DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed 12/22/2023.
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2008/0250398 (“Takahashi”), in view of Luo, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2014/0278347 (“Luo”).
With regard to Claim 1, Takahashi teaches an information transmission method, comprising:
obtaining target transmitted information ([0035] describes that an assigning unit assigns an ID to verification-target character strings; an encoding unit obtains and encodes the ID);
modifying first description information into target description information according to the target transmitted information, wherein the target description information comprises the target transmitted information and the first description information ([0035] describes that the encoded ID is concatenated with the verification-target character string and stored in a text resource file); and
controlling a target application to read the target transmitted information to obtain target information ([0036]-[0037] describe that software displays the verification -target character string; upon user selection, the software obtains and decodes the character control code to obtain the original ID, which is then used to retrieve information using the decoded ID and mapping data).
Takahashi does not teach that the obtaining and modifying are carried out on information of a target webpage, or that information is read through a system application program interface API. Luo teaches at [0042]-[0043] that text strings in source code for a web-based computer application executable in a web browser. Identifiers can be inserted for the text strings, and the code can be executed to obtain the messages. [0048] describes that the text can subsequently be requested using an API.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Luo with Takahashi. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve the functioning of the system of Takahashi by enabling its use for translating web content, in addition to the types of content described therein.
With regard to Claim 2, Takahashi teaches that the target transmitted information is a zero-width character string, and the obtaining the target transmitted information of the target webpage comprises: obtaining first transmitted information of the target webpage; and converting the first transmitted information into the zero-width character string. [0035] describes that the ID is encoded into a zero-width character control code.
With regard to Claim 3, Luo teaches that the target application to read the target transmitted information through the system API to obtain the target information comprises: controlling the target application to read the zero-width character string through the system API to obtain the target information; and after the controlling the target application to read the target transmitted information through the system API to obtain the target information, the method further comprises: converting the target information into second transmitted information through the target application.
Luo teaches at [0043] that the translatable messages are extracted using a zero-width identifier, where [0036] describes obtaining the information via an API. [0044] describes that the received messages can then be translated into target messages, which can be further transmitted as described at [0045].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Luo with Takahashi. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve the functioning of the system of Takahashi by enabling its use for translating web content, in addition to the types of content described therein.
With regard to Claim 4, Takahashi teaches that the converting the target information into the second transmitted information through the target application comprises: converting the target information into the second transmitted information through the target application in a case that a number of characters in the target information is greater than or equal to a preset number; wherein the preset number is determined based on at least one of: a carry counting system of the first transmitted information, a number of characters in the first transmitted information, and a number of zero-width character types used for converting the first transmitted information. [0041] describes a case where a number assigned as an ID can be encoded into an encoded ID which has a number of characters equal to that of the originally assigned ID.
With regard to Claim 5, Takahashi, in view of Luo teaches after the obtaining the first transmitted information of the target webpage, further comprising: sending the first transmitted information and relevant information of the target webpage to a server, so that the server stores the first transmitted information and the relevant information of the target webpage in correspondence with each other.
Takahashi teaches at [0041] that a mapping file is created which stores each of the strings along with the originally created ID. Luo teaches at [0042]-[0043] that text strings in source code for a web-based computer application executable in a web browser. Identifiers can be inserted for the text strings, and the code can be executed to obtain the messages.
Takahashi, in view of Luo further teaches that after the converting the target information into the second transmitted information through the target application, the method further comprises: sending the second transmitted information to the server through the target application, so that the server returns the relevant information of the target webpage stored in correspondence with the first transmitted information to the target application in a case that the second transmitted information matches with the first transmitted information; and receiving the relevant information of the target webpage sent by the server.
Takahashi teaches at [0035]-[0037] that the mapping file is used by decoding the zero-width ID and using the decoded ID to retrieve the location data corresponding to the ID. Luo teaches at [0042]-[0043] that text strings in source code for a web-based computer application executable in a web browser. Identifiers can be inserted for the text strings, and the code can be executed to obtain the messages.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Luo with Takahashi. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve the functioning of the system of Takahashi by enabling its use for translating web content, in addition to the types of content described therein.
