DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 10/06/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-18 and 21-22 are currently pending. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the claim objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 06/09/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-10, 12-13, 15-18, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokowo (WO 2016/093082, cited by the applicant, hereby referred as Yo) in view of Thoday et al. (US 2020/0287278, hereby referred as Thoday).
Regarding claim 1, Yo teaches the following:
an integrated vehicle antenna and indicator system (figures 9-14), the system comprising:
an indicator element (element 19, figures 9-14) configured to output light patterns;
a housing (elements 6, 8, 10 and 16, figures 9-14) comprising:
a body portion (element 16, figures 9-14) configured to at least partially surround one or more antenna elements (elements 3 or 13, figures 9-14) positioned on a vehicle exterior including walls of the body portion that are configured to enclose the one or more antenna elements within a cavity formed between the walls and the vehicle exterior (as shown in figures 9-14; “The present invention relates to an antenna device attached to a vehicle roof or the like”);
a mechanical interface (elements 6, figures 9-14) for the indicator element to maintain an indicator position located above the cavity that encloses the one or more antenna elements (as shown in figures 9-14); and
a transparent cover (element 17, figures 9-14) comprising a transparent surface configured to attach to the body portion at body regions (portion on 16 that attaches to element 17, figures 9-14) that surround the mechanical interface to seal the mechanical interface and the indicator element under the transparent cover (as shown in figures 9-14).
Yo does not explicitly teach that the indicator element is configured to output different light patterns to visually indicate respective vehicle states, each of the vehicle states indicating progress towards completing at least one of: a computing operation, a charging operation, a climate control operation, or a remote control operation.
Thoday suggests the teachings of that the indicator element is configured to output different light patterns to visually indicate respective vehicle states, each of the vehicle states indicating progress towards completing at least one of: a computing operation, a charging operation, a climate control operation, or a remote control operation (paragraph [0156]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the indicator element of Yo to be configured to output different light patterns to visually indicate respective vehicle states as suggested by the teachings of Thoday in order to control the indicator element so that it can emit light responding to various driving operations and vehicle states such as a charging status indicator which can indicate to a user when their vehicle is done charging (paragraphs [0142] and [0156]).
Regarding claim 4, Yo as modified in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the transparent cover (element 17, figures 9-14) is configured to contact the body regions (portion on 16 that attaches to element 17, as shown in figures 9-14).
Regarding claim 5, Yo as modified in claim 4 teaches the following:
wherein the transparent cover (element 17, figures 9-14) comprises an edge that contacts to the body regions (portion on 16 that attaches to element 17, as shown in figures 9-14).
Regarding claim 6, Yo as modified in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the transparent cover (element 17, figures 9-14) comprises a contour consistent with an overall shape partially defined by a contour of the housing (contour of element 16, as shown in figures 9-14).
Regarding claim 7, Yo as modified in claim 6 teaches the following:
wherein the contour of the transparent cover (element 17, figures 9-14) completes the overall shape partially defined by the contour of the housing (contour of element 16, as shown in figures 9-14).
Regarding claim 8, Yo as modified in claim 6 teaches the following:
wherein the contour of the transparent cover (element 17, figures 9-14) comprises a smooth transition between the transparent cover and the body regions (as shown in figures 9-14).
Regarding claim 9, Yo as modified in claim 6 teaches the following:
wherein the overall shape comprises a fin shape (as shown in figures 9-14).
Regarding claim 10, Yo as modified in claim 9 teaches the following:
wherein the fin shape comprises a shark fin shape (as shown in figures 9-14), and the transparent surface defines a ridge for the shark fin shape (as shown in figures 9-14).
Regarding claim 12, Yo as modified in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein: the transparent surface (element 17, figures 9-14) comprises a material that is at least semi-transparent to visible light (“light transmitting body 17”); and an exterior surface of the housing (element 16, figures 9-14) comprises a different material that is opaque to visible light (“light blocking body 16”).
Regarding claim 13, Yo as modified in claim 12 teaches the following:
wherein the different material is transparent to at least one of: electromagnetic signals, sound signals, or non-visible light (“The light blocking body 16 and the light transmitting body 17 are made of a radio wave-transmitting synthetic resin”).
Regarding claim 15, Yo as modified in claim 1 teaches the system with the exception for the following:
wherein the indicator element comprises an indicator interface configured to receive control inputs for causing the different light patterns to be output from the indicator element.
However, it is well known in the vehicle art, that vehicles have a main processor, such as a Body Control Module, which acts as the central control unit for various vehicle functions and would connect to an indicator interface to control the indicator.
