DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Stiffler et al. (“Stiffler” Pub. No. 2014/0337071).
Per claim 1, Stiffler teaches a n information processing method, comprising:
displaying at least one workflow item on a current page in response to a workflow creation operation, and determining a selected item based on a first selection operation for the at least one workflow item, wherein each of the at least one workflow item comprises a corresponding processing personnel (fig. 4; [0076]…the configuration user may utilize the workflow builder component 74 to create one or more workflow processes 44 for the workflow application 42. [0089]…As shown in FIG. 10, the request node 92 may include a dropdown menu 98 accessible by clicking an arrow located on the request node 92. The dropdown menu 98 may display two different types of workflow steps that may be added as nodes in the flow diagram--task assignment nodes 94 and action nodes 96. A task assignment node 94 represents a task that may be assigned to one or more actors for resolving the request, and an action node 96 represents an action that may be performed by an actor to whom a task has been assigned. The dropdown menu 98 may be configured to selectively display one of those workflow steps depending on context);
generating condition options corresponding to each selected item on the current page in response to a confirmation of the selected item, and determining an item condition for each selected item based on a second selection operation for the condition options ([0090]…As shown in FIG. 12, after a node such as the task assignment node 94 has been added, the configuration user may use the dropdown menu 98 to specify the details of the task assignment node 94 (via the "Maintain Task Assignment" option), add an action node 96 that represents a available action to be taken on the task (via the "Add Action" option). [0091]… As shown in FIG. 13, the configuration user may utilize the "Add Action" option to add one or more action nodes 96 that represent actions that may be taken by the actor assigned to the task represented by the associated task assignment node 94. Similarly to adding a task assignment node 94, the configuration user only needs to enter a custom name to describe the action represented by the action node 96 to add it to the workflow process 44, without defining the details of the action nodes 96. In this example, an "Approve" action node 96 and a "Reject" action node 96 have been added, and their relationship to the "Analyst Assignment" task assignment node 94 is indicated by lines that connect the nodes in the flow diagram 90. [0094]…The task conditions element 154 may be used to specify one or more conditions that are used to determine when a task will be assigned to the user entity or system component specified to take action on the task. For example and without limitation, the task conditions element 154 of the task maintenance element 150 may include the same or substantially similar menus and functions as the validations element 124 that is used to create validation conditions for requests and shown in FIGS. 9A-9F. The process for setting up conditions for task assignments may be the same as or substantially similar to the process for setting up validation conditions for requests. [0100]… the action maintenance element 160 may be presented as a "drill-down" menu similar to the task maintenance element 150, such that once the configuration user selects the "Maintain Action" option the flow diagram 90 shown in the right hand pane 84 of the graphical user interface 80 is replaced by the action maintenance element 160, as shown in FIGS. 19-21. Once the configuration user is done using the action maintenance element 160, the user may exit this interface by selecting the "Cancel" or "Save" buttons shown in FIGS. 19-21, and the flow diagram 90 will be displayed in its place. The action maintenance element 160 may optionally include an action name element 162, a task selection element 164, an action fields element 166, an action validations element 168, an action attachments element 170, an action status element 172, and an action availability element 174, which may be presented in the form of sub-tabs that are configured to present options and receive user input related to specific details of the selected action.); and
generating and displaying a workflow preview interface on the current page based on the selected item and the item condition (fig. 4; [0091]…The diagram interface 140 of the present workflow system 40 thus allows the configuration user to create workflow processes 44 in an intuitive and easy to understand manner, without becoming bogged down in the details at each step. Visually representing the structure of the entire workflow process 44 using the flow diagram 90 also enables the configuration user to easily modify the workflow process 44, using context-specific menus for additional functions related to each node.)
