DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-2 and 21-38 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/16/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 21-22, 24, 29-32, 34-36, and 38 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al, US 2017/0164349 hereafter Zhu (as cited in the IDS dated 12/03/2020) in view of Yang, US 2019/0246414 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al, US 2017/0164349 hereafter Zhu (as cited in the IDS dated 12/03/2020) in view of Dao et al, US 2017/0317894.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-2, 21-22, 24, 29-32, 34-36, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al, US 2017/0164349 hereafter Zhu (as cited in the IDS dated 12/03/2020) in view of Dao et al, US 2017/0317894 hereafter Dao.
As for claim 1, Zhu discloses:
A method, comprising:
receiving, by a base station of a telecommunication network, a data packet passing through the base station, wherein the data packet is associated with a service being used or requested by a user equipment (UE) connected to the base station (Zhu, [0013], [0015], [0051], Receiving, by the base station/access point, data passing through the base station, wherein the data is associated with a service being used by the UE connected to the base station),
dynamically selecting, by the base station, and based on the one or more service attributes (Zhu, [0013], the set of transmission parameters are selected in accordance with one of a core network identifier, a core network slice identifier and a service identifier associated with the received data. The set of transmission parameters are selected from a list comprising: radio frequency/time resources; a radio access technology; a transmission waveform; a frame length; and a numerology. [0066], Different waveforms can be selected for different types of connections, and different numerologies for a single waveform can be used to differentiate between two slices serving similar connection types to maintain both service isolation and efficient use of the spectrum resources.[0095], The AP can select RAN transmission parameters in accordance with the RAN slice.), a numerology indicating a subcarrier spacing, (Zhu, [0056], the numerology parameters include the sub-carrier spacing…[0100] the numerologies associated with each slice can have a different combination of one or more of: sub-carrier spacing, cyclic prefix length, symbol length, a duration of a scheduled transmission duration and a number of symbols contained in a scheduled transmission duration…these parameters can include a specification of f/t resources, a waveform selection, numerology parameters and other such transmission characteristics.),
transmitting, by the base station, data associated with the service to the UE based on the subcarrier spacing (Zhu, [0056], [0095], [0100], Transmitting, by the AP, data associated with the service to the UE based on a RAN slice having an allocation of adjacent radio frequency resources).
Zhu does not explicitly disclose a data packet within traffic passing through the base station between a core network and a user equipment (UE) connected to the base station, wherein the data packet is associated with a service being used or requested by the UE via the traffic between the core network and the UE; analyzing, by the base station, and at a layer of a protocol stack above a physical layer, the data packet received within the traffic passing through the base station between the core network and the UE, to identify one or more service attributes of the service indicated by the data packet.
However, Dao discloses a data packet within traffic passing through the base station between a core network and a user equipment (UE) connected to the base station (Dao, Figure 1, [0069], [0136], Uplink data traffic passing through the radio node 21 between the core network 14 and the UE 24 connected to the radio node 21. Figure 11B, [0101], [0136], Data traffic passing through the radio node 215 between the CN-GW2 205 and the UE 240 connected to the radio node 215.), wherein the data packet is associated with a service being used by the UE via the traffic between the core network and the UE (Dao, Figure 1, [0069], [0136], Uplink data traffic passing through the radio node 21 between the core network 14 and the UE 24 connected to the radio node 21. Figure 11B, [0101], [0136], Data traffic passing through the radio node 215 (AN-GW) between the CN-GW2 205 and the UE 240 connected to the radio node 215.); analyzing, by the base station (Dao, Figure 11B, [0136], Analyzing/evaluating by the AN-GW the service-level for each uplink packet), and at a layer of a protocol stack above a physical layer (Dao, [0108], The service data is at the transport protocol layer which is above the physical layer), the data packet received within the traffic passing through the base station between the core network and the UE (Dao, Figure 12, 1005, 1010, 1015, 1022, [0133], [0136], The packets are uplink from the UE to through the GW to the Core/CN ), to identify one or more service attributes of the service indicated by the data packet (Dao, [0105], [0133], [0136], the AN-GW inspects each packet to identify a service level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu with a data packet within traffic passing through the base station between a core network and a user equipment (UE) connected to the base station, wherein the data packet is associated with a service being used or requested by the UE via the traffic between the core network and the UE; analyzing, by the base station, and at a layer of a protocol stack above a physical layer, the data packet received within the traffic passing through the base station between the core network and the UE, to identify one or more service attributes of the service indicated by the data packet as taught by Dao to provide improved the Quality of Experience (QoE) for users of the networks (Dao, [0004]).
