DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2025/0211738).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a decoding apparatus for decoding coded data (see 124 in fig. 1), the decoding apparatus comprising: a header decoder circuitry that decodes characteristics information of a neural network post-filter (e.g. see ¶ [0131]) and activation information of the neural network post-filter from the coded data (e.g. see ¶ [0132]); an attribute image decoder circuitry that decodes an attribute image (see output of 301 to 302-303 in fig. 3) from the coded data; and an attribute image filter circuitry that performs post-filtering processing of the attribute image (e.g. see ¶ [0130]), wherein the header decoder circuitry further decodes a target identifier (e.g. see ¶ [0131]), cancel information (e.g. see ¶ [0130]), and persistence information from the activation information (e.g. see ¶ [0135]), and a value of the persistence information being equal to zero specifies that a target neural-network post-filter indicated by the target identifier is used for refining a current picture only (e.g. see ¶ [0135]), and the value of the persistence information being equal to one specifies that the target neural-network post-filter indicated by the target identifier is used for refining the current picture and all subsequent pictures (e.g. see ¶ [0135]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang further discloses wherein the cancel information comprises information for the post-filtering processing (e.g. see ¶ [0130]).
Regarding claim 8, Terada discloses wherein the header decoder is further configured to decode a strength variable that is input as a channel of an input tensor in units of attribute images (see 302-303 in fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, the claim(s) recite a coding apparatus (see 114 in fig. 1) with analogous limitations to claim 1, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 11, the claim(s) analogous limitations to claim 1, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang.
Regarding claim 3, although Wang discloses wherein the header decoder is further configured to decode an attribute image count (e.g. see ¶ [0152]) and the target identifier, the cancel information, and the persistence information are, decoded for attribute images count, it is noted that Wang does not provide the particular of decoding for attribute images I, where i=0…attribute count-1.
Although it is not explicitly recited, it is conventional in the art for respectively decoding coded information and decoding to count-1. The Examiner takes official notice that respectively decoding coded information and decoding to count-1 is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to implement such practice for the benefit of compatibility to properly process coded images in industries standard decoding systems.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 8 and 10-11 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. Xie (US 2025/0150584), discloses coding/decoding with activating neural network filtering.
2. Pham Van et al. (US 2023/0108175), discloses coding/decoding with activating filtering.
Conclusion
/RICHARD T TORRENTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485