DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Amendments and Arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been considered for examination.
With regard to the objections to Specification, Applicant’s arguments filed 02/13/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Thus, the objections to Specification have been withdrawn.
With regard to the objections to Claims, Applicant’s arguments filed 02/13/2026 in view of amendments have been fully considered but are partially persuasive. Thus, the objections to Claims other than what are set forth below in the current Office Action have been withdrawn.
With regard to the 112(b) rejections, Applicant’s arguments filed 02/13/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Thus, the 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
With regard to the 103 rejections, Applicant’s arguments filed 02/13/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered but are not persuasive at least in view of reasons set forth below.
On page 25 of Remarks, Applicant argued:
Maleki fails to disclose the following limitations in amended claim 1: monitoring. by the terminal, the PDCCH based on the first indication comprises. in a case that the first indication indicates a second specific value, starting or resuming. by the terminal, PDCCH monitoring after the first indication is received; wherein the second specific value is used to wake up the terminal for PDCCH monitoring.
It can be seen that, Maleki discloses that upon detection of a PSS during the at least one PSS MO within the PSS MW, UE may perform at least one first action indicated in the PSS: monitoring a PDCCH at one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions (MOs) in a subsequent/following ON-duration of the DRX cycle. That is, Maleki only discloses that the UE may monitoring the PDCCH after receiving PSS. But Maleki does not disclose that the PSS can indicate a specific value, nor does it disclose that the UE can start or resume PDCCH monitoring after receiving the specific value. Obviously, Maleki does not disclose the solution of the amended claim 1. However, in the amended claim 1, in a case that the first indication indicates a second specific value, the terminal can start or resume the PDCCH monitoring after the first indication is received. And the second specific value is used to wake up the terminal for PDCCH monitoring. Obviously, Maleki does not disclose the above solution of the amended claim 1.
In response to the above Applicant’s argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Unlike that applicant’s argument above, Maleki discloses, the PSS can indicate a specific value [¶0107, in case the UE received PSS in each of the PSS MOs with wake-up indication; further see ¶0064, the PDCCH-based PSS should indicate ‘wake-up’ or not based on which the UE can decide to decode/not decode subsequent PDCCH monitoring occasion(s). Furthermore, a bit field (i.e., specific value) can be configured for indicating the transition from ‘dormancy-like’ to ‘non-dormancy like’ behaviour (i.e., wake-up) on activated Scells; note that the PSS indicating ‘wake-up’ requires that at least one field (e.g., a bit field) has a specific value] and discloses that the UE can start or resume PDCCH monitoring after receiving the specific value [¶0107, it may be configured to monitor PDCCH in the next ON duration of the DRX cycle; note that monitoring is started after receiving the PSS including the specific value corresponding to the wake-up indication].
On page 28 of Remarks, Applicant argued:
Independent claims 18 and 20 recite limitations similar to those discussed above for claim 1. Thus, for at least the same reasons set forth earlier with respect to claim 1, Maleki fails to teach all of the limitations of independent claims 18 and 20 and their respective dependent claims and thus cannot anticipate these claims.
In response to the above Applicant’s argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Since claims 18 and 20 recite similar features to claim 1 without further patentable features, claims 18 and 20 are unpatentable in view of the same reasons set forth above regarding claim 1.
On page 28 of Remarks, Applicant argued:
Claims 21-22 are dependent claims of independent claim 1, claims 23-24 are dependent
claims of independent claim 18, and claims 25-26 are dependent claims of independent claim 20.
In response to the above Applicant’s argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Since claims 1, 18 and 20 are unpatentable over the cited references of record as set forth above, patentability of other dependent claims should be determined based on the claimed limitations recited thereon, rather than their respective independent claims. The dependent claims are also unpatentable in view of the corresponding cited references of records as set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 11 and 15-26 are objected to because of the following informality:
Claim 1 recites, “PDCCH monitoring” (lines 10-11). It is suggested to replace them with “the PDCCH monitoring” for more clarity. Claims 18 and 20 are objected to at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Claim 3 recites, “duration --” (last line). It is suggested to replace it with “a duration --” for more clarity.