Thoday suggests the teachings of wherein the indicator element comprises an indicator interface configured to receive control inputs for causing the different light patterns to be output from the indicator element (paragraphs [0142] and [0156]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the indicator element of Yo as modified to comprises an indicator interface configured to receive control inputs for causing the different light patterns to be output from the indicator element as suggested by the teachings of Thoday in order to allow control of the indicator element so it would activate the indicator element at the correct time.
Regarding claim 16, Yo as modified in claim 1 teaches the system with the exception for the following:
wherein each of the different light patterns corresponds to a unique combination of at least one of light color, light intensity, or light animation for that vehicle state.
Thoday suggests the teachings of wherein each of the different light patterns corresponds to a unique combination of at least one of light color, light intensity, or light animation for that vehicle state (paragraph [0105]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have each of the different light patterns of Yo as modified to correspond to a unique combination of at least one of light color, light intensity, or light animation for that vehicle state as suggested by the teachings of Thoday which may be used to provide different colors for different indications (paragraph [0105]).
Regarding claim 17, Yo as modified in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the walls of the housing are transparent to signals transmitted or received via one or more the antenna elements (“The light blocking body 16 and the light transmitting body 17 are made of a radio wave-transmitting synthetic resin”).
Regarding claim 18, Yo teaches the following:
a method comprising:
forming, using manufacturing equipment, a housing (elements 6, 8, 10 and 16, figures 9-14) including:
forming a body portion (element 16, figures 9-14) shaped to at least partially surround one or more antenna elements (elements 3 or 13, figures 9-14) positioned on a vehicle exterior including by forming walls to enclose the one or more antenna elements within a cavity created by contact between the walls and the vehicle exterior (as shown in figures 9-14; “The present invention relates to an antenna device attached to a vehicle roof or the like”);
contacting the walls with the vehicle exterior to create the cavity that seals the antenna elements between the walls and the vehicle exterior (as shown in figures 9-14; “The present invention relates to an antenna device attached to a vehicle roof or the like”); and
forming a mechanical interface (elements 6, figures 9-14) that maintain an indicator (element 19, figures 9-14) position located above the cavity (as shown in figures 9-14);
forming a transparent cover (element 17, figures 9-14) to have a transparent surface that attaches to the body portion at body regions (portion on 16 that attaches to element 17, figures 9-14) that surround the mechanical interface to seal the mechanical interface under the transparent cover (as shown in figures 9-14);
installing, within the mechanical interface, an indicator element (element 19, figures 9-14) operable from the indicator position;
attaching the transparent cover to the body regions to seal the indicator element under the transparent surface (as shown in figures 9-14).
Yo does not explicitly teach that the indicator element to output different light patterns that visually indicate respective vehicle states; forming an indicator interface for receiving control inputs from a vehicle system that cause the different light patterns based on the respective vehicle states; outputting, by at least one vehicle processor, commands to the indicator interface to cause one of the different light patterns to be output as a notification of one of the respective vehicle states, each of the vehicle states indicating progress towards completing at least one of: a computing operation, a charging operation, a climate control operation, a remote control operation; and transmitting or receiving, by the vehicle processor, signals using an antenna interface to the one or more antenna elements.
However, it is well known in the vehicle art, that vehicles have a main processor, such as a Body Control Module, which acts as the central control unit for various vehicle functions.
Thoday suggests the teachings of indicator element to output different light patterns that visually indicate respective vehicle states (paragraph [0156]); forming an indicator interface for receiving control inputs from a vehicle system that cause the different light patterns based on the respective vehicle states (paragraphs [0142] and [0156]); outputting, by at least one vehicle processor, commands to the indicator interface to cause one of the different light patterns to be output as a notification of one of the respective vehicle states (paragraphs [0142] and [0156]), each of the vehicle states indicating progress towards completing at least one of: a computing operation, a charging operation, a climate control operation, a remote control operation (paragraph [0156]); and transmitting or receiving, by the vehicle processor, signals using an antenna interface to the one or more antenna elements (paragraphs [0142] and [0156]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the indicator element of Yo output different light patterns that visually indicate respective vehicle states; forming an indicator interface for receiving control inputs from a vehicle system that cause the different light patterns based on the respective vehicle states; outputting, by at least one vehicle processor, commands to the indicator interface to cause one of the different light patterns to be output as a notification of one of the respective vehicle states, each of the vehicle states indicating progress towards completing at least one of: a computing operation, a charging operation, a climate control operation, a remote control operation; and transmitting or receiving, by the vehicle processor, signals using an antenna interface to the one or more antenna elements as suggested by the teachings of Thoday and well known in the art in order to control the indicator element so that it can emit light responding to various driving operations and vehicle states, such as a charging status indicator which can indicate to a user when their vehicle is done charging, and allow control of the indicator element so it would activate the indicator element at the correct time (paragraphs [0142] and [0156]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Yo and Thoday as referred in claim 18 teaches the following:
wherein each of the vehicle states further includes a status for at least one of: a fuel level of the vehicle; a charge level of the vehicle; an interior temperature of the vehicle; an occupant in the vehicle; and an expected fuel or battery range for the vehicle (Thoday, paragraphs [0142] and [0156], as explained in claim 18).