As for claim 2, Zhu discloses:
The numerology is an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) numerology (Zhu, [0046], [0056], The OFDM numerology identifies the sub-carrier spacing).
As for claim 21, Zhu discloses:
One of performance goals or requirements related to latency, reliability, availability, data rate, or packet loss, a QCI, QoS parameters, QoE parameters, a priority level, a package length, a Service Profile Identifier (SPID), and an Allocation and Retention Policy (ARP) (Zhu, [0094], Using a service ID).
As for claim 22, Zhu discloses:
The one or more performance goals or requirements are associated with one or more of latency, reliability, availability, data rate, or packet loss (Zhu, [0032], [0057], The latency and/or duration requirement).
As for claim 24, Zhu discloses:
The base station dynamically selects the numerology in association with a handover operation (Zhu, FIG. 3, FIG. 11, [0013], [0073], Selecting/assigning the numerology based on the handover status)
As for claim 29, Zhu discloses:
Receiving, by the base station, a second data packet passing through the base station, wherein the second data packet is associated with a second service being used or requested by the UE (Zhu, [0013], [0015], [0051], Receiving, by the base station/access point, data passing through the base station, wherein the data is associated with a service being used by the UE connected to the base station); determining, by the base station, one or more second service attributes of the second service indicated by the data packet; dynamically selecting, by the base station, and based one or more second service attributes (Zhu, [0013], the set of transmission parameters are selected in accordance with one of a core network identifier, a core network slice identifier and a service identifier associated with the received data.The set of transmission parameters is selected from a list comprising: radio frequency/time resources; a radio access technology; a transmission waveform; a frame length; and a numerology. [0066], Different waveforms can be selected for different types of connections, and different numerologies for a single waveform can be used to differentiate between two slices serving similar connection types to maintain both service isolation and efficient use of the spectrum resources.[0095], In step 1106, the AP can select RAN transmission parameters in accordance with the RAN slice.,,), a second numerology indicating a second subcarrier spacing, (Zhu, [0056], the numerology parameters include the sub-carrier spacing…[0100] the numerologies associated with each slice can have a different combination of one or more of: sub-carrier spacing, cyclic prefix length, symbol length, a duration of a scheduled transmission duration and a number of symbols contained in a scheduled transmission duration…these parameters can include a specification of f/t resources, a waveform selection, numerology parameters and other such transmission characteristics.),
and transmitting, by the base station, second data associated with the second service to the UE based on the second subcarrier spacing (Zhu, [0056], [0095], [0100], Transmitting, by the AP, data associated with the service to the UE based on a RAN slice having an allocation of adjacent radio frequency resources).
Zhu does not explicitly disclose traffic passing through the base station between the core network and the UE, analyzing, by the base station, and at the layer, the second data packet received within the traffic passing through the base station between the core network and the UE.
However, Dao discloses traffic passing through the base station between the core network and the UE (Dao, Figure 1, [0069], [0136], Uplink data traffic passing through the radio node 21 between the core network 14 and the UE 24 connected to the radio node 21. Figure 11B, [0101], [0136], Data traffic passing through the radio node 215 (AN-GW) between the CN-GW2 205 and the UE 240 connected to the radio node 215.), analyzing, by the base station, and at the layer (Dao, [0108], The service data is at the transport protocol layer which is above the physical layer), the second data packet received within the traffic passing through the base station between the core network and the UE (Dao, Figure 11B, [0136], Analyzing/evaluating by the AN-GW the service-level for each uplink packet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu with traffic passing through the base station between the core network and the UE, analyzing, by the base station, and at the layer, the second data packet received within the traffic passing through the base station between the core network and the UE as taught by Dao to provide improved the Quality of Experience (QoE) for users of the networks (Dao, [0004]).
