DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 42, 45, 53 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Double Patenting
Applicant’s arguments, filed 04/01/2026, with respect to double patenting have been fully considered and are persuasive. The double patenting rejections via US-12369169 and App 18521313 has been withdrawn.
35 USC § 102 / 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 36, 46, 54, 55 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Independent Claims
Claim(s) 36, 46, 54, 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (WO-2022208484-A1) in view of Zhang (US-20230035992), Hu (WO-2021028045-A1).
As to claim 36, 46, 54, 55: Gao teaches a method of wireless communication, comprising: receiving, by a wireless communication device, an indication with a number of bits, wherein the indication is indicated in a downlink control information (DCI) ([0106]); and determining, by the wireless communication device, an association between a number of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports and a number of phase tracking reference signal Signal (PTRS) ports according to the indication ([0106] In yet another embodiment, two two-bits "PTRS-DMRS association" fields, one for each TRP, may be contained in the DCI), wherein the indication is related to the number of DMRS ports associated with any codewords ([0053, 54]).
Gao may not explicitly teach wherein the number of PTRS ports and the association between the number of DMRS ports and the number of PTRS ports are determined based on rules that include: a first rule, wherein the number of PTRS ports are determined for one codeword. However, Zhang teaches wherein the number of PTRS ports and the association between the number of DMRS ports and the number of PTRS ports are determined based on rules that include: a first rule, wherein the number of PTRS ports are determined for one codeword ([0067, 148] the MCS of codeword 1 may be used to determine the time-domain density of the PTRSs transmitted by both PTRS ports 1 and 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement PTRS ports for a codeword, taught by Zhang, into the communication system, taught by Gao, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and phase noise correction. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Zhang and Gao in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Gao may not explicitly teach a second rule, wherein for a same codeword and for two antenna groups, either one or two PTRS ports are determined, and a third rule, wherein for a same codeword and a same antenna group, two PTRS ports are determined for two code division multiplexing (CDM) groups or one PTRS port is determined otherwise. However, Hu teaches a second rule, wherein for a same codeword and for two antenna groups, either one or two PTRS ports are determined (3:1-7 the set of DMRS antenna ports are assigned for one codeword and further split into a first subset of DMRS antenna ports and a second subset of DMRS antenna ports; 3:23-26 wherein the first subset of DMRS antenna ports belong to a first CDM group and the second subset of DMRS antenna ports belong to one or more CDM groups other than the first CDM group; 20:17-23 When only one PTRS port is scheduled, if a UE is scheduled with one codeword, the PTRS antenna port is associated with the lowest indexed DM-RS antenna port among the DM-RS antenna ports assigned for the PDSCH), and a third rule, wherein for a same codeword and a same antenna group, two PTRS ports (3:1-7 the set of DMRS antenna ports are assigned for one codeword and further split into a first subset of DMRS antenna ports and a second subset of DMRS antenna ports) are determined for two code division multiplexing (CDM) groups (3:23-26 wherein the first subset of DMRS antenna ports belong to a first CDM group and the second subset of DMRS antenna ports belong to one or more CDM groups other than the first CDM group) or one PTRS port is determined otherwise (20:17-23 When only one PTRS port is scheduled, if a UE is scheduled with one codeword, the PTRS antenna port is associated with the lowest indexed DM-RS antenna port among the DM-RS antenna ports assigned for the PDSCH).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement DMRS and codewords, taught by Hu, into the communication system, taught by Gao, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable communications. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Gao and Hu in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Dependent Claims
Claim(s) 37, 44, 47, 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (WO-2022208484-A1) in view of Zhang (US-20230035992), Hu (WO-2021028045-A1).
As to claim 37, 47: Gao teaches following parameters:
a number of antenna port groups;
a number of codewords;
a number of DMRS ports in any number of antenna port groups ([0053, 54]);
a number of DMRS ports across all the antenna port groups ([0053, 54]);
a number of sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets;
a number of CDM groups ([0016, 17]); or
a number of codewords associated with any antenna port groups.
As to claim 44, 52: Gao teaches the method of claim 37, wherein the number of antenna port groups is one or two ([0126]), and a same codeword is associated with antenna port groups ([0125]), and wherein the association is reflected by a transmit precoding matrix index (TPMI) design for a codebook based transmission ([0125-127] the first and second "PTRS-DMRS association" fields in the DCI are associated with a first and second TPMI fields in the DCI, respectively) and a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) for a non-codebook based transmission ([0123, 124] The first "PTRS-DMRS association" field in the DCI is associated with a first SRS resource set, and the second "PTRS-DMRS association" field in the DCI is associated with a second SRS resource set, where the first and second SRS resource sets are associated with a first and second SRI fields in the DCI if the SRI fields are present).