Claim 6 recites, “a start moment of the DRX on-duration timer is at least one of: an end moment of a first time unit to which an end moment of the first duration belongs, or the start moment of the DRX cycle corresponding to the start moment of the DRX on-duration timer.” (lines 7-10). It is suggested to replace it with “a start moment of the DRX on-duration timer is at least one of: an end moment of a first time unit to which an end moment of the first duration belongs; or a start moment of a DRX cycle corresponding to the start moment of the DRX on-duration timer.” for more clarity. Claim 15 is objected to at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 6.
Claim 11 recites, “-- any one of the start moment of monitoring the PDCCH, the end moment of monitoring the PDCCH and the duration of monitoring the PDCCH --” (lines 2-3 and 6-7). It is suggested to replace each of them with “-- at least one of: the start moment of monitoring the PDCCH, the end moment of monitoring the PDCCH, or the duration of monitoring the PDCCH --” for more clarity.
Claims 2-3, 5-7, 11, 15-17, 19 and 21-26 are also objected to since they are directly or indirectly dependent upon the objected claims, as set forth above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11, 15 and 18-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Maleki et al (US Publication No. 2022/0394616)1.
Regarding claim 1, Maleki discloses, a transmission processing method [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0105, a transmission method performed by a WD for communicating with a network node], comprising:
in a non-physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring period2 [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0107, in a wakeup signal/power saving signal (WUS/PSS) monitoring occasion (MO); further see FIG. 2, “PSS 8a” is outside the DRX on-duration window 3 (see, foot note 2 below)], monitoring, by a terminal, a first indication on at least one target channel or signal monitoring occasion [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0107, the WD/UE monitors PSS with wake-up indication (i.e., first indication) in the configured MOs 402 on a target channel (e.g., 1a of FIG. 2) including the WUS/PSS MO 8a and the next ON duration of the DRX cycle 3 (e.g., see FIG. 2)]; and
performing, by the terminal, a predetermined behavior based on the first indication [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0107-0108 and 0115-0116, the WD/UE performs monitoring a PDCCH (i.e., predetermined behavior) in the next ON duration based on detection of the wake-up indication in the WUS/PSS MO 8a],
wherein the predetermined behavior comprises monitoring a PDCCH [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0107-0108 and 0115-0116, monitoring the PDCCH];
monitoring, by the terminal, the PDCCH based on the first indication comprises, in a case that the first indication indicates a second specific value [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0107, in case the UE received PSS in each of the PSS MOs with wake-up indication; further see ¶0064, the PDCCH-based PSS should indicate ‘wake-up’ or not based on which the UE can decide to decode/not decode subsequent PDCCH monitoring occasion(s). Furthermore, a bit field (i.e., specific value) can be configured for indicating the transition from ‘dormancy-like’ to ‘non-dormancy like’ behaviour (i.e., wake-up) on activated Scells; note that the PSS indicating ‘wake-up’ requires that at least one field (e.g., a bit field) has a specific value] starting or resuming, by the terminal, PDCCH monitoring after the first indication is received [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0107, it may be configured to monitor PDCCH in the next ON duration of the DRX cycle; note that monitoring is started after receiving the PSS including the specific value corresponding to the wake-up indication];
the second specific value is used to wake up the terminal for PDCCH monitoring [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0107 further with respect to ¶0064, since the PSS indicating ‘wake-up’ requires that at least one field (e.g., a bit field) has a specific value, and the specific value is used to wake up the UE for PDCCH monitoring]; and
the target channel or signal monitoring occasion comprises a wake-up signal monitoring occasion (WUS MO) [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0107 and FIG. 2; ¶0061, a target channel (e.g., 1a of FIG. 2) including the WUS/PSS MO 8a and the next ON duration of the DRX cycle 3 (e.g., see FIG. 2) includes a WUS MO 8a].
