DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1 – 19, in the reply filed on April 29, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 6, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0041688 to Eisenberger (hereinafter referred to as Eisenberger).
In regard to claim 1, as shown in figures 10b-1 and 10b-2, Eisenberger discloses a system having a duct (not numbered) extending from a first environment at the “Fresh Air Inlet” to a second environment at the “Air Outlet”. A fan (1010) is configured to move air through the duct. Eisenberger includes an upstream CO-2 capture structure (1000) and a downstream CO2 capture structure that each include a sorbent structure (1004). The sorbent structure (1004) can be in an adsorption configuration in the duct, as shown by the upstream sorbent structure, or in a desorption configuration in a regeneration box (1014), as shown by the downstream sorbent structure. The upstream sorbent structure forms a first CO2 removal assembly having a CO2 adsorption configuration and a CO2 desorption configuration, and the downstream sorbent structure forms a second CO2 removal assembly having a CO2 adsorption configuration and a CO2 desorption configuration. As discussed in paragraph [0068], the system can be controlled by a controller. The controller is capable of operating the first CO2 removal assembly in the adsorption configuration to receive at least some of the air moving through the duct and the second CO2 removal assembly in the desorption configuration that does not receive air moving through the duct while CO2 is removed and then operating the first CO2 removal assembly in the desorption configuration that does not receive air moving through the duct while CO2 is removed and the second CO2 removal assembly in the adsorption configuration to receive at least some of the air moving through the duct.
In regard to claim 2, as shown in figure 10b-1, the air flows along a long axis of the duct and the duct has a cross-sectional area measured transverse to the long axis. In the CO2 adsorption configuration the first C02 removal assembly covers all of the cross-sectional area, and in the CO2 adsorption configuration the second C02 removal assembly covers all of the cross-sectional area.
In regard to claim 3, as shown in figure 10b-1, the first CO2 removal assembly and the second CO2 removal assembly are positioned in series along the long axis.
In regard to claim 4, as shown in figure 10b-1, the desorption configuration of each CO2 removal assembly is in the regeneration box (1014), which is positioned outside of the duct. The adsorption configuration of each CO2 assembly is positioned inside of the duct. The first CO2 removal assembly can be in the desorption configuration while the second CO2 removal assembly is in the adsorption configuration, and vice versa.
In regard to claim 6, as shown in figure 10b-1, the air flows along a long axis of the duct and the duct has a cross-sectional area measured transverse to the long axis and wherein the first CO2 removal assembly and the second CO2 removal assembly collectively cover all of the cross-sectional area of the duct.
In regard to claim 19, as shown in figures 10b-1 and 10b-2, Eisenberger discloses a system having a duct (not numbered) capable of extending from an external environment to an internal environment. A fan (1010) is configured to move air through the duct. The upstream and downstream sorbent structures (1004) form first and second CO2 removal assemblies capable of alternatively transitioning between CO2 adsorption mode and CO2 desorption mode so that one of either the first and second CO2 removal assemblies is in CO2 adsorption mode and receiving at least some of the air moving through the duct while the other of the first and second CO2 removal assemblies is not receiving air moving through the duct while CO2 is removed in desorption mode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 – 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eisenberger.
Eisenberger is discussed above in section 4. In regard to claim 11, Eisenberger does not disclose the sorbent structure (1004) forming the CO2 removal assemblies to comprise multiple adsorbent beds. There is no evidence the sorbent structure would function differently if it is formed of a single bed or multiple beds having the same size as the single bed when assembled together. This can be considered an example of mere duplication of parts, where multiple beds function together equivalently to a single bed. As discussed in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B), a mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Eisenberger to form the CO2 removal assembly from multiple adsorbent beds as this represents a mere duplication of parts and can allow for easier assembly of different beds into the desired overall size.
In regard to claim 12, Eisenberger discloses sorbent structure having a planar shape. Predictably, if multiple beds are used, they can be formed by multiple planar beds in parallel. There is no evidence the shape of the multiple beds is critical. Thus, it would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Eisenberger to form the multiple adsorbent beds in a planar shape as multiple planar beds can predictably form a larger planar adsorbent structure. Further, it has been held that a particular shape of a structural feature or object is matter of design choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape is significant, see In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47.
In regard to claim 13, Eisenberger does not disclose multiple adsorbent beds and this cannot disclose how multiple adsorbent beds can be attached together. Predictably, pins that extend through individual adsorbent planar beds perpendicular to a plane of the individual adsorbent planar beds could be used to link together at least some of the beds into a single adsorbent structure. It would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Eisenberger to attach the multiple planar beds together using pins that extend through individual adsorbent beds perpendicularly to a plane of the individual adsorbent beds as this represents a known means for attaching structures together.
In regard to claim 18, Eisenberger only shows first and second CO2 removal assemblies (1004). Eisenberger does not specifically disclose a third CO2 removal assembly. Using an additional CO2 removal assembly can be considered a mere duplication of parts. Having a third CO2 removal assembly can help ensure there is always one available to be used in the adsorption configuration, for example if maintenance has to be performed on one of the assemblies. This, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Eisenberger to include a third CO2 removal assembly given this represents a mere duplication of parts that help ensure an assembly is always available to operate in the adsorption configuration.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7 – 10, and 14 – 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent No. 4175932 discloses a similar adsorbent system.
/ROBERT CLEMENTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773