Claim(s) 39, 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (WO-2022208484-A1), Zhang (US-20230035992), Hu (WO-2021028045-A1) in view of Jiang (CN-108111272-A).
As to claim 39, 49: Gao teaches one the method of claim 37.
Gao may not explicitly teach wherein the one PTRS port associates with a DMRS port in one antenna port group, or up to one PTRS port is shared by a number of DMRS ports in one CDM group. However, Jiang teaches wherein the one PTRS port associates with a DMRS port in one antenna port group, or up to one PTRS port is shared by a number of DMRS ports in one CDM group (2 DMRS port group sharing a PTRS port).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement DMRS ports sharing a PTRS port, taught by Jiang, into the communication system, taught by Gao, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and reduce PTRS overhead. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Gao and Jiang in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 40, 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (WO-2022208484-A1), Zhang (US-20230035992), Hu (WO-2021028045-A1) in view of 3GPP TSG RAN WG1, “FL summary on DRMS#1,” R1-2310278, Agenda Item 8.1.3.1, Xiamen, China, Aug. 21-25, 2023.
As to claim 40, 50: Gao teaches the method of claim 37
Gao may not explicitly teach wherein the number of antenna port groups share one PTRS port. However, 3GPP teaches wherein the number of antenna port groups share one PTRS port (section 3.3 and for Ng = 4, two antenna port groups share one PTRS port because of the max number of PTRS is 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement antenna port groups sharing a PTRS port, taught by 3GPP, into the communication system, taught by Gao, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and reduce PTRS overhead. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Gao and 3GPP in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 41, 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (WO-2022208484-A1), Zhang (US-20230035992), Hu (WO-2021028045-A1) in view of Zhang (US-20200008270).
As to claim 41, 51: Gao teaches the method of claim 37.
Gao may not explicitly teach wherein a combination of the number of PTRS ports associated with the number of SRS resource set comprise at least one of: one PTRS port is associated with each SRS resource set respectively; none of PTRS port is associated with a first SRS resource set and two PTRS ports are associated with a second SRS resource set; or none of PTRS port is associated with a second SRS resource set and two PTRS ports are associated with a first SRS resource set, and wherein the combination is configured by a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE). However, Zhang ‘270 teaches wherein a combination of the number of PTRS ports associated with the number of SRS resource set comprise at least one of: one PTRS port is associated with each SRS resource set respectively ([0013, 142] the UE 102 shall expect the PT-RS port index configured in each SRS resources); none of PTRS port is associated with a first SRS resource set and two PTRS ports are associated with a second SRS resource set; or none of PTRS port is associated with a second SRS resource set and two PTRS ports are associated with a first SRS resource set, and wherein the combination is configured by a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) ([0078, 87, 88, 106]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement PTRS associated with each SRS resource, taught by Zhang ‘270, into the communication system, taught by Gao, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and implement correct phase tracking. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Gao and Zhang ‘270 in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 38, 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (WO-2022208484-A1), Zhang (US-20230035992), Hu (WO-2021028045-A1) in view of 3GPP TSG RAN WG1, “FL Summary on SRI/TPMI Enhancements; First Round,” R1-2207725, Agenda Item 9.1.4.2, Toulouse, France, Aug. 22-26, 2022.
As to claim 38, 48: Gao teaches the method of claim 36.
Gao may not explicitly teach wherein the indication is enabled when at least one of following occurs: a MaxRank for uplink transmission is configured as more than 4; more than 4 layers uplink transmission is indicated in DCI; more than 4 DMRS ports are indicated for uplink transmission; a number of antenna port groups is configured by a radio resource control RRC or indicated by DCI; a total number of antenna ports for uplink transmission is more than 4; or a number of configured or indicated SRS resource sets is more than 1. However, 3GPP teaches wherein the indication is enabled when at least one of following occurs: a MaxRank for uplink transmission is configured as more than 4; more than 4 layers uplink transmission is indicated in DCI; more than 4 DMRS ports are indicated for uplink transmission; a number of antenna port groups is configured by a radio resource control RRC or indicated by DCI; a total number of antenna ports for uplink transmission is more than 4; or a number of configured or indicated SRS resource sets is more than 1 (section 1 enable Tx UL operation to support 4 and more layers per UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement more than four layers, taught by 3GPP, into the communication system, taught by Gao, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and increase capacity. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine 3GPP and Gao in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW C OH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466