DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "…wherein the receiving, by a terminal device, a signal transmitted by a first device comprises" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
There is antecedent basis for “wherein the receiving, by a terminal device, the first signal transmitted by a first device comprises”. However, these are not the same. Further it is making the claimed invention indefinite, whether the signal that is “energizing” the termina device, is the first signal or the second signal or a signal that has bother the first and second signal. Please Clarify.
wherein the transmitting, by a first device, a signal to a terminal device comprises:
Claim 16 recites the limitation "… wherein the transmitting, by a first device, a signal to a terminal device comprises:" in lines 1-2 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
There is antecedent basis for “wherein the transmitting, by a first device, the first signal to a terminal device comprises:” However, these are not the same. Further it is making the claimed invention indefinite, whether the signal that is “energizing” the termina device, is the first signal or the second signal or a signal that has bother the first and second signal. Please Clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13, 15-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by DEES et al (US 2024/0267113).
Regarding claim 1, DEES discloses a wireless communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, a first signal transmitted by a first device on an uplink resource (DEES: ¶316, ¶318, ¶321, ¶156, the wireless terminal (equivalent to claimed terminal device) receives an RF energy signal from the relay station (a first device); ¶116, ¶156, ¶244, this resource being used to communicate between the relay station (first device) and the wireless terminal (terminal device));
wherein the first signal is configured to energize the terminal device and/or for the terminal device to perform a backscattering communication (DEES: ¶321, ¶244, the first signal/RG energy signal from the relay station energize the terminal device and ¶338, ¶324, ¶352, Fig. 12, an uplink data signal towards the cell station is transmitted to the wireless terminal to conduct backscatter communication based on a trigger);
the first device is a device other than a network device that provides services to the terminal device (DEES: ¶321 and ¶244, the relay station (first device) is other than a network device/cell station).
Regarding claim 2, DEES discloses method according to claim 1, wherein the first signal is configured for the terminal device to perform the backscattering communication (DEES: ¶318, ¶321, the relay station (based on the cell station’s instruction) instructs the wireless terminal to perform the backscattering communication), and the method further comprises:
modulating, by the terminal device, the first signal to obtain a backscattering signal (DEES: ¶324, backscattering includes modulating the signals that are to be backscattered); and transmitting, by the terminal device, the backscattering signal to the network device (DEES: ¶324, ¶244, transmit the backscattered signals to the cell station via relay station).
Regarding claim 3, DEES discloses method according to claim 1, wherein the first signal is not configured for the terminal device to perform the backscattering communication (DEES: ¶323, the signal received by the terminal device contains information on decision making information (e.g. a threshold) regarding when not to perform the back scattering), and the method further comprises:
modulating, by the terminal device, a first carrier signal transmitted by a second device to obtain a backscattering signal; and transmitting, by the terminal device, the backscattering signal to the network device (DEES: ¶323-324, a signal (second signal by a second device) for which the terminal device decides to perform backscattered communication, is modulated and transmitted by the wireless terminal as backscattered transmission;).
Regarding claim 4, DEES discloses method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving, by a terminal device, a signal transmitted by a first device comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, a second signal transmitted by the first device on a downlink resource; wherein the second signal is configured to energize the terminal device (DEES: ¶318, ¶321, the signal that is received by the wireless terminal (terminal device) is configured to provide energy/to energize the terminal device).
Regarding claim 5, DEES discloses method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the terminal device, a third signal transmitted by the network device (DEES: ¶322, ¶324, ¶244, a direct (or an indirect) signal from the cell station (network device)); wherein the third signal is configured to schedule or trigger the terminal device to perform the backscattering communication (DEES: 322, a direct message/signal is sent from the cell station (network device) to trigger/set bit for backscatter communication mode thereby triggering the backscattered communication mode).
Regarding claim 6, DEES discloses method according to claim 5, wherein the third signal comprises a first indicative information, the first indicative information being configured to indicate a first time unit offset; the first time unit offset is configured to indicate a time unit offset of a time unit at which the terminal device transmits a backscattering signal relative to a time unit at which the third signal is located (DEES: ¶324, time delay/offset to be applied to the message that has the backscatter communication performing instruction).
Regarding claim 7, DEES discloses method according to claim 5, further comprising:
performing, by the terminal device, the backscattering communication on a next time unit of a time unit at which the third signal is located, in response to the third signal not indicating a time information at which the terminal device transmits a backscattering signal; or performing, by the terminal device, the backscattering communication on a first uplink resource after a time unit at which the third signal is located, in response to the third signal not indicating a time information at which the terminal device transmits a backscattering signal (DEES: ¶325, a message that has the backscatter communication performing instruction; that is the backscatter communication takes place after the message that configures/instructs the wireless terminal (terminal device) to perform backscatter communication) .