Per claim 2, Stiffler teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one workflow item comprises a newly created item, the displaying the at least one workflow item on the current page comprises: generating an item editing interface in response to a triggering of the newly created item and acquiring personnel information corresponding to an addition operation in response to the addition operation on the item editing interface, and generating a new workflow item on the current page based on the personnel information ([0090]…As shown in FIG. 10, the first step of building a workflow process 44 is to add one or more task assignments based on an end user request, so that the workflow system 40 can assign a task to one or more actors to handle the request when it is first entered in the workflow application 42. [0093]…If tasks need to be assigned to more than one user entity, then a separate task assignment node 94 should be configured for each task. The type of user entity selected in the task type element 152 may represent a category of users, such as "Employees," or "Agents." [0095]…The contents of the task entity element 156 may be context-specific and based on the configuration user's inputs in the task type element 152. For example, if the configuration user selected "Employees" as the entity that the task is assigned to in the task type element 152, the task entity element 156 may automatically prompt the configuration user to enter a value to identify a specific employee, as shown in FIG. 15. The task entity element 156 may also present the configuration user with different options for specifying an entity value (i.e., identifying an individual) that the task is assigned to.)
Per claim 3, Stiffler teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the item editing interface comprises an addition option, the addition operation on the item editing interface comprises: generating a personnel selection interface in response to a selection of the addition option, displaying a selection directory on the personnel selection interface and determining a third selection operation for personnel options in the selection directory, wherein the selection directory is generated based on a preset personnel information table; and completing the addition operation in response to a confirmation of the personnel option selected by the third selection operation ([0093]…If tasks need to be assigned to more than one user entity, then a separate task assignment node 94 should be configured for each task. The type of user entity selected in the task type element 152 may represent a category of users, such as "Employees," or "Agents." [0096]…a sales transaction data record that the request type 46 is based on may contain a field that stores the employee entity who is the sales director responsible for that transaction. The configuration user may then choose that sales director employee entity value from the selected data record as the actor to whom the task should be assigned. Alternatively, as shown by option 157c, the configuration user may also obtain an entity value using one or more assignment or hierarchy tables that represent relationships between a field/entity in a related record and the entity of the task assignment. [0098]…in a sales dispute workflow application 42, requests to change certain data records representing sales transactions may be handled by different sales operations specialists (employees) depending on the customer involved in the sales transaction. In this example, the customer is an entity in the sales transaction data record, and the sales operations specialist is the user entity that tasks are assigned to. To determine the specific employee entity value to assign a task to for such a request, two entity assignment tables may be used by the configuration user to set up the task assignment. The first assignment table relates the "customers" entity to the "sales operations positions" entity (which may include specialists, analysts, and other positions) assigned to the customers, and the second assignment table relates the "sales operations positions" entity to the "employee" entity (i.e., the employees that are assigned to those positions). [0099] Where multiple assignment or hierarchy tables are used to define a task assignment, the configuration user must specify an entity to "look up" in the tables, which narrows down the available assignment tables in the system to use. In the case of an entity hierarchy table, the user must also specify the entity to "return" from the look up. The "return" entity for an assignment table does not need to be specified for an assignment table because an assignment table by definition only contains two entities and represents the relationship between values of those entities, whereas a hierarchy table may include different entities, so the "return" value must be specified.).
Per claim 4, Stiffler teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the acquiring the personnel information corresponding to the addition operation comprises: acquiring the personnel information corresponding to the personnel option selected by the third selection operation in the personnel information table ([0099] Where multiple assignment or hierarchy tables are used to define a task assignment, the configuration user must specify an entity to "look up" in the tables, which narrows down the available assignment tables in the system to use. In the case of an entity hierarchy table, the user must also specify the entity to "return" from the look up. The "return" entity for an assignment table does not need to be specified for an assignment table because an assignment table by definition only contains two entities and represents the relationship between values of those entities, whereas a hierarchy table may include different entities, so the "return" value must be specified.).
Per claim 5, Stiffler teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein after the determining the third selection operation for the personnel options in the selection directory, the method further comprises: generating a preview of the selected personnel option on the personnel selection interface according to the third selection operation ([0095]…The contents of the task entity element 156 may be context-specific and based on the configuration user's inputs in the task type element 152. For example, if the configuration user selected "Employees" as the entity that the task is assigned to in the task type element 152, the task entity element 156 may automatically prompt the configuration user to enter a value to identify a specific employee, as shown in FIG. 15. The task entity element 156 may also present the configuration user with different options for specifying an entity value (i.e., identifying an individual) that the task is assigned to.)
