DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 have been examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they fail to include proper cross hatching for the various sectioned components. For example, each layer of the invention as depicted in Figure 2 indicates that the material from which it is made is metal. See MPEP 608.02 (IX).
Furthermore, the drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The present disclosure describes,” etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
At the outset, it should be noted that claim 1 sets forth a “covering” that has an expressed intended use of “for a PEAK racket, applied to a PEAK racket”. Thus, claim 1 is drawn solely to the subcombination of the covering and the PEAK racket is not an element of the claim. However, the claim then seeks to define the covering based on the features of the PEAK racket (e.g. “the PEAK racket includes a panel”), as well as recite positive interaction with the PEAK racket (e.g., “is detachably attached and fastened to a surface of the panel”). Accordingly, it is unclear as to whether the claims are drawn to the combination or just the subcombination. For this Office action only, Examiner will presume that the subcombination is being claimed. However, Applicants should take note that the positive inclusion of what had been previously only inferentially referred to clearly creates the ambiguity as indicated above with regard to what actually is being required by the claims. Moreover, if the PEAK racket is not an element of the covering, how can details of such PEAK racket constitute a limitation of the covering?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bicanic et al (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0181313).
1. Bicanic et al disclose a covering for a PEAK racket, applied to a PEAK racket (Fig 2), comprising
a covering body (102), wherein the PEAK racket includes a panel (204), and
the covering body is detachably attached and fastened to a surface of the panel (Par. 0054: “the surface plate 102 may be configured to be removably attached to a core portion 204”).
2. Bicanic et al disclose the covering for a PEAK racket according to claim 1, wherein the covering body is a carbon fiber plate (Par. 0053: “the replaceable pickleball surface may include a carbon fiber “surface sheet” “) or a glass fiber plate, and an outer lateral surface of the covering body is a smooth surface or a frosted surface (“textured surface”).
4. Bicanic et al disclose the covering for a PEAK racket according to claim 1, wherein the covering body is made of fabric (Par. 0054 “the at least one layer of material 302 may include a layer of carbon fiber weave”; Examiner notes that the definition of “fabric” according to dictionary.com is “a cloth made by weaving, knitting, or felting fibers”. Therefore, Examiner considers the woven carbon fibers constitutes a fabric by definition) or leather.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bicanic et al in view of Liu (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0123308).
3 and 5. Bicanic et al covering fastened on a panel of a PEAK racket via an adhesive (Abstract) and otherwise significantly as claimed, but do not explicitly disclose a sound-absorbing cotton being fastened to an inner lateral surface of the covering body.
Liu discloses a similar PEAK racket having multiple layers adhered to a core of the racket. More specifically, Liu disclose a silencing layer formed from cotton being adhered to the core portion on an inner surface of the silencing layer and to a carbon fiber panel on an outer surface of the silencing layer to increase the silencing functionality (Abstract and Par. 0019-0020). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the covering of Bicanic et al to include the silencing layer made of cotton as taught by Liu between the core and carbon fiber layer of Bicanic et al to effectively reduce the amount of noise created when the racket strikes a ball.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nygren and Filippinni both disclose similar pickleball rackets having removable coverings. Guttman teaches a similar pickleball racket have multiple layers, one of those layers including cotton.
/JOSHUA T KENNEDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784 1/22/22026