Regarding claim 2, Maleki discloses, the method according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Maleki discloses, wherein before the monitoring a first indication on at least one target channel or signal monitoring occasion [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0106, before the monitoring the channel/signal at the PSS MO (step 403)], the method further comprises:
obtaining, by the terminal, configuration information [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0105-0106, the WD is configured with DRX configuration (step 401) and PSS configuration (step 402)], wherein the configuration information is used to configure [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0106, the DRX configuration (step 401)] at least one of the following:
a first monitoring time window [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0105, the ON-duration of the DRX cycle; further see reference number 3 of FIG. 2], wherein configuration of the first monitoring time window is related to at least one of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle, a DRX start moment, or DRX on-duration [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0105, the DRX configuration has an ON-duration configuration and a long/short DRX cycle configuration, and a timing and a length of an ON-duration];
the at least one target channel or signal monitoring occasion, wherein the at least one target channel or signal monitoring occasion is configured within the first monitoring time window [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0105, the DRX configuration has an ON-duration configuration and a long/short DRX cycle configuration, and a timing and a length of an ON-duration; note that the target channel 1a including the ON-duration corresponds to the claimed at least one target channel or signal monitoring occasion].
Regarding claim 3, Maleki discloses, the method according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Maleki discloses, wherein the first indication is used to indicate at least one of the following [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0107 and 0115, the PSS is used to indicate]:
a target channel or signal monitoring occasion that the terminal needs to monitor [¶0116-0117, the first indication indicated in the PSS may comprise monitoring a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) at one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions (MOs) in a subsequent/following ON-duration of the DRX cycle (step 405)];
whether the terminal is to be woken up for PDCCH monitoring [¶0116-0117 and 0122, the first action indicated in the PSS may comprise monitoring a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) at one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions (MOs) in a subsequent/following ON-duration of the DRX cycle (step 405)];
duration of monitoring a PDCCH by the terminal [¶0116-0117, the first action indicated in the PSS may comprise monitoring a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) at one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions (MOs) in a subsequent/following ON-duration of the DRX cycle (step 405)].
Regarding claim 11, Maleki discloses, the method according to claim 3 as set forth above.
Maleki discloses, wherein in a case that the first indication is used to indicate any one of the start moment of monitoring the PDCCH, the end moment of monitoring the PDCCH and the duration of monitoring the PDCCH [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0107 and 0115-0117, in case that the PSS is used to indicate the subsequent ON-duration of the DRX cycle to monitor the PDCCH], monitoring, by the terminal, the PDCCH based on the first indication comprises: monitoring the PDCCH within target monitoring duration [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0107 and 0115-0117, monitoring the PDCCH within the one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions (MOs) in the subsequent/following ON-duration based on the indication of PSS that the WD needs to monitor], wherein the target monitoring duration is determined based on any one of the start moment of monitoring the PDCCH, the end moment of monitoring the PDCCH and the duration of monitoring the PDCCH [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0107 and 0115-0117, note that the one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions (MOs) are determined based the subsequent/following ON-duration].
Regarding claim 15, Maleki discloses, the method according to claim 14 and particularly, “wherein the starting or resuming, by the terminal, PDCCH monitoring after the first indication is received” as set forth above.
Maleki discloses, starting or resuming, by the terminal, PDCCH monitoring by starting a discontinuous reception (DRX) on-duration timer [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0107 and 0115-0117 and 0122, monitoring the PDCCH at one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions in the subsequent/following ON-duration; further see ¶0061 and ¶000116, trigger the MAC entity to start the DRX ON duration timer], wherein a start moment of the DRX on-duration timer is at least one of: an end moment of a first time unit to which an end moment of a first duration belongs [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0061 and 0161, note that the starting of the DRX ON duration timer is after any time unit].
Regarding claim 18, Maleki discloses, a terminal [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; wireless device (WD); further see FIG. 5, wireless device 550], comprising
a processor [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0136, processing circuitry 551; note that every wireless communication device has at least one processor],
a memory [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0136, memory 555; note that every wireless communication device has at least one memory], and
a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the terminal to perform action(s) [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0136, program instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processing circuitry to perform action(s); note that every wireless communication device has at least one memory storing program instructions].