Claim 13 recites a method substantially the same as the method of Claim 5, and is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 6, Takahashi, in view of Luo teaches that the first transmitted information comprises an ID of the target webpage and/or an ID of a target content corresponding to the target webpage; and the relevant information of the target webpage comprises an URL address of the target webpage and/or a current browsing position of the target webpage; or, the first transmitted information comprises current browsing position information of the target webpage; and the relevant information of the target webpage comprises the URL address of the target webpage.
Takahashi at [0035] describes that the information which is converted to the zero-width identifier is an identifier assigned to each verification target character string. [0037] describes that the system is able to output storage location data. In view of Luo’s teachings of a web-based implementation at [0042]-[0043], the location information can correspond to a URL where data is stored.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Luo with Takahashi. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve the functioning of the system of Takahashi by enabling its use for translating web content, in addition to the types of content described therein.
Claim 14 recites a method substantially the same as the method of Claim 6, and is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 7, Takahashi, in view of Luo teaches that the first transmitted information comprises the ID of the target content corresponding to the target webpage; and after the converting the target information into the second transmitted information through the target application, the method further comprises: sending the ID of the target content corresponding to the target webpage to the server through the target application, so that the server verifies whether a service type of the target content is a shared content type according to the ID of the target content, and returns the relevant information of the target webpage stored in correspondence with the first transmitted information to the target application in a case that the service type is the shared content type and the second transmitted information matches with the first transmitted information.
Takahashi teaches at [0035]-[0037] that the mapping file is used by decoding the zero-width ID and using the decoded ID to retrieve the location data corresponding to the ID. Luo teaches at [0054]-[0055] that source code can be stored at server, where the server responds to requests for modified source code, and returns the code to requesting vendors. Therefore, the server can respond to requests for content that is available for sharing by verifying the ID identifies content stored therein, and share the content in that case.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Luo with Takahashi. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve the functioning of the system of Takahashi by enabling its use for translating web content, in addition to the types of content described therein.
Claim 15 recites a method substantially the same as the method of Claim 5, and is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 8, Takahashi, in view of Luo teaches after the obtaining the first transmitted information of the target webpage, further comprising: sending the first description information and/or a shared user ID of the target webpage to the server, so that the server stores the first description information and the first transmitted information in correspondence with each other, and/or stores the shared user ID of the target webpage and the first transmitted information in correspondence with each other; after the modifying the first description information of the target webpage into the target description information according to the target transmitted information, the method further comprises: controlling the target application to read the first description information through the system API to obtain second description information; after the converting the target information into the second transmitted information through the target application, the method further comprises: sending the second description information and/or a current shared user ID of the target webpage to the server through the target application, so that the server verifies the second description information according to the first description information as stored, and/or verifies the current shared user ID as received according to the shared user ID of the target webpage as stored.
Takahashi teaches at [0036]-[0037] describe that software displays the verification -target character string; upon user selection, the software obtains and decodes the character control code to obtain the original ID, which is then used to retrieve information using the decoded ID and mapping data. Luo teaches at [0043] that the translatable messages are extracted using a zero-width identifier, where [0036] describes obtaining the information via an API. [0044] describes that the received messages can then be translated into target messages, which can be further transmitted as described at [0045]. Therefore, the server stores information, and the information is verified as stored because the server is able to retrieve it and serve it to requesting users.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Luo with Takahashi. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve the functioning of the system of Takahashi by enabling its use for translating web content, in addition to the types of content described therein.
Claim 16 recites a method substantially the same as the method of Claim 8, and is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 9, Takahashi, in view of Luo teaches that the first transmitted information is the ID of the target webpage, and after the obtaining the first transmitted information of the target webpage, the method further comprises: sending the ID of the target webpage to the server, so that the server stores the ID of the target webpage; and after the controlling the target application to convert the target information into the second transmitted information, the method further comprises: sending the ID of the target webpage and target application data to the server through the target application, so that the server sends the target application data to a Web application corresponding to the target webpage according to the ID of the target webpage.