Per claim 6, Stiffler teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the item editing interface comprises a name input box; before the generating the new workflow item on the current page based on the personnel information, the method further comprises: acquiring an item name input through the name input box, and naming the new workflow item based on the item name ([0095]…The contents of the task entity element 156 may be context-specific and based on the configuration user's inputs in the task type element 152. For example, if the configuration user selected "Employees" as the entity that the task is assigned to in the task type element 152, the task entity element 156 may automatically prompt the configuration user to enter a value to identify a specific employee, as shown in FIG. 15. The task entity element 156 may also present the configuration user with different options for specifying an entity value (i.e., identifying an individual) that the task is assigned to.)
Per claim 7, Stiffler teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein after the generating the new workflow item on the current page based on the personnel information, the method further comprises: generating a modification option for the generated new workflow item and regenerating the item editing interface based on the generated new workflow item corresponding to the modification option in response to a triggering of the modification option ([0090]…As shown in FIG. 10, the first step of building a workflow process 44 is to add one or more task assignments based on an end user request, so that the workflow system 40 can assign a task to one or more actors to handle the request when it is first entered in the workflow application 42. [0093]…If tasks need to be assigned to more than one user entity, then a separate task assignment node 94 should be configured for each task. The type of user entity selected in the task type element 152 may represent a category of users, such as "Employees," or "Agents." [0095]…The contents of the task entity element 156 may be context-specific and based on the configuration user's inputs in the task type element 152. For example, if the configuration user selected "Employees" as the entity that the task is assigned to in the task type element 152, the task entity element 156 may automatically prompt the configuration user to enter a value to identify a specific employee, as shown in FIG. 15. The task entity element 156 may also present the configuration user with different options for specifying an entity value (i.e., identifying an individual) that the task is assigned to.)
Per claim 8, the Stiffler teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein after the generating the modification option for the generated new workflow item, the method further comprises: generating a deletion option for the generated new workflow item and deleting the generated new workflow item corresponding to the deletion option in response to a triggering of the deletion option ([0080]…One or more fields/entities may be added to the request form for the selected request type 46 using the "Add Fields" and "Add Entities" buttons of the request data element 124, as shown in FIG. 8. Additional buttons labeled "Delete," "Up," and "Down" may be included to permit the configuration user to delete a selected field/entity, or move it up or down in the list of field/entity for the request form. [0087]… In addition, the configuration user may wish to make a request type 46 unavailable where a request type 46 is part of an active workflow application 42 but is no longer valid and should be removed, in which case setting the request type 46 as unavailable allows it to be removed from active use without affecting past or existing requests of that type. In contrast, simply deleting the request type 46 may also delete all associated existing requests of that type. Although the details of the availability element 132 are not shown, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a variety of graphical user interface elements may be utilized to achieve the above functionality. [0090]… As shown in FIG. 12, after a node such as the task assignment node 94 has been added, the configuration user may use the dropdown menu 98 to specify the details of the task assignment node 94 (via the "Maintain Task Assignment" option), add an action node 96 that represents a available action to be taken on the task (via the "Add Action" option), delete the task assignment node 94 (via the "Delete" option)).
Per claim 9, Stiffler teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the condition options comprise a custom option, the determining the item condition for each selected item based on the second selection operation for the condition options comprises: generating a creation option in response to a selection of the custom option ([0083]…To specify the details of each condition, the configuration user may select a condition from the list of conditions shown in FIG. 9B, and utilize an "Edit Condition" element 136 presented by the validations element 126 to define that condition. As shown in FIG. 9C, the edit condition element 136 may be presented as a window within the maintain validation element 134, and may include dropdown menus that aid the configuration user in setting up the simple condition. [0100]… As shown in FIG. 13, the configuration user may access an action maintenance element 160 by selecting the "Maintain Action" option from the dropdown menu 98. For example and without limitation, the action maintenance element 160 may be presented as a "drill-down" menu similar to the task maintenance element 150, such that once the configuration user selects the "Maintain Action" option the flow diagram 90 shown in the right hand pane 84 of the graphical user interface 80 is replaced by the action maintenance element 160, as shown in FIGS. 19-21. Once the configuration user is done using the action maintenance element 160, the user may exit this interface by selecting the "Cancel" or "Save" buttons shown in FIGS. 19-21, and the flow diagram 90 will be displayed in its place. The action maintenance element 160 may optionally include an action name element 162, a task selection element 164, an action fields element 166, an action validations element 168, an action attachments element 170, an action status element 172, and an action availability element 174, which may be presented in the form of sub-tabs that are configured to present options and receive user input related to specific details of the selected action. [0108]…In the manner described above, a configuration user may utilize the diagram interface 140 of the present workflow system 40 to create each step of a workflow process 44 by representing those steps as a request node 92 and one or more associated task assignment nodes 94 and action nodes 96 in a flow diagram 90. Either during or after setting up the structure of the workflow process 44, the configuration user may define the details of each node by utilizing various maintenance elements that may be presented as drill-down menus, including the request maintenance element 120, task maintenance element 150, and action maintenance element 160. In this manner, even complex workflow applications 42 and processes 44 may be easily created and modified, while allowing for a great degree of flexibility and customization.)