As for claim 30, Zhu discloses:
A base station (Zhu, FIG. 8, [0085]-[0088], The base station including the processing system and memory) of a telecommunication network, comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the base station to:
receiving, by a base station of a telecommunication network, a data packet passing through the base station, wherein the data packet is associated with a service being used or requested by a user equipment (UE) connected to the base station (Zhu, [0013], [0015], [0051], Receiving, by the base station/access point, data passing through the base station, wherein the data is associated with a service being used by the UE connected to the base station).
dynamically selecting, by the base station, and based on the one or more service attributes, a numerology indicating a subcarrier spacing, (Zhu, FIG. 3, FIG. 11, [0013], [0046], [0056]-[0058], [0094], [0095], Selecting the numerology that corresponds to numerology requirements/goals such as sub-carrier spacing, the length of a cyclic prefix, the length of an OFDM symbol, the duration of a scheduled transmission duration and the number of symbols contained in a scheduled transmission duration),
transmitting, by the base station, data associated with the service to the UE based on the subcarrier spacing (Zhu, [0056], [0095], [0100], Transmitting, by the AP, data associated with the service to the UE based on a RAN slice having an allocation of adjacent radio frequency resources).
Zhu does not explicitly disclose a data packet within traffic passing through the base station between a core network and a user equipment (UE) connected to the base station, wherein the data packet is associated with a service being used or requested by the UE via the traffic between the core network and the UE; analyzing, at a layer of a protocol stack above a physical layer, the data packet received within the traffic passing through the base station between the core network and the UE, to identify one or more service attributes of the service indicated by the data packet.
However, Dao discloses a data packet within traffic passing through the base station between a core network and a user equipment (UE) connected to the base station (Dao, Figure 1, [0069], [0136], Uplink data traffic passing through the radio node 21 between the core network 14 and the UE 24 connected to the radio node 21. Figure 11B, [0101], [0136], Data traffic passing through the radio node 215 between the CN-GW2 205 and the UE 240 connected to the radio node 215.), wherein the data packet is associated with a service being used by the UE via the traffic between the core network and the UE (Dao, Figure 1, [0069], [0136], Uplink data traffic passing through the radio node 21 between the core network 14 and the UE 24 connected to the radio node 21. Figure 11B, [0101], [0136], Data traffic passing through the radio node 215 between the CN-GW2 205 and the UE 240 connected to the radio node 215.); analyzing, (Dao, Figure 11B, [0136], Analyzing/evaluating by the AN-GW the service-level for each uplink packet), and at a layer of a protocol stack above a physical layer (Dao, [0108], The service data is at the transport protocol layer which is above the physical layer), the data packet received within the traffic passing through the base station between the core network and the UE (Dao, Figure 12, 1005, 1010, 1015, 1022, [0133], [0136], The packets are uplink from the UE to through the GW to the Core/CN ), to identify one or more service attributes of the service indicated by the data packet (Dao, [0105], [0133], [0136], the AN-GW inspects each packet to identify a service level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu with a data packet within traffic passing through the base station between a core network and a user equipment (UE) connected to the base station, wherein the data packet is associated with a service being used or requested by the UE via the traffic between the core network and the UE; analyzing, at a layer of a protocol stack above a physical layer, the data packet received within the traffic passing through the base station between the core network and the UE, to identify one or more service attributes of the service indicated by the data packet as taught by Dao to provide improved the Quality of Experience (QoE) for users of the networks (Dao, [0004]).
As for claim 31, Zhu discloses:
One of performance goals or requirements related to latency, reliability, availability, data rate, or packet loss, a QCI, QoS parameters, QoE parameters, a priority level, a package length, a Service Profile Identifier (SPID), and an Allocation and Retention Policy (ARP) (Zhu, [0094], Using a service ID).
As for claim 32, Zhu discloses:
The base station dynamically selects the numerology in association with a handover operation (Zhu, FIG. 3, [0073], Selecting/assigning the numerology based on the handover status)
As for claim 34, Zhu discloses:
Receiving, by the base station, a second data packet passing through the base station, wherein the second data packet is associated with a second service being used or requested by the UE (Zhu, [0013], [0015], [0051], Receiving, by the base station/access point, data passing through the base station, wherein the data is associated with a service being used by the UE connected to the base station); determining, by the base station, one or more second service attributes of the second service indicated by the data packet; dynamically selecting, by the base station, and based on the one or more second service attributes, a second numerology indicating a second subcarrier spacing (Zhu, FIG. 3, FIG. 11, [0013], [0046], [0056]-[0058], [0094], [0095], Selecting the numerology that corresponds to numerology requirements/goals such as sub-carrier spacing, the length of a cyclic prefix, the length of an OFDM symbol, the duration of a scheduled transmission duration and the number of symbols contained in a scheduled transmission duration),; and transmitting, by the base station, second data associated with the second service to the UE based on the second subcarrier spacing (Zhu, [0056], [0095], [0100], Transmitting, by the AP, data associated with the service to the UE based on a RAN slice having an allocation of adjacent radio frequency resources).
