DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “blocking strips” (plural) as recited in claim 7 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. It is noted that Figure 1 shows a single blocking strip (5), but does not disclose a plurality of blocking strips. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claim 1, the phrase “a sunken arc-shaped inclined plane” is indefinite because it is unclear how a “plane” can be “arc-shaped.” By definition, an arc-shape is not planar, and a plane is not arc-shaped. Therefore, it is unclear whether the element is planar or arc-shaped.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase “all resist to the rear side plate perpendicularly” is indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by “resist” to the rear side plate. For purposes of examination, this phrase will be interpreted as --all extend to the rear side plate perpendicularly--.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase “the reinforcing ribs penetrate through up and down” is indefinite because it is unclear what the ribs are “penetrating.” For purposes of examination, this phrase will be interpreted as --the reinforcing ribs extend up and down--.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase “the part that the carrying part (2) resists to the slope part” is indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by “resist[ing] to the slope part.” For purposes of examination, this phrase will be interpreted as --the part of the carrying part that connects to the slope part--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (D1,058,989) in view of Kress (EP 3530610) (machine translation attached) and Widgery (US 11,618,418).
Regarding independent claim 1, Zhang discloses a wheel lifting pad for a sports car (see Title, Claim, FIGS. 1-10), comprising a slope part (A) (see Annotated FIG. 1, below) and a carrying part (B) (see Annotated FIG. 1, below) which are integrally arranged (see FIG. 1), and an upper end of the carrying part has a sunken arc-shaped inclined plane (C) (see Annotated FIG. 1, below).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose the dip angle of the slope part or the length or the length and height of the slope part.
Kress teaches a wheel lifting pad (see e.g. machine translation, ¶ 0016) comprising a slope part (1), wherein a dip angle (13) between the slope part and a horizontal plane is ∠ α, 10° ≤ ∠ α ≤ 30° (see ¶ 0028), the slope part has a length (LR) of d, 20 cm ≤ d ≤ 50 cm (see ¶ 0031), and a maximum height (HU) of h, 10 cm ≤ h < 15 cm (see ¶ 0033).
It would have been obvious to configure the wheel lifting pad of Zhang to have the dimensions of the wheel lifting pad of Kress to utilize known dimensions that are suitable for use in wheel lifting pads.
Zhang discloses a dip angle between the carrying part and the horizontal plane (see FIG. 1), but does not explicitly disclose that the dip angle between the carrying part and the horizontal plane is ∠ β, 60° ≤ ∠ β ≤ 90°.
Widgery teaches a wheel pad (see Abstract, FIG. 8), wherein a dip angle (216) between a carrying part (100, 126) and the horizontal plane (202) (see FIG. 8) is ∠ β, 60° ≤ ∠ β ≤ 90° (see col. 7, lines 3-25).
It would have been obvious to configure the dip angle between the carrying part and the horizontal plane in Zhang to be within the claimed range to maximize the load-bearing capacity of the carrying part (see e.g. Widgery, col. 7, lines 3-25).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses that the carrying part comprises a first left side plate (D) (see Annotated FIG. 1, above), a first right side plate (E) (see Annotated FIG. 1, above), a first middle side plate (F) (see Annotated FIG. 1, above) and a rear side plate (G) (see Annotated FIG. 1, above), the first left side plate, the first right side plate and the first middle side plate are arranged in a manner of being parallel to each other (see FIG. 1), and one end of the first left side plate, one end of the first right side plate and one end of the first middle side plate all resist to the rear side plate perpendicularly (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the slope part comprises a second left side plate (H) (see Annotated FIG. 1, above), a second right side plate (I) (see Annotated FIG. 1, above), a second middle side plate (J) (see Annotated FIG. 1, above) and a front side plate (K) (see Annotated FIG. 1, above), and the second left side plate, the second right side plate and the second middle side plate are respectively formed by extending the first left side plate, the first right side plate and the first middle side plate to the front side plate (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses that the rear side plate is provided with a baffle (L) (see Annotated FIG. 1, above), and the baffle is raised upwards along an upper part of the rear side plate (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses that reinforcing ribs (M) (see Annotated FIG. 1, above) are arranged between the first left side plate and the first middle side plate (see Annotated FIG. 1, above), between the first right side plate and the first middle side plate (see Annotated FIG. 1, above), between the second left side plate and the second middle side plate (see Annotated FIG. 1, above), and between the second right side plate and the second middle side plate (see Annotated FIG. 1, above), and the reinforcing ribs penetrate through up and down (see Annotated FIG. 1, above).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses that the reinforcing ribs are regularly or irregularly arranged (see Annotated FIG. 1, above).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses that the front side plate and/or the carrying part are provided with hanging holes (N) (see Annotated FIG. 1, above).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses an included angle between the first left side plate and the rear side plate or between the first right side plate and the rear side plate (see FIGS. 5, 6).
Zhang, however, does not disclose that the included angle is ∠ Ω, 80° ≤ ∠ Ω ≤ 90°. However, “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” (see MPEP 2144.05.II.A) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). In the present case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the angled configuration as disclosed in Zhang provides stability to the wheel lifting pad by widening the base. As such, it would have only been routine experimentation to produce an included angle ∠ Ω, 80° ≤ ∠ Ω ≤ 90° to optimize the stability of the wheel lifting pad, without unduly increasing the size of the wheel lifting pad.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses that the rear side plate is provided with a baffle (L) (see Annotated FIG. 1, above), and the baffle is raised upwards along an upper part of the rear side plate (see FIG. 1).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (D1,058,989) in view of Kress (EP 3530610) (machine translation attached) and Widgery (US 11,618,418), and further in view of Haimoff (US 2008/0201873).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang does not disclose that the part that the carrying part resists to the slope part is integrally provided with blocking strips.
Haimoff teaches a wheel lifting pad (see Abstract, FIGS. 1-5) comprising a carrying part (104) and a slope part (102), wherein the part that the carrying part resists to the slope part is integrally provided with blocking strips (103) (see FIGS. 2, 5; ¶ 0054).
It would have been obvious to combine the blocking strip with the device of Zhang to increase arresting force acting on the vehicle wheel when the wheel is located on the carrying part (see e.g. Haimoff, ¶ 0054).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (D1,058,989) in view of Kress (EP 3530610) (machine translation attached), Widgery (US 11,618,418), and Haimoff (US 2008/0201873), and further in view of Muth (US 2018/0029856).
Regarding claim 8, neither Zhang nor Haimoff disclose raised antiskid sites arranged on the blocking strips.
Muth teaches a wheel lifting pad (see Abstract, FIGS. 9-12, 15) comprising a blocking strip (A) (see Annotated FIG. 12, below) comprising raised antiskid sites (34) arranged thereon (see FIGS. 12, 15; ¶ 0049).
It would have been obvious to combine the raised antiskid sites of Muth with the Zhang/Haimoff device to provide increased traction to the wheel as the vehicle mounts and dismounts the wheel liftin pad (see e.g. Muth, ¶ 0049).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
February 25, 2026