detecting whether a custom condition has been set in response to a triggering of the creation option generating a combination interface in response to that at least one custom condition has been set, wherein the combination interface comprises at least one group of condition selection boxes, acquiring a fourth selection operation for the at least one group of condition selection boxes and generating the item condition for the selected item corresponding to the custom option based on a condition relationship of each group of condition selection boxes determined by the fourth selection operation in response to acquiring a confirmation of the combination interface (figs. 19-21; [0104]…The action validations element 168 of the action maintenance element 160 may be configured to present options and receive user input related to one or more validation conditions that may be checked for when the end user (i.e., actor) enters information into and saves an action form. Similar to the validation conditions discussed above with respect to the validations element 126 of the request maintenance element 120, the validation conditions associated with each action node 96 and the related action form may be set up so that a return value of "True" triggers an error message, meaning that if any of the validation conditions is met (evaluates to true), then an associated error message configured for that validation condition is displayed to the actor and the action form is not saved. The action validations element 168 may include the same or substantially similar interfaces and functions as the validations element 126 and associated menus shown in 9A-9F, which may be used by the configuration user to create one or more validation conditions using a combination of "simple" and "advanced" condition options. [0083]…A "simple" condition may be expressed as a logic statement that compares the value of a field to a constant value or value from another field, using one of the standard comparison operators available for conditions. The available comparison operators may include the following: equal to; not equal to; less than; greater than; less than or equal to; and greater than or equal to. When the configuration user adds a validation condition by clicking the "Add" button of the validations element 126 (as shown in FIG. 9A) the validations element 126 may present a "Maintain Validations" element 134 (as shown in FIG. 9B) that enables the configuration user to define the validation condition using one or more simple "simple" or "advanced" conditions. The same "Maintain Validations" element may be accessed by the configuration user to modify a validation condition after it has been added. As shown in FIG. 9B, the configuration user may enter one or more conditions for defining the validation condition, which will be displayed within the "Maintain Validations" element 134 in a list, and an associated error message that is displayed to the end user when the validation condition is met. Although only one simple condition is shown in FIG. 98, more than one simple condition may be specified for each validation condition, each simple condition being separated by an "AND" or "OR" logic value. [0084]… An "advanced" condition is a more open-ended expression that may include multiple logic statements utilizing logic, math, or string functions. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that there are numerous ways of building such advanced logic statements, and that the specific method and system described herein is merely one example thereof and should not be interpreted as being limiting in any way. Where advanced conditions are desired for setting up a validation condition, the present validations element 126 may include an "Expression Builder" element configured to provide options and receive user input related to defining advanced conditions. For example and without limitation, the expression builder element 138 may be accessed using a dropdown arrow 135 next to the "Validation Conditions" header of the maintain validation element 134, as shown in FIG. 9B. The expression builder element 138 may include various sub-tabs containing elements that may be used to set up each advanced condition. As shown in FIGS. 9D-9F, these sub-tabs may include various categories of data, functions, and operations, which the configuration user can use in countless combinations to create complex advanced conditions. Once one or more advanced conditions have been created using the expression builder element 138, the configuration user may organize those advanced conditions and create custom error messages using the maintain validation element 134, as shown in FIG. 9B and described above with respect to simple condition ).
