedent basis because it is unclear if the predicted cutting rate is the same as or different with respect to the calculated cutting rate.
Claim 3, line 2, recites “a previous cutting rate”. It is unclear whether the “previous cutting rate” is the same as or different with respect to “the cutting rate calculated in the past” as recited in claim 1 and claim 2.
Dependent claims are also rejected due to their dependency of a rejected independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yagi et al. (US 2020/0198094 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yagi et al. discloses a substrate polishing apparatus (10, [0040]) comprising:
a height detection unit (48, [0063]) configured to measure a surface height of a polishing member (11); and
a cutting rate calculation unit (43) configured to calculate a cutting rate of the polishing member based on the surface height ([0103], [0061], [0069], [0072]), wherein
the cutting rate calculation unit corrects the current cutting rate based on the cutting rate calculated in the past when the calculated current cutting rate falls outside a search range (i.e., the calculation unit 43 corrects the cutting rate in a situation wherein the cutting rate becomes negative and therein falls outside a search range (i.e., a negative value is an abnormal value outside of the range, [0102], wherein a preceding value of the cutting rate is used and therein the cutting rate is corrected, [0103], the search range comprises of the cut rate calculation interval, [0104]).
Regarding claim 2, Yagi et al. discloses wherein the cutting rate calculation unit (43) predicts a cutting rate by a regression model created (i.e., cut rate model, [0066]-[0067]; as shown in Fig. 17, a linear regression (i.e., a best-fit curve is used, wherein the curve represents the cut rate based on the triangular data points)) based on the cutting rate calculated in the past (i.e., the leftmost triangular point of the curve in Fig. 17), and corrects the current cutting rate by using the predicted cutting rate (i.e., in the instance of a negative cutting rate value ([0102]), the cutting rate is corrected by using the preceding cutting rate (i.e., the preceding cutting rate is interpreted as the predicted cutting rate because it is assumed that the actual cut rate of the polishing member does not drastically change and therein this rate is used as a “prediction” for the corrected cutting rate, as disclosed in lines 1-3 of [0103])).
Regarding claim 3, Yagi et al. discloses wherein the cutting rate calculation unit (43) replaces the current cutting rate (i.e., in the scenario when the cutting rate becomes negative, [0102]) with a previous cutting rate when the current cutting rate corrected by the regression model falls outside the search range (in the instance of a negative value, the value is abnormal and therein outside the search range (i.e., the cut rate calculation interval, [0104]), and therein, with respect to the linear regression model in Fig. 17, and assuming that the actual cut rate of the polishing member 11 does not drastically change ([0103]), the a previous (i.e., immediately preceding) cut rate is used ([0103])).
Regarding claim 4, Yagi et al. discloses wherein the regression model (i.e., linear regression model shown in Fig. 17) is created based on the cutting rate calculated in the past and the current cutting rate (i.e., in Fig. 17, the leftmost triangular data point is the cutting rate calculated in the past, while the current cutting rate is the second triangular data point (i.e., below the current height data point); [0103], [0066]).
Regarding claim 5, Yagi et al. discloses wherein the search range is a range (i.e., the cut rate calculation interval, [0104]) based on a cutting rate set in advance (i.e., the cutting rate is determined in advance by a combination of the polishing member and the dresser or from the initial pad height and the current pad height, [0104]).
Regarding claim 6, Yagi et al. discloses wherein a height profile of the polishing member is estimated on a basis of the cutting rate calculated by the cutting rate calculation unit (43, i.e., pad height of the polishing member can be estimated based on the cut rate, [0103], lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 7, Yagi et al. discloses a substrate processing apparatus (i.e., computer, [0052]) comprising the substrate polishing apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above).
Conclusion
/ERIC J ZAMORA ALVAREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745 03/03/2026