Regarding claim 8, DEES discloses method according to claim 1, wherein the terminal device is a zero-power device, the first device is a dedicated power supply node, and the first device is a non-zero-power device (DEES: ¶316, Fig. 13, the wireless terminal is a device with no internal energy source and only source of energy for it is the harvested energy through wireless signals; ¶152, the Relay station is not an IOT/low power or zero power device and has sufficient power to perform relaying for zero power devices).
Regarding claim 9, DEES discloses method according to wireless communication method, comprising:
transmitting, by a first device, a first signal to a terminal device on an uplink resource (DEES: ¶316, ¶318, ¶321, ¶156, the wireless terminal (equivalent to claimed terminal device) receives an RF energy signal from the relay station (a first device); ¶116, ¶156, ¶244, this resource being used to communicate between the relay station (first device) and the wireless terminal (terminal device));
wherein the first signal is configured to energize the terminal device and/or for the terminal device to perform the backscattering communication (DEES: ¶321, ¶244, the first signal/RG energy signal from the relay station energize the terminal device and ¶338, ¶324, ¶352, Fig. 12, an uplink data signal towards the cell station is transmitted to the wireless terminal to conduct backscatter communication based on a trigger);
the first device is a device other than a network device that provides services to the terminal device (DEES: ¶321 and ¶244, the relay station (first device) is other than a network device/cell station).
Regarding claim 10, DEES discloses method according to claim 9, further comprising:
receiving, by the first device, a fourth signal transmitted by the network device; wherein the fourth signal is configured to schedule or trigger the first device to transmit the first signal, the first signal being transmitted by the first device based on the fourth signal (DEES: ¶321, the relay station (first device) receives a signal from the cell station (network device) a signal that triggers the relay station (first device) to transmit a signal (first signal) to the wireless terminal (terminal device) ).
Regarding claim 11, DEES discloses method according to claim 10, wherein the fourth signal is configured to schedule the first device to transmit the first signal from a first time unit for uplink data transmission; or the fourth signal is configured to schedule the first device to start transmitting the first signal before the first time unit for uplink data transmission; or the fourth signal is configured to schedule the first device to start transmitting the first signal after the first time unit for uplink data transmission (DEES: ¶333-337, ¶341, the configuration message (fourth signal) is received by the relay station based on which the relay station performs configuration of scheduling related to backscatter communication where the uplink communication occurs after the relay station transmits the configuration information/control information to the wireless terminal (first signal)).
Regarding claim 12, DEES discloses method according to claim 9, wherein the first device is configured to transmit the first signal within a first time window; the first time window is determined according to predefined information and/or indicative information of the network device (DEES: ¶314-317, ¶245-247, period of time (window) of downlink and uplink resources are configured by the cell station (network device); based on the schedule configured, the first time for first signal transmission is determined).
Regarding claim 13, DEES discloses method according to claim 12, wherein the first time window is determined according to a scheduling information for the first signal in a fourth signal transmitted by the network device, and the fourth signal is configured to schedule or trigger the first device to transmit the first signal (DEES: ¶314-317, ¶245-247, period of time (window) of downlink and uplink resources are configured by the cell station (network device); based on the schedule configured, the first time for first signal transmission is determined).
Regarding claim 15, DEES discloses method according to claim 9, wherein the first device is configured to transmit the first signal on a first time unit set;
the first time unit set is determined according to predefined information and/or indicative information of the network device; the indicative information of the network device comprises a third indicative information, and the third indicative information is configured to indicate one of a plurality of predefined time unit sets (DEES: ¶244, ¶245-247, ¶322-323, wakeup and transmitting/receiving schedule is indicated among which a schedule for transmission of the first signal (signal from the relay to the wireless terminal (terminal device) is indicated).
Regarding claim 16, DEES discloses method according to claims 9,
wherein the transmitting, by a first device, a signal to a terminal device comprises:
transmitting, by the first device, a second signal to the terminal device on a downlink resource; wherein the second signal is configured to energize the terminal device (DEES: ¶321, ¶244, the first signal/RF energy signal from the relay station energize the terminal device and ¶338, ¶324, ¶352, Fig. 12, an uplink data signal towards the cell station is transmitted to the wireless terminal to conduct backscatter communication based on a trigger).