Per claim 10, Stiffler teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein after the detecting whether the custom condition has been set, the method further comprises: generating a creation interface in response to that the custom condition has not been set, wherein the creation interface comprises a plurality of preset items; acquiring an input operation for each of the plurality of preset items and generating the custom condition based on an input content of the input operation in response to a confirmation of the creation interface (figs 9A-9F; [0083]…A "simple" condition may be expressed as a logic statement that compares the value of a field to a constant value or value from another field, using one of the standard comparison operators available for conditions. The available comparison operators may include the following: equal to; not equal to; less than; greater than; less than or equal to; and greater than or equal to. When the configuration user adds a validation condition by clicking the "Add" button of the validations element 126 (as shown in FIG. 9A) the validations element 126 may present a "Maintain Validations" element 134 (as shown in FIG. 9B) that enables the configuration user to define the validation condition using one or more simple "simple" or "advanced" conditions. The same "Maintain Validations" element may be accessed by the configuration user to modify a validation condition after it has been added. As shown in FIG. 9B, the configuration user may enter one or more conditions for defining the validation condition, which will be displayed within the "Maintain Validations" element 134 in a list, and an associated error message that is displayed to the end user when the validation condition is met. Although only one simple condition is shown in FIG. 98, more than one simple condition may be specified for each validation condition, each simple condition being separated by an "AND" or "OR" logic value. [0084]… An "advanced" condition is a more open-ended expression that may include multiple logic statements utilizing logic, math, or string functions. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that there are numerous ways of building such advanced logic statements, and that the specific method and system described herein is merely one example thereof and should not be interpreted as being limiting in any way. Where advanced conditions are desired for setting up a validation condition, the present validations element 126 may include an "Expression Builder" element configured to provide options and receive user input related to defining advanced conditions. For example and without limitation, the expression builder element 138 may be accessed using a dropdown arrow 135 next to the "Validation Conditions" header of the maintain validation element 134, as shown in FIG. 9B. The expression builder element 138 may include various sub-tabs containing elements that may be used to set up each advanced condition. As shown in FIGS. 9D-9F, these sub-tabs may include various categories of data, functions, and operations, which the configuration user can use in countless combinations to create complex advanced conditions. Once one or more advanced conditions have been created using the expression builder element 138, the configuration user may organize those advanced conditions and create custom error messages using the maintain validation element 134, as shown in FIG. 9B and described above with respect to simple condition ).
Per claim 11, Stiffler teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein the preset items comprise: a title filling item, a type selection item, and a content filling item; the acquiring the input operation for each of the plurality of preset items comprises: acquiring text input operations for the title filling item and the content filling item, respectively, and acquiring a selection input operation for any of the type selection item (figs. 9A-9F; [0083]…A "simple" condition may be expressed as a logic statement that compares the value of a field to a constant value or value from another field, using one of the standard comparison operators available for conditions. The available comparison operators may include the following: equal to; not equal to; less than; greater than; less than or equal to; and greater than or equal to. When the configuration user adds a validation condition by clicking the "Add" button of the validations element 126 (as shown in FIG. 9A) the validations element 126 may present a "Maintain Validations" element 134 (as shown in FIG. 9B) that enables the configuration user to define the validation condition using one or more simple "simple" or "advanced" conditions. The same "Maintain Validations" element may be accessed by the configuration user to modify a validation condition after it has been added. As shown in FIG. 9B, the configuration user may enter one or more conditions for defining the validation condition, which will be displayed within the "Maintain Validations" element 134 in a list, and an associated error message that is displayed to the end user when the validation condition is met. Although only one simple condition is shown in FIG. 98, more than one simple condition may be specified for each validation condition, each simple condition being separated by an "AND" or "OR" logic value. [0084]… An "advanced" condition is a more open-ended expression that may include multiple logic statements utilizing logic, math, or string functions. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that there are numerous ways of building such advanced logic statements, and that the specific method and system described herein is merely one example thereof and should not be interpreted as being limiting in any way. Where advanced conditions are desired for setting up a validation condition, the present validations element 126 may include an "Expression Builder" element configured to provide options and receive user input related to defining advanced conditions. For example and without limitation, the expression builder element 138 may be accessed using a dropdown arrow 135 next to the "Validation Conditions" header of the maintain validation element 134, as shown in FIG. 9B. The expression builder element 138 may include various sub-tabs containing elements that may be used to set up each advanced condition. As shown in FIGS. 9D-9F, these sub-tabs may include various categories of data, functions, and operations, which the configuration user can use in countless combinations to create complex advanced conditions. Once one or more advanced conditions have been created using the expression builder element 138, the configuration user may organize those advanced conditions and create custom error messages using the maintain validation element 134, as shown in FIG. 9B and described above with respect to simple condition. [0101]…FIG. 19 illustrates an exemplary embodiment of the action name element 162 of the action maintenance element 160. The action name element 162 may be configured to display the name of the action, which should have been specified by the configuration user when the action node 96 was added to the workflow process 33 through the diagram interface 140 and displayed in the flow diagram 90. Using the action name element 162, the configuration user may change the custom name for the action after the action node 96 has been created).