Zhu does not explicitly disclose traffic passing through the base station between the core network and the UE, analyzing, by the base station, and at the layer, the second data packet received within the traffic passing through the base station between the core network and the UE.
However, Dao discloses traffic passing through the base station between the core network and the UE (Dao, Figure 1, [0069], [0136], Uplink data traffic passing through the radio node 21 between the core network 14 and the UE 24 connected to the radio node 21. Figure 11B, [0101], [0136], Data traffic passing through the radio node 215 (AN-GW) between the CN-GW2 205 and the UE 240 connected to the radio node 215.), analyzing, by the base station, and at the layer (Dao, [0108], The service data is at the transport protocol layer which is above the physical layer), the second data packet received within the traffic passing through the base station between the core network and the UE (Dao, Figure 11B, [0136], Analyzing/evaluating by the AN-GW the service-level for each uplink packet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu with traffic passing through the base station between the core network and the UE, analyzing, by the base station, and at the layer, the second data packet received within the traffic passing through the base station between the core network and the UE as taught by Dao to provide improved the Quality of Experience (QoE) for users of the networks (Dao, [0004]).
As for claim 35, Zhu discloses:
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions (Zhu, FIG. 8, [0085]-[0088], The base station including the processing system and memory) that, when executed by one or more processors of a base station of a telecommunication network, cause the base station to perform operations comprising:
receiving, by a base station of a telecommunication network, a data packet passing through the base station, wherein the data packet is associated with a service being used or requested by a user equipment (UE) connected to the base station (Zhu, [0013], [0015], [0051], Receiving, by the base station/access point, data passing through the base station, wherein the data is associated with a service being used by the UE connected to the base station).
dynamically selecting, by the base station, and based on the one or more service attributes, a numerology indicating a subcarrier spacing, (Zhu, FIG. 3, FIG. 11, [0013], [0046], [0056]-[0058], [0094], [0095], Selecting the numerology that corresponds to numerology requirements/goals such as sub-carrier spacing, the length of a cyclic prefix, the length of an OFDM symbol, the duration of a scheduled transmission duration and the number of symbols contained in a scheduled transmission duration),
transmitting, by the base station, data associated with the service to the UE based on the subcarrier spacing (Zhu, [0056], [0095], [0100], Transmitting, by the AP, data associated with the service to the UE based on a RAN slice having an allocation of adjacent radio frequency resources).
Zhu does not explicitly disclose a data packet within traffic passing through the base station between a core network and a user equipment (UE) connected to the base station, wherein the data packet is associated with a service being used or requested by the UE via the traffic between the core network and the UE; analyzing, by the base station, and at a layer of a protocol stack above a physical layer, the data packet received within the traffic passing through the base station between the core network and the UE, to identify one or more service attributes of the service indicated by the data packet.
