DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I, claims 1-4 in the reply filed on 28 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 28 July 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 3 and 4 do not appear to belong with this application or invention. They do not show the tire and wheel bearing or wheel assembly from the description of figures on page 4, para. 33 and 34 of the specification and do not match Figs 3 and 4 filed in the original foreign application. It is assumed that Figs 3 and 4 of the originally filed foreign application are the correct figures and so any reference to Figs 3 and 4 in the rejection portion of the office action will be referring to Figs 3 and 4 of the foreign application.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The embodiment from claim 1 wherein the “plurality of bonded spokes” are “in contact with or bonded to the wheel bearing” The drawings show the plurality of spokes in contact with the “inner ring” which holds the wheel bearing, not in contact with or bonded to the wheel bearing itself.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because Figs 3 and 4 as filed do not match the description furnished on page 4, para 33 and 34 of the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear from the specification and drawings how the “running surface of the tire” (by definition, the outermost surface in contact with the ground that the tire “runs” on) could include “spokes”. Fig. 6 appears to show the “spoke” as being a part of the “tire” but does not clarify how the “running surface” could include the spoke because the “spoke” would not be in contact with the ground.
Regarding claim 4, it is unclear how additives in “a material of the tire” (outermost running surface of the wheel) could affect the thermal conductivity of the “wheel bearing”. It is possible the applicant intended the additives to improve the thermal conductivity between the wheel bearing and the running surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Su US 20220203764 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Su discloses a wheel for a single or double caster for furniture or hospital beds or medical equipment, the wheel comprising: a rim 3 (caster hub); a tire 4 (wheel body); and a wheel bearing 901 centrally arranged in the rim 3, wherein a running surface of the tire 4 envelops the rim 3, and wherein the running surface of the tire 4 includes a plurality of spokes (seen in Fig. 1) which are in contact with or bonded to the wheel bearing 901 (Figs. 1 and 2; para. 12 discloses the wheel body and caster hub are molded as one piece and so the tire/running surface would also include the spokes).
Regarding claim 2, Su discloses the wheel according to claim 1, wherein the spokes are connected by an inner ring that at least partially envelops the wheel bearing 901 (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Su discloses the wheel according to claim 1, wherein the tire 4 includes at least one respective double sided cross section increase in a portion of each spoke (Fig. 2). The phrase “forming a support point for the spoke during fabrication of the rim” does not impart specific structure to the final product and so is not given full patentable weight. However, it is noted that the widening portion near the wheel bearing could potentially allow a support point during fabrication.
Regarding claim 4, Su discloses the wheel according to claim 1, wherein a material of the tire 4 includes additives 5 improving thermal conductivity of the wheel bearing and the running surface. (Fig. 2) The conductive plate portion of the tire which extends between the outer running surface and the wheel bearing is made of a metallic material which, in addition to its intended purpose of improving electrical conductivity, would also improve the thermal conductivity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art shows other examples of wheels with spokes or thermally conductive properties.
/AP/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615