Regarding claim 22, Yo as modified in claim 1 teaches the system with the exception for the following:
wherein the transparent surface comprises a material that appears dark or opaque when the indicator element is not illuminated while permitting light from the indicator element to pass through the material when the indicator element is illuminated.
Thoday suggests the teachings of wherein the transparent surface comprises a material that appears dark or opaque when the indicator element is not illuminated while permitting light from the indicator element to pass through the material when the indicator element is illuminated (paragraph [0110]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the transparent surface of Yo as modified to comprise a material that appears dark or opaque when the indicator element is not illuminated while permitting light from the indicator element to pass through the material when the indicator element is illuminated as suggested by the teachings of Thoday which can be used to only allow a certain amount of light through, so that the transparent surface would not stand out from the rest of the housing which may improve the appearance of the housing.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokowo (WO 2016/093082, cited by the applicant, hereby referred as Yo) in view of Thoday et al. (US 2020/0287278, hereby referred as Thoday), and further in view of Lee (US 2023/0133571).
Regarding claim 2, Yo as modified in claim 1 teaches the system with the exception for the following:
wherein at least one of the body portion and the mechanical interface, or the indicator element and the transparent cover, each comprise a single manufactured part.
However, Yo teaches using injection molding for the body portion and the transparent cover (“The light blocking body 16 and the light transmitting body 17 are made of a radio wave-transmitting synthetic resin (molded product made of a resin such as PC or PET)”).
Lee suggests the teachings of the wherein the indicator element (element 151, figures 4 and 6) and the transparent cover (element 101b, figures 4 and 6), each comprise a single manufactured part (“The lens 151 may be integrally formed when the antenna cover 101b is injection molded”, paragraph [0105]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the indicator element and the transparent cover of Yo as modified comprise a single manufactured part as suggested by the teachings of Yo and Lee in order to integrally form the indicator element and the transparent cover which could be used to ease the manufacturing process when attaching the indicator element and the transparent cover to the body portion, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to make plural parts unitary as a matter of engineering design choice. In re Larson, 144 USPQ 347 (CCPA 1965); In re Lockart 90 USPQ 214 (CCPA 1951).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yo, Thoday, and Lee as referred in claim 2 teaches the following:
wherein the single manufactured part comprises an injected molded part (Lee, paragraph [0105], as explained in claim 2).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokowo (WO 2016/093082, cited by the applicant, hereby referred as Yo) in view of Thoday et al. (US 2020/0287278, hereby referred as Thoday), and further in view of Noro (US 2006/0273968).
Regarding claim 11, Yo as modified in claim 1 teaches the system with the exception for the following:
wherein an exterior surface of the housing comprises a color that matches the vehicle exterior.
Noro teaches having an exterior surface of the housing comprises a color that matches the vehicle exterior (paragraph [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have an exterior surface of the housing of Yo as modified to comprise a color that matches the vehicle exterior as suggested by the teachings of Noro in order so that the system is the same color of the vehicle exterior so it is aesthetically pleasing and the system would not stand out.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokowo (WO 2016/093082, cited by the applicant, hereby referred as Yo) in view of Thoday et al. (US 2020/0287278, hereby referred as Thoday), and further in view of Lerner (US 2024/0109480).
Regarding claim 14, Yo as modified in claim 1 teaches the system with the exception for the following:
wherein the indicator element comprises a light bar.
However light bars are a known alternative way to provide lighting.
Lerner suggests the teachings of an integrated vehicle antenna and indicator system, wherein the indicator element comprises a light bar (figures 36-40 and 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the indicator element of Yo as modified be a light bar as suggested by the teachings of Lerner and known in the art as a light bar can be used instead of a LED and light guide to provide multiple different lights that can be controlled at the same time which can allow for additional indicators to be shown.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AB SALAM ALKASSIM JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845