However, Dao discloses a data packet within traffic passing through the base station between a core network and a user equipment (UE) connected to the base station (Dao, Figure 1, [0069], [0136], Uplink data traffic passing through the radio node 21 between the core network 14 and the UE 24 connected to the radio node 21. Figure 11B, [0101], [0136], Data traffic passing through the radio node 215 between the CN-GW2 205 and the UE 240 connected to the radio node 215.), wherein the data packet is associated with a service being used by the UE via the traffic between the core network and the UE (Dao, Figure 1, [0069], [0136], Uplink data traffic passing through the radio node 21 between the core network 14 and the UE 24 connected to the radio node 21. Figure 11B, [0101], [0136], Data traffic passing through the radio node 215 between the CN-GW2 205 and the UE 240 connected to the radio node 215.); analyze (Dao, Figure 11B, [0136], Analyzing/evaluating by the AN-GW the service-level for each uplink packet), and at a layer of a protocol stack above a physical layer (Dao, [0108], The service data is at the transport protocol layer which is above the physical layer), the data packet received within the traffic passing through the base station between the core network and the UE (Dao, Figure 12, 1005, 1010, 1015, 1022, [0133], [0136], The packets are uplink from the UE to through the GW to the Core/CN ), to identify one or more service attributes of the service indicated by the data packet (Dao, [0105], [0133], [0136], the AN-GW inspects each packet to identify a service level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu with a data packet within traffic passing through the base station between a core network and a user equipment (UE) connected to the base station, wherein the data packet is associated with a service being used or requested by the UE via the traffic between the core network and the UE; analyzing, by the base station, and at a layer of a protocol stack above a physical layer, the data packet received within the traffic passing through the base station between the core network and the UE, to identify one or more service attributes of the service indicated by the data packet as taught by Dao to provide improved the Quality of Experience (QoE) for users of the networks (Dao, [0004]).
As for claim 36, Zhu discloses:
One of performance goals or requirements related to latency, reliability, availability, data rate, or packet loss, a QCI, QoS parameters, QoE parameters, a priority level, a package length, a Service Profile Identifier (SPID), and an Allocation and Retention Policy (ARP) (Zhu, [0094], Using a service ID).
Claim 38 is rejected for similar reasons as claims 29 and 34 above.
5. Claims 23 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al, US 2017/0164349 (as cited in the IDS dated 12/03/2020) hereafter Zhu in view of Dao et al, US 2017/0317894 applied to claims 1, 14 and 18 above, and further in view of Ryu et al, US 2018/0092064 (as cited in the IDS dated 12/03/2020) hereafter Ryu.
As for claim 23, the combination of Zhu and Dao does not explicitly disclose:
The base station determines the one or more service attributes by analyzing one or more data packets associated with the service at a Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP) layer or other layer of a protocol stack and dynamically selects the numerology at a Media Access Control (MAC) layer.
However, Ryu discloses the base station determines the one or more service attributes by analyzing one or more data packets associated with the service at a Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP) layer or other layer of a protocol stack (Ryu, [0107], The base station determines information about numerologies supported by the UE based on messages received from the MAC layer or an upper layer) and dynamically selects the numerology at a Media Access Control (MAC) layer (Ryu, [0107], The base station determines information about numerologies supported by the UE based on messages received from the MAC layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Zhu and Dao with the base station determines the one or more service attributes by analyzing one or more data packets associated with the service at a Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP) layer or other layer of a protocol stack as taught by Ryu to provide improved synchronization (Ryu, [0099]-[0108]).
As for claim 25, the combination of Zhu and Dao does not explicitly disclose one or more network attributes or operator policies indicate a set of numerologies usable via a connection between the UE and the base station following the handover operation, and the base station selects the numerology from the set of numerologies indicated by the one or more network attributes or operator policies.
However, Ryu discloses one or more network attributes or operator policies indicate a set of numerologies usable via a connection between the UE and the base station following the handover operation, and the base station selects the numerology from the set of numerologies indicated by the one or more network attributes or operator policies (Ryu, [0114]-[0116], table 1, Determining, by the base station, a plurality/set of numerologies that correspond to a service for selecting by the base station according to the goals/numerology information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Zhu and Dao with one or more network attributes or operator policies indicate a set of numerologies usable via a connection between the UE and the base station following the handover operation, and the base station selects the numerology from the set of numerologies indicated by the one or more network attributes or operator policies as taught by Ryu to provide improved synchronization (Ryu, [0099]-[0108]).
6. Claims 26-28, 33 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al, US 2017/0164349 (as cited in the IDS dated 12/03/2020) hereafter Zhu in view of Dao et al, US 2017/0317894 as applied to claims 1, 14 and 18 above, and further in view of KIM et al, US 2018/0091267 (as cited in the IDS dated 02/22/2024) hereafter KIM.
As for claim 26, the combination of Zhu and Dao does not explicitly disclose the numerology, dynamically selected by the base station, is different than a default numerology assigned upon an initial attachment of the UE to the base station.