Takahashi teaches at [0035]-[0037] that the mapping file is used by decoding the zero-width ID and using the decoded ID to retrieve the location data corresponding to the ID. Luo teaches at [0042]-[0043] that text strings in source code for a web-based computer application executable in a web browser. Identifiers can be inserted for the text strings, and the code can be executed to obtain the messages. [0054]-[0055] describe that a server receives content requests and can return the requested webpage content therefrom. Therefore, the references combine to teach storing content using IDs for webpages, which can be requested and accessed at a server that transmits the content to the requesting web application.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Luo with Takahashi. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve the functioning of the system of Takahashi by enabling its use for translating web content, in addition to the types of content described therein.
With regard to Claim 10, Luo teaches that the controlling the target application to read the target transmitted information through the system application program interface API to obtain the target information comprises: controlling the target application to read the target transmitted information through the system API to obtain the target information in a case that an update of description information of the target webpage is detected.
Luo at [0036] describes a message API which is used to access content at a server as described throughout Luo. [0050] describes that a user accesses content through the API using an identifier, and sends translated information back to the server; [0051] describes that this content can be encoded with its respective unique indices, thereby indicating that information is read by applications that has been determined to be updated when the additional translations are stored.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Luo with Takahashi. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve the functioning of the system of Takahashi by enabling its use for translating web content, in addition to the types of content described therein.
With regard to Claim 11, Takahashi, in view of Luo teaches that the modifying the first description information of the target webpage into the target description information according to the target transmitted information comprises: modifying the first description information of the target webpage into the target description information according to the target transmitted information in a case that an opening of the target webpage is detected.
Takahashi teaches at [0035] that a message identifier can be encoded into a zero-width identifier. Luo teaches at [0048]-[0049] that a user requests translatable messages through the API. In response, the server provides the translatable message along with the unique index and zero-width identifier. [0051] describes that these can be generated and transmitted when a user initiates an application, where the application is a web-based page as described at [0042]. Therefore, content can have zero-width identifiers generated and appended when a page opening is detected.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Luo with Takahashi. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve the functioning of the system of Takahashi by enabling its use for translating web content, in addition to the types of content described therein.
With regard to Claim 12, Takahashi, in view of Luo teaches that the first description information comprises title information of the target webpage. Takahashi shows at Figs. 4a and 4b that the title at the top of a page can be encoded with an identifier as described in the reference, where Luo teaches at [0042] that this can be carried out in a web page environment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Luo with Takahashi. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve the functioning of the system of Takahashi by enabling its use for translating web content, in addition to the types of content described therein.
With regard to Claim 17, Takahashi teaches an information transmission method, comprising:
receiving an ID of a target webpage sent by a sharing end and storing the ID of the target webpage ([0035] describes that an ID is assigned to character strings, and a mapping file is stored that maps encoded IDs for retrieving the character strings);
receiving the ID of the target webpage and target application data sent by the sharing end through a target application ([0035] describes that the encoded ID is concatenated with the verification-target character string and stored in a text resource file. [0036]-[0037] describe that software displays the verification-target character string; upon user selection, the software obtains and decodes the character control code to obtain the original ID ); and
sending the target application data to an application corresponding to the target webpage according to the ID of the target webpage ([0036]-[0037 describe that the application receives information using the decoded original ID and mapping data).
Takahashi does not teach a Web application. Luo teaches at [0042]-[0043] that text strings in source code for a web-based computer application executable in a web browser. Identifiers can be inserted for the text strings, and the code can be executed to obtain the messages. [0048] describes that the text can subsequently be requested using an API.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Luo with Takahashi. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve the functioning of the system of Takahashi by enabling its use for translating web content, in addition to the types of content described therein.
Conclusion
/KEITH D BLOOMQUIST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171
12/22/2025