Per claim 12, Stiffler teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein one group of condition selection boxes at least comprises: a name selection box, a relationship selection box, and a content selection box the acquiring the fourth selection operation for the at least one group of condition selection boxes comprises: acquiring selections for the name selection box, the relationship selection box, and the content selection box, respectively, to complete the fourth selection operation (figs. 9A-9F; [0083]…A "simple" condition may be expressed as a logic statement that compares the value of a field to a constant value or value from another field, using one of the standard comparison operators available for conditions. The available comparison operators may include the following: equal to; not equal to; less than; greater than; less than or equal to; and greater than or equal to. When the configuration user adds a validation condition by clicking the "Add" button of the validations element 126 (as shown in FIG. 9A) the validations element 126 may present a "Maintain Validations" element 134 (as shown in FIG. 9B) that enables the configuration user to define the validation condition using one or more simple "simple" or "advanced" conditions. The same "Maintain Validations" element may be accessed by the configuration user to modify a validation condition after it has been added. As shown in FIG. 9B, the configuration user may enter one or more conditions for defining the validation condition, which will be displayed within the "Maintain Validations" element 134 in a list, and an associated error message that is displayed to the end user when the validation condition is met. Although only one simple condition is shown in FIG. 98, more than one simple condition may be specified for each validation condition, each simple condition being separated by an "AND" or "OR" logic value. [0084]… An "advanced" condition is a more open-ended expression that may include multiple logic statements utilizing logic, math, or string functions. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that there are numerous ways of building such advanced logic statements, and that the specific method and system described herein is merely one example thereof and should not be interpreted as being limiting in any way. Where advanced conditions are desired for setting up a validation condition, the present validations element 126 may include an "Expression Builder" element configured to provide options and receive user input related to defining advanced conditions. For example and without limitation, the expression builder element 138 may be accessed using a dropdown arrow 135 next to the "Validation Conditions" header of the maintain validation element 134, as shown in FIG. 9B. The expression builder element 138 may include various sub-tabs containing elements that may be used to set up each advanced condition. As shown in FIGS. 9D-9F, these sub-tabs may include various categories of data, functions, and operations, which the configuration user can use in countless combinations to create complex advanced conditions. Once one or more advanced conditions have been created using the expression builder element 138, the configuration user may organize those advanced conditions and create custom error messages using the maintain validation element 134, as shown in FIG. 9B and described above with respect to simple condition. [0101]…FIG. 19 illustrates an exemplary embodiment of the action name element 162 of the action maintenance element 160. The action name element 162 may be configured to display the name of the action, which should have been specified by the configuration user when the action node 96 was added to the workflow process 33 through the diagram interface 140 and displayed in the flow diagram 90. Using the action name element 162, the configuration user may change the custom name for the action after the action node 96 has been created).
Per claim 13, Stiffler teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein the at least one group of condition selection boxes is located in a collection area, and an “and” option is set in the collection area after the generating the combination interface, the method further comprises: generating a new group of condition selection boxes in response to acquiring a triggering of the “and” option, and setting the new group of condition selection boxes in the collection area (fig. 9A-9F; [0083]…When the configuration user adds a validation condition by clicking the "Add" button of the validations element 126 (as shown in FIG. 9A) the validations element 126 may present a "Maintain Validations" element 134 (as shown in FIG. 9B) that enables the configuration user to define the validation condition using one or more simple "simple" or "advanced" conditions. The same "Maintain Validations" element may be accessed by the configuration user to modify a validation condition after it has been added. As shown in FIG. 9B, the configuration user may enter one or more conditions for defining the validation condition, which will be displayed within the "Maintain Validations" element 134 in a list, and an associated error message that is displayed to the end user when the validation condition is met. Although only one simple condition is shown in FIG. 98, more than one simple condition may be specified for each validation condition, each simple condition being separated by an "AND" or "OR" logic value.).