However, KIM discloses the numerology, dynamically selected by the base station, is different than a default numerology assigned upon an initial attachment of the UE to the base station (KIM, FIG. 21, 2102, [0167], [0242], The numerology, dynamically selected by the base station, is different from the initial/default/reference numerology assigned upon the initial attachment of the UE to the base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Zhu and Dao with the numerology, dynamically selected by the base station, is different than a default numerology assigned upon an initial attachment of the UE to the base station as taught by KIM to provide improved system performance (KIM, [0014]).
As for claim 27, the combination of Zhu and Dao does not explicitly disclose determining, by the base station, a service category associated with the service, based on the one or more service attributes; and determining, by the base station, a set of numerologies that corresponds to the service category, wherein the numerology is dynamically selected from among the set of numerologies that corresponds to the service category.
However, KIM discloses determining, by the base station, a service category associated with the service, based on the one or more service attributes (KIM, FIG. 21, 2102, [0199], [0242], Considering/determining the service type); and determining, by the base station, a set of numerologies that corresponds to the service category, wherein the numerology is dynamically selected from among the set of numerologies that corresponds to the service category (KIM, FIG. 21, 2102, [0199], [0242], Dynamically determining/selecting, by the base station, the numerology set in consideration of/corresponding to the service type).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Zhu and Dao with determining, by the base station, a service category associated with the service, based on the one or more service attributes; and determining, by the base station, a set of numerologies that corresponds to the service category, wherein the numerology is dynamically selected from among the set of numerologies that corresponds to the service category as taught by KIM to provide improved system performance (KIM, [0014]).
As for claim 28, Zhu discloses:
The service category is an enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB) category (Zhu, [0033], MBB), an ultra-reliable low latency communications (URLLC) category (Zhu, [0033], URLL), or a massive machine type communications (mMTC) category (Zhu, [0033], mMTC).
As for claim 33, the combination of Zhu and Dao does not explicitly disclose determining, by the base station, a service category associated with the service, based on the one or more service attributes; and determining, by the base station, a set of numerologies that corresponds to the service category, wherein the numerology is dynamically selected from among the set of numerologies that corresponds to the service category.
However, KIM discloses determining, by the base station, a service category associated with the service, based on the one or more service attributes (KIM, FIG. 21, 2102, [0199], [0242], Considering/determining the service type); and determining, by the base station, a set of numerologies that corresponds to the service category, wherein the numerology is dynamically selected from among the set of numerologies that corresponds to the service category (KIM, FIG. 21, 2102, [0199], [0242], Dynamically determining/selecting, by the base station, the numerology set in consideration of/corresponding to the service type).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Zhu and Dao with determining, by the base station, a service category associated with the service, based on the one or more service attributes; and determining, by the base station, a set of numerologies that corresponds to the service category, wherein the numerology is dynamically selected from among the set of numerologies that corresponds to the service category as taught by KIM to provide improved system performance (KIM, [0014]).
As for claim 37, the combination of Zhu and Dao does not explicitly disclose determining, by the base station, a service category associated with the service, based on the one or more service attributes; and determining, by the base station, a set of numerologies that corresponds to the service category, wherein the numerology is dynamically selected from among the set of numerologies that corresponds to the service category.
However, KIM discloses determining, by the base station, a service category associated with the service, based on the one or more service attributes (KIM, FIG. 21, 2102, [0199], [0242], Considering/determining the service type); and determining, by the base station, a set of numerologies that corresponds to the service category, wherein the numerology is dynamically selected from among the set of numerologies that corresponds to the service category (KIM, FIG. 21, 2102, [0199], [0242], Dynamically determining/selecting, by the base station, the numerology set in consideration of/corresponding to the service type).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Zhu and Dao with determining, by the base station, a service category associated with the service, based on the one or more service attributes; and determining, by the base station, a set of numerologies that corresponds to the service category, wherein the numerology is dynamically selected from among the set of numerologies that corresponds to the service category as taught by KIM to provide improved system performance (KIM, [0014]).
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Zeng et al, US 2019/0182296 [0328] discloses the RAN or a data gateway (data GW) needs to identify a voice data packet to manage quality of service. A service tag may be added to the packet header of the voice data, and the service identifier may be marked by any layer in a protocol stack processing the voice data packet, or may be added by a RAN entity. For example, after identifying a voice data packet (or identifying that a connection carries a voice service), a RAN controller (controller) or a base station adds the service tag before forwarding the voice data packet to the data GW.
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469