DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/23/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Bane et al. (US 2021/0349170, hereby referred as Bane).
Regarding claim 1, Bane teaches the following:
an access point comprising:
a first antenna array (elements 110, figures 1) comprising a plurality of magnetic antennas (“loop antennas”, paragraph [0020]); and
a second antenna array (elements 120, figures 1) comprising a plurality of electrical antennas (“monopole antennas”, paragraph [0020]), wherein each magnetic antenna of the plurality of magnetic antennas is positioned within four centimeters of a respective electrical antenna of the plurality of electrical antennas (“when the first radio 150A is operating at a first frequency of 5 GHz, the wavelengths (λ) used are approximately 60 mm (millimeters), and therefore each of the antennas are located no more than 30 mm (λ/2) from the neighboring antennas”, paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 3, Bane as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
further comprising a plate (element 130, figure 1A), wherein the plurality of magnetic antennas (elements 110, figures 1) comprises:
a first magnetic antenna (element 110G, figures 1) positioned in a first quadrant of the plate (1st, figure 1A shown below);
a second magnetic antenna (elements 110A or 110B, figures 1) positioned in a second quadrant of the plate (2nd, figure 1A shown below);
a third magnetic antenna (elements 110E or 110F, figures 1) positioned in a third quadrant of the plate (3rd, figure 1A shown below); and
a fourth magnetic antenna (elements 110C or 110D, figures 1) positioned in a fourth quadrant of the plate (4th, figure 1A shown below).
Regarding claim 4, Bane as referred in claim 3 teaches the following:
wherein the plurality of electrical antennas (elements 120, figures 1) comprises:
a first electrical antenna (element 120F, 120G, or 120H, figures 1) positioned in the first quadrant (1st, figure 1A shown above);
a second electrical antenna (element 120I or 120A, figures 1) positioned in the second quadrant (2nd, figure 1A shown above);
a third electrical antenna (element 120D or 120E, figures 1) positioned in the third quadrant (3rd, figure 1A shown above); and
a fourth electrical antenna (element 120B or 120C, figures 1) positioned in the fourth quadrant (4th, figure 1A shown above).
Regarding claim 8, Bane teaches the following:
a method comprising:
operating a first antenna array (elements 110, figures 1) of an access point, wherein the first antenna array comprises a plurality of magnetic antennas (“loop antennas”, paragraph [0020]); and
while operating the first antenna array, operating a second antenna array (elements 120, figures 1) of the access point, wherein the second antenna array comprises a plurality of electrical antennas (“monopole antennas”, paragraph [0020]), wherein each magnetic antenna of the plurality of magnetic antennas is positioned within four centimeters of a respective electrical antenna of the plurality of electrical antennas (“when the first radio 150A is operating at a first frequency of 5 GHz, the wavelengths (λ) used are approximately 60 mm (millimeters), and therefore each of the antennas are located no more than 30 mm (λ/2) from the neighboring antennas”, paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 10, Bane as referred in claim 8 teaches the following:
wherein the plurality of magnetic antennas (elements 110, figures 1) comprises:
a first magnetic antenna (element 110G, figures 1) positioned in a first quadrant of a plate (1st of element 130, figure 1A shown below);
a second magnetic antenna (elements 110A or 110B, figures 1) positioned in a second quadrant of the plate (2nd, figure 1A shown below);
a third magnetic antenna (elements 110E or 110F, figures 1) positioned in a third quadrant of the plate (3rd, figure 1A shown below); and
a fourth magnetic antenna (elements 110C or 110D, figures 1) positioned in a fourth quadrant of the plate (4th, figure 1A shown below).
Regarding claim 11, Bane as referred in claim 10 teaches the following:
wherein the plurality of electrical antennas (elements 120, figures 1) comprises:
a first electrical antenna (element 120F, 120G, or 120H, figures 1) positioned in the first quadrant (1st, figure 1A shown above);
a second electrical antenna (element 120I or 120A, figures 1) positioned in the second quadrant (2nd, figure 1A shown above);
a third electrical antenna (element 120D or 120E, figures 1) positioned in the third quadrant (3rd, figure 1A shown above); and
a fourth electrical antenna (element 120B or 120C, figures 1) positioned in the fourth quadrant (4th, figure 1A shown above).