Per claim 14, Stiffler teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein the combination interface comprises an “or” option, after the generating the combination interface, the method further comprises: generating a new group of condition selection boxes in response to acquiring a triggering of the “or” option, setting the new group of condition selection boxes in a new collection area, and generating a new “and” option in the new collection area (fig. 9A-9F; [0083]…When the configuration user adds a validation condition by clicking the "Add" button of the validations element 126 (as shown in FIG. 9A) the validations element 126 may present a "Maintain Validations" element 134 (as shown in FIG. 9B) that enables the configuration user to define the validation condition using one or more simple "simple" or "advanced" conditions. The same "Maintain Validations" element may be accessed by the configuration user to modify a validation condition after it has been added. As shown in FIG. 9B, the configuration user may enter one or more conditions for defining the validation condition, which will be displayed within the "Maintain Validations" element 134 in a list, and an associated error message that is displayed to the end user when the validation condition is met. Although only one simple condition is shown in FIG. 98, more than one simple condition may be specified for each validation condition, each simple condition being separated by an "AND" or "OR" logic value.).
Per claim 15, Stiffler teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein after the generating the item condition for the selected item corresponding to the custom option based on the condition relationship of each group of condition selection boxes determined by the fourth selection operation, the method further comprises: displaying a preview of the item condition on the current page according to the condition relationship of each group of condition selection boxes and an area division of each group of condition selection boxes by the collection area ([0091]…The diagram interface 140 of the present workflow system 40 thus allows the configuration user to create workflow processes 44 in an intuitive and easy to understand manner, without becoming bogged down in the details at each step. Visually representing the structure of the entire workflow process 44 using the flow diagram 90 also enables the configuration user to easily modify the workflow process 44, using context-specific menus for additional functions related to each node.).
Per claim 16, Stiffler teaches The method according to claim 9, wherein after the generating the item condition for the selected item corresponding to the custom option, the method further comprises: altering the creation option to an adjustment option and regenerating the combination interface based on the item condition corresponding to the adjustment option in response to a triggering of the adjustment option (figs. 9A-9F, [0083]…To specify the details of each condition, the configuration user may select a condition from the list of conditions shown in FIG. 9B, and utilize an "Edit Condition" element 136 presented by the validations element 126 to define that condition. As shown in FIG. 9C, the edit condition element 136 may be presented as a window within the maintain validation element 134, and may include dropdown menus that aid the configuration user in setting up the simple condition. [0100]… As shown in FIG. 13, the configuration user may access an action maintenance element 160 by selecting the "Maintain Action" option from the dropdown menu 98. For example and without limitation, the action maintenance element 160 may be presented as a "drill-down" menu similar to the task maintenance element 150, such that once the configuration user selects the "Maintain Action" option the flow diagram 90 shown in the right hand pane 84 of the graphical user interface 80 is replaced by the action maintenance element 160, as shown in FIGS. 19-21. Once the configuration user is done using the action maintenance element 160, the user may exit this interface by selecting the "Cancel" or "Save" buttons shown in FIGS. 19-21, and the flow diagram 90 will be displayed in its place. The action maintenance element 160 may optionally include an action name element 162, a task selection element 164, an action fields element 166, an action validations element 168, an action attachments element 170, an action status element 172, and an action availability element 174, which may be presented in the form of sub-tabs that are configured to present options and receive user input related to specific details of the selected action. [0108]…In the manner described above, a configuration user may utilize the diagram interface 140 of the present workflow system 40 to create each step of a workflow process 44 by representing those steps as a request node 92 and one or more associated task assignment nodes 94 and action nodes 96 in a flow diagram 90. Either during or after setting up the structure of the workflow process 44, the configuration user may define the details of each node by utilizing various maintenance elements that may be presented as drill-down menus, including the request maintenance element 120, task maintenance element 150, and action maintenance element 160. In this manner, even complex workflow applications 42 and processes 44 may be easily created and modified, while allowing for a great degree of flexibility and customization.)