Since claim 18 recites similar features to claim 1 without further additional features, claim 18 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 2.
Regarding claim 20, Maleki discloses, a network device [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; network node; further see FIG. 7, network node 550], comprising
a processor [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0156, processing circuitry 751; note that every network node has at least one processor],
a memory [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0156, memory 755; note that every network node has at least one memory], and
a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the network device to perform action(s) [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0156, program instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processing circuitry to perform action(s); note that every wireless communication device has at least one memory storing program instructions].
Since claim 20 is merely different from claim 1 in that it recites claimed features from the perspective of a network node, but recites similar features to claim 1 without further additional features, claim 20 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, Maleki discloses, the method according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Maleki discloses, wherein a duration within which no PDCCH is monitored comprises a duration outside the discontinuous reception (DRX) active time [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0107, the WUS/PSS monitoring occasion (MO) 8a within which no PDCCH is monitored is outside the DRX on-duration window 3) within which the PDCCH is monitored].
Regarding claim 22, Maleki discloses, the method according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Maleki discloses, the second specific value [¶0107, the WUS/PSS 8a with wake-up indication (i.e., second specific value); further see ¶0064, ta bit field (i.e., specific value) can be configured for indicating the transition from ‘dormancy-like’ to ‘non-dormancy like’ behaviour (i.e., wake-up) on activated Scells; note that the PSS indicating ‘wake-up’ requires that at least one field (e.g., a bit field) has a specific value] is configured by a network [¶0060, the PSS or WUS 8a may be based on a signal sent over PDCCH using an existing or a new Downlink Control Information (DCI) format].
Regarding claims 23 and 25, claims 23 and 25 are rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 21.
Regarding claims 24 and 26, claims 24 and 26 are rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki et al (US Publication No. 2022/0394616) in view of Lin et al (US Publication No. 2020/0396684)3.
Regarding claim 5, Maleki discloses, the method according to claim 3 as set forth above.
Maleki does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Lin discloses, wherein in a case that the first indication is used to indicate the first duration [FIG. 12; its related descriptions; ¶187, in case that an indication is used to indicate the next one or more DRX ON durations(s)/first duration], monitoring, by the terminal, a PDCCH based on the first indication comprises at least one of the following:
skipping monitoring, by the terminal, a PDCCH that fully overlaps the first duration [FIG. 12; its related descriptions; ¶187, skipping the PDCCH monitoring for the next one or more DRX ON duration(s) (note that the DRX ON duration is the first duration on which the PDCCH monitoring is skipped); further see ¶0184, indicating to the UE to skip PDCCH monitoring in one or more DRX ON duration(s) or to skip any transmission and reception in one or more DRX ON duration(s). Alternatively, the indication can be implicit such that a default UE behavior can be to skip PDCCH monitoring unless the UE receives an indication to monitor PDCCH for next one or more DRX ON duration(s)];
skipping monitoring, by the terminal, a PDCCH that partially overlaps the first duration [FIG. 12; its related descriptions; ¶187, skipping the PDCCH monitoring for the next one or more DRX ON duration(s) (note that the DRX ON duration is the first duration on which the PDCCH monitoring is skipped)]; or
starting or resuming, by the terminal, PDCCH monitoring after the first duration ends [FIG. 12; its related descriptions; ¶187, skipping the PDCCH monitoring for the next one or more DRX ON duration(s) (note that the DRX ON duration is the first duration on which the PDCCH monitoring is skipped); further see ¶0184, the indication can be implicit such that a default UE behavior can be to skip PDCCH monitoring unless the UE receives an indication to monitor PDCCH for next one or more DRX ON duration(s); note that the next one or more DRX ON durations (after receiving the indication to monitor PDCCH) are durations on which the UE resumes monitoring of the PDCCH].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Maleki with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Lin to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Lin into the system of Maleki would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring to avoid unnecessary wakeup to reduce power consumption, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 6, Maleki in view of Lin discloses, the method according to claim 5 and particularly “the starting or resuming, by the terminal, PDCCH monitoring after the first duration ends” as set forth above.