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Paulotto et al. (US 2019/0020121, hereby referred as Paulotto).
Regarding claim 1, Paulotto teaches the following:
an access point (paragraph [0023]) comprising:
a first antenna array comprising a plurality of magnetic antennas (elements 40B, figure 8, paragraph [0042], when they are loop antennas); and
a second antenna array comprising a plurality of electrical antennas (elements 40A, figure 8, paragraph [0042], when they are dipole, patch, or monopole antennas), wherein each magnetic antenna of the plurality of magnetic antennas is positioned within four centimeters of a respective electrical antenna of the plurality of electrical antennas (paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 3, Paulotto as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
further comprising a plate (as shown in figure 8), wherein the plurality of magnetic antennas (elements 40B, figure 8) comprises:
a first magnetic antenna (element 40B, figure 8) positioned in a first quadrant of the plate (1st, figure 8 shown below);
a second magnetic antenna (element 40B, figure 8) positioned in a second quadrant of the plate (2nd, figure 8 shown below);
a third magnetic antenna (element 40B, figure 8) positioned in a third quadrant of the plate (3rd, figure 8 shown below); and
a fourth magnetic antenna (element 40B, figure 8) positioned in a fourth quadrant of the plate (4th, figure 8 shown below).
Regarding claim 4, Paulotto as referred in claim 3 teaches the following:
wherein the plurality of electrical antennas (element 40A, figure 8) comprises:
a first electrical antenna (element 40A, figure 8) positioned in the first quadrant (1st, figure 8 shown above);
a second electrical antenna (element 40A, figure 8) positioned in the second quadrant (2nd, figure 8 shown above);
a third electrical antenna (element 40A, figure 8) positioned in the third quadrant (3rd, figure 8 shown above); and
a fourth electrical antenna (element 40A, figure 8) positioned in the fourth quadrant (4th, figure 8 shown above).
Regarding claim 5, Paulotto as referred in claim 4 teaches the following:
wherein the plurality of magnetic antennas (elements 40B, figure 8) are positioned closer to a center of the plate than the plurality of electrical antennas (elements 40A, figure 8).
Regarding claim 7, Paulotto as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the plurality of magnetic antennas (elements 40B, figure 8) comprises magnetic loop antennas (as explained in claim 1, paragraph [0042]), and wherein the plurality of electrical antennas (elements 40A, figure 8) comprises electric dipole antennas (as explained in claim 1, paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 8, Paulotto teaches the following:
a method comprising:
operating a first antenna array of an access point (paragraph [0023]), wherein the first antenna array comprises a plurality of magnetic antennas (elements 40B, figure 8, paragraph [0042], when they are loop antennas); and
while operating the first antenna array, operating a second antenna array of the access point, wherein the second antenna array comprises a plurality of electrical antennas (elements 40A, figure 8, paragraph [0042], when they are dipole, patch, or monopole antennas), wherein each magnetic antenna of the plurality of magnetic antennas is positioned within four centimeters of a respective electrical antenna of the plurality of electrical antennas (paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 10, Paulotto as referred in claim 8 teaches the following:
wherein the plurality of magnetic antennas (elements 40B, figure 8) comprises:
a first magnetic antenna (element 40B, figure 8) positioned in a first quadrant of a plate (1st, figure 8 shown above);
a second magnetic antenna (element 40B, figure 8) positioned in a second quadrant of the plate (2nd, figure 8 shown above);
a third magnetic antenna (element 40B, figure 8) positioned in a third quadrant of the plate (3rd, figure 8 shown above); and
a fourth magnetic antenna (element 40B, figure 8) positioned in a fourth quadrant of the plate (4th, figure 8 shown above).