Per claim 17, Stiffler teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the generating the condition options corresponding to each selected item on the current page comprises: generating an item area corresponding to each selected item on the current page and displaying the corresponding selected item and the condition options corresponding to the selected item in the item area ([0090]…As shown in FIG. 12, after a node such as the task assignment node 94 has been added, the configuration user may use the dropdown menu 98 to specify the details of the task assignment node 94 (via the "Maintain Task Assignment" option), add an action node 96 that represents a available action to be taken on the task (via the "Add Action" option). [0091]… As shown in FIG. 13, the configuration user may utilize the "Add Action" option to add one or more action nodes 96 that represent actions that may be taken by the actor assigned to the task represented by the associated task assignment node 94. Similarly to adding a task assignment node 94, the configuration user only needs to enter a custom name to describe the action represented by the action node 96 to add it to the workflow process 44, without defining the details of the action nodes 96. In this example, an "Approve" action node 96 and a "Reject" action node 96 have been added, and their relationship to the "Analyst Assignment" task assignment node 94 is indicated by lines that connect the nodes in the flow diagram 90. [0094]…The task conditions element 154 may be used to specify one or more conditions that are used to determine when a task will be assigned to the user entity or system component specified to take action on the task. For example and without limitation, the task conditions element 154 of the task maintenance element 150 may include the same or substantially similar menus and functions as the validations element 124 that is used to create validation conditions for requests and shown in FIGS. 9A-9F. The process for setting up conditions for task assignments may be the same as or substantially similar to the process for setting up validation conditions for requests. [0100]… the action maintenance element 160 may be presented as a "drill-down" menu similar to the task maintenance element 150, such that once the configuration user selects the "Maintain Action" option the flow diagram 90 shown in the right hand pane 84 of the graphical user interface 80 is replaced by the action maintenance element 160, as shown in FIGS. 19-21. Once the configuration user is done using the action maintenance element 160, the user may exit this interface by selecting the "Cancel" or "Save" buttons shown in FIGS. 19-21, and the flow diagram 90 will be displayed in its place. The action maintenance element 160 may optionally include an action name element 162, a task selection element 164, an action fields element 166, an action validations element 168, an action attachments element 170, an action status element 172, and an action availability element 174, which may be presented in the form of sub-tabs that are configured to present options and receive user input related to specific details of the selected action.)
Per claim 19, Stiffler teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein after the displaying the workflow preview interface on the current page, the method further comprises: generating an association option and determining whether a corresponding working document for workflow is present through a selection of the association option and generating the working document based on the selected item and the item condition in response to an absence of the corresponding working document ([0085]I…the request maintenance element 120 may further include an attachments element 128, which may be presented as a sub-tab and is configured to present options and receive user input related to whether an end user entering a request is given the option to upload one or more files that are saved with the request as attachments. These attachments may be used to provide further information supporting the request. For example, where the request is for an expense reimbursement, useful attachments may include copies of receipts. Using the attachments element 128, the configuration user may specify whether a particular request type 46 does not allow attachments, allows attachments but does not require them, or requires at least one attachment. Any file included as an attachment with the request can be saved in the workflow or SPM system 40, 50, so that the file may be viewed along with the request record, such as by an actor accessing the request record from a customized portal view. Although the details of the attachments element 128 are not shown, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a variety of graphical user interface elements may be utilized to achieve the above functionality.)
Claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stiffler et al. (“Stiffler” Pub. No. 2014/0337071) and Laetham et al. (“Laetham”, Pat. No. US 2017/0329506).
Per claim 18, Stiffler teaches the method according to claim 17, but wherein after the generating the item area corresponding to each selected item on the current page, the method further comprises: in response to a dragging operation on any item area, adjusting a position relationship between the any item area and other item areas according to a direction of the dragging operation.
However, Laetham teaches in response to a dragging operation on any item area, adjusting a position relationship between the any item area and other item areas according to a direction of the dragging operation ([0089]-[0089]… A defined workflow has defined input and output variables that in certain cases may be desirable to reuse. Groups of activities can be selected on the workflow canvas to form another workflow. For example, a selected group of activities can be dragged out of the workflow canvas to form another workflow.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) to include the teaching of Laetham in the invention of Stiffler in oder to provide the users with a defined workflow has defined workflow items that in certain cases may be desirable to reuse.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Joseph (Pub. No. US 2023/0410049) discloses generating and executing a workflow program.
Shakhnovich (Pub. No. 2020/01516300) discloses automated electronic document workflows.
Inquiries
/THANH T VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179