Regarding claim 17, DEES discloses method according to claim 16, further comprising: receiving, by the first device, a fifth signal transmitted by the network device; wherein the fifth signal is configured to schedule or trigger the first device to transmit the second signal, the second signal being transmitted by the first device based on the fifth signal (DEES: ¶318, ¶321, the signal that is received by the wireless terminal (terminal device) is configured to provide energy/to energize the terminal device).
Regarding claim 18, DEES discloses method according to claim 16, wherein the second signal is transmitted by the first device at a second transmit power; the second transmit power is predefined, configured by the network device, or determined by the first device (DEES: ¶324, ¶244, transmit power of the RF signal for energy harvesting at the wireless terminal is determined at the relay station and used for transmission).
Regarding claim 20, DEES discloses method according to claim 16, wherein the first device is configured to start or stop transmitting the second signal to the terminal device according to a control signal from the network device (DEES: ¶333-337, ¶341, ¶245-247, the configuration message (fourth signal) is received by the relay station based on which the relay station performs configuration of scheduling related to downlink transmission including the downlink control signals towards wireless terminal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DEES et al (US 2024/0267113) in view of ELKOTBY et al (US 2025/0016822).
Regarding claim 19, DEES discloses method according to claim 18, further comprising:
receiving, by the first device, a power switching instruction signal transmitted by the network device (DEES: ¶321, an instruction for transmission an RF signal with “enough” power is received); and
setting, by the first device, a transmit power of the signal from the second transmit power to a first transmit power, according to the power switching instruction signal (DEES: ¶321, an instruction for transmission an RF signal with “enough” power is received which is equivalent to setting a transmit power to a certain level enough for energy harvesting);
wherein the first transmit power is a transmit power used by the first device for transmitting a first signal on an uplink resource, and the first signal is configured for energize the terminal device and/or for the terminal device to perform the backscattering communication (DEES: ¶321, ¶244, the first signal/RG energy signal from the relay station energize the terminal device and ¶338, ¶324, ¶352, Fig. 12, an uplink data signal towards the cell station is transmitted to the wireless terminal to conduct backscatter communication based on a trigger);
signals transmitted by the network device relayed by the first device (DEES: ¶244)
DEES remains silent regarding setting comprising switching a transmit power.
However, ELKOTBY et al (US 2025/0016822) discloses setting comprising switching a transmit power (ELKOTBY: ¶184, ¶104, increase/switching transmission power of the transmitted signal).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of DEES would have been motivated to use the teachings of ELKOTBY as it provides a way to improve energy harvesting by preventing degradation of the network spectral efficiency (¶105-106) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of DEES with teachings of ELKOTBY in order to improve spectral efficiency.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DEES et al (US 2024/0267113) in view of ELSHAFIE et al (US 2022/0352751)
Regarding claim 14, DEES discloses method according to claim 13,
wherein the scheduling information for the first signal comprises a second time unit offset and/or a first duration (DEES: ¶333-337, ¶341, the configuration message (fourth signal) is received by the relay station based on which the relay station performs configuration of scheduling related to uplink and downlink signals from the relay station and wireless terminal); the second time unit offset is configured to indicate a time unit offset of a time unit at which the first device starts transmitting the first signal relative to a time unit at which the fourth signal is located (DEES: ¶333-337, ¶341, ¶245-247, the configuration message (fourth signal) is received by the relay station based on which the relay station performs configuration of scheduling related to downlink transmission including the downlink control signals towards wireless terminal); the scheduling information for the first signal further comprises a second indicative information, and the second indicative information is configured to indicate one of a plurality of predefined time windows (DEES: ¶242, periodic wakeup periods are scheduled by the configuration/scheduling information).
DEES remains silent regarding the first duration is configured to indicate a duration for which the first device transmits the first signal.
However, ELSHAFIE et al (US 2022/0352751) discloses a first duration is configured to indicate a duration for which the first device transmits the first signal (ELSHAFIE: ¶42, Fig. 7, energy provision device configures the duration of the harvesting time duration for which the energy signal is transmitted by the provision device).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of DEES would have been motivated to use the teachings of ELSHAFIE as it provides a way to improve energy harvesting by matching the transmission of signal duration with the required duration suggested by the device in need of energy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of DEES with teachings of ELSHAFIE in order to improve overall energy conservation and efficiency of the network.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Document U discloses a comprehensive literature review on the fundamentals, challenges and the on-going research efforts in the domain of WPN-BCs. Our emphasis is on large-scale networks. In particular, it discusses signal processing aspects, network design issues and efficient communication techniques. Moreover, it reviews emerging technologies for WPN-BCs to bring about the best use of resources. Some applications of this innovative technology are also highlighted. Finally, it addresses some open research problems and future research directions.
OMER S. MIAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2461
/OMER S MIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461