Maleki discloses, in a case that the first indication is used to indicate the first duration, the terminal monitoring the PDCCH based on the first indication [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0107 and 0115-0117 in a case that the PSS/first indication is used to indicate the DRX ON duration, the UE monitoring the PDCCH based on the PSS], starting or resuming, by the terminal, PDCCH monitoring by starting a discontinuous reception (DRX) on-duration timer [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0107 and 0115-0117 and 0122, monitoring the PDCCH at one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions in the subsequent/following ON-duration; further see ¶0061 and ¶000116, trigger the MAC entity to start the DRX ON duration timer], wherein
a start moment of the DRX on-duration timer is an end moment of a first time unit to which an end moment of the first duration belongs [FIG. 4; its related descriptions; ¶0061 and 0161, note that the starting of the DRX ON duration timer is after any time unit].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki et al (US Publication No. 2022/0394616) in view of Lin et al (US Publication No. 2020/0396684) and further in view of Tooher et al (US Publication No. 2021/0176710).
Regarding claim 7, Maleki in view of Lin discloses, the method according to claim 6, as set forth above.
Maleki in view of Lin does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Tooher discloses, wherein in a case that the DRX on-duration timer is started, the method further comprises: within a first time range, canceling starting a DRX on-duration timer other than the DRX on-duration timer [¶0117, in case of the new DRX cycle timer is started, the WTRU may pause the short or long DRX cycle timer while in the new DRX cycle (where the new DRX cycle timer is running); note that the new DRX cycle timer has a shorter duration than a short DRX cycle timer].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Maleki in view of Lin with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Tooher to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Tooher into the system of Maleki in view of Lin would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring to avoid redundant DRX timers, optimizing UE power efficiency in a wireless network, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki et al (US Publication No. 2022/0394616) in view of Tooher et al (US Publication No. 2021/0176710).
Regarding claim 16, Maleki discloses, the method according to claim 15 as set forth above.
Maleki does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Tooher discloses, wherein in a case that the DRX on-duration timer is started, the method further comprises: within a second time range, canceling starting a DRX on-duration timer other than the DRX on-duration timer [¶0117, in case of the new DRX cycle timer is started, the WTRU may pause the short or long DRX cycle timer while in the new DRX cycle (where the new DRX cycle timer is running); note that the new DRX cycle timer has a shorter duration than a short DRX cycle timer].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Maleki with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Tooher to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Tooher into the system of Maleki would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring to avoid redundant DRX timers, optimizing UE power efficiency in a wireless network, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki et al (US Publication No. 2022/0394616) in view of Bao et al (US Publication No. 2023/0239794)4.
Regarding claim 17, Maleki discloses, the method according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Maleki does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Bao discloses,
wherein before the performing, by the terminal, the predetermined behavior based on the first indication, the method further comprises at last one of: in a case that the terminal detects a wake-up indication, ignoring the first indication [FIG. 5; its related descriptions; ¶0077, in case of the UE detects an WUS indication delivered to the group, the UE may ignore cross group indication].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Bao in the system of Maleki in order to cause the system to be able to improve WUS diversity by allowing simultaneously including two WUS with two independent WUS indicators [e.g., ¶0068 of Bao].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.f attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ian Moore can be reached on (571) 272-3085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SUN JONG KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469
1 Since Maleki is relying on PCT publication (WO2021/089801) (see attached) to claim a priority date 11/06/2020, Maleki is qualified as a prior art under 102(a)(2) for the instant application with the effective filing date 06/30/2021.
2 In light of the specification, ¶0033, the term “non-physical downlink control channel monitoring period” is defined as “duration within which no PDCCH is monitored. For example, in a case that a network configures discontinuous reception (DRX), the duration within which no PDCCH is monitored is duration outside DRX active time, and/or network-defined duration within which no PDCCH is monitored.
3 Lin was cited in an IDS by the applicant.
4 Since Bao is relying on PCT publication (WO 2022/010567) (see attached) to claim a priority date 04/27/2021, Bao is qualified as a prior art under 102(a)(2) for the instant application with the effective filing date 06/30/2021.