Regarding claim 11, Paulotto as referred in claim 10 teaches the following:
wherein the plurality of electrical antennas (element 40A, figure 8) comprises:
a first electrical antenna (element 40A, figure 8) positioned in the first quadrant (1st, figure 8 shown above);
a second electrical antenna (element 40A, figure 8) positioned in the second quadrant (2nd, figure 8 shown above);
a third electrical antenna (element 40A, figure 8) positioned in the third quadrant (3rd, figure 8 shown above); and
a fourth electrical antenna (element 40A, figure 8) positioned in the fourth quadrant (4th, figure 8 shown above).
Regarding claim 12, Paulotto as referred in claim 11 teaches the following:
wherein the plurality of magnetic antennas (elements 40B, figure 8) are positioned closer to a center of the plate than the plurality of electrical antennas (elements 40A, figure 8).
Regarding claim 14, Paulotto as referred in claim 8 teaches the following:
wherein the plurality of magnetic antennas (elements 40B, figure 8) comprises magnetic loop antennas (as explained in claim 1, paragraph [0042]), and wherein the plurality of electrical antennas (elements 40A, figure 8) comprises electric dipole antennas (as explained in claim 1, paragraph [0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bane et al. (US 2021/0349170, hereby referred as Bane).
Regarding claim 2, Bane as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the first antenna array and the second antenna array are arranged to operate simultaneously in at least one of a 5 gigaHertz band or a 6 gigaHertz band (“The single mode antennas 110, which are described in greater detail in regard to FIGS. 6A-6C, are provided as loop antennas to operate at a first frequency (e.g., 5 GHz), and the dual mode antennas 120, which are described in greater detail in regard to FIGS. 2A-C, 3A-3C, 4A-4C, and 5A & 5B, are provided as monopole antennas at the first frequency (e.g., 5 GHz)”, paragraphs [0020] and [0022]).
Bane does not explicitly teach providing at least 35 decibels of isolation between the first antenna array and the second antenna array.
However, Bane does discuss providing sufficient spacing between the adjacent antenna elements (“when the first radio 150A is operating at a first frequency of 5 GHz, the wavelengths (λ) used are approximately 60 mm (millimeters), and therefore each of the antennas are located no more than 30 mm (λ/2) from the neighboring antennas”, paragraph [0022]). It is also well known in the antenna art that antenna isolation is desired to provide reduced mutual coupling and crosstalk between the adjacent antenna elements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the first antenna array and the second antenna array of Bane to have at least 35 decibels of isolation between them as suggested by the teachings of Bane and known in the art to reduce mutual coupling and crosstalk between the adjacent antenna elements in the arrays, and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 9, Bane as referred in claim 8 teaches the following:
wherein operating the first antenna array and the second antenna array comprises operating the first antenna array and the second antenna array in at least one of a 5 gigaHertz band or a 6 gigaHertz band (“The single mode antennas 110, which are described in greater detail in regard to FIGS. 6A-6C, are provided as loop antennas to operate at a first frequency (e.g., 5 GHz), and the dual mode antennas 120, which are described in greater detail in regard to FIGS. 2A-C, 3A-3C, 4A-4C, and 5A & 5B, are provided as monopole antennas at the first frequency (e.g., 5 GHz)”, paragraphs [0020] and [0022]).
Bane does not explicitly teach providing at least 35 decibels of isolation between the first antenna array and the second antenna array.
However, Bane does discuss providing sufficient spacing between the adjacent antenna elements (“when the first radio 150A is operating at a first frequency of 5 GHz, the wavelengths (λ) used are approximately 60 mm (millimeters), and therefore each of the antennas are located no more than 30 mm (λ/2) from the neighboring antennas”, paragraph [0022]). It is also well known in the antenna art that antenna isolation is desired to provide reduced mutual coupling and crosstalk between the adjacent antenna elements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the first antenna array and the second antenna array of Bane to have at least 35 decibels of isolation between them as suggested by the teachings of Bane and known in the art to reduce mutual coupling and crosstalk between the adjacent antenna elements in the arrays, and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Additional Comments
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Many of the cited references could be used to rejected the current claims. For example, Xu et al. (US 11860294, figure 6), Lin et al. (US 10892561), or Kao et al. (US 2019/0081414) could also be used to teach independent claims 1 and 8, and multiple dependent claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AB SALAM ALKASSIM JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845