Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer form is incomplete. The applicant’s name is missing. No additional fee is required with the resubmission.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No.. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the application are generic to the patent.
Claims 1-16 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,053,967 in view of Li (CN 207504935).
The claims of the patent teach a screen protector installation tool for installing a screen protector on a screen of an electronic device, comprising:
a holding base comprising a base body having a holding chamber for holding the electronic device, and two guiding rails extended from the base body at two sides of the holding chamber; and
a pressing assembly which comprises a sliding element and a pressing element connected to the sliding element, wherein the sliding element comprises two sliding portions which are respectively slidable along the two guiding rails, so as to allow the pressing element to move above the holding chamber to cause the screen protector positioned in the holding base to be installed on the screen of the electronic device.
The patent doesn’t claim one or more cushioning element disposed in the holding chamber which is arranged to provide a cushioning effect between said base body and side edges of the electronic device. However, this is taught by Li, stating placing a cushion as a preventative measure to secure the phone.
(page 3, 5th paragraph)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sorensen (US 2020/0198223) in view of Li.
With a respect to claim 1, Sorensen teaches a screen protector installation tool (Figs. 1-11) for installing a screen protector on a screen of an electronic device (para. 0021), comprising:
a holding base (62 in Fig. 1) comprising a base body (74 in Fig. 1) having a holding chamber (70 in Fig. 1 and para. 0027) for holding the electronic device, and two guiding rails (82 in para. 0028) extended from the base body at two sides of the holding chamber (as shown in Fig. 1); and
a pressing assembly (110) which comprises a sliding element (146 together with portions 126 slides per para. 0036), a pressing element (roller 146 in Figs. 1 and 4 and para. 0036) connected to the sliding element (as shown in Fig. 4), and a handle element (142) connected to the sliding element for being operated to drive the sliding element and the pressing element to move (para. 0036),
wherein the sliding element comprises two sliding portions (126 in Fig. 8) which are respectively slidable along the two guiding rails (as shown in Figs. 5 and 8), so as to allow the pressing element to move above the holding chamber (Fig. 9 and para 0036) to cause the screen protector positioned in the holding base to be installed on the screen of the electronic device (para. 0036).
Sorensen doesn’t claim one or more cushioning element disposed in the holding chamber which is arranged to provide a cushioning effect between said base body and side edges of the electronic device. However, this is taught by Li, stating placing a cushion as a preventative measure to secure the phone.
With respect to claim 6, Sorensen teaches the pressing element comprises a scrolling member (roller 146 in Figs. 1 and 4 and paragraph 0036) which is driven to scroll above the holding chamber to press the screen protector.
With respect to claim 13, Sorensen teaches the holding base has an exit opening (region in between trailing ends 86 of rails 82 in Figs. 1 and 4) communicated to the holding chamber (as shown in Figs. 1 and 4), wherein the screen protector is provided with a release film before being installed on the screen of the electronic device (backing layer of paragraph 0021), wherein the exit opening is arranged to allow the release film to be pulled out of the holding base (backing layer is wound onto spool (122) which then slides through the exit opening region, thereby pulling the backing layer out of holding base), so as to be detached from the screen protector (paragraph 0034; Figure 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorensen in view of Li, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Ho (US 2016/0008970).
The teachings of claim 1 are as described above.
With respect to claim 3, Sorensen does not teach this feature.
It is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a handle element that is pivotally and detachably coupled to a moving tool element. Ho teaches a handle element (1 in Figures 2 and 6) that is pivotally (Figure 6) and detachably coupled (Figure 2) to a moving tool element (3 in Figure 4). Ho teaches that this configuration provides pivoting capability for the tool element (Figure 6) and speed and ease of detachment from the tool element (paragraph 0036). This will predictably enable easy movement and also convenient removal of the handle for replacement or tool breakdown/maintenance.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorensen in view of Li, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Kim (US 2022/0402259).
Although Sorensen teaches the pressing element comprises an integral cylindrical scroll bar (Figure 8), wherein a length of the integral cylindrical scroll bar is equal to or larger than a width of the screen protector, Sorensen does not explicitly teach the other features in the claim.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a pressing element comprising an integral cylindrical scroll bar and an axle shaft penetrating the integral cylindrical scroll bar and being connected to the two sliding portions of the sliding element, wherein the axle shaft serves as the bearing for moving and rotating the scroll bar. Kim teaches a pressing element comprising an integral cylindrical scroll bar (Figures 5 and 7) and an axle shaft penetrating the integral cylindrical scroll bar and being connected to the two sliding portions of the sliding element (Figure 7A), to predictably enable rolling and scrolling of the pressing element via this ubiquitous bearing configuration.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SONYA M SENGUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745